Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

bedbugs treatment | Case#**-*054
COLUMBUS, OH - 43229 1268 Hi my name is Amadou Diallo , I have been a Brookeville tenant for over three years now, never once was i late or missed paying my rent. It all started Three months ago when I told my landlord about some bugs biting me at night. They assume that it was bedbugs because apparently the whole complex is infected even though they could not find any bedbugs in my apartment. So they charge me a first time bill of 208$. I paid it. Because my landlordtold me that the bites are bedbugs bites. It is not until last month i realize that the bugs bitting me are actually coming from the dirty and smelly pool outside about 10 feet from my apartment. I actually have pictures and videos of it. Prior to that i told my landlord about how dirty and smelly the pool was, As it could cause serious health problems but they didn't do anything about it. And even worse they charge tenants for bedbug treatments, a problem that almost the whole complex has . On May 1st i went in the office to pay my rent. The landlord wouldn't take my rent because apparently they charged me another 208$ for a second time bedbug treatment which I totally refuse to pay because of the horrible condition I live in. And as of May 7th I received a 3 days eviction notice and a 70$ late fee which makes it a total of 693$,.....i would like to know if there is any legal action, I could take to fight back? Thank. You
Security Deposit dispute for unreasonable charges | Case#**-*138
CAMP HILL, Pennsylvania - 17011 I stayed in Riverview apartments Camp Hill from July'2010 till Sept 2011. The lease is signed in July 2010 for 1 year and its month-to-month after 1 year. I vacated the apartment with appropriate 30 days notice period and vacated on Sept 30th. My initial security deposit was 825 $. I cleaned the apartment and returned the keys. I received a letter on Oct 10th, saying that they are charging 155$ for carpet cleaning, stove, bathroom cleaning and send me a check for 670$ (825 minus 155=670). Please see the attached mail document. Then I emailed them saying that my apartment is clean I am expecting my security deposit full. The was not cleaned when we move in(July 2010). I also gave a letter back in July 2010 about the items which were not cleaned when we moved in. But, after that I got reply to email saying that carpet got stains and it needs to replaced and It cost 980 $. I have to make the payment 980$ within 30 days. When I initially took the lease, there were some small stains on the carpet. Honestly speaking, apartment is in good condition(not as bad as they described about the carpet). I requested landlord to send the pictures of the carpet and they said that they will send it. But I did not received the pictures till date. I called them and spoke about the carpet replacement and I tried to convince them that we are loyal tenants and we referred few other tenants. But landlord reduced the carpet replacement cost to 415 $. the apartment is in good condition and carpet is also in good condition, The carpet may have very small stains due to normal wear and tear. Carpet shampooing might solve the problem. But carpet replacement is not fair solution and they are overcharging me for this. Also attaching the lease agreement. Another thing is - They initially charged me for 155 $ and then 980$, and now its 415$. This sounds like strange to me.
Eviction | Case#**-*984
I moved out of the above apartment. I gave my 60 day notice and also the manager came to look at the apartment when I moved out. Last year, I had the same issue and was told I did not owe anything, in I was approve for the apartment. almost 14 months later, the same apartment complex is on my credit report. No one is willing to assist with the issue. They telling me to speak with collections. Collections was nasty and rude, in was just telling to pay.
