Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

entering home without written notice more than once | Case#**-*160
HARTSELLE, AL - 35640 3530
Security Deposit | Case#**-*387
Frederick, Maryland - 21701 Landlord refuses to return security deposit. After conducting a walk through the landlord confirmed that we would be receiving our security deposit minus utility costs. He also stated that a cleaning crew would be hired to complete a final cleaning of the home prior to the new tenants moving in and that no further work was needed on the backyard. The landlord then went on vacation during the time we moved. He stated we had a few extra days to move out because the new tenants weren't moving in until mid-month. However, they invited the tenants to move in while they were on vacation without conducting a final walk-through or actually hiring the cleaning service. We broom swept the home but did not wipe down or clean thoroughly based on thinking a service was hired. As a result, the new tenants refused to move in and the landlord is now holding our full deposit for the following: 1. Cleaning $300 2. Yard Work $200 3. Lost rent due to new tenant not moving in $282 4. Water heater leaking $200 5. Utility bills-we are not disputing
unfair lease terms....rude to our family and children...lack.of repairs on home | Case#**-*729
Schriever, Louisiana - 70395 We started renting this home in Feb of 2010..the day we moved in was a cold day and the heater did not work..we moved in on a Sat and could not get it fixed until the Monday. We paid a $800 deposit and 2 months rent upfront...$850 a month. We rent the 3 bedroom home and the lot it is on ( which the property has NEVER been subdivided). Throughout our lease we have had numerous situations where our appliances quit working due to burning wires in the breaker box and when it was called to his attention he got very hostile blaming us. We lived here one week when our bedroom closet doors fell on me and on of our laundry room doors fell on my young daughter. On another occasion we had family over and the central air stop working and it was the hottest part of the summer and he told me that we would have to find another place to stay until he could get it fixed...i had to pack up my family and stay with my grandmother for 3 days til he got it fixed...when i mentioned deducting the days we were UNABLE to stay there from the rent..he cursed my fiance out and told him he will just evict us. So we paid the full rent and didnt mention it again. He started repairs on the house...fixing broken boards and painting. He used our water to pressure wash the whole house and our electricity for his power tools and we were never compensated for the difference in our bill. We have been with water pressure for a lil over 6 months from him changing a pipe outside and i let him know many times and reminded him time and time and it never got fixed still to this day. I showed him water spots in our living room and both our kids room and he told me that its just from the duct work sweating.....mildew has set in around that spot. This pass jan 2012 when our tempature outside was down to 28..our central heating went out and dıd not get fixed for 2 weeks. My 12 month old ended up with pneumonia and spent 4 days in the hospital. As far as the property...for 2 years we have occupied the home and small lot..we have kept up the grass...parked our vehicles..placed our children a swing set and trampoline. As on 2 months ago he informs us that he no longer wants ANYONE trespassing on the land...we. only have access to 10 ft on the side of our home...his exact words were "we are taking back the property" he wants everything removed immediatly and and trespassers will be arrested. The rent stayed the same but he took away space for our children to. play and parking for us. We live on a main h
Bed bugs and fowl odor and rat infested | Case#**-*063
SMYRNA, DE - 19977 1121 The most i have stayed in the apartment maybe was a week. I have been bitten, I have watchede rats and mice parade around the apartment eating all my food. My children was afraid to use the bathroom because of the rats. I have missed time from work and my daughter have missed days from school. When i spoke to the landllord about it she told me i brought them with me. But when i moved in there was plenty of bug sprays like spider sprays and all other bug sprays. I have never gotten bit like that until i moved into her property. She was very nasty when i explained what was going on with bugs and mice. I mailed her a letter explaining the situation which i have a copy of and kept the bags of food the rats ate through and took pictures of me and my daughter bites days missed from work , i have all my doctors letters and bills. My son put me up in a hotel for a weekend, i have lived out of my truck because no one wanted my things in there house, so now i have to spend money to get a bigger storage unit and for now still staying place to place. I dont have my own and living out of my car, all my clothes shoes are in my car. I was staying with a friend that appartently his daughter and hiim was getting bitten so i traveled with the bed bugs, I was suppose
Suspicious Charges On Rent | Case#**-*590
Kerrville, Texas - 78028 I have been here for almost 10 month and the rent continues to rise every month. I don\'t understand why, when I ask the landlord he says it\'s the water. our water meter is behind our house and no one ever checks it. so how is it that my rent continues to rise when the water is never checked.
