Should I file complaint against landlord?

By admin

(Originally Posted By RPA Email Support / As Per Tenants Request)
At what point should I file a complaint against landlord? I haven’t really had many problems with this rental property until now… My hot water heater stopped working 3 days ago so I called my landlord to ask him to fix the water heater. He said he would get right on it, but I haven’t seen or heard from him since. I’m so sick of taking cold showers, its unbearable! Should I file a complaint or should I just wait it out? Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Cold Shower Tenant

Edited on: Tuesday, April 3rd, 2012 2:40 am

18 Responses to “Should I file complaint against landlord?”

My response: (We welcome stories, examples, explanations, answers and a touch of your personality)
 

CrazyOne007

March 20th, 2008 2:04 am

Uhh… You NEED to file a complaint, what are you waiting for? I’m surprised you’re willing to put up with cold shower for that long. Something like that should be fixed no less than 24 hours. Your landlord really needs to get your hotwater heater fixed.
Brrrr


Ricky Shorton

March 20th, 2008 3:52 am

Hey “Cold Shower”
You may just need to re-light the pilot light… It could be a really quick fix. That’s the first thing I would’ve checked before anything. It’s very unlikely that your water heaters pilot light was blown out, I’m thinking you may have a bad thermocouple which may need to be replaced by your landlord. But first check to see if your pilot light can be re-lit. If you don’t know how just call your boyfriend or Dad, they should be able to figure it out. By the way its going to take about 3 to 4 hours for your water to be heated enought to shower.


Sympathetic

March 20th, 2008 10:51 pm

I just wanted to say that I’ve been there too. When I first got married my mother in law (who doesn’t work) wouldn’t meet the gas man to turn on our gas when we moved in. (it was like 10 minutes away– so she didn’t want to be inconvienced) Anyway, I had to take cold showers for a week, until I could meet up with the gas company on my day off. It wasn’t fun! I still hold a grudge over it. I don’t really have any good advice for you, but I can sympathise.


Agent J. Thomas

March 21st, 2008 10:36 am

This is a very good question. Many people wonder at what point to file an Apartment / Landlord Complaint. The RPA always suggest trying to resolve the problem with your landlord first. However, if you have tried to resolve the problem yourself and your landlord hasn’t responded in a timely manner (this type of problem should be fixed immediately) you should then file a complaint with the RPA. I would suggest filing a complaint immediately. You have a right to hot water. To file a complaint you can click on the following link: http://www.rentalprotectionagency.com/complaint_center.php


Cold Shower

March 22nd, 2008 10:20 am

–UPDATE–
Thanks everyone for your advice… I ended up filing a complaint with the RPA. (By then I had left several messages with my landlord) I was shocked that within hours of filing the complaint my landlord had a guy looking at the water heater, which he eventually replaced. It took the plumber about 2 hours to pull out the old water heater and put in a new one. My landlord actually called me later that night and apologized for not getting it fixed quicker. I wonder how long it would’ve taken without the help of the RPA? I don’t want to know. I’m just glad I can take hot showers again, I should’ve file the complaint a couple of days ago!!!
THANKS!!!


Cheryl

July 13th, 2010 9:21 am

Wow! Your landlord is nuts!! She is clearly acting unethically. What you will want to do is document the situation. So, that it prevents her from continuing to say untrue things about you to other landlords. Not much can be done about the past, but you can stop it from getting worse.

As has been mentioned above, a formal complaint should do the job. It will cost you $35, but will be well worth it. Once you have a formal complaint, you will have a legal case number and be assigned to an Agent whom will see that your landlord stops. Then, if she tries to block you again– you will be able to go for your jugular. (that was my medical pun…:)

Sorry your landlord is treating you so poorly. Congrats on the medical school program.

Later Doc!


