Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Bed Bug complaints and repair issues | Case#**-*112
On September 5th I realized the bed bug problem and called the apartment manager. Valerie answered the phone and after telling her my problem she said that pest control wouldn't be here until the following Monday. I said I couldn't wait the entire weekend to get treated because I have a 2 year old little boy that was getting bitten. They attempted to call pest control and they kept telling me they couldn't get a hold of them. Days went by and I finally called another pest control company on my own. We had to pay $200.00 that day for them to treat and $50.00 today for a follow up. The apartments said they would not reimburse me for this money. I then tried to get them to inspect the apartments around me because I know exactly where these bugs came from. It has been over a month and there has been absolutely no follow up. No other apartments have been addressed. My fear is these horrible bugs will just find their way back into my home since they are living just next door. On a separate issue, I ask for repairs and it takes them 3 to 4 days to come out. I asked for a light bulb replacement outside my door 2 weeks ago and again today and it still has not been replaced making it very dangerous for me and my little boy to come home at night. My main concern is treating the surrounding apartments so this can be avoided in the future.
UTILITY TRANSFERS AND PAYMENTS | Case#**-*951
VICTORVILLE, CA - 92395 4328 Electricity was transferred from my previous property I lived in currently to renting this property. Electricity was cut on and billed in "my name" on June 29th 2012; before move in on July 3rd 2012. Then at a later date, Optimum turned on service in their name without my knowledge and as a result, they were charged. When Optimum came behind me and turned on service; the service account in my name was cancelled. I have no idea why Optimum would cut on service in their name after my move in date, if electricity was already on & without my knowledge. I cut on service before my move in date, so I was totally prepared for move in with electricity activated. I was still receiving bills from SCE; so I had no idea Optimum had put the electricity in their name until they must have figured out their mistake and cut off the electricity. Therefore, when my electricity was disconnected I called Southern California Edison (the electricity utility company) and that's when I discovered this whole issue. Optimum was on the line with me and SCE trying to figure out the issue; while my electricity was off for 2 hours and I had to reconnect service. I also spoke with the owner of the company in regards to the inconvenience; there was no apologies. So I see no logic to this utility charge being owed with my rent. This was a mistake by Optimum, and I'm not sure why I have to pay for their inconsistencies. Also, to restate, my date of move in was July 3rd 2012; and Optimum didn't send the owner authorization over to the water company until July 23rd 2012. I kept calling Optimum for them to send over the document since I moved in; and I was told each time it would be sent over by the end of the business day. There was a lot of changes that occurred with the employees that were over the Maintenance dept; which the paperwork just kept getting delayed. I kept calling the water company and waited on hold for almost a hour each time and it always ended with they didn't have the owner authorization yet. Therefore, I couldn't transfer service in my name. So I called the water utility co. August 2nd 2012 and faxed over my paperwork; and paid them the deposit when I got paid the following two weeks. Water charges to Optimum could have been prevented if an owners authorization would have been faxed over to the water company before my move in. That is the proper way, not a month after move in. Optimum wants me to pay $320 in utility charges because of their unproper mgmt.
Breach of agreement | Case#**-*355
COLUMBUS, OH - 43219 6090 Nicole, Thanks for your email. I think the total balance you sent regarding my lease (4074 Charter Oak) buyout was wrong. Can you please recalculate? On 1/5/2013, I provided you moveout written notice. Afterwards, we discussed a few times in person on how to handle the situation. On 2/1, the day I moved from Columbus Ohio to Seattle WA, I walked to your office to turn in my keys. You suggested me holding keys until my written notice expires, so that Easton Commons will try to rent my unit to potential tenants. The moveout inspection was completed on 2/1. On 3/4/2013, I called again and asked if my unit had been rented. Knowing it was still available, we agreed on lease buyout and I asked what's my total balance. You confirmed that you will notify me the balance (net of security deposit) by 3/5. Ying Ying Wang, my previous neighbor who lives at Easton Commons, turned in my keys on 3/5. Can you send me the correct amount of the remaining balance? I saw you charged me 3 months' penalty of $2,715, but I have already paid my rent through the end of February. I thoroughly enjoyed living at Easton Commons and always pay rents on time. However, paying 4 months' rent after my move is unreasonable considering I provided written notice on 1/5. I won't be able to pay you or collection agent any balance until hearing back from you a reasonable resolution. Please feel free to give me a call at 206-612-8076 to discuss (I have left you two voice messages). Thanks and have a good day. Thanks, Lin Ye
Unjustifiable Charges For Pest Control. | Case#**-*365
History: Veronica's move in was in March of 2010. Prior to the event there were at least 3 new tenant arrivals, and 1 new arrival just prior to the start of the problem and physical evidence pointing toward this new tenant. In June of 2013 Veronica began encountering bed bugs. First just in one bed room, however they spread throughout the following month. Veronica immediately informed the Aspen Creek office and fully cooperated with their plan of action. Since then there has been 1 chemical treatment and 2 inspections. (Inspectors were instructed by Aspen Creek management; not to answer tenant questions.) Inspectors found no sign of bed bugs around her furniture or around the base boards. (Common place for bed bug egg sightings.) They did however find several egg patches in the corners along the ceilings. Although not allowed to answer tenant questions, it was clear to Veronica what areas had the inspectors attention. Veronica fully cooperated with the following chemical treatment. She also feels that the treatment was not completed as the instructions stated. It was suggested that wall plates would be removed, they were not. The underlining of box springs were not removed from all of the box springs. The apartment was properly prepared by Veronica. Following the treatment, Veronica disposed of all of her beds and sofas. She had all of her clothing cleaned as instructed and she has purchased plastic and rubber air bedding to ensure that she will not be further re-infested until she was sure the problem was solved. She also continued treating the apartment at her own expense based on her research. She has not seen a live bed bug in more than 60 days. Nor does her or her family show any sign of bed bug bites. In November 2013 there was a 2nd inspection. Once again there was no sign along base boards or near any furniture. Veronica showed the inspector that she had purchased rubber and plastic beds. Again the inspectors attention was directed toward the ceilings. On November 22, 2013 Veronica received a letter stating that there would be a treatment at her expense at the cost of $798.89 on November 25, 2013. Veronica has been left with only 2 days, (A Saturday and a Sunday.) to react to this issue. 1. Veronica is sure she is not the source. 2. Veronica is sure she should not be the primary suspect. Veronica will refuse payment at this time however will accept responsibility if found legally responsible.
