Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Need New Stove & Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*094
Fresno, California - 93704 There are 2 separate complaints. First, my gas stove has been determined unsafe by the fire department on Sunday, August 12, 2012. The firefighters said that stove should NOT be plugged back in. My manager, Cindy, has told me 2 different things. She was real nasty to me on the phone & very angry with me, but I did not break that stove. This is not the first time I had to request service for the same stove. 1st, she said she would order me a new stove which will not arrive until Tuesday, August 14, 2012. We need to cook. I have a young child. 2nd, she told me she would give me her OLD STOVE SO THAT SHE COULD KEEP THE NEW ONE FOR HERSELF. She is the manager & a tenant. I called the corporate office in Oregon twice today. First I spoke to a male, whose name I do not know. He told me they should not be replacing the stove, just trying to fix it - in spite of the fact that I told him the fire dept has determined it unsafe to plug that stove back in. I called the corporate office again & spoke to Vicky this time. She told me that a new stove was ordered, but will not arrive until tomorrow. I told her what the manager, Cindy, told me about keeping the new stove for herself & giving me her old one. Vicky just told me to call the manager back to determine what was going to happen. They order the stoves from Sears & there is a Sears here in town, just minutes away from the apartment complex. They could have EASILY purchased a stove today & had it delivered today, but simply chose not to do that. My 2nd complaint is unrelated to the first. Our apartment pool has been closed for over a month because of a broken light that the apartment complex has refused to fix. We got a real nasty letter informing us about this light. They said it happened after hours. It could have been anyone, but it is 100+ degrees here in Fresno, CA & we pay rent to have a pool & the money from our rent is supposed to go to repairs, if necessary. The gate is not locked. Any random homeless person could have broken in & broken that light, but the manager is punishing the entire apartment complex. She is not reducing our rent, just taking back one of the most important summer amenities.
Damages Dispute | Case#**-*182
MILLIKEN, CO - 80543 8403 I moved into 207 South Dorothy on April 1, 2007. I moved into 217 South Dorothy on January 1, 2008, as a lease option. I was an extremely considerate tenant the entire time. I forfeited my option. I moved out at the conclusion of my lease on June 30, 2012. I was always prompt with my rent and kept my home in good repair. When I moved into 217 South Dorothy, it was a new remodel. However, several things were missing or not finished. I was respectful of my landlord and did not complain. I bought the missing shower rod and curtain to match the towel bars. I used the cabinet which was never finished. I used the closet which was never finished. I maintained the property throughout my time there. When I moved I left my home in good condition, I treated it kindly, as it was my home for several years. I dispute the damages. The home was left in good condition, normal wear and tear. I agree to pay for carpet cleaning, as that is a part of the terms of my lease.
Privacy Violation | Case#**-*026
Rochester Hills, Michigan - 48309 The manager sent an e-mail to me (9/18/13) announcing the need to due "preventative maintenance" in my apartment. The message included the option of making an appointment to have the work done. I asked for an appointment in a reply (9/18/13), which is my practice for then entire time of my residency her (over 4 years). I did not receive a reply, so I sent another message to the manager requesting an appointment (9/25/13) and offered a day/date that would be convenient for me and I also offered to make other arrangements if that date was not feasible. The next day, while at work an hour away from home, I received and emergency call from my burglar alarm company indicating that my apartment had been entered and the alarm was sounding and the motion detector sensing the presence of an intruder. When I returned home, I found a note from River Oaks Apartments on the floor near the front entrance indicating that "Preventative Maintenance was performed." I have not received any correspondence from River Oaks relative to the unannounced entry to my apartment, them leaving my alarm blaring, or my two requests for appointments. They offered me the option of setting up an appointment since I have a dog and a burglar alarm. Both of which they are aware of since each had to be approved beforehand and I ALWAYS make an appointment to avoid such mishaps as I endured on 9/26/13.
