Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Deposit Taken from me | Case#**-*558
Aurora, Colorado - 80010 I had a professional cleaner come and clean the unit. The carpet was also in excellent shape when I left, if they wanted it steam cleaned this is not the expense of the tennant. They are simply using bogus reasons to keep a portion of my deposit. Also, they mentioned a light fixture needed replacing outside of the unit, and the lease clearly states I am not responsible for the outside of the unit.
Bed bugs infestation in the complex | Case#**-*191
Frederick, Maryland - 21702 I moved in march. The first week I noticed bugs and called the leading office. They sent a pest control inspector & blamed the moving truck. Have emailed Jaime and contacted once since then but no action was taken, no inspection or removal.
Unbearable Noise From Tenants In Apt. I At 9206 Owings Park Drive | Case#**-*015
The man and woman who occupy apt I with their 4 children refuse to control the very loud noise created by leaving their children unattended and letting them jump, stomp, ride toys with wheels, all hours of the night and day. They disrupt the entire building from their 3rd floor apt. There has been numerous complaints about them from other neighbors. The rental office refuses to take any action. Nobody seems to work, so they are all there 24 hours a day. The noise starts about 10:00 am until about 2 to 3 am in the morning. We have asked them politely if they could contain the kids, but to no avail. Once at 12 am when my husband went to ask if the kids could settle down, only the kids initially answered the door (they appear to be between the ages of 3-10). It took 10 minutes for the mother to finally come to the door. We work, and it is very stressful to come home to very loud noise every day, or to be home from work and never have any peace. Please help.
UNKNOWED EVICTION OF MICHELLE YUEN NO NOTICE | Case#**-*117
LINCOLN, NE - 68503 3527 SMALL CLAIMS LAW SUITE HAS BEEN FILLED IN LANCASTER COUNTY NEBRASKA COURT
Failure To Return Security Deposit Within 20 Days Of Termination Of Tenancy | Case#**-*339
The landlord did not deliver the security deposit in accordance with RHODE ISLAND STATUTES AND CODES § 34-18-19. The lease ended 8/31/14. We moved out, turned in the key, and gave forwarding instructions for where the security deposit should be returned on 8/31/14. We were not given reason for non-refund, or costs of "repairs" until 77 days after we were gone. The majority of her list is normal wear and tear which the tenant is not responsible for. RHODE ISLAND STATUTES AND CODES § 34-18-19 - Security deposits: § 34-18-19 Security deposits. – (a) A landlord may not demand or receive a security deposit, however denominated, in an amount or value in excess of one month's periodic rent. (b) Upon termination of the tenancy, the amount of security deposit due to the tenant shall be the entire amount given by the tenant as a security deposit, minus any amount of unpaid accrued rent and the amount of physical damages to the premises, other than ordinary wear and tear, which the landlord has suffered by reason of the tenant's noncompliance with §34-18-24, all as itemized by the landlord in a written notice delivered to the tenant. The landlord shall deliver the notice, together with the amount of the security deposit due to the tenant, within twenty (20) days after the later of either termination of the tenancy, delivery of possession, or the tenant's providing the landlord with a forwarding address for the purpose of receiving the security deposit. (c) If the landlord fails to comply with subsection (b), the tenant may recover the amount due him or her, together with damages in an amount equal to twice the amount wrongfully withheld, and reasonable attorney fees. (d) This section does not preclude the landlord or tenant from recovering other damages to which he or she may be entitled under this chapter. (e) In the event the landlord transfers his or her interest in the premises, the holder of the landlord's interest in the premises at the time of the termination of the tenancy is bound by this section. (f) No rental agreement shall contain any waiver of the provisions of this section. - See more at: http://statutes.laws.com/rhode-island/title-34/chapter-34-18/34-18-19#sthash.pS92ouIh.dpuf
Maintenance Invasion | Case#**-*979
On 10/7/14 at approx. 11:30 PM a man began pounding on the door. The girls did not open the door. Man left, then returned 10 min. later, pounded on the door and entered apartment. Girl students were terrified, calling 911. Police confront man in apartment , who claimed he was maintenance answering a call. No uniform, no identification, no phone call, nothing!! Apartment manager and maintenance worker accused girls of drug use because they wouldn't open door. They are the ones who called Police and spoke directly to them. They do not use drugs. Confronted man, identified as Eddie, could barely speak English and Police said girls did everything right.
