Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Security Deposit Problem | Case#**-*882
Condition of the carpets upon move-out were the same as the condition of the carpets upon move-in. I am being charged $325 for carpet replacement in addition to $93 for carpet cleaning. The matrix used to rank to the condition of the carpet condition is subjective. The carpets were in good condition upon move-out; however, Maleno Development is charging me for carpet replacement. I have photos of the entire apartment to show that the carpet was in good condition when I moved out.
Fund Applications | Case#**-*032
Killeen, Texas - 76541 The office was closed on the day I went to pay my rent and discuss maintenance charges (7/3/15), so I went to get a money order for $574.50 and specifically stated that these funds are for rent and a late fee ($545 for rent and $29.50 for late fee that I honestly forgot to pay). I checked my account and they applied my rent to maintenance fees that are ridiculous, in which I came to discuss not knowing they\'d apply my funds in the way that they wanted to instead of how it was stated on the money order and intended which is very disappointing and discouraging. I feel that the way I provided my money and how its stated to be paid is how it needs to be applied to my account. It\'s morally wrong to do people that way and upsetting because I\'ve never had this issue before, even with maintenance charges in the past, I\'ve always taken care of them but always was told that they\'ll be on my amount until paid, and this never effected my payment of rent before. Now the ladies (one being a manager) were very heartless and didn\'t care what my money order said, only cared about how they wanted to place my funds and putting on my account that I still owe $320+ in rent and my money order stated for rent and late fee, nothing about maintenance. You can\'t take a check or money order for rent and pay a car not, so I really don\'t understand how it\'s legal for them to apply my funds the way the wanted, even though it wasn\'t stated for what they applied it to.
Repair | Case#**-*441
Hyattsville, Maryland - 20784 I have been with this complex for 2 yrs . the 1st week i moved in i saw mice and roaches. Called and complain ever since am still having the that problem. Whenever i go to tge office and complain about it they will give me assurance that it will be taking care of but it haven\\\'t. I have a leak. Coming from upstairs on the hallway and 1st room ceiling its been 10 months no one ever cam to look at the situation i still have the stains there. The hall way lights been off for 1 month now complained about that its still havent been fixed. My doors and windows are always lock but i still have big bugs coming in the units. I complained about tge screen door 2 weeks ago still haven\\\'t been fixed. I have a 3 yr in tge house and i dont want her to be sick with all the mice poop inside my unit. Ps am always buying mouse traps because tger are not doing anything to take care of tge problem.
Contract Error | Case#**-*153
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania - 17110 I have lived at stated address for approximately 14 month and have been charged during this period, for monthly rent $1,500 Monthly with residual being being paid through the VA. Monthly for the last 14 months, I have paid said sum as per contract during these 14 months, never late or short on payments. Recently a new manager has come and coming to my door on 1/21/13, with a smile on his face, to inform me that I had not paid the correct rent for the previous months and that I was indebted to the company for an extreme amount of money, $18,000.00 plus for the previous months of living here. I am 80 years of age, retired military and on Social Security and this has left me in wonder as to how I can be held liable for a mistake, if made, by the company involved. It seems unfair and unjust. If I had known that I would have to pay $2775.00 per month, I would never have moved here. I am baffled, confused and upset that this has come about. What is fair and what can I do about it?
Property Management refuses to take care of Bedbugs | Case#**-*295
LOUISVILLE, KY - 40229 5032 well first i was told to by Missy Wise to call Anna B. and when i did i was told no one in are building nor apartments ever had Bed Bugs. however they lady that lived below me had them an the apartments paid to have her apartment treated. I sent Anna B. a e-mail with proof of the treatment other then how it was paid of cause when the lady called to get proof Black Diamond told her they could give it to her cause she didn't pay an she didn't work for homeland Inc. witch in fact paid so they would have to call to get it. So they say i have to pay me an my wife are on SSI an i get disability an we have section8 so after bills rents food and are 2 kids we don't have extra money for this. Plus i pay my rent my bathroom just got fixed after they tore it up 6 weeks ago i just found out about the bugs last week an I'm like 2 days from being ready to be treated. I'm missing Dr. appointments cause i don't want to spread them. but all i keep getting from upper management is no one has ever had them here. i 'm sure you can work out payment plans with the bug people if not find someone that will.
