Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

REPAIR ISSUE,BED BUG PROBLEM, RAISE RENT ON SHORT NOTICE | Case#**-*319
I have been living here for over 2 years ive never in my life had heard of or knew about bed bugs until i noticed i couldnt sleep well at night, do to all the bites all over my body. it crippled me finacialy ,physicaly and mentally ive even missed work because of this problem do to no sleep. i spent well over 500 dollars on cleaning products and bug spray got rid of all my furniture and clothes to get rid of the bed bug infestation the first time a few months back around january 2014. so far ive actually caught two bugs during my sleep on a new futon bed i recently bought before i was sleeping on an inflatable mattress.i just feel i shouldnt have to go through this again im just glad i didnt buy any furniture or expensive bed . i realy didnt want to bother any one about this but i would realy appreciate your help if atleast they can reimburse me for my losses,change out my carpet which could be the root of my problem properly seal my apartment so no bugs can get in and hire a pest control proffesional to actually get rid of these bed bugs man it almost drove me crazy coming home super tired and not being able to sleep. ive even gottten bit up while at work noticed a bed bug under my sleeve just biting me repedetively its a horrible experience im lucky i dont have kids beacause thing would have been worse. to whom it may concern ive never filed a complaint anywhere this is a first so excuse me if i sound like im just blabing this out but i realy do need help i dont have money right now work is tough and taking pay cuts i dont think i can afford anything to try and fix this problem myself . if any one can help me please contact me 909 659 3461 thank you
Disturbing Neighbors | Case#**-*714
I live an an upstairs apt. i have 2 children. one 17 year old and one 8 year old. when i first moved in the onsite manager came to my door and said my kids are playing around and running too much. I let it go. couple months later she came to my door again staing the same thing my kids are playing and runnig around too much and we are too loud with with our cabinet doors shutting. at that point i am feeling bullied, so i call the real property manager and state my kids arent doing anything out of the ordinary than playing. They are not up late making noise, or up really early we dont purposely make alot of noise. today feb. 20 2014 the property manager mr neu called said they were complaints my daughter was kicking balls in here and it was bouncing off the walls which was not true and we are slamming the doors. he wouldnt provide dates or times these events and i cant cooperate with him him if i feel im not doing anything wrong.
$500 damage deposit not being returned to renter | Case#**-*051
West Vancouver, Alabama - v711v The landlord has promised in writing and over the telephone for 4 months to return our $500 damage deposit, however he still refused to do so. He now does not answer our phone calls or emails.
Bed Bugs Infestations In My Apartment. | Case#**-*244
PANORAMA CITY, CA - 91402 1774 I moved here April 1, 2016, by April 10 my children and myself were getting numerous bites. I contact the manager because at first we thought it was mosquito bites, but we found bed bugs crawling in are beds. My children covered with bites all over there body, we agreed to heat treatment 4/26/2016. Upon returning to the unit my sons asthma was triggered by the chemical powder used to initials \\\"DE\\\". I took myself and children to the doctors to get checked and Confirmed Bed bugs bites all over our body. I was given Steroids ointment to calm the itching, and pain from the bites. My sons, more asthma medications and itching ointment, antihistamines. Despite there efforts we were still getting bites, the next door neighbor was also treated, by the evening we saw bed bugs on our vents. Again, I reached out to the Owner Randy Cooper and he stated they will be another treatment done. I told him how my son allergies, and asthma triggered by the chemical powder used. But insisted it will be again the resort to treat this problem. I told him this is an Epidemic problem, the whole building is being treated one by one. Randy said I could break my lease no problem, I ask for my deposit back. He stated he doesn\\\'t deal with that and also stated my furniture\\\'s were all new when I moved here in April. He stated nothing wrong with my furniture\\\'s, and I asked him reimbursement he refuse. I\\\'ve hired a lawyer to represent me in this matter. Atty Richard Miller, 818-994-8234. This is a nightmare for me and my family. I\\\'m emotionally stress out about this bed bug problem, with the bites and hassle with the management company.
