Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Retaliation by Terminating Tenancy Bedbug Neglect Misuse of Information | Case#**-*241
EVERETT, WA - 98201 6009 Complaint Summary: In summary we are renting from Impact. They are the managers of our complex. Two and a half years ago we discovered that we had bedbugs in our unit. I immediately called Marcus to report this on an emergency line. He told me this was not an emergency and to call his secretary in the morning. I specifically asked him who was responsible and he stated it was our responsibility. So I called his secretary a few hours later and she gave me the names of some insect control companies and again asked who is responsible for this and she told me that it was ours. The companies I called told me that we had to have the entire building treated in order to be affective and we did not have the money or power to do this. One year later we worked tirelessly to deal with the situation on our own and it was time for our yearly inspection. I told Stephanie Brencic about how hard we had been working and she empathized, but at no time explained that we should put this in writing and it was Impacts responsibility. A few months later a neighbor moved in and would bang up to 8 hours on some days. We reported this to Impact and they said to call the police and they do not get involved with these disputes. This is when we began our research into the Land Lord Tenant Act and discovered Impact’s responsibility with the bedbugs. We put our complaint in writing, and they agreed to use chemicals to control the bedbugs. Our daughter has asthma like symptoms and our doctor told us not to use chemicals so we requested that they use heat. Impact told us we needed to pay the difference and after two and a half years of neglect we felt they needed to cover the difference. We had to get help from the KOMO 4 news to even get Impact to look at heat, but they continue to give us the run around in this matter. My husband has facilitated all of these actions and we have different last names so no one would know who I am unless they were part of the business transaction. My husband has protested Impact’s place of business to place pressure on Marcus to do the right thing. He has threatened retaliation by using my personal information that only he has access to through our real-estate transactions. On Monday, June 3, 2013, Marcus threatened to use my personal housing information to go to my school and picket my workplace and let everyone in the community know that we have been afflicted by bedbugs in my home and that I had been bringing them to school for the past two years.
Mold in bathroom, non working furnace for 2yrs | Case#**-*075
BELLFLOWER, CA - 90706 4926 I have mold in my bathroom health department has been out and problem still is not fixed, my son has asthma and it is not good for his health along with anyone elses.
Have not recieved Deposit after 2 months of lease termination | Case#**-*049
Graniteville, Vermont - 05654 We moved from this apartment 2 months ago and have not received the deposit. We have contacted the landlords multiple times and they have assured the deposit was mailed a month ago but we have not received it or the statement that they claimed to have sent.
Unfair Lease Practices and False Documentation | Case#**-*401
Tampa, Florida - 33614 Now in terms of repairs, the management team that are in place, are not the most approachable of persons, and are really not all that concerned about the tenants or about repairing the apartments.They also falsify documentation. When I moved in, the carpet I had on the floor was already about four years old. I was expected to keep a worn out piece of cheap carpet clean for the next two years, and inconvenienced the management when I asked that it be cleaned upon the renewal of my lease. I informed management of leaks behind the bathroom wall and from the ceiling but NO ONE seemed to care.I moved out on the 16th of July, yet they have documented my move out as of July 19 2011. They are charging me for carpeting replacement(the carpet will have to removed and replaced anyway upon my move out as I was there two years and have asked that they keep my deposit. They have charged me for failing to give them notice of my move out..my lease expired on the thirty first of july. They were given a WRITTEN ten day notice. I have several witnesses to this fact. In recent weeks, PRIOR TO MY MOVE OUT, a soap dish was repaired BY MANAGEMENT with Dollar general gel glue, but it soon came off the wall. I should mention the electrical problems that are prevalent in and around this complex as well. The bathroom with the leaks behind the wall has electrical problems as well. We had to use a lamp back there in order to see. My daughter was scared that the lamp would tip over and electrocute her. Sadly, this is an example of a band aid situation where the band aid is applied to assist in the healing process, but the scars remain. I stayed only two years. There are many more tenants there who continue to remain under such unsecure and hazardous conditions. I asked why the exit and entrance gates were never repaired and I was told that the thunder storms make the gates lock up so that no one can exit. Folks, it needs to be fixed. I saw people, who were not tenants, come into the complex, eat their MacDonaldâ??s food and toss the garbage on the ground before exiting. I have seen people use drugs at the pool area and even use it when it was off limits by breaking into it. My family also doesnâ??t appreciate it when you inform our neighbors of our moving out. That was an invasion of privacy and we should have been the ones to tell them personally as the relationships were rewarding and comforting as we were all bonded in our grievances. All your company wants is its r
House is falling apart and is not suitable for anybody to live in. | Case#**-*528
Phila, Pennsylvania - 19140 In 2007 once the landlord Robert aka Uyless took over beinging my landlord I typed up a sheet with repairs and other stuff that need to be done through out the house. It was atleast 25 things on the list and he only did 1 thing which was put a back door on the house. I kept asking when was he going to be doing the work on the list he just kept always saying soon. I had to bomb my house every other month. Then the winter time comes and I got 3 young children and no heat. He kept sayin he be out there to fix it. I called PGW and a guy came out and said I need all the wires to be redone because gas will leak and we could die. The landlord still didnt want to hear that so he sent his dad out and comes fix the heat the illegal way. The ceiling in the dinining/kitchen had a whole in it. When you run the bath water it leaks down to the kitchen/dinining room. He had his dad come out and fix the sink which didnt needed to be fix and I told him the water comes from the bath tub when you run the water. That never got fixed. The roof needed to be repaired all over again. Thats still not done. Its mold hanging from the roof. I had a waterfall in the livining room. Once again he sends his dad out who comes and turns the radiator off and said he will be back to vacuum the water up so it wont get molded. The dad never came back. The step out front is broke and many of people almost broke their neck thats still not fixed. That house just needs to be fixed up all over again and the landlords needs to stop being so cheap and fix their tenants property that they are renting out. Taking our money and just pocketing it and not doing nothing to the house like they suppose to.
