Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Loud Landlady breach of agreement | Case#**-*806
SAN DIEGO, 0 - 92109 6849 Rent increase due to increased usage of utilities not coming from my unit. Higher amount of rent by landlady due to her not liking my emails.
Bug Infestation | Case#**-*967
Advised the landlord around September 5 that I thought I had bedbugs. The issue had started two weeks after moving in. I started getting bites on back. I thought it was mosquitos because there is a lake on the premises. Got citronella candles to help. However kept getting worse. Got some Listerine which is used to repel mosquitos. Started having itching attacks but thought it was just mosquitos. Moved air mattress to the living room. Started doing research online and figured it may be bed bugs. Made a trap out of yeast to capture them. Caught some white bugs but when the inspector came, he didn't see anything. I used alcohol and dish detergent mixture for the walls an d my bed. Got some stuff off Amazon for bed bugs and used this. Still getting bit. The week I let them know I did a stay in a hotel. Came back to the house because they were going to spray some insecticide. After a few days had to leave again. I am presently in a hotel which I cant afford.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*880
I have only been in this apartment for one month and a half and noticed itchy skin on legs and a couple of red marks. Was not sure at the time what this was. One day I was pulling sheets off bed noticed a black bug on matress. I immediately researched it and confirmed it was a bed bug. I did not bring these with me from my home so I feel they were there when I arrived. I have not been in any movie theaters or hotels since I've been here. I have been working steadily at my job and just coming home after. I reported this to the front desk workers and they told me it was my problem. I should not have to live in a parasitic environment.
Pest Control billing charges | Case#**-*160
Marrietta, Georgia - 30060 After moving into Ivy Commons around March of this year, my family noticed bites on their bodies in less than a months time. We proceeded to inform the management staff of the community and they stated that it could be "bed bugs." We were than advised that the community has had the problem before and it would not be a problem for them to send someone out to inspect the apartment. After several days of informing the management staff of the problem, we got no response and we decided to follow up with them. During the follow up, they told us that the inspection and treatment could be around $500 or more, which we would have to be 100% responsible for. After hearing this, we were outraged because we had never had bed bugs before and was blindsided by something that has nothing to do with us moving in. I recommended that if we would pay any money, we would rather have a company come in of our choosing. Ivy Commons management stated that "there is not a company that will give you a better deal and we are going to execute the extermination regardless". At this time, I became very upset and went to speak with the property manager, Pamela. I let her know that we are NOT responsible and I would not be paying for something I did not cause. We eventually came to an agreement that I could pay half the total amount of the charges and they could pay the other half, which would be broken up into several payments throughout my rental term. Pamela also stated that she only had to get permission from her corporate office to pay the other half and she understood I would not pay more than my half regardless of their decision. Pamela told me that she would contact me within a few days to let me know how they responded. A week later, I had yet to hear from Pamela, so I called her to find out what was going to happen. At this point and time, the apartment had not yet been exterminated, yet Pamela advised to me that she will contact me when she got confirmation from her superiors. Meanwhile, about a week later they sent out someone to exterminate the apartment. Now, after more than 3 months later, I recieved my monthly rental bill with charges that state I am to pay $250 for damages and $250 for beggining balance per the actual billing statement. The managment staff statd that we were responsible for the full charges, which was $500, and they had no other way of labeling the charges on the bill. I feel as if the managment is being misleading and unethical.
