Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Deposit Problems, Billing For Repairs, Fraudulent Activity | Case#**-*528
I am writing to address a bill for $1,780.71 I received upon upon vacating my rental property at The Enclave Rental Condominiums in Palm Desert CA. I resided in the unit for a total of one year and left no damage to the unit. I will detail discrepancies below: 1)  I received a bill for painting of walls, baseboards and doors.There was nothing hung in the unit and no damage to any of the walls, baseboards or doors so any painting which was done was due to normal wear and tear and as a resident I should not be responsible for under California landlord tenant laws. 2) I received a bill for replacement of carpet throughout the unit. There were absolutely no urine stains visible in the unit and no pet odor. In addition my 9 year old Pomeranian has been house broken since he was a puppy. 3) I was also told that urine stains were seen throughout the unit with UV light. If the company policy is to do UV light at move out there should have been a walk through with UV light when I moved in. I never signed anything when moving into the property that the apartment was free of any stains with UV light. Thus there is no way for me to verify where these alleged stains came from. 4) I received a bill for replacement of vinyl throughout the unit. My 9 year old dog has orthopedic issues from a prior surgery and does not walk on vinyl because he slips. In addition he does not walk on stairs and I have been billed for re carpeting of the stairs. 5) UV light picks up various substances including cleaning products. Is there scientific proof which you can provide to me that what you are seeing with UV light is dog urine which has only been there the past 12 months?
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*980
phoenix, Arizona - 85027 i saw the first bed bug a week ago from today and called the office the next day and they said they will send the pest guy to check so they checked my apt and said they didn't find ANYTHING! a few days later i saw another one and i bagged it and went to the office the next day and showed the asst manager and she told me from my last inspection they didn't find anything and that i'm bringing them in i told her that i've been living here for a year and six months and never ever in my life had a problem until the people from upstairs moved in i told her someone in my building has them and she said bed bugs don' travel from apt to apt they travel on people i told i did not bring the bed bugs in so they had the pest guy come out again and they said they only found feces after that the office called me saying they will be coming out monday 3/12/12 to treat and i would have to pay $400.00 and i told them i will not pay for something i didn't do please help! i checked my beds and couches i checked everything i didn't find anything. i told them not to come do the treatment cause i will not be paying for that and the lady said i have to cause its the law and that if i'm not ready for this treatment i will pay another $250.00 on top of the $400.00.... please please help
Breech Of Lease, Unsafe Living Conditions,retalliation | Case#**-*184
Naveen Alkoka became our landlord on September 2013, since her ownership to present day we have had many changes that we were told would stay the same until the end of our existing leases. The residents is a four plex at full capacity. Ms. Alkoka also owns other property on 4th and 5th street which are separated by wooden fences. We have an attached laundry room that we use, that was included in our rent. During the week of 9/7/13 Ms. Alkoka removed the working washer and dryer and replaced them with coin operated machines. This caused an additional expense to the residents who were already paying to use it freely. As residents we sent a certified letter delivered to her on 9/24/13, signed by all residents stating we wanted the lease honored, and that we would deduct the money from the rent. The reason we sent a letter is because we were only given a mailing address to contact her. Ms Alkoka never responded to any of the residents until she received the prorated rent. She claims she never received the letter and threatened to raise all the rents and charge late fee if the rent wasn't paid in full. Our garbage service was discontinued in September 2013 and we have been told we have to walk over to the other property to discard our garbage. We were also told that if there was garbage around the residence we would be charged a $50.00 fee, even though she has hired a resident from another property as the maintenance. This is a violation of our lease as well as a health hazard for the residents. We want our existing lease honored and not be threaten when ever we call her with a issue. Our former owner Juan Marc Cabrol 707-477-9771 informed us that nothing would change in our lease or living conditions.
Deposit Problem And Excessive Demands Prior To Notice To Vacate | Case#**-*172
Sometime in March 0f 2012 I rented one of the rooms whose lease is with Aljeeandro and Rebecca Florida in apartment 6B. They asked for a monthly rental of $750 to include utilities and cable and internet. Prior to occupying the place, I gave Alejandro Florida (husband) $ 750 in cash a security deposit and to hold the apratment. He did dont accept any payment in checks and nor nor did he issue a receipt. Two weeks later,I officially moved in (end of the month) and I gave another $750 as advance rent. Again no receipt was issued and check payments were rejected.I gave then notice to vacate the place on or before the 19th of October because of an environment of hostility. Because of a minor incident in September 21, Allejandro Florida banged the door of my room and grabbed me by the neck. He threatened to kill me and to vacate the place or else. This was all witnessed by the wife, Rebecca Florida who was trying to pacify the husband. I did not report the incident to the police as I was hopping the issue could be resolved amicably. Because all prior arrangments were done verbally and in full trust, nothing in writing was executed. Both lease holders keep charging me with additional fees for utilities and internet and cable usage during the entire length of my stay. When I officially rented the place, I asked permission to repaint the room on my expense and applied varnish to the floor on my expense. Now that I am vacating the place, I was asked to buy painting materials to repaint the room and revarnish the floor. I came to know that the lease holders do not accept checks because of their immigration status and avoidance of income filing with the IRS.
Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*883
When we arrived on June12, 2014 the apartment was not ready as promised nor was there anyone there to show us the apartment which was also promised. We told Mr. Sameyah immediately that we could not occupy the apartment and explained the numerous reasons (the apartment was filthy, there was no air conditioner as promised and paid for, the mold and mildew made it impossible for us to occupy) . We sent him the keys to the apartment and never occupied the apartment. He received $4575 from us during the first week of March 2014. That amount was for the following per your email dated 2/25/14: • $1450 per month with a lease date to begin on June 12 (that month prorated at $1125) ending on August 31, 2014. • $150 per month for electric, internet and basic cable • $25 per month for window AC use • $100 for pet We sent Mr. Sameyah numerous communiques including email and US postal mail and he never responded.
