Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

repair issue, person property distruction | Case#**-*128
fargo, North Dakota - 58103 for the last 2 years i have been renting from craig properties i have been disrespected and have waited for over a month for any repairs needing to be made. i have been waiting 2 months since an attempted break in for my broken front door to be replaced, i have a newborn and do not feel safe. i am missing windows which is letting the heat and air conditioning out and making my bills high. my vehicle was towed out of the parking lot of the apartment that i live in without a knock on the door or a warning or a phone call. i was also threatened that i was gonna get an eviction notice on my door for knocking hard on the management building door to get attention to find out why said vehicle was towed.
Black Mold/Change Roommates | Case#**-*830
I have mold in my bathroom since January 17, 2013 when I moved in. I talked to the staff at diamond sands and even had a staff member check the mold. At the end of the July 2013 I had my shower door worked on by Staff. He said I had mold under my shower door that I would not be able to get too. I asked how this happens never delt with mold before. He said that the people that made ready the apartment sealed the outside of the frame for the shower doors when it was still wet. I have been very ill since I moved in due to Stachybotrys Chararum which is Black Mold. It is a proven fact that this mold makes people ill. Roommate issue, after inviting my boyfriend several times to move to Diamond Sands and work she would not add him to the lease. I was told by Staff I broke lease and would be served an eviction. That was August 20th 2013 by Gloria (Last Name Unknown) the notice would be served on August 24th 2013. On August 21st 2013 I had no choice and rented an apartment another apartment move in date is Sept 8th 2013. I was sent a text message by my roommate telling me to be at a meeting at 9 am August 30, 2013. I had other plans for the entire week-end. Diamond Sands Staff Gloria had called and asked why I didn't make the meeting to come back. I could not and that she also said that she never said I and my roommate were being evicted and she said that with her manager by her side. Diamond Sands collected the rent due Sept 3rd due to the holiday paid in full by my roommate Cathrine Meress August 30, 2013. Diamond Sands said I would owe Ms. Meress. I knew something was going on in the Diamond Sands Office and it was all against me. I have told the office manager that I will not have any contact with Staff Member Gloria. I want off the lease and do not want this on my credit report. My boyfrind Dustin Swind was kicked out of the apartment after breaking lease being on the property for more than two weeks.
Deposit Return Check -- Insufficient Funds | Case#**-*262
I leased a home from Ms. Susan Campbell (through Rise Reality) upon moving here due to the Department of Defense's Base Realignment and Closure (BRAC) four years ago. Over that time there were several instances where the HVAC unit was inoperable and yet my family and I endured those harsh environmental conditions without complaint or demand for monetary restitution. The house was cleaned and keys retuned to Ms. Campbell on November 1st of this year. While I thought charging us for 3 days was a bit petty, I paid without hesitation. But this seemed also to be an indication that Ms. Campbell was in some financial difficulty and unable to pay. It appears I was right. On November 29th I finally received the deposit check with the hope that this nightmare was finally over. That is, until today when I received notice from my bank that the check was returned due to insufficient funds.
