Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

apts are not accepting responsibilty for treatment of bed bugs | Case#**-*108
Midlothian , Virginia - 23112 I moved in here eight months ago and just recently found bed bugs in my apt. They are saying it is my responsibilty to pay the pest control fees. It is no where in my lease that says I am responsible for the pest control fees. In my monthly fees there is a charge for pest control. I can not afford the high cost of these fees nor do I feel like this is my responsibilty since I am just the tenant.
Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*489
2 weeks ago called lee cao and told him about bed bug problem ive spent about 50.00 on bed bug spray and nothing i do is working and still nothing has been done
Deposit/utility/lease Dispute | Case#**-*008
My husband and I moved into the landlord Joanne Fiorenze's Visconti 2/2 townhouse condo (1952 Legacy Cove Maitland, FL 32751) in June 1, 2008 after paying a full month's rent security deposit ($1350.00), rent ($1350.00), and non-refundable pet deposit ($100). I lived in this facility just under 6 years. Immediately there were maintenance and plumbing problems including a broken washer, a leaking master bathroom sink, 2 broken toilets, fallen dry wall, and 2 broken bathtub handles. Each time the issues were handled by friends or family members of the landlord, not licensed repairmen. Last summer the air conditioner did not work. An A/C man told us it needed replacing, but she refused to do so. Our utilities suffered higher rates. However, we chose not to move since my husband was entering his final year of residency training. I communicated to Joanne that we would not be renewing a 2 year lease because only 1 year remained. She insisted in emails that we did not even need a new lease, as she had tried before upon other renewals. I wanted a lease for our protection and rental insurance. So we signed one that was supposed to end in July 2014. My husband and I dealt with problematic neighbors over the years. The last one moved in December 2013. He smoked incessantly, played loud music at random hours, and held multiple drinking occasions in his garage. The smoke filled our condo and became a health hazard as I was pregnant at the time. In February 2014 my husband and I decided to move, before the end of our 1 year lease supposedly ending in July 2014. I notified Joanne of our plans February 22 to move out March 15, as our new landlord was allowing us to move in early. I examined the current lease I had on file to see what penalties we would owe. To my surprise I discovered that the dates had been incorrectly entered by Joanne Fiorenze. It was not a new lease, but instead the previous one with the dates whited out. We had been living in her condo and paying rent without a legitimate lease. I received numerous emails from Joanne. The last one threatened me with having to find a new tenant for her condo (sublet) or pay the remaining months' rents. There was nothing of this in our lease which had technically expired the day we signed it. Joanne never did a walk through inspection with us upon moving out. The utility company incorrectly did not turn off our account, and we were subsequently billed after our vacated dates. She did not assume the utilities.
Unfair Notice To Quit | Case#**-*202
vernon, Connecticut - 06066 MY LANDLORD SENT ME OUT A WARNING LETTER. THAT I HAVE PEOPLE LIVING WITH ME, THAT IS NOT ON THE LEASE. Which is untrue. SO I WALKED DOWN TO OFFICE AND EXPLAINED AND GAVE HER PROF. THAT ITS ONLY MY DAUGHTER AND I. SO SHE HAS ALL THE PROF SHE NEEDS AND STILL RESENTLY. I GOT A NOTICE TO QUIT. Im also on section 8. AND SHE TOLD ME. ' I make people lose there section 8. The people in the office is very rude. All i wanna do is stay until my lease is up in May 1st 2011. And move somewere else. I JUST WANNA KNOW. HOW YOU GONNA START AND EVICTION. WHEN PROF WAS GIVING. My rent is always paid on time. there are no problems except the one i explained. I guess i cant have visitors.
Security Deposit Refund Issue | Case#**-*103
CHICAGO, IL - 60657 4334 We moved out on May 9th and had a completed walk through with Steve Green did not note any issues except for the shelf in the closet which was due to wear and tear that we reported over a year ago. We never received any paperwork stating that money would be deducted from our refund until 7/14/2015, which was over two months after our move out. Not only were the repair claims dishonest, a utility bill was deducted from the security deposit for dates after we moved out and had already scheduled it to be shut off on 5/9. We are seeking the entire amount of $587.63 that was wrongfully held from us.
Repair Issues | Case#**-*141
Las Vegas, Nevada - 89101 We've contacted the landlords about the costly light bills and received retaliation about how many we live here. We've contacted the landlord to fix the air conditioner. We've contacted the landlord about the leaks and only had one person come and check only for the whole issue to be discarded. We've contacted the landlord about the most recent leaks (August 22, 2012) and have received more retaliations about things unrelated to the roof having holes. Informing us that they will come and check if we are lying about the leaks. We've been trying to resolve the whole situation without reaching this point.
Harassment | Case#**-*277
I am being harassed by the neighbors that live under me for making noise. It is as I they do not want to hear any noise at all. The noise I make is normal living noise and no excessive noise. I have two small children but they do not make excessive noise. They were not even here on two occasions where the neighbors reacted ie. banging on ceiling, called the cops. I made the choice to call the cops the initial time because I felt their actions were irrational.
Noisy Upstairs Neighbor | Case#**-*185
Bronx, New York - 10466 I have complained about this neighbors noise level for a while now; although he is home all day, tenant always makes noise during the night. Management refuses to remove him, or offer any sort of solution to this problem. We cant continue to not sleep at night; we are paying rent. Tenant is living here by a sponsor, who also refuses to remove him. Noise we have heard: banging on the floor with what seems like a hammer, exercising(jumping), continuously walking back and forth with heavy feet, and even jumping outside on the fire escape screaming that we aren\\\\\\\'t his mother. We need help, and fast, because management could care less.
Repair Issues | Case#**-*891
Orangeburg , South Carolina - 29115 Money have been collected for this house from the first day of purchase and the only thing the landlord fixed was the bathroom floor and that was years ago. The house has been fixed top to bottom, inside out by my deceased grandmother and my mother. I have witnesses that they did the improvements to this house and not the landlord.
Security Deposit Refund , Unfair Extra Charges After Vacating , | Case#**-*733
Macon, Georgia - 31210 They did not returned security deposit, some collection agency threatening to ruin my credit.so made a payment of 561 dollar and 14 dollars as they threatened me to ruin my credit.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of MAR 23,2019 | 02:25 EST
Renters 113,094,509
Landlords 23,226,803
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security