Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Deposit Problems | Case#**-*339
San Diego, California - 92114 I have attempted to communicate with Starla at least a hundred times since I moved out of her property on May 31, 2012. At this time, Starla is refusing to acknowledge, let alone communicate to me the reason she is keeping my money, and she refuses to come to terms in a less hostile manner. Starla is aware that I am suing her in small claims court for the remaining amount of my deposit as she amusingly and wrongfully charged me for a handful of items that were either false or simply did not occur. After waiting over 3 months to receive a check in the mail with not only the wrong amount, but an amount that was not even a quarter of what my roommates received in return and what I was expecting to receive after leaving the house literally spotless and dealing with Starla for 2 years. Starla decided to charge me $425.00 for rent in a bedroom I did not reside in, in a home, in a city I was not residing in, without discussing this with me or filling me in on these details first. She went on to further charge me an additional $30 for storing things in her garage, which is never occurred and had the audacity to charge each one of my roommates $60 dollars for cleaning fees which never took place upon our move out on May 31, 2012. Starla further itemized my deposit to make me seem like a complete scum-bag tenant, which I am not. Starla has taken complete advantage of me. I am 22 years old and this was the first house I have ever rented. Please don't make the mistake of renting from this landlord/ house manager/criminal. Look her up in CA courts, be dazzled by the astonishing number of judgments Starla Gload/ Gload/ Godek have on file... just 6 in the last 2 years. How surprising.
Lease agreement | Case#**-*903
Greensboro, North Carolina - 27408 This landlord leased me a student apartment with two roomates. A guy named Frankie and a woman named Kierra Wade who is not a student. Kierra is a liar, manipulator, and con-artists who uses Frankie for transportation, food, and safety without reimbursement then, turns around and records videos of him doing inappropriate things that she told him to do and emails them to Landlord Dana Deaton. Kierra Wade also assaulted Frankie's friend & was arrested two days ago. Kierra Wade came back our house 09/29/2014 with the police and stole my pot of food willingly in front of the police without my permission or asking. When I informed my landlord, she never responded and had a lawyer contact me. I've only been living here for five days and I want to move out as soon as possible. My landlord won't discuss anything with me and I want my deposit back so I can move because I will not live with someone who steals and constantly lies on people. Kierra Wade slandered my name by saying I opened her juice and paper cups when I clearly havent touched anything. Dana Deaton has been fully aware of the drama going on in this house and didn't inform me of anything. She also lied and says she's does background and credit checks when she doesn't. I want to move out and my landlord won't talk to me or my mom about anything abd I'm scared for my life because Kierra Wade has schrezophonia and talks to herself all night and I'm afraid for my life because of the threats she makes. She also damaged the wall near my bedroom and make a statement that she stole from the previous roommate. She will not stop tying to talk to me and I feel tormented. I've never met someone so scary in my life and she illegally records conversations 24/7 and the Landry won't do anything about it and thinks it's acceptable.
Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*454
I moved into Avenue R about 3 1/2 months ago. About one month ago my boyfriend had been getting bit everywhere, we immediately thought it was mosquitoes. A day after the bites persisted and we did research on the internet we figured it was bed bugs and immediately went into the office to talk the apartment manager, Yesenia. She assured us the problem would be taken care of and that they would have someone come into our apartment to inspect. Everyday that week he went into the office to show her his bites ( I was not reacting to the bites) and brought dead bed bugs in a container for her to see, as the problem was not being resolved. A week after complaining to her day after day she had a lady from Orkin come "inspect" our apartment. The lady from Orkin said that we did not have any signs of bed bugs at all and we assured her that we did. A couple of days went by and I had left for California to see family, during the week i was away the lady from Orkin had returned to spray our apartment. My boyfriend took all of the necessary precautions she asked for prior to the spray and during the week I had been away my boyfriend had stayed at his parents house to avoid the bugs and poison. I returned on 1/20/15 and we headed to check out the apartment, there was poison everywhere, dead bugs and LIVE bugs crawling over the walls. I tried calling the office again but they were closed and I had left a message stating that they need to provide a temporary living solution for us. The next day I went into the office and brought a live bed bug in a Tupperware to show Yesenia that they were still not dead. She booked a guest suite in the apartment building for us while our apartment was going to be treated.She called me an hour later and stated that they could not give us a temporary living solution because Orkin had said the poison and bug were "live able" and that we also had to pay for the next bed bug treatment at a cost of $400 dollars because we were "at fault". After speaking with Yesenia I called the property management company that owns Avenue R, Morgan Group, and spoke with Margy, the head of HR for the company. She told me exactly what Yesenia had said and also said we were the first complaint so they are going to make us pay the fee's. I explained to her that bed bugs are a parasite and are hazardous and it was her job to provide a live able space for us, she would not help us. This problem is still persisting and legal action will be the next step taken.
