Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Moved Out Of Apartment And Charged Rent Till Lease Expiry | Case#**-*300
OMAHA, Nebraska - 68154 Have been charged re-let charges for $ 1050 along with rent till lease expiry. Have moved out of apartment and charged rent till lease expiry. Is is unfair practice on part of landlord to charge additional amount as tenant is charged rent till full term of lease. Also have been charged 200+ for counter top. Condition of counter top was bad infact it required maintenance request to fix it. Landlord refused to provide details of charge of 200 in terms of work performed as it is exorbitant
Invalid Fees | Case#**-*353
OMAHA, NE - 68164 2847 I had a conversation with the assistant manager in December 2016 regarding me no longer having a pet she advised me that I would need to come in and sign something but then placed me on hold and when she cam back she told me everything was taking care I then but in in my 60 day notice on 03/20/2017 that I was moving I then 3 days later received a letter stating I owed $17 I called and asked what this was for they advised pet rent I again advised I informed them I no longer had my pet she said she would correct the issue then yesterday I found another notice on my door now saying I owed $51 dollars I called and asked what this was for the lady again told me for pet rent I explained for a 3rd time I no longer had a pet the lady became rude and hung up in my face I went to the office and she was no help the manager is very rude and never resolves anything I feel like I\\\'m being punished for moving please help I\\\'m getting ready to move and I do not owe them anything my last rent payment was made at the beginning of the month
No access to landlord / super beyond business hours | Case#**-*856
New York, New York - 10029 I am breaking my lease due to an unexpected job transfer. They have been harrassing me and threatening me ever since. I want the harrassment to stop. They have violated my rights by not allowing me access to any super or landlord after business hours and on weekends, with no method of resolving any immediate household emergencies during those times. I have been locked out of my apartment and was forced to pay for a hotel room because there was no one to call snce it was after 5pm.
bugs & ants | Case#**-*830
lancaster, California - 93534 Three months living with bug and ants , in are bed and food. Mangers spaying dose not help...
Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*483
Minneapolis, Minnesota - 55403
Repair Issues | Case#**-*670
INDIANAPOLIS, IN - 46254 9681 When I moved into this condo 4 years ago. I paid for a 2 bdrm/ 2 baths. I paid for 2 working bathrooms and since September 2015 and its now January I have been living in this condo with a broken toilet that i complained about to my landlord. She told me she could not find a proper repair person. I had to deal with non-working toilet that flooded the bathroom floor that i had to clean up. Also, I have received threats and been harassed by the landlord to evict me.
NO HEAT | Case#**-*445
CANTON, OH - 44706 1248 FURNACE IS OVER 40 YEARS OLD AND HE KEEPS CALLING RPAIRMAN TO GET IT GOING. LAST TIME REPAIRMAN WAS HERE HE SAID THE FURNACE NEEDED REPLACED.
A/C Repair Issues | Case#**-*709
I have lived in this community for about 3 years. The first week I moved in we started with A/C problems, the unit not cooling, freezing, very dirty. I have put in numerous complaints, at least once a month. At first they said it was because I lived on the top floor and the heat outside was to intense to be able to cool of the inside of the apartment. Then they claim the A/C unit was put in they didn't use the proper draining system, and the list goes on. I was told they would service the A/C unit once a month to prevent this from ever happening again. I have to continue to put in request for this to happen on a frequent basis. Among other complaints from this property and their lack of respect for the tenants. I have a elderly mother who is 76 years old,who suffers from numerous health issues, diabetic, heart problems, high blood pressure and other health problems. When the A/C breaks down and its 7 pm at night you can call and leave a complaint but they will not fix it till the next morning. Try being inside and apartment in Florida weather with 85-90 degrees inside and outside. it's like an oven and we are roasting inside.
Loud Neighbor | Case#**-*015
SALT LAKE CTY, UT - 84115 4454 Get neighbor to stop making noise.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*727
On December 4, 2013, I had put in a written 30-day notice to move out of my apartment to transfer to a larger apartment in the same complex. I paid a $300 transfer fee and signed a new lease that canceled my previous lease. I had originally lived in the previous apartment from September 21, 2013 thru January 4, 2014. After moving to my new apartment, I received an itemized statement 21 days after my previous vacancy that stated I owed $513.90 for a carpet replacement. The total amount stated that I owed $268.69 which was poorly accounted for that included checks and charges that were not even related to myself (checks belonged to another tenant and charges were already paid for via money order.) After receiving this statement, I took it directly to one of the on-site managers and we both agreed that I would not be charged for the carpet replacement because it was an older style carpet and for the few months I lived in the apartment, I was not reasonably charged for the carpet wear and tear. On January 31, 2014 I went back to the office to discuss how much I would get in return and the manager said that I would get $245.21. To this day (February 25, 2014), I have not received payment thereof and also delivered a demand letter on February 20, 2104 that I must get my payment before February 28, 2014 or I would take the matters to Small Claims Court. This letter was delivered and initialed by the on-site manager. On February 25, 2014 I received a "Final Notice" stating that I owed $9.06 for a balance due on my account. I do not know where this number came from as I paid my Utility bill and rent on time since the start of my new lease. I am starting to get very frustrated because their accounting is very inaccurate and completely wrong. I am ready to find a new apartment because of the stress and issues I am currently having with this corporation.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of OCT 20,2017 | 12:42 EST
Renters 111,693,014
Landlords 22,942,956
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security