Anon-Boston

July 13th, 2010 8:59 am

So I’m a medical student living in a great condo building. My landlord is a bit crazy (i’m giving her the benefit of the doubt) but she finally crossed the line. So she raised her rent by 700 after my lease end, so I have to move (that’s her right, I understand). I’ve paid her ontime every month. But now as I start the apartment search, 2 separate rental companies that handle my applications have rejected my application on the grounds that the landlord informed them that I have paid my rent late every single month. Of course this is a shock to me. Finally I provided the last rental company with my bank accounts and they determined that I wasn’t late (they even looked at my lease). I’m not sure how to deal with this. She’s intentionally blocking me from trying to move out! Even tho she has a new tenant coming in. Maybe I should forget about it, but still, is there a way I can warn other tenants about her? As I said, I am able to prove with bank records that I consistently paid my rent on time. The whole situation is very bizarre….


valid or not

November 6th, 2010 9:18 am

Can anyone help me? I have been renting this place for almost four years now and every winter is the same. I pay almost three hundred dollars a month to to heat one floor, I have to put it on 90 just to even feel if its on. The landlord refuses to get new windows because she said its to much money but she still has not even given us the storm windows that are missing. Who can I contact for this I live in PA, just outside of philadelphia.


Julesw92

January 11th, 2011 4:08 pm

I have lived in this place for 8 months. My landlord is a jerk i’m a single female and he loves to intimidate me. First of all I have not had cold water since I moved in here and now the hot water stays hot for maybe 5 minutes when your in the shower he accused me of having a leak but I told him there is no leak and he can come in and check of course the hot water heater is not in my unit. Second of all I live in CO where we get snow. He has some person come over and shovel the walks basically he pushes any snow he can without much effort off and the rest stays on the sidewalks and then turn to ice which makes walking extremely challenging. Forget touching the parking lot not eve a little. This is a small complex only 10 units. I also found out we have a fellon living here can’t find out what the charges are but he is registered on the website. I want to know what my options are and what I can do. I can’t approach him with out being berated and threatend with eviction. He doesn’t live on sight and complains if you call him at home if there is a problem. Thank you.


ellen

March 17th, 2011 11:59 pm

Our landlord has rented apts in our section to really bad tenants who have harrased us, our children ect. We are rally tight on money and don’t have the same rights as the tenants who are ex drug addicts.
I have kept a record of at least one third of every month for the past 8 months of loosing so much sleep and one of my daughters has a seizure disorder that gets worse without sleep. We want to move but we can’t right now. Several other tenants have said we have had particulary hard time. Can I sue the land lord for the lease violations and slow response? I could use the money to move. The landlord has also lied about reciving messages and raised our rent. The police are tired of dealing with this problem. I don’t want to get into any problems with these nut cases. Thanks Ellen


SMH

April 8th, 2011 11:21 pm

I had the same problem with my first apartment not with the hot water but other things which I eventually had to call the health department because they were so lazy. However you need to make sure you document everything in writing and you NEED TO KNOW YOUR RENTER’S RIGHTS for your state once you figure out which law they are not in accordance with you need to write a letter to your landlord saying that specific law and tell them if they do not fix the issues you are having within a certain amount of time say 2 weeks if it is not completed within that time frame give them your 30 days notice according to the law in your state and if they try to withhold your deposit take them to small claims court as long as you document EVERYTHING you should not have any problems with them complying to what you want done. They have to follow those rights. good luck and you have to put your foot down and act like they don’t intimidate you even if they do knowing your rights is the first step to making them get things done!!


Cotton

May 30th, 2011 5:31 am

I’m having a similar problem. My land lord has been really good to me… except he doesn’t fix the things he says he’ll fix. He’s a nice guy, but everytime there is a small issue and I bring it up, he says he’ll come. But he never does. Well last week out pipes backed up and started pumping sewage into the bathtubs. I called him and he said that it was my resposiblity to fix it and it was written into my lease. Since he never gave me a copy of the lease and won’t give me one now, I have no idea if he is telling to truth. He wants me to fix it or pay a plumber to fix it. Shouldn’t that be his job? Isn’t that what I pay rent for? Should I report him?


ddomek65

May 31st, 2011 5:29 pm

my friend is renting a home and from i understand the landlord has decided he does not want my friend’s wife or children living there anymore so each month he raises the rent hoping to get them to move. The rent is up to 3000 and it started off at only 1000 when they first moved in. They haven’t done anything wrong. It is getting so bad that they can barely afford food, they have had to sell furniture. What can my friends do?


