Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Repair Issues And Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*466
Chelsea 88 Apartments/management/corporate office refused to fix/resolve any issues related to my apartment dwelling such as pest control for bees constantly on my deck and inside the apartment. I been having this issue since I moved in two years ago plus other tenants moved because of the problem.i spoke with Michael the Assistant Manager first on the issues and he was no longer there a week later per Denise the Property Manager, and I would need to see her. I asked management to re-sprayed due to sumner and the infested of bees outside/inside my apartment was getting worst. Iniatially I was told that the issues would be fixed but over two weeks past and nothing done except their pest control company said that there was no need to spray and only removed the bees nests. A few days later, I find new fresh bees nest in my storage closet on my deck, again they insisted that no need to spray. A few days later, maintenance comes by my apartment with a can of bug spray to spray the bees outside/inside my apartment. I refused to allow due to odor and this was not how they treated a year ago with this issue. I calked corporate office and spoke with Betty in Relationship Management to try to resolve issues between tenant and property manager. She advised me that they would spray with pest control and fix other issues. A week past and I called, Monday, 15th of July 2014, Denise the property manager to let her know that I would still pay rent but nothing has been done with the issues and she put me through to maintenance. I spoke with maintenance and they said that pest control would be out on Thursday, 18th of July 2014 and nobody showed up except a notice of filing for eviction left on my door. Monday, 21st of July 2014, another notice of eviction taped on my door from management with date to turn in keys by July 22, 2014. Issues - 1. Pest control, bees 2. Water leaking from bathroom toilet 3. Counters in kitchen not corked properly (maintenance did come out on July 14th to fix) 4. Ceiling in living/dining areas are (two places) coming undone and splitting from wall to wall. 5. Outside deck ceiling was falling down (maintenance came out around July 14th to pin back up, doesn't look good)
Mold Issue | Case#**-*359
SAN FRANCISCO, CA - 94122 3329 Mr Yi has been given numerous warnings regarding the mold & mildew issue at 1403 21st Avenue. Upon moving out at the end of the month, we have noticed more items becoming destroyed from the mold issue. As an individual with eczema, asthma and other allergy issues, this is a major health concern.
No Air In Texas | Case#**-*351
On or about Tuesday, June 24, 2014, I let the apartment manager’s know that my air conditioner was off. The manager told me that there were 15 people ahead of me and they would repair/fix the problem. On Wednesday, June 25, 2014, I was told that the repairman was at the Home Depot for a part for the air conditioner. On Thursday, June 26, 2014, the apartment manager told me that there were “50” people ahead of me. On Friday June 27, 2014, the apartment Manager “wondered” if I had paid my rent for the month of June???? After presenting her with my receipt for June’s rent, she told me that they would be out soon. I waited during the weekend. On Monday, June 30, 2014, the apartment manager told me that “they” were working on it. On Tuesday, July 1, 2014, (seven days later), the apartment manager told me in a very irritating manner, that they were working on it (as I paid my rent). On Wednesday, July 2, 2014, the apartment manager told me that “they were working on it.” On the same day, I saw the “head” maintenance man on the complex grounds and told him that my air had been out for more than a week and he told me that the “air man” was gone for the day. I could go on, today is July 7, 2014, and the temperature outside had been over 90 degrees and it has been more than 100 degrees INSIDE of my apartment. In my opinion, I do NOT believe the apartment manager or its owner care that I have been living under this heat condition in TEXAS.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*263
Phoenix , Arizona - 85015 Thought I was allergic to a household product because of the small bumps on my arms and legs, but the irritation was getting worse and my boyfriend and I had noticed a bug on our sheets. We grabbed the bug to use to identify what kind of insect this could have been and our results confirmed it was a bed bug. We checked our mattress and saw more bugs and evacuated our bedroom completely and were forced to sleep in the living room as of 08/30/2015. We have been in this complex for almost a year no problems but keep a very clean house hold with no clutter. We don\'t want to take responsibly for this claim and will not pay for the proper steps to get this infestation resolved. If this is not taken care of immediately we want to vacate the complex without being penalized and charged an extra fee for leaving a month early. Our lease ends 11/07/2015.