House not up to code | Case#**-*317
Middletown, Ohio - 45044 I just received a notice to vacate the premises due to past due utility bills. When I moved in 05/2010 the house was still under construction, I was told that until they(the landlord) separated the water and electric meters not to worry about paying any utilities, until 9 months later I was given a printed out piece of paper stating what I owed in back utilities. I didnt know what else to do besides try and make payments every month, which was fine for about 5 months and I missed a payment. Now the landlord is trying to evict me due to unpaid utilities. I live upstairs in the attic which they converted to a little one bedroom apartment, I have no washer/dryer, and no thermostat to control the heat. The downstairs is a 2 or 3 bedroom house with a washer/dryer and multiple people living there and there is only one electric/water meter for the entire house. I know that the downstairs is section 8 and that they pay a portion of the utilities, I just would like to know if what my landlord is doing is legal, and how he can tell how much electric/water that I used upstairs when the bill is for the house as a whole.
failing to maintain the property | Case#**-*903
camden, New Jersey - 08105 On August 13,2011 I Matisha wood fell on the front steps of 3314 Rosedale Ave. camden NJ 08105 property of FRANK KALER. that night i went to cooper E.R my front tooth was push back and my back tooth was slit down the middle. On August 22,2001 i was evaluated by Gelman Dental Associates which referral to Dr. matthew D.D.S to get the following orthodontic treatment;#30 extract and number #9 stables. I have been in lots of pain do to this and not able to eat any food (only able to drink out of straw) Attach is my dental and E.R paper work i have blacked out any personal information that i feel is not for Mr.Kaler to know.
Repair issues | Case#**-*320
ST PETERSBURG, FL - 33702 4469 Ac unit has been an ongoing problem. Since April 2013 I have placed approximately 15 calls regarding this. Recently they sent an unlicensed tech who said he could not do anything. Was told they would fix first thing today. After my last call they suggest I come in to see management a out making it a priority. I'm moving out in July, have paid my rent on time except may 2013, when I was 1 day overdue. They promptly reminded me with a note on my door to pay $50 late fee which I sent in with my notice of moving. My electric bills are higher because the system is constantly running. There seems to be no urgency, and keep saying they are short handed. I am a tenant and I pay my rent. I'm entitled to have the luxury of air conditioning so I may go back to my own home. I've been forced to stay somewhere else for 5 days now. Also paying someone to take care of my dog.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*184
Albuquerque, New Mexico - 87112 Jaimie Krzynski moved in to 10509 Apache Ave NE with a lease start date of April 1, 2012 and termination date of July 31, 2012. $600 was paid as a deposit. Monica Herrera moved in the middle of June and paid a deposit of $200. After the tenants moved out of the home, they received a certified letter from the landlords making false statements that the house was not clean, that the wrong paint color was used although it was what the landlords presented and agreed the tenants could use, and that trash was left. Neither tenant's deposits were returned. This complaint is for the return of the deposits in full to both tenants. Photographs, text messages, documents, and witnesses are available.
Rodents in Attic | Case#**-*003
denton, Texas - 76201 For the past 3 months, i've been trying to get Woodhill to take care of the squirrels in my attic. They have destroyed all insulation, and my electric bill has more than doubled. They have come by and looked at the problem, and half-ass tried to fix it. The squirrels keep me up at night, and i feel like i shouldn't have to live like this. They said they would try to find the budget for the insulation, but in the mean time I would have to deal. I can't keep paying this high electric bill, and these rodents have got to go! They refuse to do anything more than set capture and release traps, and refuse to patch the holes. PLEASE HELP
Utility Shut-Off | Case#**-*737
Our landlord tried to evict us but the judge ruled in our favor and gave us a judgement of non-eviction. Now our landlord had the electricity shut off and told the electric company not to let us get them turned back on. I have 3 small children who needs lights. She is also refusing to take our rent payments
Repair Issue, Breach of Agreement, Retaliatory Rent Increase | Case#**-*309
TRACY, CA - 95376 4337 Raw sewage backup 9/16/2012, clean up paid for by Tennant "repair and deduct" -cost of day off from work, gas to evacuate house, items thrown out because of sewage -testing of dry wall as indicated by the 911 Restoration professionals Code Notice to fix water heater -testing of water, which has been rust colored for safety Code Notice to fix Glass window next to door -no cost to us as tennants either through raise in rent or out of security deposit -this item should have had safety glass and occupant has cut on arm from the glass Retaliatory Rent Increase -tennants offer to pay 1000.00 rent as originally agreed w/ a 50 late fee until we can safely and successfully leave the rental property and move on

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of APR 19,2015 | 04:05 EST
Renters 109,220,195
Landlords 22,442,132
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security