Deposit Problem | Case#**-*349
Not sure realtor is a licensed property manager. He refunded the $1000 security deposit that I paid to my ex boyfriend who moved out the month after me. Ex boyfriend then stole my money and wont give it back. I gave proper 30 days documented notice via email. I was never called to be told when the final walk through was scheduled. He did not title the check in both our names although the lease was in both names. He never contacted me about why I was not receiving a refund on my security deposit that I wrote a check for in May 2011. I spent money on cleaning and repairs and am not receiving anything back after leaving the house in good condition.
Retaliation | Case#**-*080
LONG BEACH, CA - 90802 2546 August 2011 we woke to the horror of bug bites in our own bed, fearing the worst I immediately called the owner. Instead of concern and offers of help I was immediately attacked by him cussing me and accusing me or my visitors of bringing them to the building. He refused any help saying they weren't his bugs and he didn't bring them, after trying over the counter pesticides for about 2 weeks we called an exterminator, we were charged $1400.00 and given no guaranty. Within days other tenants in our building were calling me complaining of bed bugs once again I called the owner and once again I was met with a verbal barrage of cussing and denial, after which he suggested that I get the tenants involved to pool there money together and contact an exterminator. I told him I had already spent $1400.00 and I felt this was his responsibility, he then told me he didn't know what to do. I called the Health Department and filed a complaint. The same day I asked one of the tenants involved to do the same. A few days later the Health Department contacted him, the owner called me starting out by saying I just talked to the Health Department, after about 20 minutes of non stop trash talk he fired me. I told him that was fine because we were moving and I would give him my 30 day notice. the next day he calls me and tells me since I'm moving anyway why don't I just forget about what happened and continue to do my job as long as I was there, I agreed simply to keep the peace since I had other run ins with him and he has a bad temper I told him I would give him the 30 day notice on Monday he declined saying no need for the written notice I had told him and that was good, which was protocol for him, since Oct. 29, 2011 our move out date, the owner has refused to give me my last check or the balance of my deposit. They say I authorized Dish instalation which is untrue my dish was givin to me as a reward for a good job all other tenants came to me, the manager and I went directly to Jim Blair the owner and got verbal authorization from him and all dishes are mounted to vent pipes so there is no roof damage.
mice and roaches. requested pest control landlord sent me a 60 day notice | Case#**-*128
san diego, California - 92105 in the fall of 2013 i reported that my unit and the downstairs unit were infested with mice. i obtained advice from Payne Pest on how to remove them. i requested landlord to come check for holes that the mice were coming up thru, he told me to clean my house. he finally came out found a hole behind dishwasher filled it with foam and left, he never even made contact with the downstairs neighbors. approximately 3 months ago i reported to landlord that there were now roaches everywhere in the kitchen. i confirmed with downstairs neighbor they also were infested. i again hired Payne Pest management to come out. i paid for myself to have my apartment treated for the roaches landlord again refused to provide pest control/treatment. after living in a home infested with mice and roached i sent my May 2014 rent check formally requesting reimbursement for my roach treatment and asked him to take responsibility and provide the building with pest control he reimbursed me and in the same letter sent me a 60 day notice. Retaliatory yes! his notice said he was going to tear my unit apart but couldn't do it with me living there. the unit downstairs not only still has mice but has roaches. so if you are evicting me to tear my unit apart and i'm the upstairs then why wouldn't you do the same to the unit that is the source, them down stairs.
False Advertising Of Apartment Lease Pricing | Case#**-*412
Atlanta, Georgia - 30366 I contacted Wesley St. James to lease an apartment on last week due to the price listed online for currently available units. Which shows as 783.00 a month I was then informed that they have no units at that price and its wrong online and that there pricing is so complex that there website won\\\'t calculate it correctly which seemed odd. I was told the price would be 902.00 a month for a 6 month lease . I spoke with a Nadia and recorded the interaction . I then asked what day I would have to move in to receive that price and was told its never that price . I have contacted them and repeatedly asked that the honor and update there price as it is misleading and to date 10/12/15 they have refused . Floor plan is silver maple listed at 783.00

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of APR 26,2017 | 02:58 EST
Renters 111,214,019
Landlords 22,845,945
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security