Bed Bugs. Costs to me Mental and Physical. | Case#**-*205
Downingtown, Pennsylvania - 19335 Bed bug problem found to have existed before our arrival and was not treated properly. Landlord tried to blame on us and lamented after other tenants confirmed that previous tenants left because of bed bugs. We have bites all over I had to pull apart our furniture and my bedroom set has so many nooks and crannies they are almost impossible to get to them all and no way to be sure they are dead.. It cost $4000. The landlord said he could not get someone to treat the place until the 10th of September and we are forced to stay in here until then and would not offer a hotel till we got our place cleared. We have to move to a new home and they will not provide our deposit money so we can get our new place and we don't have the money saved to do it now. We have a 5 month old baby here my Granddaughter who has had to be away from her mother for days while we try to correct this issue. I have not slept more than 2 hours a night for over a week. My kids and I are having nightmares over this. I have never even seen a bedbug before this ever in my life. I need help and my landlord is seriously at fault here. There was no disclosure of an issue and we were sold into a nightmare situation. I spent over $200 this weekend cleaning clothes at Laundromat and encasing mattresses for treatment in bags but I fear none of this will work. I'll never again be able to sleep soundly on that bed. Please help us!!!!
Flea Infestation | Case#**-*359
We moved into the Apartment on 12/22/14. After being there for the day, unpacking the kitchen and cooking, my wife notice multiple bites on her ankles. After future examination she notice the fleas biting through her socks. After leaving the apartment for about an hour and coming back we noticed ticks as well on one of our moving boxes. On 12/23 we woke up, and the fleas were hopping around on our bed sheets. So we reported it to the leasing office. Later that day after they sent the exterminator to come to fumigate, I found a tick in private areas of my body. Our cousin, who also stays with us, has multiple flea bites on his body. We left for Christmas vacation on December 24th when we got back on the 27th fleas immediately attached to my wife and she couldn't even go to the store without fleas accompanying her. So she vacuumed and used borax to somehow alleviate the problem. After she came to pick me up that night we went and grabbed some food and went back to the apartment thinking that it would be better only to find that we couldn't even have a meal without fleas trying to get some too. At that point on 12/27 is when we decided to vacate the apartment leaving a message stating that we were going to withhold the rent until the issue was resolved. It wasn't until we got back on 12/29/14 to talk with the property manager that we were told that all they could suggest is for us to go buy multiple over the counter items and to vacuum persistently until the exterminator could come again on 12/30/14 and that they would not abate the rent or reimburse us for anything we had already done. After all of that only then did the Property Manager say "...we could have put you in a model." After the money was spent, and after they said they would not abate the rent.
Breach Of Agreement, Repairs And Harrassment | Case#**-*185
My A/C unit went out in the beginning of August 2013 and my landlord was hesitant to address the issue, then called back and said that he was told there was not a filter in the furnace which is why it broke and he didn't feel he was responsible for the repairs, however there was a filter and the unit was the same one that was installed when the house was built 30 years ago. 2 weeks later he finally had it replaced. In September 2013 I paid rent around the 15th as I have every month since I moved in but he informed me that he was giving me a 60 day notice to move out because I have been late every month (I paid the late fee every month as well too). After filling out 3 applications and paying $30.00 a piece for them, and was denied by all 3 places, I asked why and they all advised me that without a reference, or even acknowledgement from my current landlord of that past 2 years, they could not rent to me. I called Mr. Hobday after he advised me when he gave me the 60 day notice that he would give me a good reference and asked why that had changed? He told me he will not give me a reference until I pay rent for September (this was Sept. 7, 2013) I advised him that I would pay it around the middle of the month as I always done. Mr. Hobday said that he would not talk to anyone. I then offered to pay the rent that day and he asked me to move out by the 15th of Sept., I asked him if he wanted a partial month of rent if I was being asked to leave now in 5 days and he said no, I needed to still pay him for the full month, water bill and next month too. I felt at that point it would be more fair for us to go to court. He gave me a 3 day notice the next day yet he never filed an eviction and over the weekend he had his son come to my house and honk his horn for 20 minutes in my driveway before he got out of the car and mimicked my dog barking while he tried to open my door, and then walked outback and pounded on the garage door and then told my neighbors that I would not be seeing my security deposit & that I am delinquent every month on my rent. I have only met his son when I took possession of the house but never spoke with him because he was there moving items out of the house, I know his son is a convicted felon who was in prison and I don't know why he was here over the weekend harrassing me, I have not paid rent but have the ability to at any time, I simply don't feel like Mr. Hobday is trustworthy enough at this point and think we need a 3rd party involved
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*816
hudson, Massachusetts - 01749 My landlord has avoided me- i have documented the times that he has attempted to contact me which is few. I also have been lied to about the 24 hour service in my apartment building. The lack of concern regarding the bed bugs is uncalled for. People have thrown out mattresses and have moved in and out in the past month or two. I have had my neighbor openly admit that he travels to California.
Constant Noise Issue | Case#**-*237
I've reported constant noise issues withe the tenants above me in apt 448. This management company never answers emails or returns phone calls. I am filing this form at 12:15 AM on Monday, June 16,2014 because the tenants above will not stop banging, stomping and running.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JAN 23,2018 | 07:11 EST
Renters 111,948,894
Landlords 22,994,780
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security