Slip & Fall Injury W/ Pain & No Lights In Park & Poor Housekeeping In Park | Case#**-*960
WOFFORD HTS, CA - 93285 9401 Hello my name is jackie....i reside in a mobilehome park in wofford heights ca (kern county).....in july 2014 i had a terrible fall in the park at 9pm ..poor housekeeping and no park lights ....we had no lights in the park for at least a year before i fell. my right lower leg had deep cuts from the rocks and asphalt BEFORE I FELL IN THE PARK have had lower lumbar surgeries which i have 8 Screws 2 rods and an artificial disk on l4 l5 and s1 and a bladder pacemaker perm nerve damage to my sciatic nerve and a few other issues..because of the fall i had to have 6 of my screws removed i landed on my pacemaker pain in my right leg ,my right arm. swelling in my right leg numbness pain in my lower back my neck and headaches since the fall..... i want the owners to file a claim with there property ins. but they wont give me the info nor will the rental agency handling the property for the owners.....right at this moment i can take pics and show you the poor housekeeping issues and NO lights in the park again......... I NEED HELP WITH THIS THANK YOU FOR READING THIS
Lock Out For Not Signing Lease | Case#**-*271
Las Vegas, Nevada - 89119
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*479
LONG BEACH, CA - 90807 2751 I rented an apartment at the Bixby Garden apartments (4142 Elm Ave #203, Long Beach, CA 90807. I moved out on June 1, 2013. Before I left the apartment I asked the manager to conduct a walk through with me and he declined citing that he had a company and that the owner would call me. I never received a call from the owner. Instead, 2 weeks later I received a check with a partial refund of my deposit back. I was charged for 1 day of rent for June 1st, cleaning costs and carpet cleaning costs. Per the state of California, the tenant is not to be charged for cleaning cost unless it's to restore the unit. Also the tenant is not to be charged for carpet cleaning unless there is damage as it is considered normal wear and tear. Before I left the apartment I had the apartment professional cleaned and took pictures of the apartment along with pictures of the carpet. I also don't understand why i was charged for 1 day of rent. I have reached out to the owner via certified mail and phone to no avail. I am asking that the costs that I incurred (which are the managementís/owner's responsibility) be refunded to me.
Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*330
I spoke to the manger on site a couple months after moving in about waking up with bites all over my body and finding dead bed bugs on the walls. He told me that they would call a company the deal with the problem and that they have had other infestations in other units. It took a couple weeks for them to arrive to "exterminate" the infestation. Upon arriving home, I didn't notice anything different but received a notice of the job being completed. The manager contacted me after stating that they might call the company again just to make sure, but it never happened. Recently I found another infestation on my bed, walls and furnishings and caught a group for evidence.
Unfair refusal to extend lease | Case#**-*464
Fishkill, New York - 12524 My wife and I had been living here in this apartment for 2 years without having any problems. We were never behind any payments. Recently in March 2011 the landlord sent us a letter stating that hey will not renew our lease and that we would have to vacate the apartment in May 2011. We have been looking for an apartment to no availability. So we notified the landlord and told them that we were unable to find an apartment and that we need at least another 6 months. They denied our request and told us that they will only grant us one month. The letter sent also stated that we are only granted one month and that we will have to pay an additional $100.00 on top of our rent, and additional $300 for security deposit for that month. Another words we have to pay an additional $400 on top of our rent in order for us to stay for one month. The letter also stated if we agreed to stay until June these were the conditions. The letter stated that if an extension agreement is not signed and received with the security increase by 3:00 P.M. Saturday April 30th, we will be expected to vacate the apartment as per current lease by 10:00 A.M. May 26th, 20011. So we decided to seek help, We didn't sign any papers.
Parking/ towing problem | Case#**-*871
Plano, Texas - 75075 This apartment Complex offers very limit parking availability to tenants and guests. I had to pay additional monthly fee for a reserved covered arming spot. I allowed a friend park in my covered spot while I out of town and as he house sitted. My guest had NO where to park as not enough guest raking spots are available through the entire complex. Although I pay for this reserved covered parking my guest could not use it and was towed and is now being charged outrageous money to get out. Shouldn't apartments have a specific amount of parking available to tenants an or guest? Please help in this matter as my friend doesn't have money to tow out vehicle.
Rent Issues/ Repair Neglect | Case#**-*618
Almost every month Wallace F. Ackley would cash my rent check on time and then send me a LATE FEE letter. My bank statements show that the rent was cashed on time./ My garage door broke last Febuary 2014 and I called to get it fixed. They sent a maintenance man out and he said that it would be 2-3 weeks to get the parts in. Two weeks later I called Wallace F. Ackley back and they noted that my garage still needed fixed. I called again and again but they havent done anything. It has been one year and a month. I've tried talking with these people but they have the " we are always right" attitude. I am moving out on April 30th and I believe that they are going to try and rip me off as much as possible. That is why I need your help! Thank you.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JUN 26,2016 | 06:17 EST
Renters 110,393,593
Landlords 22,679,783
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security