Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*988
SANTA MARIA, CA - 93454 6634 We have taken great care of the property, and treated like our own. We have never been late for rent, always paid on time. I understand that this Neighborhood is very nice and is quiet with older residents. We are a family that has many extended family in area as well as children. Maybe our youthful an younger life style inst for this home. I am not trying to take advantage but I have 2 small children and aunt and uncle that live here, as stated on the lease. I am just asking for a Reasonable amount of time to relocate my family. As well as working full time, school for my son, baseball 5 days a week, counseling to better our family two days a week and everything else life has. I already now fell uncomfortable here and would like to sooth everyone feeling by relocating. But In all reality to move with in 3 days and find another home is vertically impossible, please allow us time to find another home. Rent will still be paid and on time. As well I believe as proven by the pictures your wife took of the house. The home is live in as well as maintained very nicely.
Apartment Repairs | Case#**-*590
Corpus Christi, Texas - 78415 Since Wednesday 12/2/15, I have reported the Hot Water was not working. I called back on 12/04 and 12/05, until someone finally came out on 12/05. We took one shower and the water was back to being cold. Called and reported it 12/06 & 12/07. Someone came back 12/07 and again right after the hot water was off again. Was told a switch needed to be replaced. 12/8 called again to report the water was still not hot and they would send someone out there. On 12/9, I contacted the leasing office and let them know again that I still had no hot water and they said someone would go out there. This has been an ongoing battle with these apartments to get anything fixed. I have items I have been reporting since I moved in 2 years ago, that have still not been corrected.
Rental unit not available on date requested | Case#**-*455
Towson, Maryland - 21286 Initially apartment unit not available upon first request, reported this was due to another tenant not exiting rental unit which required legal action. Rental office provided another unit that was not appropriate replacement due to it having carpet. This was communicated via email and in person. Unable to accept replacement unit while waiting for legal action to resolved the issue with 8407A unit that has hardwood flooring. Move in rescheduled to July 5 by myself due to relocating from another state. Experienced difficulty with Moving Company and had to get another Moving company and reschedule move in date. This was communicated verbally over the telephone and in email communications. Upon entry into the rental unit, the walls were being scrapped, painted and bathtub being re-glazed. Windows were open while men were working. Strong chemical fumes circulating in unit . Returned the next morning to close windows and turn on air-conditioning unit. Returned later that day AC not working. Strong chemicals of paint and re-glazing still circulating in the unit. Unable to tolerate (unable to breathe, dizzy, headache and nauseous). Emergency maintenance called on July 6 but reported unable to repair. Rental office made aware that I have allergies and asthma unable to tolerate carpet, strong chemicals on several occasions
Eviction-Rent money dispute | Case#**-*499
MILWAUKEE, WI - 53211 3018 Someone who was not welcome and was not invited came over and kicked the doors in. I happened to be home at the time while my room mate was in Arizona with her dad(who is also the property manager). The doors and locks were replaced and in the same day I was sent an eviction notice that was typed by Bob and not court ordered. I moved my things out in 3 days. Later, I was sent a letter that Bob had also typed with the details and cost of the doors. I was not sent a work order or invoice to ensure he wasn't lying about the cost. In a phone call he also refused to send me any such proof. Also, in the same letter he stated he was keeping my half of the security deposit, which when moving in I was told was $375 but in the letter was $250. He also wrote that because I failed to notify them of me moving out he was keeping my rent that I had paid early to pay for the rest of the doors. The bank owns the building and there was no lease signed. I have tried to talk to him twice on the phone both times resulted in him losing his temper, name calling, then hanging up. I also tried to get in contact with his boss. It took me three calls in ten minutes for the secretary to finally transfer me and when she did she transferred me to Bob who refused to let me talk to his boss.
Negligent Maintenance Causing Safety Hazard | Case#**-*541
Cumming, Georgia - 30041 I rent a home from Main Street Renewal in Cumming, GA. There are multiple dead trees around the home that have branches falling at a rapid rate. I hear them hit the house several times a week and they are falling all over the driveway and yard as well. I have made multiple attempts to have Main Street correct this issue and they continue to delay the repairs to correct this safety issue. I am afraid for the safety of my family as one of the trees angles over the home and if it were to fall it could severely injure or kill us. We are forced to walk underneath the falling branches outside to enter and exit the home or to get to vehicles, again this could result in a serious injury or death and Main Street continues to delay taking any action to correct this issue. Most landlords in the state of GA do a yearly inspection of the home and correct any such safety issues however Main Street fails to care about our safety in my opinion. I have also had to replace a windshield on one of the vehicles due to falling branches on these trees. When I contacted Sophia Houston via phone about this she told me to send her the receipt and I would be reimbursed. Since the landlord has been negligent on maintenance of safety hazards on the property GA State law actually requires such reimbursement otherwise I would be forced to file suit and seek additional damages as well. At this point I have been promised multiple times that the repairs would be made within 48 hours and no such action has been done. I am now also being told that no reimbursement will be paid for the damaged vehicle either since they consider it an act of god and that I would need to file a claim with my insurance. The damage and any further damage are not caused by an act of god, they are a direct result of nothing other than negligent maintenance on the part of Main Street Renewal.