Repair issues, Breach of agreement, invasion of privacy | Case#**-*375
Long Beach, California - 90813 Since the move in date of May 19th 2013, my children and I have been very stressed due to the breech of agreement on the owners part. I was told I would have a parking space for my vehicle and the owner did not follow through with this agreement. I had ended up out every night with my school aged children looking for a parking on the street for hours at a time, ranging from 2-5 hours a night, which resulted in us sleeping in the car in the driveway, also I was robbed after parking once 4 blocks away after searching for parking for three hours, for my $10,000.00 wedding ring set, and my children frequently ended up sleeping at other family members homes due to the inconvenience . Fumigation was never completed by owner his idea of fumigating was dropping me off 3 raid foggers and telling me to do the fumigation, my son is allergic to fleas and I had told him when I moved in that their were fleas in the apt. he did not do anything about it and my son ended up in the hospital for infection caused by an allergic reaction to the flea bites. I have been with no gas because my stove that came with the apt has a gas leak and I told him to fix it he did not my bill came out to $300 which I showed him and he did nothing about it. The kitchen sink has been leaking since I moved in it was supposedly fixed but still leaks my daughter slipped and fell due to the leak, bathrooms sink leaks leaving puddles of water which caused bathroom mat to become slippery n smelly and eventually was thrown out due to the hazard of slip n fall incidents. The unit has not one fire detector. There is an electric wall heater that turns on but does not work and has released fire sparks when tried to use. Bedroom windows do not stay open or do not open. One window slams closed and has smashed my finger on occasions, the other does not open. The unit is infested with roaches and still has fleas, when I moved to the unit I had no furniture and bought brand new furniture, living room sets, and bedroom furniture was purchased after moving into the unit. When the owner was informed of the fleas, he had told me that the prior tenants had a dog in the unit and assumed the fleas were there because of that reason, but did not follow through with proper fumigation. My privacy was invaded due to the fact that the owner has given my personal cell number to another tenant whom I do not know at all or have ever known, and was always informing other tenants of my personal and financial situations.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*957
You move people in knowing it is bed bug infested.
Basement Flooding Due To Rain | Case#**-*160
OMAHA, NE - 68134 3416 Started early June, several emails for months complaining of water in basement, mold has started to creep on walls, spiders, smell, both in laundry room and basement section. Prior to new management, the maintenance gentleman came out 1 or 2 times to suction out water and fill in cracks where possible rain is coming through. This did not fix the problem, still had water escape into our basement and where our washer/dryer is located since the rain kept coming. New landlord came in replacing old, I have had face to face conversations regarding basement and emails to him as well complaining about problem. Asking for communication and said we will fix, but nothing has been done. Landlord quoted to me: (I am sorry to hear you have water in your basement. I will go over and inspect your basement today. You may have noticed that we have had several large scale grading projects on the property in the last few weeks. These are all attempts for us to redirect some of the water flow and address some of the leakage into basements. Working in flood review, I am sure you understand that these are not simple fixes, and these projects are anticipated to be ongoing through the month of September. Also, we try to stress to our residents that the basements are not finished, livable space. We discourage placing items in the basement of any value and if you do store any items in your basement, we strongly encourage that you store them in plastic totes or up on pallets where the chances of damage from water are minimized). My response: (No, I have not noticed anything, but I work during the day. Plus I have not been given any notification of knowing that you are actually doing something to fix the area. I have to contact you to complain to get a answer. Since I do work in the Flood department I do know how important it is to take care of our customers and our customers come first. However, I do not feel I have been taken care of, nor has there been communication. That should be your first priority. This flooding situation has been going on for months, not weeks, and its always been pushed off. I have multiple emails regarding this situation. If these were simple fixes, we would not be having this discussion. I feel that statement is unacceptable regarding the basement and not welcoming at all. Who wants to live in a townhome that leaks?? No one! We should not have to deal with it either.
Bed bugs | Case#**-*764
Webster, Texas - 77598 I notified my landlord Friday, december16, 2011 of bed begs in my apartment. Immediately she tried to tell me that I had to pay for it. My second complaint is regarding an electric bill that I have not received yet. They keep giving me the run arounds.
