Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Cockroaches And Discrimination | Case#**-*957
CHICO, CA - 95928 6714 We have roaches so bad. My next door neighbor kicked my door in (crazy) i pressed charges. The roaches have quadrupled since he went to jail. The land lord has sent the bug guy they use a few times. He does not want to do his job. He spent less than 10 min spraying my home. We have been treating ourselves for over a year. Now the landlord removed the neighbor in jail, belongings and the roaches are in my bed, tub, drawers, refrigerator, I can\'t cook, sleep nothing is okay. I called the manager and asked if we could be sprayed ASAP, she told me they will not be renewing our month to month as of July 31st we will need to be out. A couple days ago they sprayed next door and didn\'t even care about our lives, also we have no A/C a moldy swamp cooler that does not work, fine. But the landlord just finished putting in A/C units in every apt except ours? Even the guy who is in jail and had all his nasty stuff left at his apartment with no one to clean it up.No one lives there? We are boiling hot all gas unit? HELP me please
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*430
BEVERLY HILLS, CA - 90210 4806 Upon discovering what has been determined to be a bed bug infestation, the complex is insisting that we the tenants be responsible for the expense of the exterminaton. We have been very diligent in isolating the space and working to solve the problem and when the inspector came to evaluate the room he kept saying that \"bedbugs can come from anywhere.\" We did not feel the inspection was very thorough or that it was accurate to lay the blame or the expense on us and saying that we are the reason for the infestation is in direct conflict of the statement \"bedbugs can come from anywhere.\" We requested a second inspection due to this allegation of blame being laid to us for the infestation, which was declined. We do not believe due diligence was exercised in the investigation to make the claim we are liable. It is our understanding that the apartment complex is responsible for providing a safe and habitable environment and that this situation falls to the complex to take financial responsibility and help resolve the situation. Furthermore, there have been reports from other tenants of bug bites as well and we have been informed through contacting Orkin, which is a reputable extermination company, that bedbugs can hide in electrical sockets, under carpet, inside of fabric and many other places and could indeed come from unseen locales. We do not believe there is any evidence proving that this is our fault, especially without a more thorough investigation into the surrounding units and tenants. Again, the statement \"bedbugs can come from anywhere\" stands in opposition to the allocation of blame. In addition to the allegation that our apartment is the origin point, this also seems an insufficient reason to hold us responsible for the infestation as they could have been in the apartment previously or brought in by means outside of our control. We request that we not be held liable for the extermination fees.
Late Fee Problems And Bugs And Rodents | Case#**-*782
Irving, Texas - 75063 The Apt charge a late fee on the first of the month and I pay on the 3rd of the month and have not removed it with this new management team.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*247
plano, Texas - 75075 I started getting bug bites in the night about a month ago finally determined it was bed bugs. I went to management and they said that it was all on me to pay for removal. They told me it would be $32 to inspect and another three hundred something to remove them. I have already given them the $32 on 9-11-2012 and have not yet been told when the inspection will be. After further research on bed bugs found that they could have come from other apartments. I have not purchased any new furnature in atleast a year and have not purchased any preowned furnature. However in the past 3 months I have noticed at least 4 new residents move into my 8 apartment building. The bed bugs could not be from me and I am not willing to pay for their removal. If they can have inspectors check every apartment in my building and I am the only one with bed bugs then I will concider that they are my fault however I would like some help resolving this problem.
Security Deposit | Case#**-*877
Aiea , Hawaii - 96701 On March 12, 2013 a verbal notice of move out was made to the landlord, San San Bailey. Tenants, Allan Sagucio and Chanda Sagucio were on a month-month agreement and in accordance to HRS Chapter 521, the landlord was given a 28 day notice, instead of 30 days. After verbal notice was made to landlord, numerous telephone calls were then received from landlord who was asking if were done cleaning and painting of the property and/or if we could get done/move out earlier because she wants to rent out the property as soon as possible. Tenants explained to landlord that we should be done by April 7, 2013 and to reassure that there will be a pro-ration on day that keys are turned over to landlord. Both parties agreed. Then on April 7, 2013 a final walk thru at 98-295 Ualo Street, #X3, Aiea, Hawaii, 96701 was completed with landlord, San San Bailey and tenant, Chanda Sagucio. In the event, the landlord, San San Bailey inspected the property and made one complaint. The only complaint the landlord did make was to remove a 2X4 wood which was underneath the base of a cabinet to block a hole in which sewer rats would use as an entrance to the property. Tenant explained to landlord there was no damage to the cabinet or its base, but the way the cabinet was constructed lead an entrance for pests. Tenant did advise landlord that once 2x4 wood is removed there will be an entrance for the sewer rats and to have someone come in to professionally cover up the base. The landlord still insisted to remove the 2X4 wood in which tenant did. The landlord also did not want to enter upstairs knowingly the carpet was still wet from being professionally cleaned. The landlord asked the tenant for the receipt in which I, Chanda Sagucio, replied I don't have it, it's not with me, it's at home. The landlord verbalized understanding and did say it's okay cause I have the right to hold the security deposit for 2 weeks. Agreement was made that we will meet in person for the security deposit on the 21st of April and because we handed over the keys to the landlord sooner than the 12th of April, the landlord suggested she will pro-rate the security deposit refund from April 7th, 2013. On April 19, 2013 at 10:13 am tenant received a text message from the landlord saying "Tex me your address so I can mail u the balance of your security deposit."