Repair Issues-Not Resolved | Case#**-*135
The evening of Sunday May 11, 2014 I noticed a leak from the ceiling the bathroom of my 1 bedroom 1 bath apartment at Ridge Pointe Apartments. Management was notified the following morning of Monday May 12, 2014 as the office was closed on Sunday May 11, 2013. A representative of Ridge Point stated we have put the repair order in and will get to it. When asked when this matter would be promptly resolved, he stated "we don't know there are repair orders that are ahead of you including air conditioning repairs." No management personnel came to personally investigate the issue the day of Monday May 12, 2014. Considering this leak is of unknown origin, it could be chemical solution, which is detrimental to health not mention the damage that could be done if the ceiling were to weaken and collapse. The leak also poses risk for slips and falls with it being in the main walkway of the bathroom of the hardwood floor. If an accident were to occur management would be fully responsible for damages occurred considering they were notified within a timely manner. As of Monday May 19, 2014 a week after being notified of the leak in the bathroom, management still has not responded to my request. A technician did come to investigate this matter on the day of Wednesday May 21, 2014 however the issue was not resolved because he says “the office does not supply me with the equipment I need to fix this.” On Wednesday May 21 2014 at 10:11 pm I received an email stating the request for my service issue has been completed. However as of May 23, 2014 the ceiling in the bathroom is still leaking. As stated in paragraph 26 of the lease, "management shall have the right to terminate the lease of any resident whose apartment is found to be infested with bed bugs, have a mold or water intrusion problem; be unfit for habitation, or constitute a hazard to health, safety or welfare of any person, the apartment, the community or management employees." The desired settlement of this request would be management termination of the lease. Here is the email from May 21, 2014 and documented pictures of the leak: Dear Latisha B Mack, The service request for service issue #19385-1, 'Ceiling tile water stain/leak' was completed on 5/21/2014 10:10:00 PM. The technician completed the following action(s): . Please contact your leasing office if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you, Ridge Pointe 720 Franklin Rd Marietta, GA 30067 (770) 426-1883
Bed Bug Infestations \\noise Complaint | Case#**-*165
Houston , Texas - 77075 I have been dealing with this bed bug situation since Christmas of 2015 this company has been out to my house several times concerning this problem the treat the did were not effective and poorly administered they heated up one room sprayed the others and I was given bad info at best I am out of a lot of money because of this company.and and my neighbor upstairs kids play basketball all day and some nights at least 3 neighbor complain I pay 1000 a month and being treated like this
We Are Been Avicted With A 3 Days Notice We Need 30 Days Thats The Law | Case#**-*883
TIPTON, CA - 93272 the landloard is give us a 3 days notice and we need 30 days she is been raciest and not folling the law we need 30 days plus the apts are folling apart and there are rats and the apts are not to code i have 3 childrens and im pregnat plese help me i am been discrimated againts please please help me she put a note on my door on 1/19/17 with a 12/27/16 date on it but we never got a note till 1/19/17 with a 3 days to get out i dont think thats fair my name is nidia sanchez and i only speak spanish 559 3291549 or you can call my brother inlaw george paz in enghish 559 836 7279 is urgen please help us
Harrassment | Case#**-*320
Minneapolis, Minnesota - 55410 They yell at my kids and their friends when playing in our yard. My kids and their friends are fearful of them. Tina and Kris planted trees in my backyard without prior notice. I came home and found them watering their trees with my hose then told me I should water them every day. I told them I could not afford the extra water bill and they told me I'm ridiculous because I have a new car. Upon moving in, the toilet overflowed every time someone used it. He told me I'd have to buy a snake because there wasn't a problem before we moved in. My doorbell didn't work when I moved in, I called Kris and he told me "It's always worked". When he looked at it found there was no battery in it. Told me I'd have to buy the batteries. I lost a sale for a chair I had posted on Craigslist because the doorbell didn't work. My refrigerator leaked every day after moving in. I told Kris and he told me "It's always been fine." After his repeated dismissal of there being a problem, he found a rusted hole in the drain tray. On September 1 I had a birthday party for my mother. We wanted to use the backyard and Tina was there clipping weeds without advance notice. I asked if she could come back and finish another time. She refused. When she was leaving she approached me and in a hostile voice in front of my family saying "I'm praying for you Cathy!!!" On September 11, I attended a MN Workforce Center job seeking seminar. I was the second person there. Tina walked in 15 minutes later. She harrassed me in the classroom, I had to leave after an hour. On September 28, I was talking with my friend in my front yard after a walk. Tina was walking down the sidewalk with her dog, wearing dark sunglasses and a cap. I looked in her direction, not recognizing her. She aggressively lunged at me yelling "Quit staring at me! My friend and I were frightened and shaking. I asked Tina repeatedly to leave me alone and stay away from me. She continued to yell and rant for another 5 minutes. I shook violently and was frightened and went in to my house. I successfully got a restraining order for myself and my kids. The gas lines on our street are being replaced, they are moving my meter box to the exterior of the house. Kris told me he hopes they "blow up my house so he can replace it with a nice one". This is very disconcerting for my children and I.