Eviction Without Written Notice And Unethical Demeanor | Case#**-*471
Mr. Guzman along with Ms. Rosa scheduled a meeting with my mother, Maria M. Melgar, at 07:30 on Wednesday, January 7, 2015. During this meeting, Mr. Guzman and Ms. Rosa subordinated, bullied, coerced, and threatened my mother, Maria, with false statements. Since my mother has no formal general education, they told her that she could go to jail for that, she could no longer live here, Jimmie coerced her to give him a date to vacate which she did not provide because of lack of financial resources and she is permanently disabled, she and her adult children must vacate her apartment by 1/30/15 but because Jimmie is such a good man he allowed us until 2/15/15 and cannot go pass this date, that there's nothing else he could do, everything is done, and she must move out, they had to follow their boss's directions or they would lose their jobs and that was not "suitable" for them; if she were to refuse to vacate he could destroy her credit history, rent history and ability to rent another apartment, driving record, as well as those of her two adult children including their school records; and that if she moves out by 2/15/15 he would not charge her rent or deposit for the remaining days of February. When Maria requested to speak with his boss, he told her that she cannot speak with them, and that it was a serious crime she had committed. My mother felt humiliated and returned home terrorized early in the morning with tears in her eyes.... Purpose of meeting: to discuss the accusation of a female neighbor by the name of Marina from apt. 3. Marina accused Maria of throwing things around the apartment's doors, hallways, and sprinkling bleach over her car while Maria was picking up some recyclables in the trash cans in the rear alley on her way to the local grocery store on Sunday, January 4, 2015 around 20:30. Marina called the apartment security guard along with an L.A. Police officer, but no police report was completed even though Maria provided them with her identification card. Everything was verbal; there is no written eviction notice. This is a very unethical and unprofessional property personnel.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*325
INDIANAPOLIS, IN - 46239 7666 My landlord and myself are both Military, my landlord contacted my command demanding back rent in the sum of 2,000, which was paid in full. He refused to renew my lease and the lease was terminated Sept 1, 2018. House was cleaned and keys returned, the day after I moved out he immediately moved someone else in. He has yet to respond to correspondence from my command and has failed to return my full deposit or any for that matter.
Inaccurate Move Out Charges | Case#**-*946
Chandler, California - 85225 I was charged $1800 plus to replace the cabinets when I moved out of the apartment. The cabinets were left in good condition. They were covered with a thin layer of paper which started to peal up in some places, but this was normal wear and tear given the materials used.
Bed Bugs coming through wall in kitchen | Case#**-*482
Ewing, New Jersey - 08628 Bed bugs are coming through the wall into the kitchen. I would like to live in livable environment.
unlawful Eviction with no reason or written notice | Case#**-*809
LIVERMORE, CA - 94550 6467 We have been living there for almost 2 years, and not until now the manager of the apartments decided we have to leave because we don't a have a california ID. We feel this is an act of racism. We did not get a written notice like the law requires. The manager sent a text that we saved saying, that we had 3 days to leave and threathnen to kick us out. Our rent has never been late, we have never done any damage or any illegal activity for us to receive a 3 day notice lik ethe law states as reason fo rthi stype of notice. We feel this is the most racist act against us because there is many people in those apartments that have no california ID, why us? we do no harm to others. We work from sun to night we are hardly in the apartments. If they check the inside of our apartment is totally clean problably more than other apartments. The text was sent in non-businness hours making us feel harrassed. We know our rights and we know we are suppose to receive a written notice and we believe this is totally unfair. We have all the receipts of our paid rent month to month and we will proceed as nessesary if this unjustice is not solved fairly. We don't speak english alot, but on behalf of me and tenants of 1135 Concannon Blvd Apt 14, Adriana Segura has written this complaint and her contact information will be provided to rental protection agency.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JAN 18,2019 | 02:43 EST
Renters 112,921,742
Landlords 23,191,813
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security