Leaking toilet from above apartment for the past 5 months. | Case#**-*523
MIAMI, FL - 33132 1431 My Boyfriend and I have been renting a condo for over a year now and 5 months ago we started to get a leak from the bathroom toilet in the above apt. We told our landlords and they said they can do nothing about because they do not own the above apt. We also told the condo association and they said they could do nothing because it is not building plumbing it's the unit problem which is only an assumption on there part. We sent letters and pictures to the tenant of the apt and he said he is having the same problem with the above apt too. He is trying to help me get this resolved but has difficulty in reaching the realty company who is in charge of the unit. The bathroom wreaks of urine and every time the toilet flushes it pours down into our unit. The smell is unbearable and obviously unlivable and disgusting to say the least. What can I do? Do I get a lawyer involved or the get the city to come and check it out? We have continued to pay rent but feel we shouldn't have to until it is resolved but we need to let them know that this is unacceptable and someone needs to do something. Also, our lease was up last month but we are paying month to month and they have our last months rent and security deposit still. If we make a fuss can they legally evict us?
Parkinggive Us 2 Permanent Parking And One Of Visitors | Case#**-*814
just get a parking space per apartment, I have 3 cars and crane takes them all the time and they do nothing for giving us more parking, when the cars parked on the street, the county puts us ticket because there is not enough space.Crane takes them and we get charged 175 cars, I work at night and in return no longer find parking and I have to walk around trying to find parking, I think it's not fair because if you pay your rent one to them gives it complete.if they give rent the apartment needs to have sufficient parking for people not walk walking after midnight, leaving the car a mile away, I need to know if you can help me, because here people are afraid that if one talks about going to get our apartement for that reason I am asking them for help with this I hope your answer because they apply when one comes to renting not explain anything about the parking, and when you signed the contract to say that they have a policy on parking,ofcourse if you tell them about your poiza First one would come to park and not rent this property..........All I ask is that they are more fair to us tenants, I have more to say thanks.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
repair issues and contract issues and unsafe and indangerment of property | Case#**-*083
phoenix, Arizona - 85019 Was told by agent that this is not a hoa when we told them we dont want hoa 2) neighbors throwing alot of dead birds in are hard to are dogs 3) have mold in gararge had water heater replace been leaking for a while and had replaced guys said under neith it there was mold They send someone out to check it and they didn't move the water heater it just dusted around it and said it was dirt 4) people been throwing poisonis food to our dogs to eat had to rush to er 5)when we call them about the problems and issues they never answere the phone and we leave messages and messages And they never return the calls 6) my truck been broken into 4 times and windows shot out by a weapon and no other cars been damage in the area Just our truck because no one wants us there 6) people throw things at our dogs rocks and other stuff There is alot more stuff
Constant water flow and horrible smell out of it on the floor | Case#**-*211
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - 19116 The water is coming every day, and we have to soak it out with rags. A source where it's coming from is unknown, but it is not even near the bathroom. We were forced to cut out a piece of carpet because it was already soaked in water. Now another problem is that this water has a strong scent of feces coming along with it. It's been going on for 3 weeks already. It makes it hard to breathe and gives us headaches because the whole apartment smells like excrements. The apartments' maintenance guy couldn't do anything when we told him about the problem. The maintenance crew came over many times, but didn't do anything with it.