cheryl

October 19th, 2011 1:52 am

Yeh, tell her that your going to file a law suit her against her for defamation of character and if she causes you any kind of hardship, youd better talk to an attorney!!!Put it in a letter and get it notarized that you are aware of the fact that she has already given you bad references. This lady is probably mad because you wont pay her high rental cost. I got evicted once (after 8 years at the same apartment, never late on rent) for calling the housing authority on my landlord. I told him if he didnt start fixing things I was going to. Yes, I had to move out, but for 3 months he wasnt allowed to rent the apartment and received a list of things he was required by law to fix. I was going to fight him for illegally evicting me, but I just wanted to be rid of him. He hasnt had a reliable tenant since. This lady is an idiot. She wants more money and doesnt want to see you do better because she KNOWS your a good tenant. The only thing you would need to file a law suit is a statement from the other parties saying you didnt get the apartment because of a bad reference from her in regards to your rent being late. If you can prove, as you stated, that you pay your rent on time, you proved her to be defaming you. Best of luck to you!!! If need be call a real estate attorney that handles landlord/tenant cases.


charm

February 25th, 2012 11:10 pm

I have bedbugs, the bug man came and sprayed one room and left. Now I got them in the bathroom and living room. The manager told me I don’t have a lease so it’s my job to take care of the bugs. I said ok. I said I am not doing it lets go to court. The owner said if I signed a lease and pay rent he will take care of the bedbugs. I was cleaning the apartment, and my son found one crawling around on the floor, I took it to the landlord, and he said “I will call one right now”. Never happen. I am not late on my rent. I just owe for the week. I am failing out of school. I have lost weight cuss of stress. I cannot eat sleep my son has to be dropped off down the street because he is ashamed of our clothing Bing in the car. We get dressed at others houses I have even gotten dressed at the managers house. I am so stressed out and now he wants to evict us. I have done everything from buying a clean stemmer 150$ to bombing 2 different times. This is not my responsibility. The landlord even has bedbugs. His wife is getting eaten up. I got it on my back and arms. I have been coming back and forth cleaning from 9am till 7pm I don’t know what else to do. I am failing college because I spend my time cleaning when I should be studying. I can’t take it anymore. I am so afraid of this and I am sick of be eaten. I came to clean, I am inching so bad. I read a pamphlet, and it said, to not do the job myself not even the manager can do it. They must be licensed and if either of us try we can be held responsible by the state because if done wrong could cause other to get it. What do I do in this Forgotten City where no one helps unless you kill yourself? I hate it I am so depressed I am already on depression pills this is not helping. I have called the Health department of family and children service’s and channel 5 news Help me. No one is taking me serous


panic attack

June 27th, 2012 7:17 pm

i really dont know what to do i moved in my apt 5 years ago and 8mo down the line i get bed bugs they get treated i throw everything away then i got bed bugs again throw everything away bed bugs again i called the hd they never came out but did call my landlord now my landlord come up to me my last week of bed bug treatment i ask who write on the wall then ask me who was the guy that came out my door i told him my friend he said i know he live there i told him he do not because he really do not live with me then he started saying i know your house is really dirty and and nasty i know it is i get a letter he said i told him yes he do live here and i been letting him live with me for years now how can he do that tpye up lies saying i said something i never said and trying to evict me bass on a lie i am so stress out i dont know what to do


benny

September 29th, 2012 12:27 pm

i rent a conference room, on the weekend for my business with out a written contract, just a verbal agreement, now my landlord kick my out without just cause, can i sue him


Pat

October 15th, 2012 9:13 am

Hello, I have a son renting near UofM. They signed addendum to their lease which lowered their rent this year, never received copy, now the landlord is not living up to their agreement and asking for more each month. Also, it is a one meter building for water which is to be divided by four units. They never receive a statement or copy of the bill, yet the land lord all of a sudden sends a statement and says after several months, they owe$469 since 2011. Never had a statement been sent for any specific month. They still do not receive a statement each month for utilities due monthly. Kids are baffled on what to do


Close


Yes, the RPA® Can Help You!

Filing an official complaint is the nation's fastest way to solve tenant problems.

Not Ready? Learn more...

Virginia Complaint Filling Deadline  Tips/Suggestion

Need Help Filing Your Complaint?

Agents Available Mon- Fri 10am to 10pm

Recently Resolved Complaints:

See how the Nation's Rental Authority has helped thousands of tenants already!

Ask Question:

Post a new question to the RPA Tenants rights forum.

You Have Tenant Rights.
Recently Posted Questions:

Over 4,000 questions have been asked by tenants including these new posts:

Tenant Rights Categories

Popular categories about renters rights.

Tag Cloud