Bed Bug | Case#**-*243
Atlanta, Georgia - 30318 We moved in our current apartment on July 27th 2012. It is a 6 month lease from July 27th 2012 to Jan 26th 2013. After two weeks, Fei's legs were bitten by bugs. On August 16th I found a bed bug on the carpet in our dining room, very close to the kitchen. The day after, Fei found another one in the same area. We put these two bugs in a clear plastic bag, sealed, and gave it to our leasing office. We then washed our clothes, quilts, linens, backpacks. We did not find any other bed bugs and Fei had no new bites. The manager Katie sent us a letter saying that a pest control company was going to inspect our apartment. So I stayed at home waiting for them to come on the day planned (August 20 or 21, not sure). Karen from the pest control company Orkin came in, inspected our apartment, she found nothing. On August 31st, Katie sent us another letter informing us that Orkin was going to do chemical treatment to our apartment on Sept 7th, we were responsible for the cost of the treatment which is $1350 (not including the mattress cover). We do no believe that we bring the bed bugs. We lived in our previous house for two years and we had no bed bugs problem. When we moved out from there, there was no bed bugs at all. We just moved in this apartment for about 20 days and we found bed bugs. It is unfair to say that we introduced the bed bugs or responsible for it. We also did research online and we found that chemical treatment cannot kill all bed bugs and it may do harm to human beings. So we refuse to do this chemical treatment. we suggested heat treatment to the manager but she said no. And we don't think that we should pay for the cost of this treatment. We told the manager our attitude and our reason. She insists on doing the treatment. Her reason was the lease, there is a section talking about insect or bug infestation. (I will add the lease later) She postponed the treatment, but Orkin's people still come in the morning on September 7 and knocked our door. We did not answer the door. The same day, In the afternoon around 4pm, we opened the door and there was a letter from leasing office. The letter is dated Sept. 6th, says if we do not cooperate with them, we might be evicted. We replied to Katie's letter on September 7, she sent us a letter on September 11 repeated her conclusion that we "fail to comply with the lease", and demanded us to vacate by September 12, 2012. Otherwise she will commence dispossessory proceeding against us.
Bed Bug Treatment | Case#**-*119
Kansas City, Missouri - 64108 I first noticed what I now know to be a bed bug inside my apartment the week of 8/6/12. I discovered the bug inside the laundry bag once inside my apartment. After looking up the bug on line to find out what it was I notified building management to let them know I had discovered a bed bug. They told me that they would have a representative from their pest control company, Zip Zap, come out to inspect the unit. After they did their inspection, which I was not present for, they recommend a heat method of treatment and that it would cost $800. Having never encountered this type of pest, and being upset on so many levels now, I asked how they can assume that I brought this infestation on myself. They said that it is their policy to not cover bed bugs because they can come from a any number of locations. I wanted to have independent companies come to inspect my apartment so that I could compare notes and costs. I had 2 different companies come out (S.O.S. and Terminix), and I was quoted $600 for the freeze treatment and $1100 for the heat treatment. Between the 2 inspections they were only able to find one live bug, so the infestation is not rampant through the apartment, but could potentially be if left untreated. I luckily do not have any allergies to speak of, so I havent noticed bites even though they have for sure been on my bed. This apartment building in income restricted, and my rent is $491 a month. My apartment manager offered a payment plan, but any monthly increase would still be a financial strain. Since using the provided community laundry should not be an at your own risk situation and because pest control does go unit to unit when they do their regular pets maintenance, there is no way with complete certainty that I brought this infestation on myself. I can not accept that my day-to-day lifestyle, which does not include hotels or travel, is the sole cause of this infestation. I did the right thing by reporting the infestation so that it can be addressed, resolved, and to protect myself and my neighbors. I can not afford to budget for this treatment, and I there is no way to guarantee this infestation didn't come from the building, another tenant, or a maintenance person. The purpose of this complaintt is to ensure a healthy living environment and to protect myself from taking on the financial responsibility of maintaining a unit I already pay to live in in good faith every month. Very Sincerely, Dana Noland
Test | Case#**-*910
Test, Alabama - 123
Lanlord refusing to let me out of a lease. | Case#**-*423
HEMET, CA - 92545 3714 Mesa management please I need to move I have been waiting for the form for the Dr.that you requested stop playing control games by making me stay against my will like I!m a prisoner I am having dizzy spells,chest pains, high blood pressure it all makes it hard to use the stairs I hope I don!t fall and break a hip if I do I will hold you responsible.. I will be asking the court for $1,000,000 for the pain and suffering you have caused me. Suzan Miller 2040 W Acacia # 136 Hemet Ca 92545 951-492-9910
Termination Addendum Not Included With Lease | Case#**-*237
INDIANAPOLIS, IN - 46234 4030 I read through my lease and it indicates a termination fee of one months rent. The lease makes mention of an addendum but it is not attached nor has it been seen or discussed with me. I called to speak with the agent at the apartment complex and they start referring to the addendum. I stated I do not have the addendum attached to my lease and they said no they just keep one on file. They stated that I could either sign the addendum and pay $3000 and continue to pay rent for 30 days or I could sign the addendum and continue to pay rent for 60 days and pay $1500.00. I am willing to pay the one month rent stated in the lease as termination fee but not the terms of the addendum that I was never given.
Bedbug Infestation | Case#**-*434
WILTON MANORS, FL - 33305 1153 We have an 8 unit apartment complex and all 8 units are infested with bedbugs. Our landlord says it is not his problem that we need to handle it on our own.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of APR 29,2016 | 02:59 EST
Renters 110,236,621
Landlords 22,647,991
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security