Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Harrasment and Breach of Agrement | Case#**-*816
San Diego, California - 92113 Monday April 15th 2013 9:51am Mr. Rountree has been very intimidating and aggressive towards me when I try disuses rent/maintenance that needs to be done, for over eight months Mr. Rountree has emailed, text, or phone conversations of his plans to file for evection or to just leave and on February 13th 2013 I called Mr. Rountree and we made a new agreement ( he asked for me to E-mail him this new agreement) that I would pay 650.00 a month (his email reply said 50 extra which would make rent 675.00) Mr. Rountree says I owe 24.00 times ten months’ rent which comes out to 250.00 but I am being charged close to 500.00 in fees. my mother has deposited and extra 50.00 towards Februarys rent now being the month of April Mr. Rountree received 675.00 in rent and emailed me to leave the apartment on Friday and that Saturday April 13th he would take over the unit, Mr. Rountree did not show up on Saturday. We made an agreement for an increase of rent and Mr. Rountree continues to intimidating me verbally, his response are demanding and I am afraid to leave my apartment in fear of being locked out . I would like very much to stay and continue pay 675.00 until any late fees are finished then my rent to be 624.00 a month, I do not have the means to move and only receive 317.00 a month for my daughter because I do not get child support and my parents are helping out with the rest of rent I do not always have the finances to have a phone( Mr. Rountree said by law I have to have a phone), I travel by public transportation and attended San Diego City College ( I did not receive any finical aid this semester for school to help with my bus pass/books) I am a single mother supporting my children and we need a place to live. I am currently taking anitdepression medications and sleep aids along with individual counseling. I suffer from Depression and Insomnia therefore I have my mother Julie Gray assisting me. April 16th 2013 in the 6:00 pm hour Mr. Rountree knocked on my door, As I opened my door about a foot wide, Mr. rountess put his left hand on my door was holding my screen door, he began to say that In a few days that he plans to file for eviction handing an envelope which I thought was another note, I responded that I cannot discuss anything with him unless my mother Julie Gray is present and everything must be in writing from now on he said “your mother is not on the lease” I replied “I never gave permission to have her removed”, Mr. Rountree took a step forward towards me and said “do you really want to be playing these games?, I began to close my door Mr. Rountree would not let me close my door (wedge himself in the door way), he continued talking and stated that I will be paying all his court and Attorney fees. Any face to face conversation with Mr. Rountree is very uncomfortable because he gets close enough to me that there’s only half a foot to a foot distance and I feel extremely awkward and in that situation.
We Have No Maintenace Man And Really No Manager I Have No Smoke Detector | Case#**-*967
KENOSHA, WI - 53140 1547 We management and maintenance man a 24 hour person. These people just take are money. We need some who cares and will take care builing problems we are disables we can\'t take care of everything are selves. Thankyou for any help you can give us a lot are afraid if we turn these people in. We will get thrown out. Thank You Russell any all other tenants.
Deposit Issue | Case#**-*589
Houston, Texas - 77036 I filled out the application. I paid the $300 deposit because I was told they needed it to "hold the apartment". I paid with a money order. The day before I was expected to move in, I went to see the Landlord, told them that I could not move in, and asked for my deposit back. They told me, "We cannot give it back because you signed the application, we approved you, and you agreed to move in. You cancel, not us. If you don't move in, you just lose the deposit." I did not sign the lease. I paid the non refundable fee for the application and I did not move in. I thought the security deposit was REFUNDABLE. They didn't tell me that the deposit was NOT REFUNDABLE after they approved me. I understand that I signed the application and they approved me but I DID NOT MOVE IN OR SIGN LEASE PAPERS. I thought the deposit was just there to hold the room and cover any damages IF I were to move in.
Refund/Hot Water | Case#**-*664
Houston, Texas - 77083 I moved in February 15,2013 on February 25,2013 i paid a total of $2500 to cover my rent until August 2013 the credit will just sit on my account was never told it wasn't refundable i asked for my money back because there's been no water on an off since March 1 on March 27 the Hot water was completely shut off until now April 4 n we still have no hot water my husband is disabled an this is unsafe an unhealthy livid conditions for him nothing seems to be getting done about the Hot water i just want my money back are to be let out of my lease with the balance that's left on my account
Received A Meritless Noise Complaint | Case#**-*597
At 3:30 in the afternoon we received a complaint for excessive base. Radio was on but at a reasonable volume. Base was on but by no means anywhere that would cause a disturbance.
Termites | Case#**-*308
Riverside, California - 92507 Complained about termites 6/14/11 and they said they would call the exterminator. We waited a week and a half and complained again. We received the same answer. The termites are coming through the back of the shower head, the light fixtures and the window sill in our bedroom. They were coming through the fire alarm which kept sounding due to the termites, so we had to remove it and we let the manager know. They have only said what they would to and haven't done anything.
Security deposit the amt.$3150.00 | Case#**-*944
On March 26, 2011 we moved to 250 College Park Drive Apt# P 31, Upland CA 91786. When we moved in we paid a security deposit in the amount of Three thousands One Fifty Dollars ($3,150.) in the form of cashier check . On December 14, 2012. I did vacate the premises and gave the keys to management. For almost 8 months I have not yet received a refund and itemized disposition of our security deposit.,despite sending them a demand letter to return our security deposit.
repair/illegal eviction/ poor mangement | Case#**-*153
LITTLE ROCK, AR - 72209 3922 Manger Mark green lock me out my house with my stuff in it I did not recive an eveviction motive he has been with holdin my mail for weeks will not fix any thing n my apartment he sella drugs had given drugs to minors he has mad sexual comments to me n I refuse so he wants me to move I ask Jim for owners number but he will not give me her number he had ppl break n my house n steal my o things he has kids watchin the Office theysmoke drugs in there he has threatin my life n I need some help badly
household harassment | Case#**-*954
OKLAHOMA CITY, OK - 73119 5214 I was the one who signed in the contract of Lease together with my mom and my step dad is always feel free to his harassment on the house when his drunk, and every day he is drunk , he breaks something and pissed everywhere and become violent. I want to know what is my right cause i can't live with that kind of people inside my house.
Repair Issue No Heat And Drain Issues | Case#**-*926
Hi, it got cold in Columbus Indiana so I turned the heat on around a month ago. I lit the pilot and replaced the thermostat battery and heat does not work. I have turned in 2 maintenance request on the managers website like I'm supposed to and the second set it to enter at anytime. I also reported 3 times that I have sewer gas smell in bathroom, and drainage problems in bathroom, kitchen and washer drain. I have a rent to own contract that states, only repair small repairs, and in few years they will help me a loan if I choose to buy the house instead of renting. I replaced parts of the toilet and cleared drain with drano and snaked what I could. I am not responsible for the big stuff according to there contract. I have not gotten any response or repairs at all and it's down to 40 degrees at night 60 in the day. I can't afford to repair the heat or bunch of space heaters. I also have black mold in the bathroom I reported the last time with nothing done either. thanks ashley

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JUL 30,2015 | 09:07 EST
Renters 109,496,162
Landlords 22,498,024
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security