Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Repair Issues & Disrespectful/unprofessional Customer Service | Case#**-*340
To Whom It May Concern: In July of 2014, Christy and I looked at an apartment at 291 Main St. Millburn NJ 07041, owned by Affiliated Management. We signed a lease upon seeing apartment 3-5. Our landlord, Hulya told us that the previous tenant had rented for many years so the carpet and windows in the apartment would be changed before our move-in on August 1. The verbal agreement was that the new carpet would be installed before our move in date, but that it may take 2-3 weeks for the windows. She let us know that she had placed the order with the window company and that it has been approved by Affiliated Management and the measurements had been taken, so the installation would only take one day. On August 1, 2014, my girlfriend and I moved into 291 Main St. Apt 3-5. After a month of living in our apartment, I called my landlord to inquire about the windows. She said that she did not have an exact date and that it may take a week or two. Then, a few weeks later around October 1, 2014, I called Hulya again to inquire about the windows. Hulya’s response was, “I don’t know, I placed the order”. It is important to note that we cannot open three (3) windows because they do not have a screen. Additionally, two of the window frames have a big open space, which results in bugs coming into our apartment. I asked my landlord if she thinks it is appropriate and fair that I pay full rent on time, yet I cannot use my windows and moreover, have bugs come in as a result of the windows as well. Her response was the same, “I don’t know, I placed the order for the windows, what do you want from me?”. I then asked for the company’s office phone number. We were instructed to talk to Jodie, therefore Christy and I called the office. She first spoke to Jodie’s assistant who was extremely rude. When Christy tried to explain why she was calling, Jodie’s assistant even stated, “So, you’ve reached us...what do you want” in a very condescending manner. Because of the receptionist’s poor attitude, Christy then asked to be connected with Jodie. She was informed Jodie was in a meeting. Not wanting to deal with the assistant, Christy asked to speak with Jodie’s boss instead. After waiting for a few minutes, Jodie answered the phone and presented with the same rude and condescending attitude as her assistant! So Christy asked to speak to her supervisor. Anthony answered the phone and gave Christy a chance to explain the window situation. When she asked when the windows would be ready, Anthony told her it would be over a month, because the windows would have to be approved first. Christy explained that the windows had been approved and even ordered (what Hulya told us in July). At that point Anthony became agitated and accused my girlfriend of lying, saying that there was definitely never approval for the windows because he would have known about it, despite Hulya’s verbal agreement. Christy then called Hulya to ask if the order had been placed, as she had told us in July. Hulya validated that the order has been approved months ago. Hulya then stated that she spoke to Tim Paul, and although she had given the order to Tim, he had somehow lost the approval order documents. Therefore no one knew about our windows needing to be replaced, and no one knew they were lost. The windows ended up being scheduled for 10/18/14. The window company arrived at 8:30am on Saturday and one of the workers said that they only have “two windows” to install. We became very upset; after this entire terrible experience not having windows, being lied to, and yelled at, we still do not get to have all the windows installed that were promised. My girlfriend called Hulya and asked her why all the windows are not being installed. Hulya responded, “I just found out about it last night”. When she inquired why Hulya did not inform us, Hulya responded, “I just found out about it last night”. She was unaware that it may be appropriate or courteous to let us know. It is very important to note that we sent this letter to two of the company’s owners Mr. Canastra and Mr. Beighley. On 11/12/14 Tim Paul, one of Affiliated Management’s workers emailed Christy letting her know that the two owners are aware of our letters. Although we specifically asked for their response by 12/15/14, they did not contact us. We really appreciate that you took the time to read our story. We feel it is important that the owner of Affiliated Management understand how the brand is being represented to its own paying customers. I think it’s quite clear that the employees have exhibited unappealing and unprofessional behavior. We hope you will take our feedback into consideration for the future. Please email or call me back to confirm someone read this letter. Lotan 862-400-8317
Wont fix heater says we have to pay for it | Case#**-*198
VALLEY VLG, CA - 91607 4136 Our landlord never takes resposibilites for the repairs that she lawfully bound to. I rent a single family dwelling home that came with heat when we moved in. The landlord is supposed to keep the unit in liviable and healthy conditions one of these being heat. She seems to think we are responsible for ALL repairs. This is the second time the heat has stopped working and she refuses to fix it. The first time she wouldn't respond and when she finally did she told us she wasnt going to fix it. So aftert alking with the housing authority they told us to repair and reduct from the rent. Now she says we still ower her that money for the rent. A year later the heater has broke again. She still refuses to fix it. I contacted the building of Code and Safety to file a complaint but that may take up to 45days to get it repaired and its unbearable in the house. Im not going to go into a month of winter with no heat and if i fix it without the complaint then i cant file one and she will continue to say i owe her that money. Back in march there was a plumbing problem with roots from the tree growing into the pipes and clogging them. She wouldnt even fix that! There was waste dumping into our yard out of a pipe and finally had to fix it and pay for it our selves when by law this is her responsibility. I am just a renter not an owner. I need to make her aware of what she is supposed to fix so this doesnt keep happening but she wont listen to me no matter how many times i send her tenant rights and landlord responsibilities. Please help. Im sick of not being treated fairly when i have never failed to pay rent.