RENTING ILLEGAL UNIT, BREACH OF IMPLIED WARRANTY OF HABITABILITY, RETALIATE | Case#**-*343
LONG BEACH, CA - 90802 3640 LANDLORD KNOWINGLY AND FRAUDULENTLY WITHHELD THE SPECIFIC KNOWN INFORMATION THAT THE UNIT SHE WAS RENTING US HAD BEEN a highly dangerous and illegal unit to rent out , having had no certificate of occupancy for each of the un-permitted dwellings she had illegally created in efforts to convert the unit at 1209 e Broadway ave into two units that she may collect rent on , even though she was unable by law to collect any rent at all on these properties, she still proceeded to do so , and without any clue or notice that what we were renting was highly illegal and something she never wanted an inspector of the city to ever be able to go thru and violate her for. But at same time had no intentions of ever fixing or wanting to fix it to its original and ordered state that make the unit legal furthermore, she was ordered to have the premises vacated and housing relocation information for her to provide us as the displaced tenants was sent to here i have copies of it, and she blatantly ignored it and proceeded to begin her own eviction process with us for non-payment of rent , rent we were legally withholding as to receive remedy to the illegal situation we had at that time been all of a sudden exposed to and made aware of. So grounds for retaliatory eviction are being presumed since its illegal to begin the eviction process within 6 months of having had your tenants exercise their rights as tenants in any way up to and including call s made to inspectors to come down and inspect the illegal unit . The landlord in much of a greater ending than the trouble she had created so far at this point, she decided to lock us out of our property we had to leave at the house locked up until we could get in contact with her to be able to arrange to come and get our things one day. Not only that but she had never answered any calls or attempts we made to try and get with her to get our stuff, and even went further without notice and hired people to come and trash our things claiming we never had any interest other than the calls she ignored blatantly of trying to get our property, so she went ahead after 15 days and trashed it all just like that. we have as result experienced much major and emotional distress and emotional pain from having had our things all taken away and trashed from us one day because of landlord not with any concern as to the emotional damage and intentional infliction of emotional stress that was caused by having to accept the loss for ever.
Need Mold Inspection, Bad Roach Problem And Ceiling Leaks At Times | Case#**-*163
LANCASTER, CA - 93535 6911 When I moved to this apartment right on the second day I noticed there had beed roaches previously since I found some feces and some dead ones in various areas like under sinks and kitchen drawers to mention a few. From there the problem just got worse and worse I\\\'ve had it fumigated on 3 ocations already but the problem persists. A while after we moved here my kids and I have developed terrible allergies something that we\\\'ve never suffered from previously, pthey\\\'ve gotten worse over time. I recently got diagnosed with asthma, which is something that doesn\\\'t run in my family ither, I\\\'ve heard from friends and family members that my apartment smells like humid and that I should get it checked because it could be black mold. And that the roaches are asthma carriers. If this is the case I don\\\'t want to continue putting my children and my health in jeopardy it is very bad, the ceiling leaks at times and I\\\'m in the bottom flor. I\\\'ve mentioned it to management since the day I came to check the apartment, first they told me the problem was fixed before I moved in. And now every time I mention it they say its because people upstairs drop water on the flor so it runs through and leaks that its something normal in all bottom flor apartments but why should my kids and I suffer the consequences of a defaulty building I don\\\'t think this is normal. I really feel like throwing everything out and moving because no one should live under these conditions. My couches and tables and children\\\'s beds where purchased after I moved here now their all infested. Not only that the area is horrible, it\\\'s weird when there\\\'s no cops outside I feel my kids can\\\'t even play outside safely, we\\\'re always locked inside. The security is no where and I can\\\'t even do laundry in peace since there\\\'s always teenagers hanging out in the laundry mat smoking. They can bring up my rent, they are very strict in no late payment, but they can\\\'t keep a safe healthy environment. Worse place I\\\'ve ever lived in.
Noisy dogs and retaliation for me complaining | Case#**-*876
Moorhead, Minnesota - 56560 Dogs barking all day long and after 10 PM where there is a noise ordinance. According to my lease I can not make loud noises, but she can. Not so fun when the dogs are barking right next to my door and I am trying to sleep and it just echoes thought my apartment.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of MAY 27,2017 | 09:02 EST
Renters 111,297,052
Landlords 22,862,762
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security