Stolen Deposit, Unlawful Lease, Illegal Construction, Illegal evictions, Unauthorized Camera instal | Case#**-*758
Ithaca, New York - 14850 The house was shared with rooms rented to individuals who had mutual use of the rest of the house and property. The property manager is the son of the property owner. He and his girlfriend and her 3 dogs had been living the garage until renovation of the basement was completed. The renovation completion date was estimated as September 2010 (1 month after I signed the lease.) The renovation is still incomplete as of 4/2/2012. In October when it became too cold to live in the garage, the property manager, his girlfriend and her dogs moved into the living room (other tenants were not consulted.) They lived on the couches until the following summer. Other tenants had highly limited use of the living room during this time. The couches had to be burned due to their odor and deteriorated condition as a result of their misuse. The couches were not replaced. For about 1 month there was no furniture at all in the living room, for part of this time the living room was under renovation and not useable. After complaints, the property manager refunded one tenant an amount equal to $100 per month of lost use of common space in the form of reduced rent. After which he raised the rent by $50 and promised a revised lease which was never delivered. Construction on the basement resumed in the summer, and additions were added above ground. These were left incomplete for months. Noisy construction occurred well into the night and unsightly and dangerous construction materials lay scattered in the yard from approximately June 2011 until present. The water went out on multiple occasions because of the construction. Tenants were not notified in advance or compensated in any way for the outages. The construction worker and his helpers were given full access to the house, despite tenant request otherwise. The worker was a convicted felon. There is more but I am out of time. Brief list: 1)Promised a year lease and continually said he would deliver, but went 4 months without doing so, forcing tenant to be month to month although this was not the agreement. 2) Terminated month to month lease suddenly claiming the house was too crowded, though the space had increased with the semi-completion of the basement, and the number of tenants remained the same. 3) Attempted to enforce an illegal clause in the lease that does not allow a significant other to stay in the house. 4) Installed web cameras in the house while tenants were away for the holidays. Did not inform tenants or requ
infestation of roaches | Case#**-*848
san antonio, Texas - 78216 we moved in at the end of december 2013 we informed yevette of the roaches and she put us on the weekly pestcide list and we have boomed every week since we moved in here and still have a problem with roaches. its so discusting we dont even cook dinner any more because we cant because the roaches crawl all over the counters n stove n walls. my wife and our kids and i sleep with ear plugs every single night because were so afraid they are going to crawl inside our ears at night. we pay our bills we dont live dirty were a very clean family and we hate living like this is so gross and ive asked time and time again for them to take care of this problem and they still havent the people dowm stairs moved out and they are doing work in that apartment and the roach problem is even worse then before. please were begging for something to be done asap.
breach agreement, bed bugs | Case#**-*748
Knoxville, Tennessee - 37923 We got bed bugs about a month and a half after we moved in, at first we thought it was mosquitos, or fleas and we told the landlord about problem they said we have a bugman who comes monthly. We told him about the problem and he checked and said we have bed bugs and asked where they came from, and we did not know where they came from, then told us to keep quiet about it. He said he would take care of it. other tenants in the complex complained saying they had them as well, then he did a 6 month chemical spray once a week for the remainder of the 6 months. Still did not get rid of them. They told us to get rid of our furniture and clean entire apartment spotless. We did the following as told, threw out all furniture and replaced all of it,3 beds, and dressers, and all beddings, sheets, pillows, blankets, etc. we have spent a total of $5,107 replacing furniture, buying steam cleaner as advised to do, buying sprays, and bombs before he told us not to use them, for he had chemical to spray. We have taken our daughter to the hospital several times over the biting and scaring on her arms ,legs, back, stomach, and neck. Doctors told us the bed bugs were causing her stress which led to her not starting her period for 3 months.We also consulted Primary Care Physician on our sons bites and scars from biting. We have gone to the hospital as well for a staph infection and they told us as well it was from the bed bug bites. Now we tell the bugman when he comes monthly(which he has not came this month) that they have not gone away, and he said he wants to do the 6 month process over again. have pictures and if needed documents/receipts from hospital, and replacement of furniture. This process has been going on for over a year, and we are wanting to move soon, and are afraid of taking them with us when we finally can move.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JUL 4,2015 | 07:59 EST
Renters 109,425,834
Landlords 22,483,781
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security