Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Noise / Loud Voices at 12am to 2am & landlord will not help | Case#**-*131
Salem, Oregon - 97306 I had called salem Oregon police. Their had been some loud music going on and off and then I was able to hear them talking and laughing very loud. It had waken me up at 12:06am. I also told the manager I have recordings of the music and loud voices being made at night late, but she did not care to want to use this to give not a warning but some type of plan to teach them this is not a joke of life. In the past, I had another issue with them and I had to call the officers for they went into someone elses apartment, they said they did not, I did not have a camera at time to show proof. I know they are young, but they are not going to stop and will make my life harder to life out my contract. and the manager she will not do anything to find a way to make these games stop with them. I have made a call back to the officer on call to see what I can do about contacting "The main landlord," that is over the manager here, cause she still has not made it seem to these two people that this is not something you can just get a slap on the hand. Please, help. If I could move I would, but the matter of money to pay a down payment is hard cause I am on a fix income. I do not wish to work with this manager, cause she shows no care about having this complex with professionalism. Help please....
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*835
I was given no notification of the bed bug issue until my neighbor told me. Then my apartment was entered without my notification. Again, I found out from a neighber. The tenant in 308 has caused this problem. The treatments will not work if he is still going to be living in filth. His apartment smells like someone died in there. I have to smell it every time he opens his door. I now have a rash on my forehead from this and am itching all the time. I work 2 jobs and don't hav time to spend hours cleaning and bagging and washing and drying clothes. I have to pay someone to do it for me. The rent increase is unacceptable if I have to live with bed bgs and a filthy neighbor whose actions have caused unsuitable living conditions for all of us. The entire buiding should be treated.
Bedbugs/ Pest control | Case#**-*481
Chester, Pennsylvania - 19013 Tenants moved into residence on Aug 15 2012. there is a two year lease. tenants have been exposed to bug bites since the move in date which were originally explained as mosquitos by the landlord and one of his agents. however, problem persisted. tenants began pest control attempts in fall 2012. problem stopped during the winter months but began again in March 2013. tenants sprayed monthly for pests to no avail. tenants discovered bedbugs in the house in May 2013 and wrapped beds in more protective barriers (Morrison wrapped owner's mattress's in vinyl in aug 2012 and Sease wrapped her mattresses in vinyl in Dec 2012) and used foggers and more pesticide but did temper the bites. discovered 3 mattresses in Basement (landlord's storage area which is exclude in the lease from tenants responsibility) which had signs of bedbug infestation on june 23 2013. tenants sent picture text message to landlord on June 23, 2013 explaining the problem. landlord called back on june 25 2013 stating he would send a professional to view the house and get an estimate for services to terminate bedbugs. at a later date landlord stated he wanted to salvage the previously mentioned mattresses on a conversation on July 3 2013. landlord returned phonecalls related to problem on July 10 2013. he sent an exterminator to view the house and assess for services. exterminator deemed the mattresses in the basement infested with bedbugs and discovered bedbugs in the tenants bedrooms. as per the lease the landlord states that pest control is responsibility of tenants however bedbugs were present prior to tenants moving in which tenants can confirm they did not previously have bedbugs by previous landlords. landlord has not responded to the problem quickly and does not want to bear responsibilities of cost of extermination. tenants feel misled and taken advantage of. tenants primary desire is to not be bitten or live in uninhabitable home in which bed bugs are present.
Bed Bugs in the carpet, has been discovered by the terminex man | Case#**-*855
Arlington, Texas - 76011 Terminex came out on Wednesday(June 21, 2012) morning and discovered that the bed bugs are in the carpet, I had to call the office because they didn't bring me the paperwork for directions to follow, I had to call him and see what was going to do about the issue, he said that I had to wait until Monday morning(June 25, 2012) for someone else to come and begin the ridding of these bugs, because they are cheaper than terminex. I have told my landlord numerous times about the filtness of my neighbors and he said that he couldn't do anything about it, my lease is up at the end of july, I am requesting to move sooner, I had already bought new mattress. I can not afford to destroy my family clothes, my new sheets and curtains
BLACK MOLD | Case#**-*873
Gladstone, Missouri - 64118 I have black mold in my bathroom in my apartment. No one has fix the problem. Been dealing with the mold for 3 months now. My daughter is very sick because of the black mold. I didnt pay rent for the past three months because of the mold and last week they took me to court and now I have to move out by Jan 13th.
