Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Code Violation and Repair Issues | Case#**-*748
Akron, New York - 14001 There is no fire detector and CO2 detectors, windows are horrible and doesn't prevent weather from reaching inside, also the insulation is lacking if there is any at all. These have been brought up to the landlord and I have received nothing but empty promises that he would fix them. Also, the bathtub and walls surrounding it have been peeling off since I moved in... Nothing has been done with that either... I have always paid rent (on time) would hope these issues will be tended to. Thanks!!
Air conditioning failure | Case#**-*006
New Holland, Pennsylvania - 17557 The A/C unit in my apartment has been giving me trouble since I moved in July 2011. The unit has failed a total of 5 separate occasions this year alone, each requiring maintenance to come and "repair" the unit. The landlord requested an outside contractor to look at the unit and he also apparently "couldn't find a problem" and that the unit was "in perfect working order". The unit has never been fixed properly and routinely loses it's cooling ability/capacity on the most moderate of summer days (85F). The room temperature will rise to at least 80F until the late evening hours when it begins to cool down. As I'm writing this, it's an ambient 82F in my apartment with the temperature of the A/C cooling air around 74F. My portable A/C unit puts out air at around 52F for comparison. I've brought this issue up to management whom has thumbed their nose at me stating the unit is in perfect working order despite how many times it has failed in the past and how it continues to fail. Instead of replacing the unit, my landlord gave me a portable A/C unit to compensate for the lack of cooling the central air system lacked. That being said, I am now expected to cover the egregious power bill that develops as a result of running two separate A/C units routinely. I requested reimbursement for the added cost of running the unit and to which management said they'd remove the unit if I didn't want to cover the costs of using it. I have a domestic long hair cat that has to put up with this higher temperature daily and if anything it's most certainly not fair to her to have to put up with such high room temperature.
txtGeneralDescription | Case#**-*896
txtRCity, Alabama - txtRZip txtAdditionalDetails
breach. water cut off | Case#**-*435
0 -
properties in foreclosure | Case#**-*159
Belmont, California - 94002 When we moved in in May 2010, we wanted to stay at least 2 years and made that clear to owner, Catherine Zhang. She assured us that she would never sell the property and would keep us informed of anything that may affect our living situation. She has been foreclosed on some rental properties recently, one in San Francisco, and 935 Old County #18 is now in preforeclosure. There is also a lien from the HOA as she hasn't paid the HOA fees for some time. Collection agents were coming around looking for her and one taped a trustee sale notice to the door (Feb 2, 2011). I contacted her and she told me she had forgotten to pay HOA and it had been taken care of (Feb 9, 20100), but that was a lie as the lien is still in effect. Then the bank started foreclosure proceedings as well. This information can be verified in San Mateo County records. After I contacted her about the trustee sale notice, she told us she planned to short sell and gave us 90 day notice to vacate. We moved out, but when she showed up for the walk-thru (half hour late), she was driving a brand new red Mercedes clk 300, with Beverly Hills Mercedes dealer tags. She has several rental properties in CA and AZ. Beware, and don't believe anything she says.
BEDBUGS | Case#**-*533
nashua, New Hampshire - 03060
Poor Maintenance And Fraud | Case#**-*038
0 - To whom it may concern, I am writing on behalf of my sister (Kimberly Birchland) and nephew (Michael Birchland) to help them with the problems they have had with Riverpark Apartments. They first entered into the agreement in July 2013. Michael reported mold problems on three different instances as mentioned below. Please find pictures on the mold on the third attachment. • November 23, 2013 mold on closest back wall, • June 13, 2014 mold in closet corner • June 30, 2014 moldy carpet Michael had to deal with constant headaches and congestion until the problem was never resolved since the mold kept reoccurring. In June, Michael decided to end his lease. Kimberly, in order to make sure that Michael received his entire deposit made not one, but two trips, to the apartment to insure that that the apartment was left in the same order they found it. She and Michael repainted the rooms, cleaned the carpets, and made sure that everyone was in working order. Upon inspection Michael received a letter, with pictures, alleging that the carpet was frayed and that the smell was overwhelming and charged them $1283.10. I can assure you that this was not the case and unfortunately this inspection was not done in Michael’s presence. There is not any proof that there was any odor or that these pictures were from the apartment. Kimberly requested the pictures on July 30, 2014 and took almost two weeks for Riverpark to send the pictures. The damages cannot be proved and the carpets do not even look the same. We are requesting your assistance in getting Michael’s full deposit returned and that this invoice reflect no charges. This has also been sent to collections and we would like the credit report cleared of any non-payment. I will need to add the pictures later.Than k you for your assistance in this matter. Regards, Debbie Karcher Debbiekarcher@gmail.com
Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*993
scranton, Pennsylvania - 18508 I lost my job and I don't have money to pay rent until end of lease or pay rent for 2 months and pay additional 2 months rent as liquidity damage (lease break clause as per agreement). so I tried to find someone to join me in the lease and we both will pay rent until end of lease, but he was very rude and he didn't allowed to add another person in my lease.
Water Shut Off | Case#**-*657
The water keeps getting shut off without letting us know. They have been doing it for months. I'm fed up with this. Not doing what was promised 2 years ago
Bed Bug Infestation that lanlord refuses to deal with | Case#**-*258
Houston, Texas - 77058 I stayed at the residence for a couple of days during the Christmas season of 2011. On 2 occasions I awoke with large bites all over my body that seemed to worsen as the day progressed. It was discovered that there was a bed bug infestation and that I had had a severe allergic reaction to them. There are cracks in the walls and windows where the bed bugs could have come from. The exterminator explained that there had been a bed bug problem before as there was powder residue on the mattress in question from a past infestation. The tenant of the apartment contacted the leasing office and they said that they refused to pay for the extermination. As the buildings and more specifically the apartment is in such poor condition, they should be responsible for taking care of the fees.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of DEC 18,2014 | 09:42 EST
Renters 108,892,778
Landlords 22,375,820
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security