Repair Issues. Roach Infestation And Bed Bugs | Case#**-*676
TAMPA, FL - 33603 3000 I moved into Waterman\\\'s Crossing on September 10, 2015. They moved me to 3 different apts in one week. I was not allowed to see any apt before signing a lease. From day one the stove was broken, garbage disposal broken (still), the refridgerator did not work and was infested with roaches. They brought me another fridge 2 days later. When I asked them to spray for roaches they refused to treat any room other than the kitchen. The kitchen cabinets are left half painted. The dishwasher floods with water. They did bring me a working stove after several complaints. One month ago I noticed a strange bug crawling on my bed so I captured it and took it to my bug man only to be told it was bed bugs. I moved from a large house into this apt with all my own furniture. I have never had bed bugs in my life. When I went to the office to report the problem they insisted that I brought them with me. I did not. They agreed to treat the bed bugs this one time only and informed me that if they return or do not go away with treatment I will be responsible for any future costs. I was assured when applying for this apt. that they were clean and bug free. Now, my furniture is being ruined by roaches and bed bugs. I was also told that I had to purchase full mattress covers for all beds, new pillows, I lost 2 days work prepping for the first bed bug treatment all at my expense. What are my rights if any? How can I protect myself and my property when forced to live in unsanitary conditions. The pest control company who did the first treatment told me that bed bugs travel from apt to apt by going through wall outlets, etc. He said that if the surrounding apts have bed bugs and they are not being treated that I would never be able to get rid of them. If I break my lease I have to pay 1500.00 penalty as not to hurt my credit and ability to rent elsewhere. Please advise? What should I do to protect myself and my property?
Freezing Temperature, Poor Heating, Frozen Pipes, No Insulation | Case#**-*582
Base board heating inadequate house temperature below freezing point, pipes freeze, inhuman living conditions especially in winter months.
AC Repair | Case#**-*455
New Carrollton, Maryland - 20784 AC unit has not been properly addressed. It is currently 83 degrees in my apartment. I have sent more than 5 request and nothing has changed.
Repair Issues As Well As Illegal Activities | Case#**-*427
My landlord has a history of not completing work order requests on time. Each time I complain about the delay in resolving the repairs I am threatened with more penalties. The work order regarding fixing the water temperature shower in the master bathroom has not been fixed for over a month Most recently this landlord allowed another resident to rent the garage space located below my bedroom as weight lifting gym. This resident is an aspiring personal trainer and brings clients at odd hours of the day. Every morning at 6:00am I hear banging/dropping of the weights and instead of resolving the issue, the landlord threatens to have me pay for carpeting the whole apartment because I have two pets. I not only paid a deposit when I signed the lease but also paid two pet deposits as well as a regular monthly pet fee. This carpet is over 5 years old and the landlord knows that my lease is expiring in less than 6 months and therefore trying to get me to pay for the new carpeting. After researching this landlord online It seems like they have done this before to other residents. I have had several instances where there has been mold in the pantry area. Once again it took them days if not weeks to resolve. The neighbor above me seems to operating some kind of business as all night {past midnight} they have been moving heavy boxes/furniture. Upon several complaints with the landlord and the police, I still get disturbed at night with loud banging noises. One of her previous employees smudged red liptick all over my beige sweater and I addressed this matter with the community director and she simply asked me to have my rental insurance agency pay for the damages. I have kept all communications with this landlord strictly written and have numerous records with the violations as well as poor response/resolution to conflicts.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of SEP 20,2018 | 01:18 EST
Renters 112,597,582
Landlords 23,126,160
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security