unlawful lease/breach of contract and harassment | Case#**-*202
L.A, California - 90029 this case has been to court twice i have won both time and it has been adjudicated the the lease is unenforceable and unlawful she has received several code violations , letters from my attorneys for her to repair and cease and desist.
UNRETURNED SECURITY DEPOSIT. AND BREACH OF LAW | Case#**-*294
FRESNO, CA - 93701 2015 I WASN'T NOTIFIED UNTIL AFTER 21 DAYS THAT THE LANDLORD WAS KEEPING MY DEPOSIT AND GIVING ME A BALANCE OWED. THEY NEVER REPAIRED ANYTHING OR ATTEMPT TO. THE OWNER AND MANAGER STAYED OUT OF TOWN AND DIDN'T HAVE ADEQUATE MAINTENANCE. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER ON GOVERNMENT ASSISTANCE AND I HAD TO REPAIR AND PAY OTHERS TO REPAIR THE WEAR AND TEAR. I WILL ADMIT TO LEAVING SOME TRASH AND A COUCH IN THE GARAGE AND A BROKEN ROOM WINDOW. BUT 1000 DOLLARS SHOULD MORE THAN COVER THAT.
unprofessional conduct, broken elevators, breach of agreement | Case#**-*106
Independence, Missouri - 64056 pot smoking among the management and crew on site. Housekeeping stealing pot from others apartment while lounging around on the job in tenants apartments gossiping about other tenants in the building and also in the hallways, maintenance not doing a dang thing all day. Reported numerous maintenance issues that have gone unattended to several times over such as black mold in bathroom along with sink coming off the wall. Elevators repeatedly broke down so that it is not safe and or HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE, waking people up first thing in the morning about a cat accidentally in the hall for 5 seconds until owner could grab him/her to get back into the apartment it came from, human feces in hall and laundry room, loud partying all hours of the night and day along with screaming and fighting, human urine along with feces in the elevator, hallway, and laundry room left for someone else because housekeeping refused to clean instead was more worried about a cat that accidentally got loose and ran into the hall because cats tend to want out when they are in heat.
Harassment | Case#**-*000
Doesn't matter whether it's day or night, will slam on her ceiling/our floor whenever she wants to bother us, screams profanities at us, when she saw us out on our porch she slammed her door after walking her dogs at midnight hard enough to shake my bed (witnessed by my sister so we know it was her), yells nonsense. Called the cops on us for a noise complaint the second night we lived here and tries to bully us. Caught her on video tape the last time she decided to harass us after my son tripped and fell into my nephew while getting dressed to go out for his birthday. Happened at 5:00PM, made all the neighbors at the pool visibly uncomfortable because she was screaming so loudly.
Refusal to return prepaid rent or statement of cleaning costs | Case#**-*227
Portland, Oregon - 97233 My father, Kevin F. Kimpton passed away in January of this year. He was a tenant of Cedar Tree Apartments managed by Bowman Management under Section 8 in Portland, Oregon. Upon renting, the complex required that my father pay a full year of rent in advance as well as all deposits. My father did so and with the year paid in advance, he was paid up until August of this year. Upon his death Bowman Management followed through with the proper notifications and changed the locks on the unit. Once I was allowed to enter, Larry of Bowman Management was very kind and respectful. He tried to help in any way that he could. In March the property was emptied of my father's belongings and I turned the property over to Bowman Management. Since that day I have not been able to get anyone to call me back or answer my calls regarding the remaining prepaid rent. I can't even get them to call me back to give me a receipt of the cleaning bills and such. They are holding onto quite a bit of money that should be returned to my father's estate. Our family attorney has also tried to contact them with no success.
Fair and Equitable Rent | Case#**-*665
Stamford, Connecticut - 06902 I (renter) signed a 10 month lease on August 9, 2009. I agreed to pay $800 per month for ten months. I was not informed at that time or at any other time that the two current renters were paying $600 a month. Approximately two weeks after I signed my lease, a fourth renter signed a lease for $600 a month. My roommates paid $7200 for 12 months and I paid $8000 for 10 months; a total difference of $2000. I did not recieve any additional privileges, parking space, or storage space and my room is equal in size to the other rooms in the house. I was unfairly and inequitably billed a higher rate and other renters were given preferential treatment. I addressed the situation with my landlord at the end of my lease (June 30, 2010) and she offered a $400 compensation for the disparity in rent (20% of what I was overcharged throughout the year), which I was willing to accept. I later received an email from my landlord on July 6th, stating that she would no longer be giving me the $400 to compensate for the unfairly high rent.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of AUG 27,2014 | 07:49 EST
Renters 108,586,003
Landlords 22,313,688
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security