Pest Control Proplem | Case#**-*259
N HOLLYWOOD, CA - 91606 1949 I am writing to inform you that I am taking matters in my own hands in regards to our pest problem. Attached are the following notes that I have been taken in regards to this issue : On October 31, 2019 at 9:52 AM,after two months of calling, your office called me back and said that we would receive a letter and someone will come spray 11/8/2019. By 11/5 we did not receive the letter. On 11/8/2019 I received a call without any warning that pest control was at our unit . According to the California law , we are to receive notice at least 24 hours prior to application of pest control . When I mentioned to your office that no one notified our unit, I was told \"We only send letters out when we are spraying the unit. The person at your unit today is just going to put down gel bait.\" It doesn\'t matter what type of pest control they are using, we are supposed to receive notice. As you know,we do have the right to request removal of insects and it is to be done in a timely manner, 30 days maximum. I have attached a screenshot of when I first mentioned to Eli that we have an issue . In that screenshot you can also see that I followed up with him a month later on 11/23 because it still was not resolved. I am going to escalate this issue to the Health Department because I can not live under these circumstances. We have been more than patient with you and it seems that the only way things get handled is when WE initiate and call.
They All Need To Go To Business Management School | Case#**-*701
Dallas, Texas - 75203 well it started when they sara michell and Felicia took over management in may they do no work but gossip and did not treat the bedbuds in my apartment and lost the key to my apartment and also misplaced my mail in there office only to find it 3 weeks later do nothing all day but stay in the break room I am fine with the building at the place but is is poorly managed and the police is called to stop the problems and the problems are them I want to move but they should pay me to move and finish running down Fiji retirement villa I have seen places in my life time but the Fiji staff are just the bottom of the barrel they should not there jobs instead of reading on the internet how to run the business
Move Out Problems | Case#**-*107
Phoenix, Arizona - 85051 I applied for apartment on 09/24/2017 and signed a lease agreement for 1 year for a 1 bedroom/1 bathroom apartment with apartment complex Villages at Metro Center. The leasing agent was name Jamie. She never let me tour the apartment before i signed the lease agreement but assured me that the apartment would be well prepared for move in. When I first moved in I noticed minor things wrong with the apartment like the carpet was dirty, dishwasher didn\\\'t work, and the bathroom tub knob to start the water was put on properly. I informed her in person that I wanted these fixed asap since she didnt let me tour the apartment beforehand. She provided a move-in check list which I turned however only some of the things in the apartment were fixed. The carpet was one of the major issues that never got fixed. Now 2 years later the apartment complex is trying to make me pay 848.31 for move out charges such as carpet replacement. I had a lot of issues with the maintenance when I rented from this apartment complex such as my apartment getting infested with roaches and bees. This is why I moved out after my 1 year lease. I have good credit so I didn\\\'t pay deposit at the time I applied for apartment. These apartments are threatening to send me to collection agency for move out cost which would damage my credit and be a defamation of my credit.
Bed bugs in apartment | Case#**-*116
LAYTON, UT - 84041 1956 tried to get ahold of landlord tonight but no one answerd the emergancy phone number will be letting them know first thing in the morning. just want this taken care of for my saftey and neighbors.
Evicition For Loudness | Case#**-*509
On January 2nd, 2015 I was issued a 10-day order to comply to contract notice stating that I needed to keep the noise volume down. After the 10-day notice, on January 14th, 2015 I received another formal letter from the landlord stating that they wanted to do a walk-through of my apartment. After the walk-through was complete the landlord stated to me that I needed to calm down on my video gaming as it was disturbing the other tenants. On February 3rd, 2015 the landlord called me to the office to discuss my living situation. He stated that I had two options. One option being that I choose not to pay rent, they do a walk-through of the apartment to see how much of my deposit I would get back, and then have to vacate the apartment within two weeks. The other was that I choose to fight to stay in my apartment and still be forced to leave without receiving any money.
3 Garages/personal Storage/overpayment Of Rent/boat Taking Up Parking Space | Case#**-*474
landlord, is trying to be prejudiced. I pay more rent than the other tenants.Landlord seems to think he has a right to discriminate. Police escorted him off his property for lying about a false burglary and when that lie didn't work, He said we were living illegally in his personal residence? I have asked him since May 17, 2013, to remove a greasy stove, for which he has not. I'm charging $100.00 for storage fees.for every month it has not been removed. Cluttering the tiny patio space. I had to call the city of Gardena, to have him replace a broken toliet? He takes picture of my vehicles? anything to get back at me for reporting his discrimination. 12/19/13, he calls the cops to tell them to force me to move my car from the street, so, that he can place the trash cans out on the street a day early. I am not the only one who parks in front of my unit? But, he calls on me only! I have not had heat am forced to use space savers, which cost one hundred per month in electric fees. But, that is o.k. landlord promised to do something about the old, old carpet. nothing. I've had it cleaned in vain!

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of AUG 8,2020 | 11:52 EST
Renters 114,453,671
Landlords 23,502,077
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security