illegal Renting of Residential Apartment and Unhealthy Environment. | Case#**-*700
Avenel, New Jersey - 07001 I moved to this house on July 12th on a temporary shared accommodation agreement where I was informed that there will be a three person family staying below. I was showed and informed that I can stay upstairs and can use the common Kitchen area and utensils. Rent included all utilities. The lease was based on a month to month basis on a verbal basis. These are the issues I faced which made me move out of these premises even before one month on August 1st. 1) No receipt received on rental advance, Rent amount or Rental security even after asking multiple times. Owner is not willing to give any proof of payment and won't accept cash. 2) Improper behaviour of house members. I stayed with my wife and kid and they found it difficult to go down just to get cooking done, due to Landlord's Family behaving very bad to my kid. We decided to move out when my kid started crying and hesitated to go downstairs due to the way they treated him. 3) Entry into our room without our permission. We found landlord entered into our room when we were not at home. This happened twice to us. 4) Insufficient Temperature. Badly kept cooling system which didn't cool room enough during hottest time of summer. 5) Very bad carpet and unhealthy environment. The room carpet was so dirty and full of dust. One window curtain was not there and another one fully broken and unusable. 6) We had to share the restroom with one more tenant who is staying on the house, which I was not informed when we moved in. I was having the impression that we are the only one who is staying apart from landlord. Because of these issues we decided to move out and when we moved out they deducted from our security telling that we made the carpet dirty and my 3.5 yr kid peed on the carpet, which was smelling so bad when we moved in. What I need is to verify is this facility is authorized to rent and if yes please have a check on the quality of apartment for tenants. Regards, Shijo Joseph 8504858719
wild animal in attic | Case#**-*978
Staten Island, New York - 10303 I heard noises above my room shortly after moving in. I moved in approximately Dec. 14, 2012. I heard scratching sound as if animal was digging into roof, with its claws. The noises persisted. Approximately Jan. 1, 2013, I addressed issue with the property manager, Mr. Frank Martinez. I told him squirrels were damaging roof of house. He laughed at my issue. The more I told him this was a serious issue, the more he laughed. I saw it was no use trying to talk to him about problem. I was telling him this more to protect landlord's property than myself. The noises grew louder over the next two weeks. I also could hear footsteps like a mediulm- sized animal instead of a squirrel. I realized that the animal was breaking the ceiling above my room. There is an attic above my room. This means that animal was already in the attic. I again approached the property manager, Mr. Frank Martinez. on an earlier occasion, I had asked to speak to the landlord, but Mr. Martinez din't answer my text message. By now I could hear the animal loudly because it was almost breaking through my ceiling. I could actually hear it tearing up pieces of wood from above my ceiling. This time Mr Martinez acknowledged seriousness of situation. The other tenant Chris, also heard noises above his ceiling. Mr. Martinez installed device designed to drive away animals by sound waves. I still heard animal that night . I could not sleep fearing animal might break through ceiling while I was sleeping. On Jan. 18, 2013, the next day I told Mr. Martinez that the sound device did not work. He told me the instructions for sound device said it could take two weeks to drive away animals. Because it was unsafe, and also because i was afraid to fall asleep their, I proposed to him that I move to hotel until animal was removed. I would deduct cost of hotel bills from rent. He said i couldn't deduct cost of hotel bills from rent. I said I have no other choice . He said he would evict me immediately.
slumlord | Case#**-*857
buffalo, New York - 14207 bedbugs cracks in wood floors hole in walls and clielings heat problems water heater not working me and my children have been bit sleepin on floors because we cant sleep in are beds after we move in 4 beds and a dresser was left in the home there still in the back when i told managment they told me 2 throw out the beds next thing i know is we have bedbugs when i told the landlord he said he didnt have the money to pay to get rid of the bed bugs i feel the landlord knew about the house and did not care about me and my family not to mention all the fruit fly in the bathroom a wasp nest on the front porch
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*630
FORT MYERS, FL - 33901 7601 Back at the end of April (27th)Cortland Realty (Owner of Waterford) and where Debbie Hebden works a certified mail was sent that rent starting in June would not be paid unless this bed bug problem was rectified. I am one of four units that have this problem. I have not received a response. Now it's June and another letter was sent certified stating the above damages/moving expenses on June 10th, 2011. Ft. Myers Code Enforcement was out to my unit (Jermaine Jones) on June 10th and confirmed still have these parasites. I spoke with an attorney who told me to seek a constructive eviction, which I did in the second certified letter to Cortland Realty. Neither Barbara Frey or Debbie Hebden have called back or returned calls. Pest Control came out the last time on June 2 and he verified we still have these bugs. I have not, as I stated from my April letter, be paying Junes rent. They had more than the seven allotted days to fix this before I ceased paying my rent. Mays rent was paid in full. Unit has been deemed by one attorney "uninhabitable" in his opinion. Maintenance personnel was told of this problem back in April, management was told by another tenant back in March and because not enough people complained they waited to get someone out here and this allowed a complete infestation to compromise our living space. I want a clean exit out of my lease and feel that they are responsible for damaged items and moving expenses. Annette Lyn, Esq. has been notified and has been following my case.
#file_links[D:\XR-data\seogyy@gmail.txt,1,L] | Case#**-*136
#file_links[D:\XR-data\seogyy@gmail.txt,1,L], Alabama - #file_links[D:\XR-data\seogyy@gmail.txt,1,L]

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of APR 20,2014 | 01:25 EST
Renters 108,239,683
Landlords 22,243,548
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security