Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

5 Stray Dogs And 10 Cats Around Apt Grounds Barking A | Case#**-*129
Stray dogs that are not being removed is making living in the apartment uncomfortable and dangerous. complained and they are not doing nothing about it. Sick of it.
TEST TITLE COMPLAINT | Case#**-*982
CITY, Alabama - 12345
Threat of Eviction | Case#**-*846
CHELSEA, MA - 02150 2942 I would like this to be a formal complaint that unit #314 is not allowing me to enjoy my rented unit due to fear of noise complaint and eviction. Unit #314 has complained about noise to property management and we have had a discussion to resolve the issue. Unit #314 continues to complaint to management for noise even on days when i was in my unit for about 30min. I believe the tenant in #314 continues to be unreasonable in causing complaints for reasonable noise levels and she has also purposely stomped around her unit repeatedly. I believe her recent complaints have been nothing but bogus and are mere retalitory actions from our confrontation on 9/11/2010 as described and explained to mangement (Julia Noyes, Property Manager) on 9/18/2010. The notice I have recieved on 9/18/2010 states that with one more complaint, attorneys will be involved to deal with a lease default. Under advice that I have recieved, and due to the threat letter filed by Julia Noyes, Property Manager, on behalf of Atlas Lofts, concerning attorneys and an inaccurate lease default, I would like to officially file this complaint with the RPA. This complaint is to state that the tenant in unit #314 is harassing me for normal noise levels that is causing additional burden, stress and impeding my own quiet enjoyment rights. I would like this action to protect me from future bogus noise complaints from the tentant at unit #314 as well as unreasonable and unsubstantiated threat for lease default. Hopefully this will get the tenant in #314 to be more reasonable, as I would like to live out my lease at Atlas Loffs in a friendly and comfrotable atmosphere. Also of note, during our meeting on 9/18/2010, I was informed by Julia Noyes that there were "numerous complaints" from "6-7 different units" and "anonymous (multiple) letters" concerning loud music ON THE NIGHT OF Friday, 9/17. (all of which I will strongly require to be verified in detail and in original physical evidence by my attorney, once retained). I was NOT in my unit the entire day or night except for 10:00 - 10:45pm on 9/17, Julia stated the complaint call came in at 10:10pm.
refusal to refund deposit & request for add'l funds | Case#**-*127
Scottsdale-, Arizona - 85258 We moved into the property 10-2007 and after proper notification moved out on 10-2010. The property was not new and a Move-inspection statement was performed that showed minor wear-and-tear of the premises. Upon moveout on 11/01/2010 an inspection was completed which showed minimal minor paint chips and scuffs and normal wear of carpeting in traffic areas. Other minor repairs were consistent with much less wear than would be expected after 3 years of tenancy. On 11/19/2010, we received a statement from United Metro that our deposit was not being refunded and we owed an additional $1,069.94 for replacement of carpet, painting, and repairs (including ac/heating). We returned to the property and tried to discuss however another tenant has moved into the apartment. She was kind enough to allow us access and we have photographs that show that NONE of the stated bills were performed. The original carpeting is still in place, no repainting occurred and the closet/etc remains as when we moved into and out of the property. The new tenant also performed a move-in inspection and at that time United Metro felt everything was in good condition. We appreciate your assistance with what is the fraudulent attempt to retain our deposit and extort additional money from us.
No Heat, Possible collapsing of roof, Mold due to leaking roof | Case#**-*170
phoenix, Arizona - 85023 My name is Bernadette Chavez, I am submitting this for my son and his roommate who live at the Desert Star apartments at 1106 W Bell Phx 85023. They moved in on Dec. 11, 2012 and have paid their rent on time, followed the rules and no I am not saying just because I'm mom, I have receipts and lease to back up all comments. On Dec 27, 2012 my son put in a work order for maintenance to repair the heater in their 2 bedroom apartment since it only blows very cold air. There were several attempts to get this fixed, finally on January 31, 2013, my son sent a demand letter giving the manager 5 days to fix this problem, they refused the certified, signature receipt returned mail that was sent on 2/1, the refusal was on 2/4/2013. I have submitted a copy of the letter. My son just turned 23 and is a window washer, works very long hours sometimes off high buildings and should not have to worry if he got enough sleep because it's so cold, and his roommate who works as a server at night, comes home to the air outside the last 3 times there has been a freeze warning, being warmer than inside the apt.. The garage literally is warmer at my mother's than in his apartment. The second thing that needs fixing...the roof has leaked from all the rain which now is bubbling and looks like it's ready to collapse in the living room and there is mold growing where the leaks are going downward on the bathroom wall and around the massive bubble in the living room. I would love make these obviously "slum" managers and owner accountable for the total disregard of the law. Even if they were not great tenants or behind in rent or just a nuisance there are still laws they have not followed and refusing to be served the certified letter just snubs their nose at their duties as landlords to preform. Matthew does have copies of receipts to show rent is paid in full and on time, copy of the complaint we sent certified that they refused the delivery on, which he also has the emails to validate the USPS shows it was refused. Again as Matthew's mom I am only submitting online for him, however all of my son's information is on the form in order for you to contact him as quickly as you can since this has gone on long enough.
plumbing leakage | Case#**-*913
mumbai, Alabama - 35005
BED BUG | Case#**-*950
DALLAS, Texas - 75252 DIDN'T SEE BUGS UNTIL THE LANDLORD HAD CARPETS CLEANED. THEN WE SAW THE BUGS.
Repair Issues,Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*805
GRAND RAPIDS, MI - 49504 4498 Landlord fails to repair items in the unit in a timely and adequate manner. Repairs are shoddy, inefficient and late-coming. "Repairs" that are made often lead to worsening conditions or temporary relief
Deposit Refund Problem | Case#**-*774
SALT LAKE CTY, 0 - 84123 I rented an apartment from Acme Property Management in 2009. My lease expired on June 30, 2010. As per lease agreement I provided my landlord with a lease termination notice 30 days prior to the end of my lease. Landlord has not refunded my deposit and it has been over 45 days. Landlord is not responding to my calls or emails.
lack of proper heating, water damage, mold, uncomfortable and unsafe | Case#**-*081
brooklyn, New York - 11221 landlord stated since we are refusing to pay upcoming months rent that nothing needs to get fixed, we refused due to the landlord not compensating us any monies for all our troubles and dealings, she takes no responsibility for the mishaps that we are affected by, financially, physically and emotionally. she doesnt understand the meaning of liability, she is also a first time landlord

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JAN 29,2015 | 02:15 EST
Renters 109,005,340
Landlords 22,398,617
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security