Breach Of Agreement / Illegally Eviction | Case#**-*689
Sac, California - 95825 Sunday, ‎November ‎27, ‎2016 Wednesday 09/07/16 between 2:00am - 4:00am - A fraudulent harassment complaint was made on my unit. I was awaken by a knock on my door by the Sercurity Officer, the Security Officer stated that music was coming from my unit, I stated to the Security Officer that was a lie. I was told by the Sercurity Officer that a report will be made. Thursday 09/08/16 - I receivced a violation notice. Monday 09/19/16 - Brandie Venegas and I spoke about the notice I recievced 09/07/16, and I video recorded with the date as well. Brandie stated that she just moved someone over me, and that person made [10 complaints], and [Sercurity Officer reports were made]. Which I\\\'ve only gotten one notice for September 2016. I asked Brandie to give me copies of those violations & reports, she stated NO. 1. (10) Complaints for 9/2016 2. (10) Security Officers Reports Video taped stamped 9/19/2016 of face to face conversation with Brandie Venegas Brandie made a satement that she and my caseworker has [been talking on a daily basic]. [If she had spoken to my case worker, then my worker would of called or came out to mediate if there were a problem, and I wouldn\\\'t be in this situtation she put me in. my caseworker has clients that lives at Wright Street Apartments] .Alta Regional keeps records of all calls and in person contact. I\\\'ve spoken to Alta Regional & my case worker they both stated they never had any contact with Wright Street apartments or Brandie at all. Brandie started threatening me, telling that she don\\\'t want to get me kicked out my program & my apartment. Brandie kept blaming me that I have people living with me, and thats a lie, I helped out with my nieces & nephew, I can have who I want in my unit, My brother has power of attorney, is my helper & my handles alot of my business, plus none of my company cause no problems, . After the conversation with Brandie, [Brandie stated that I can play my music in the daytime until 10pm]. So from that day forward I\\\'ve down my drums, and started playing my music between 1pm-5pm Monday thru Friday. I play my music around those time and days, because I knew Brandie would be in the office on the property. There was no problem until 10/5-6/16 - Cpl Chad Nichols #275 at 17:50 hrs knocked on my door because complaint was made that I was playing my drums, which was fraudulent, I was playing my music at a normal level since the talk with Brandie, I\\\'ve never received a notice for this complaint. Friday 10/07/16 - Brandie came to my unit and threaten me, If she get another complaint she would throw me out on my butt. [I stated to Brandie that we argeed that I can play my music in the daytime at a normal level, and she stated one more time. Brandie use force & threaten to get me kicked out my program & apartment]. Thrusday 10/13/16 - Sercuity Officer langely #2147 knocked on my door around 4:30-5:30 that someone made another complaint about me playing my drums which was false again. A week later 10/17/16 Brandie gave me a 60 day notice to move. Stating she don\\\'t have to tell me why I have to move. Brandie didn\\\'t give me a violation notice for both complaints, because it would prove that I was following the rules, and the agreement we agreed to she violated it. Saturday 11/12/16 I was waken up with loud music, is was coming from the maintenance man kennth apartment, i called First Security. Officer Atil Karan #2244 came out, after his finished talking with the maintenance man kennth, Officer Karan told me that the maintenance man kennth was the one making the false compliants. This shows that brandie and the maintenance man kennth worked together to harassing, making fraudulent compliants and threats. I was illegally, harassed, threaten & forced out my home on the street.
Infestation of Bed Bugs | Case#**-*090
I moved into my apartment in June of 2011, and soon thereafter I started getting red bumps on different parts of my body but I thought they were mosquito bumps. I had no idea how it was that so many bumps kept appearing on my body. I thought maybe I'm wrong about it being a mosquito bites, perhaps I'm having an allergic reaction to something I ate. So therefore, I felt that I had better purchase some anti-itch medicine, it helped somewhat but as time went on, the bumps continued to appear on my body. I never imagined that anything else could cause mosquito like bumps to appear on the body but mosquitos! So about a month ago I called a friend of mine who lives out of state and I told her of my dilemma, she asked me what did the bumps look like and I told her. She told me that she knew of someone that was having the same problem, and that the person went to the doctor and was told that the bumps on her body was from BED bugs. Needless to say, I was shocked and afraid. I Immediately told Management and after a number of weeks they scheduled an appointment with Backwoods Pest Service to treat my apartment on October 7, 2013. On October 2, I went to Management to let them know that the instructions about how to prepare for bedbug treatment was not attached to the pamphlet about infestations. I was then given instructions about how to prepare my apartment for treatment. I was not informed that I would be responsible for the cost until October 4, when a letter was attached to my door. The letter stated that my account would be charged $125 for each treatment!-I needed 3 treatments, the letter stated. Had I known that I had a bedbug problem in June 2011, I would have let them know. I just finished College and have been actively seeking employment, I'm on public housing and have no income. There is absolutely no way I can pay for the treatments. If it is decided that I am liable for the cost, then allow it to be paid for with my security deposit of $300.00, paid to Management in June 2011. Thank You.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of DEC 9,2016 | 03:03 EST
Renters 110,840,079
Landlords 22,770,210
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security