Sewage backup in basement/ neighbors are drug dealers | Case#**-*714
Rochester, New York - 14613 The landlord has been contacted and messaged numerous ties about a flood/sewage backup in the basement which contains feces, urine, toilet paper etc. The smell of sewage and sewer gas invades the apartmet through my heat vents and I am 5 moths pregnant. He received rent for this month and still has not fixed the issue. Also, the neighbors upstairs were relared to drug dealers and drug activity in and out of the property and have tried to break into my home. I called th police and notified the landlord, which he did nothing about it.
Building Bed Bug Problem | Case#**-*048
NEWARK, DE - 19702 2619 Neighbors upstairs had bed bugs for over 8 months. Apparently they had been treating the problem themselves. About a month ago I was given a paper saying I had to prepare my unit for "preventative treatment' because I am below the infested unit. I was given less than 24 hours - although the property manager pre dated it for 72. Only myself and one other person in the building were being given treatment. The hallway, 3 other units and laundry room were not being treated. The bug man inspected my apartment and I DID NOT HAVE THEM. After treatment the bug man returned to do a 2nd treatment [last Thursday] in the infested unit upstairs. The day before my son found a bed bug on his neck. I showed it to the bug man and he said I needed to prepare for an intensive treatment - to be applied tomorrow at 8 am. He would not say the bugs came from upstairs. But his partner told me the people in the infested apartment had failed to comply with the demands of treatment. I told management that they were not complying and that they had an obligation to check into it and at least warn the others in the building. Instead they chose to put me and everyone else at risk by down playing the situation which Is in THEIR BEST INTEREST to do so. It is not in the best interest of me and my fellow tenants. I believe this is a very unstable situation and I can not trust my neighbors upstairs. I have been here 9 years so I feel I know when I am being lied to. Now the management did say if the people upstairs did not comply the bug man would file a paper saying so. But here again - it is in the interests of Iron Hill and the bug man to keep things quiet. Seriously? I do not trust the management, the bug man or my neighbors upstairs. I will not pay rent until I know for certain that this building is habitable. As far as I am concerned chasing bed bugs from one unit to the next doesn't constitute habitability.
Neighbor Harassment | Case#**-*334
My roommates and myself have lived in our current address for over two years. The neighbor harassing us moved in maybe a little over a year ago. Before she moved in we've received no noise complaints from any of our other neighbors. One of our roommates has been here for about four years and has always had good standing with our neighbors. It was not until this new neighbor have we received calls. Initially she did come down and ask us to turn down our noise making, which only included talking, television, and other common household sounds. We've complied with these request and they are no longer an issue, but in the recent months she has proceeded to call the police on us for noise complaints. Each time we have not been making any noise or doing anything that would be considered excessive, and the last two times we were woken up in our sleep. Our neighbor has called them for things such as a "slam", or "thump", and on 7/3/2014 she came down to talk to us about this sound again. Waking one of my roommates and myself up at four in the morning she talked with a roommate of mine about this sound she's heard consistently around 4 AM. Even after they discussed it, and came to the resolution that it wasn't us, and we did not know what it was our neighbor was still adamant about calling the police on us for this. She had even threatened my roommate that this better be the last time. The real issue is that this neighbor is our landlord's sister. In a few recent days I've talked to one of our other neighbors about our noise level and he had no complaints; and we all talked to our landlord. He said that she had mental issues. If this is the case then I don't necessarily want to file an harassment lawsuit I just want to confirm with the police that we will not be receiving any tickets or lawsuits. When she talks to the police she consistently lies about her father's health and his comprehension of the English language (we all love the guy and he's very helpful with handy work and we've had no problems communicating), she's lied to about myself claiming that I've "cursed her out" in public, and now I believe she's lying to the police about this sound. Lastly this has become such an issue, and since she is not able to put a citizen's arrest on all of us she has threatened to target one member of our household. The police case number is 140 531 725.
I have a noise complaint against me | Case#**-*942
My downstairs neighbor has made a few noise complaints against me for walking around my apartment after midnight and my television being too loud. I get home after midnight from my job at KCRA television. I have addressed this issue a few times with the property manager and my neighbor. I do need to walk around my apartment as to eat at go to the bathroom. I never have any loud parties or have company at my apartment. I do have my tv on but on a low volume. I have never had any issues with my landlord or tenants regarding noise in the nine years I have lived here until February. The property manager left me a message by voicemai yesterday saying I have till noon on 9/18/2013 to give my notice that I will vacate in thirty days or she will evict me. The property managment is taking this neighbors side without proof. I just want to stay in my affordable apartment and be left alone like I have been since 2004.
Bedbugs-- Apartment Not Fit For Human Occupancy Breach | Case#**-*019
Houston, Texas - 77054 Since the summer begin, I have noticed a few bed bugs here and there--specifically on the walls and my bed. I work and attend school from home. However, I seldom leave the house and have not been out of town since I moved here. I suspect that the issue derived from the lack of adequate caulking on my hardwood floors and a hole in the floor, that gets soaked every time it rains. Further, I have found bed bugs harboring a few holes in the room wall as well. Because I live in an apartment, bed bugs reside in the walls and travel from apartment to apartment--especially when a tenant attempts to bomb or spray their apartment themselves. I am requesting that professional steam and heat pest control services be provided to me to expunge these pests from my dwelling.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of SEP 3,2015 | 01:51 EST
Renters 109,591,195
Landlords 22,517,271
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security