Deposit Problems, Repair Issues And Late Fees | Case#**-*300
MCKINLEYVILLE, CA - 95519 3803 Notice to Move Out: On July 20, 2017, I gave my 30 day notice to the landlord. On August 20, 2017, I vacated the apartment leaving it clean. Cleaning Charges: The landlord held out $203.50 for cleaning. I do not have to pay for cleaning costs since I left the place clean. If the landlord claims that she had to hire a cleaning service due to how dirty I left the place, well that would be false. The landlord had scheduled the cleaning crew long before I even moved out. It is only the tenants responsibly to return it to prior condition minus normal wear and tear, which I did. On July 27, 2017, the landlord left me a voicemail asking if I was going to be out by August 25, 2017, because she had scheduled the cleaning people to come clean the apartment. Damages: The landlord charged me $250 for a door she claims I damaged; however, she did not provide me with an estimate or proof that she paid that amount or that the door was even fixed - in violation of California law. I requested three times to do a walk through upon my leaving and the landlord never responded to my requests. Late Fees: The landlord’s list of late fees is laughable. Minus one or two months due to payday dates, the rent was always paid by the 5th!! Twice the landlord called me telling me rent was late. I said “no, I sent the check in the mail”. She said “well I haven’t checked the mail yet”. Um, check your mail then call me; this was not new, I always sent the rent by mail. From mid-2016 until August 2017 I paid ½ the rent at the beginning of the month and ½ in the middle of the month. On the first payment of each month I would include a note with the date the next payment would be paid. I also requested that if this arrangement was not okay, please let me know. The landlord never let me know it was not okay. Therefore, I assumed it was okay since she was accepting those payments. The landlord held a portion of my security deposit as part of late fees - in violation of California law. Landlord letters: The first landlord letter is incorrect regarding monies due for rent. I texted her and told her it was not correct and that I paid July and all but $487 for August. She double checked her receipts and found I was right and only owed the $487 for August. Desired Results: I am seeking $613 back from my security deposit, late fees to be dropped, and the so called damage claims to be dropped; along with the $35 filing fee required to file this complaint for a total of $648.
Trickery.deceit And No Police | Case#**-*037
Hattiesburg, Mississippi - 39402 Two months ago the neighbor parked dieectly in front of my door leaving her parking spaces open. I told the resident manager.she immediately told me to do what ever I wanted to do about it.Each time I tell her something she calls that person up and tells them exactly what I said instead of doing something about the problem..A dollar is not worth a life but she seems to think so.Last time I tried to get a problem settled here the neighbor called her dad.lucky for me I called the law. They got here just in time to stop a nasty confrontation as he came walking toward me with his right hand in his pocket. I told them he had a gun,they stopped him and sent him backwhere he came from.Since the law hangs up when I call or just won\\\\\\\'t come They talk to me angrily as if I\\\\\\\'m a problem.
Verbal Threats And Unjust Harassment | Case#**-*202
I received a not so cordial phone call from Suzanne on Monday, Oct 21st. She indicated that an extensive letter of complaint had been received. She would not tell me who nor show me the letter. The list of offenses included yelling, loud music, slamming doors and ball throwing, most of which happened "after the mother left", according to Suzanne. I was told this was "hinted" to me and that someone's vehicle was vandalized shortly there after. Suzanne then implied that my son had part in this by saying, "you know we've had issues with Aidan in the past..." I was then accused of yelling at her on the phone and threatened that "this was the last straw." I've never received anything in writing to indicate any complaint, let alone a warning so what merits this as the "final" one? I've lived here for 4 years, with 2 previous tenants below and never received or heard a complaint. Suzanne was rude, accusatory and completely unprofessional as is her maintenance supervisor. I've been told as have several other tenants that there's a waiting list for this apartment and that more money could be received. The accusations, treatment and unprofessional behavior preceding are unacceptable and unwarranted. I refuse to allow my son and myself to be subject to this treatment. Lisa Castaneda
Fireplace Leaking Ashes Everywhere | Case#**-*095
HEMET, CA - 92544 6350 The fireplace leaks ashes all the time. We don\\\\\\\'t use it at all. But Everytime we turn on the AC or heat ashes come flying out. They refuse to sweep the chimney even with it being a health hazard with us inhaling the ashes. They refuse to fix it.
Breach of Agreement, Repair Issues | Case#**-*323
North Little Rock, Arkansas - 72117 When signing the lease on 9-07-12, I told Mr. Williams, I would not be able to move until the week of the 24th and on the receipt he put the 27th. When it was time to move, I spoke with Mr. Williams, because I was in the hospital and he was trying to charge my daughters from the 21st. He stated it was his mistakes on the 27th and we would go from there. He then turned around and had my daughter to pay from the 21st to get the key although we had just spoken. When my daughters went to move our things in and the utilities were being turned on, nothing is working. The air conditioner has gone out, the pipes for the refrigerator is leaking, the board on the floor has a leak, the stain in the tub and toilet will not come out and he says it is on us to fix. This was also a part of our conversation on signing the lease that if anything needs to be fixed that I need to call him and now he is refusing to fix anything. He then has my daughters friend to sign another lease for me and told her to sign my name, which is forgery. I just want my money back. Because the girls were young and handling this due to me being in the hospital, he got over on them, by charger for extra days and has them doing things illegally by signing another lease and signing my name illegally to it.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of SEP 28,2022 | 09:22 EST
Renters 116,562,089
Landlords 23,929,098
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security