Deposit Problems, Damages To Apartment | Case#**-*315
Contacted landlord for final walkthrough. He asked for list of issues with apartment prior to moving out. Explained carpets needed to be cleaned, holes in wall due to tv mount, and broken fire alarm. He asked that fire alarm be replaced along with carbon monxide, said he would pay the difference since he never installed one. I asked if I could have carpets cleaned but he said "No" because he needed to make sure there were no tears/permanent damage. I asked about the patching of the walls and again he said "No" because he needed to first inspect it. Final walkthrough was scheduled for Saturday, June 28 but he cancelled. It was then rescheduled for June 30 and he cancelled again. He later texted that I leave keys in "Debra's mailbox" (1st floor tenant), which I did and I let him know that I did it. Today (07/01/14) I texted him to ask about my deposit and he said "Please have co-signer from the lease call me after 7pm tonight about the condition of the unit. We will be seeking legal action. Here are a few examples. Estimated damage $2800.00. Carpet damage, hallway damage, carpet stains, holes in wall, holes in door, mirror stolen, and kitchen filthy." 1. There is no co-signer of lease. 2. There was no mirror in the half bathroom. 3. I asked about cleaning the carpets and patching up walls, which he refused. 4. Hallway damage could be easily painted over, scratches are from furniture removal. I tried to clean it mr. clean magic eraser but it didn't work. 5. Doors had holes when we first moved, which he knew prior to us moving in. 6. Kitchen was cleaned (with clorox). I just realized that I did miss the exhaust vent cover though. I would like deposit returned and RPA fee covered as well.
Termite Infestation, and black mold | Case#**-*935
Dayton, Ohio - 45419 Starting the week of 04/07/2014 my boyfriend had emailed our landlord (Alison Bour) 3 times on 04/07/2014, 04/08/2014, and 04/09/214 to report sightings of termites. She refused to treat the inside of our town home, and continued to say that she had the outside of the units sprayed. On 04/11/2014 my boyfriend,and I came home around midnight from work to see a huge infestation throughout our kitchen and living areas. I was not able to reach our landlord but was able to contact our maintenance supervisor. He swept the termites up with a shop vac. but Within 20 minutes the termites had re-swarmed our whole downstairs apartment. He did come back to sweep them but he said he was not licensed to spray any chemicals. The next day at around 2:00 p.m. a termite inspector came, and confirmed the insects were for sure termites. He also found that by our kitchen window'; the whole frame is not only soaked with water but is also covered in black mold. Our maintenance supervisor (Nathan) told him that the problem was taken care of, and did not let him take care of any of the issues. (Which it was not) Not to mention we have a soon to be 7 month old daughter in our home. This morning 04/15/2014 our landlord (Alison Bour) came to our apartment after making an appointment for her to come. (Being the fourth day, there was no sense of urgency.) We had threw away a lot of our food because the termites were crawling all over the bags and boxes. She stated "There was not reason to do that as long as the termites did not get into the food." I'm not sure how you feel about this but I feel that is disgusting to not throw away all of the food the termites had touched. She then refused to permanently move us to another unit. She said we could take our couch cushions to another unit, and use them as a bed for the night; Since she could not offer us any help to move our king size bed, and our daughters crib in order to have proper sleeping arrangements. She also argued with me about having the window frame, and all of the water damaged wood replaced. She said that we would have to have an engineer inspect the wall, and deem it unsafe in order to have it replaced. Even though there is significant water damage and black mold. Not to mention in our lease it states that these conditions are covered by their establishment. Please help us and feel free to call either Anna Burns at 937 607 5527 or Shaunn Monroe at 937 607 5533. Thank you for your time.
Repair Issues, Constant Sprinkler/water Line Breaks | Case#**-*541
I live at a new apartment complex, Retreat (formerly Watermark) at Quail North. As winter approached and temperatures dropped, the storage closet behind our apartment had a busted sprinkler that no one knew about. This caused mold to grow in our kitchen and and under our floorboards. The manager said that they sprayed for mold, however, because it was black mold, the wall should have been removed and replaced. My sister and I (both of us live in the apt), have been continuously sick since this incident. The manager lies about fixing anything broken, and one time the maintenance man left the apartment key in our front door all day. Now that temperatures have dropped below freezing, over 8 different apartments have flooded because of broken fire sprinkler heads that freeze. The apartment manager continues to lie and even said to one individual that they do not know who their own (apartment building) insurance is! This is ridiculous. The building has not been sprayed for mold or bugs in over a year and grounds look unkempt. No one should have to continuously call the front office to get no answer or a lie.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*959
Torrington, Connecticut - 06790 On June 16th I discovered bed bugs in my apartment. I called the landlord first thing and sent a letter. This is not the first time that bed bugs have been present in this apartment complex. I have had to take time off of work, I have paid for treatment to get rid of the bed bugs, I've had to discard my mattress and other belongings, I cannot sleep in the apartment, knowing the bed bugs are there I have been having anxiety. I have been treated without respect or emergent concern, this is a urgent situation that I am trying to resolve very quickly for all involved. They say they will have the apartment sprayed on 7/19.
Serious Ceiling leak | Case#**-*638
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - 19103 The apartment refuses to respond to my calls, and will not fix this problem. They are continually rude when I do speak to them and cut off my phone calls. I am worried mold has been growing in the ceiling because this problem has been ongoing for four months. This could be a very serious health hazard.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of NOV 1,2014 | 10:40 EST
Renters 108,764,523
Landlords 22,349,844
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security