Hostile Behavior | Case#**-*179
STOCKTON, CA - 95207 2318 The first time the manager yelled at me was when I went to his unit to give him the rent which was around 7pm because I had come late from work that day. The second incident happened on 06/20/2016 around 730pm. I went to my apartment to grab something from my unit and I parked in the parking space close to where my unit is due to the fact that I am pregnant and was having trouble walking from the usual parking space I park in. I did not even park for 5 minutes when the resident and manager of the apartments and I came in contact. I apologized for parking in his parking space and he confronted me and was very irate and was fuming and started yelling at me for parking in space. When I tried moving out of his parking space a female resident with him came out flipping me off and i signaled her to apologize for my mistake she then walks up to my car and starts yelling at me telling and threatening me that the next time I park in their space they will tow my car away. I then tried to approach Doug, the manager, and tell him that his lady friend was flipping me off, making rude comments, and threatening me but she grabbed him by the arm and pulled him away telling him that he shouldn\'t pay any mind or attention to me because I had no regard for parking in their space. The hostile behavior that was expressed towards me scared me and I dont feel safe and fear that something worse might happen after this incident.
INFESTED WITH BED BEGS ONLY STAYED IN THERE 1 NIGHT NOTHING FIXED | Case#**-*753
Decatur, Georgia - 30031 My apartment was suppose to be ready by the 11th. They showed me my apartment and they said if I leave a deposit that will guaranteed my appt since I lived so far away. When we got there our apartment was not ready and they just thre0me in any apartment that clearly was not ready or fixed. I can deal with the the things they need to fix like doors drawers sinks and ect.but to be eaten up and I bought everything brand new and I never had to live woth any bugs or problems. I came here go attend college and this is really a discouraged for me. The management also said they would never rent out a place that they wouldn\\\'t stay in. Well I would love foe them to stay in that apartment for just one night and see how bad they get ate up. I have videos and pictures this is just horrible.
Deposit Problem. Gave 1000.00 deposit without signing a lease. | Case#**-*422
morrisville, Pennsylvania - 19067 I gave a 1000.00 deposit on an 1br apartment at tyler arms. After 48 hr I decided to not take the apartment. No lease was signed. the only exchange was my 1000.00 with a reciept from the property manager. Now the property manger is giving me the run around in reguard to refunding my deposit. the apartment was never taken off the market. and the property manger continue to show the unit after he had my deposit.
Repair Issues/Breach Of Agreement, Unlawful Eviction | Case#**-*026
Landlord has been informed via phone that outlets are sparking and power is turning off and on by itself. Landlord has told me to "make due" and has not made any arrangements to have my electricity fixed because he stated that it is too costly for him to repair it. I have had previous issues with electricity and landlord has not always acknowledged these. I have to keep the circuit breaker shut off so that my house will not catch fire, resulting in very limited electricity in my home. Landlord has been told previously about the dry rotted windows in the attic bedroom but has overlooked them numerous times. They are dry rotted and falling apart, allowing cold air to enter house. When informed about electrical issue landlord informed me that my family and I now have 1.5 months to vacate the property due to electrical issues/plumbing issues that he is not willing to pay to get fixed. Landlord has tried selling house numerous times to no avail. He has stated he is going to let it go into foreclosure. Landlord has stated numerous times that he is not willing to fix anything else in this house due to not being able to sell it to a new owner.
Repair Issues, And False Complaint About Pet | Case#**-*568
Fort Worth, Texas - 76112 July 2015 I got a puppy for my kids and was advised that I would have to pay a $100 deposit in order to keep it, I paid the deposit on july 29 2015. I was later informed that I would have to pay an additional $350 if I wanted to keep the puppy. In mid September I moved the puppy later to receive another $100 deposit note on my door in November 2015 almost three months after the dog was gone.
unrefunded deposit | Case#**-*256
rochester, New Hampshire - 03839 we have moved out of the said apt on the fourth of oct after paying a full months rent. Notice was verbally given in july. the landlord is attempting to charge us with multiple boguas charges. when we moved in the apt was dirty and had clutter left from previous tenents, it was not painted and the yard was full of trash, minn blinds where not replaced and wrer broken. when we moved out the apt was cleaned holes in walls were patchedfrom pictures that were hung up. it needed painted and mini blinds hung up which we had purchased and left for the landlord . there was no real damage to the apt. other than tree and one half years of normal wear and tare.the closet sliding doors were not hung when we moved in and the hangers were broken, we left them in the closet. also the roof leaked for the entire time we lived in the house and nothing was done about it by the land lord.
Stacking Fees | Case#**-*351
JACKSONVILLE, FL - 32256 3798 My rent and water sewer fees are always on time or paid early, however a prior payment of the public utilities of water returned a money order indicating the money order was outdated, the complex charged a returned check fee to my account. In addition the original money order was never returned to me and notice regarding this matter was never given for several months after the fact. I travel for my living and am away for extended periods of time ...no email no phone call etc until a notice was attached to my front door claiming I owed close to 300 hundred dollars by my son who is a tenant also. In addition water usage is based on square footage compared to actual usage. As noted I travel out about 75% of my time so 1 person is using my utilities Please also note the returned money order amt for the water bill was paid at the time of notification.
Entering Without Notices, No Paperwork For Pest Control. Improper Repairs | Case#**-*497
Providence, Rhode Island - 02903 As my co-tenant Keeon Burke has been renting from Cort property rentals for the past three years, he informs me it has only begun to become worse on communicating with him along with getting necessary maintenance issues solved. There have been multiple incidents since the start of our lease in August where the maintenance employees have entered the house without even a 24 hour notice, aside from the required minimum two day notice as show in the state handbook. Aside from the lack of professionalism to notify us, his employees are not prepared to perform any of the maintenance repairs adequately. There have been moments where we had to provide certain equipment tools for them to get a issue done, things such as proper safety equipment(respirator masks, drop cloths for painting being as i have a dog), handyman/power tools(screwdriver,hammers,electric sander,etc..) We have tried numerous of times since the beginning of our lease to consult with Cort on these issues and find some solutions in which as a result he has blocked my number permanently from his phone.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of FEB 25,2020 | 12:01 EST
Renters 114,008,189
Landlords 23,411,852
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security