Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Laibility for Bed Bugs Treatment Cost | Case#**-*248
IRVINE, CA - 92602 2007 We had informed our landlord that there are bed bugs in our apartment. Landlord wants us to pay for the extermiantor cost. We think its unfair for landlord to have us pay for the cost. ‚?¶ Bed bugs are parasites thus cause for ‚??breach of implied warranty of habitability‚?Ě it should be Landlord responsibility to provide livable conditions.
seeking res | Case#**-*007
CITY, Alabama - 12345
Repair Issue | Case#**-*135
Westchester Square is remodeling the outside of the buildings. There are 4 buildings they are tearing down the balcony's and decks and siding. They have torn all 4 buildings decks apart and barracaded the sliding glass doors shut not allowing for us to open the sliding door. They advised it will be this way for 30 + days. This means they are cutting us off of a portion of our living space for 30+ days and not offering to decrease the rent for the time we do not have this space. I use my deck daily to grill and also to smoke because I do not smoke in my apartment. I don't see why they needed to tear 4 buildings apart at once when they're only working on one at a time to rebuild and re-side. I want $20 a day refunded or taken off of my rent which is $820 for each day I do not have access to my balcony.
Eviction Of 2 Elderly Women, Disabled | Case#**-*911
I have been harassed by previous owner James Doughty, I have been in compliance with all rules, and been accused of having other tenants and dogs here, which is not true. My husband David Rebmann has been gone since August, there has been no trouble since.
Breech of Lease Agreement, Immediate Safety Concerns | Case#**-*163
LAKEWOOD, CO - 80214 1465 Over Thanksgiving weekend I had to vacate my apartment due the immediate threat for mine and my family's safety culminating in an apartment fire that was not handled by the complex due to their negligence. The events are as follows 8/22/10 , liscense plate was stolen and my 3 year old son found a dirty syringe in the parking lot. A police report was filed the person was later caught. 11/08/10 a nieghbor threatened me in the parking lot and I had to call the police, the reference number for the report is L10178613. Two days later the family car was broken into. 11/20/10 the faulty stove in my apartment caught fire burning my face and the carpet. I attempted to complain about these issues numerous times. Often the office was closed during posted business hours and I had to make multiple attempts to complain. When I was finally able to make complaints I was treated very rudely and made to feel uncomfortable by the manager Melissa. After the apartment fire I tried to complain twice and the office was again closed during posted hours. Because I couldn't even talk to anyone about this safety concern, I moved out immediatly. I was then told when I was finally able to speak to the manager that since I didn't report it immediately they wouldn't be able to decipher the cause of the fire and I would be forced to pay for the damages. I attempted to contact a regional manger to resolve the safety concerns and poor treatment two times previous to this. Each time I was given the wrong contact information by the corporate office by a woman named Donna. First I was given the contact info for a woman named Patty, and the second time a man named Don Bissel. I contacted them both and received no reply. I then looked on the internet the weekend I moved out and found the real manager was a lady named Linda Kirkwood who I then contacted to explain the sitation and relay to her that my intentions had been to resolve these issues and stay until I recieved no help and felt the threat to my family was imminent. I also relayed to her other issues that I felt were a violation of my tenant rights such as the laundry facilities not being open during posted hours and requested repairs never being made. Linda has been unwilling to help except to offer to waive the lease breaking fee that would total more than my last months rent.
Refusal to refund deposit and/or provide reasons/receipts for withholding | Case#**-*725
Laurel, Mississippi - 39443 There was damage to the bathroom floor which we tried to pay for before moving out and the Ms. Bowers refused. We received a quote on the damage and it was less than $150. We asked for the remainder of our deposit to be mailed to us along with an itemized list and any receipts pertaining to the withholding of the deposit. She refused. by Mississippi state law she must provide one or the other or a combination of both.
Repair/buff problems and deposit reimbursement | Case#**-*404
Miami beach, Florida - 33141 I have tried to contact Andres on countless days trying to get him to pay me back for funds I have paid out. I moved in paid first and last months rent and when I was moving out I paid for my last month on accident. Andres owes me &825 for over pay of rent that I did not need to pay. Also I had to et Orkin to. One spray because my place was infested with roaches and fleas I would guess fleas because of all the dogs in the building. I have all receipts of the times Orkin had I come spray because of neglect from the landlord to come and spray.
Carpet replacement fee illegal | Case#**-*085
Albuquerque, New Mexico - 87111 I live in Tierra Antigua apartment from Oct 30, 2009 - Apr 13, 2012. I was a great tenant with no problems. I paid my rent on time every month. I moved out Apr 13, 2012 and my lease did not end until May 1, 2012. I paid the rent for May because I was moving to another state $975.00. I did walk through with Ana and she stated that everything looked great. She then asked did someone smoke in the apartment? I told her no that I smoked on the bacony and she said I smell smoke. I told her that the mover may have smoked in there while moving because I sat in my car while they were packing me out. (I did not relly know why she smelled smoke) I called ana on May 15, 2012 and she stated that she could not rent the apartment because it smelled of smoke. I told her I did not know anything about that but she has a month and half to get the apartment ready for move in (May rent was already paid). I also told her that I paid her the amount she requested (55.00) to have as she stated her professional carpet cleaners to clean the carpet. She said that they have cleaned the carpet and it still smelled like smoke (not my problem). I told her that I did not smoke in the apartment, however, I did smoke on my bacony. I received a letter from Ana Castaneda dated May 15, 2012. She is charging me 638.78 for replacement of carpet. The carpet was in good condition. I never had people over because I suffered with PTSD and depression so I know no one else could have smoked in my apartment. Her letter stated that she was charging me this amount because smoke in carpet. This is not a smoke free apartment and I was never informed that I could not smoke in the apartment. I followed all the rules in the lease and this was not in the lease contract. The letter also stated that if I did not pay the charge it will be sent to my credit report. I paid them the flat rate of 56.00 for professional cleaning which they stated was the best in town. That was taken out of my deposit. She stated that she could not re-rent the apartment because of the smell. I cannot afford to pay this because I am disable and receive disability from the VA. They should have told me whether or not this was a smoke free complex and I would not have moved in there. I should have had a choice and not be victimize once I moved out. This is not fair and I need to know what can I do. I cannot afford a lawyer.
Breech of Contract | Case#**-*092
Pass Christian, Mississippi - 39571 The landlord entered the rental house without notice because she thought no one was home, the landlord knew my husband and I were not home but my mother was staying at the house and caught her. The house had a bug infestation that she didnt take care of. When we did the walk through of the house before we moved in there were several problems with the house however the landlord checked off that everything was fine and told us it would be fixed later. When we moved out we didnt get our deposit back although the house was in the same condition when we left as when we moved in.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*086
I text the maintenance guy on Saturday the 17th about having experienced bed bug bites in my apartment. I also send him a picture of my grand daughter's bitten arms. Nobody called me back till when I conducted the people who does treatments for bed bugs.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of SEP 19,2014 | 04:48 EST
Renters 108,649,114
Landlords 22,326,470
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security