Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Landlord won't repair my septic for three years and its caused $15,000 damages to my home' and my 2 | Case#**-*721
millsboro , Delaware - 19966 The owner and the manager out here are very ignore and me and my family can t live comfortly bcause were being messed with by people that live out here but work for them. i also did work for them and were never paid. There are a million violations out here that there getting away with but people are scared to step up because they don't want to lose there home like others. we owned our trailer for 15 years and now he wants to take it. i had numerous people that stay out here that tell me how bad they want get rid of my family because of me contacting ppl about my issues
Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*890
i have been a resident of this complex for approx 1 1/2 years; in march 2014 i received a job offer in california and have been attempting to maintain the downers grove residence since resigning the new lease in feb 2014; i have been very vocal about letting the apt complex know that job opportunities have taken my out of state; i pay rent on line, i pay late fees on line, i have sent the rent to them via fedex and overnight mail with the post office so the office knows i have not been in downers grove or that apt for some time; whenever there are issues with the apt, the mgmt continues to post notices on the door in il that i will never see or adhere to because i am out of state and have been since march 2014; they have placed eviction notices on the door stating the rent hasn't been paid or late fees haven't been paid knowing full well i am out of state; the only way i find out about it is when a relative periodically checks the apt; they won't acknowledge rent has been paid online, they post notices, they won't acknowledge the late fees are paid on line, they post notices on the door; they never notify me by phone or email which i have provided them on several occassions; i call them to update, they ignore; recently my job has notified me i will be working here ((ca) another 3-6 mos and i have emailed the property to notify them as of sept 2014; a relative checked on the apt sunday, sept 28 2014 to indicate there's another eviction notice on the door due to a 50.00 ommission on their part; when i called to clarify that issue and also reiterate i would be vacating their premises as of november 30, 2014, the property mgmt informed me i cannot leave, i cannot break their lease, i have to continue paying and when the lease expires, i have to give them 2 months notice; i spoke to seth or shea or someone with a similar name; i tried calling corp. ofc 5 times on 9.29,2014 to get clarification and no one will call back; it's a rip off or a scam for this company to try to make ppl stay in a lease when efforts are being made to amicably notify them; i should be allowed to pursue job opportunities and move wherever i please without this company dictating what i can and can't do; please assist with the resolution of this problem
Deposit issues, breach of contract, harassment, slander | Case#**-*153
Denver, Colorado - 80222 Sharon Young is an alcoholic and takes advantage of people by overcharging them for rent while using all common areas as her own personal space and not maintaining any part of the house(while not working, she says she works in real estate but i have never seen her even list a property). She has called me at work several times just to complain that a kenneled dog is whining, while not controlling her own dog which will bark at all hours of the night. She will evict someone with no dialog or attempts to work anything out. I am a veteran and she gave me a three day notice saying i had to be out on Memorial day. She evicted one tennant for sending her a picture of messes her dog was making in the house and asking her to clean it up. Her reason for evicting him was immaturity. Overall she is a nightmare to deal with and others should know how she is before being taken advantage of as I have. She has done this several times before, I have learned.
Maintnance Non Compliant | Case#**-*582
I've been waiting 2 weeks for the filter in my AC unit to be changed. I have called 4 times on this matter already. Really?
Stacking Penalty Fees | Case#**-*374
JACKSONVILLE, FL - 32256 3798 My rent and water sewer fees are always on time or paid early, however a prior payment of the public utilities of water returned a money order indicating the money order was outdated, the complex charged a returned check fee to my account. In addition the original money order was never returned to me and notice regarding this matter was never given for several months after the fact. I travel for my living and am away for extended periods of time ...no email no phone call etc until a notice was attached to my front door claiming I owed close to 300 hundred dollars by my son who is a tenant also. In addition water usage is based on square footage compared to actual usage. As noted I travel out about 75% of my time so 1 person is using my utilities Please also note the returned money order amt for the water bill was paid at the time of notification.
Evicted from my property | Case#**-*734
Houston, Texas - 77008 To whom it my concern: I José Maldonado is directed to this dependence to his worthy charge, to request your help for avoid the eviction of the properties: 502 E. 29th. Street and 423 E. 29th. Street, Houston, TX. 77008 that Mister Juan Lopez has carried out, through his lawyers, in which reports me that I should carry out in a period of three days from the 12/20/2011. For lack of payment which is not true. As antecedent I report them that in November from 2010 Mister Juan López and I carry out a covenant of the purchase of the property of the 502 E. 29th. Street. In which I compromised to pay the sum of $1450 dlls. Monthly, of which $450 were of rent and $1000, 00 as interests of the purchase of the property. Until I paid him the part that corresponded me of the purchase of the property In June of 2011 we made another covenant with the property located in the 423 E. 29th. Street in which I should pay him the sum of $1550 Dlls. monthly, of which $ 550, 00 dlls. Were of rent and $1000, 00 of interests of the payment of the sale of the property I made with him. In such agreement if the property was sold the profits will be distributed 50% for each one In the past month due to the economic situation I have not been able to pay the part of the interests, but the rent was pay every month and with this excuse his trying to evicted me of the two properties. By my part, in recent months I have being renting the property of the 502 E. 29th. Street. For thus be able to solve the payments to Mr., López. In recent date Mr. López began to have conversations with the people that live the property to threaten them. Likewise by the date December 22, 2011., Mr. Lopez has canceled the services of Water and Energy in the property, so that way the people will left the property and thus to be able to evicted me. For further information I can be contact at the address 524 E. 29th. Street Houston TX. 77008 and phone Number 281-685-7636 and the email jlmaldonado410@hotmail.com. I will thank you all the help that can provide me to avoid the eviction that is carried against me. Regards Jose Maldonado
Neighbor Harassment Violation Of California Civil Code, § 1927 And Davis V. Gomez (1989) 207 Cal.Ap | Case#**-*733
Constant harassment by neighbors since February 2012 has been clearly documented and reported to our landlord and has been ignored. A cease and desist letter was written and presented to the landlord and neighbor in question with no response.Two police reports have been filed, one showing the harassing neighbor admits to threatening a resident in my home with great bodily injury. The landlord stated it was her word against mine and has done nothing. Both of our vehicles were vandalized, broken into and several valuable tools were stolen. I am being forced to move by the consistent harassment of the neighbor. This is not a voluntary act on my part. Withholding rent and seeking other housing is justified. the landlord's act or omission has substantially interfered with our right to use and enjoy the premises for the purposes contemplated by the tenancy. (Petroleum Collections Inc. v. Swords (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 841, 846.)
Bedbug/ Roach Infestation, Repair Issues, Health And Safety At Risk | Case#**-*330
MODESTO, CA - 95351 2457 Insect infestation (bedbugs, roaches, spiders, ants) has become unbearable. Store bought insecticides, repelant, steamers, all unsuccessful. Last year Wes, landlord, bombed and poisoned, did not work. Now we have a full blown bedbug infestation that was reported on July 1st, verbally to Wes Greene, then to Deonce Whitacker. TAs of today, Sept. 15th, there has still been nothing done. I have had to throw out my furniture, and all soft surface stuff- beds, pillows, toys, and had to buy a new washing machine due to washing everything I own. Electrical items as well as appliances are all infested and have to be replaced. I am living in my RV in the parking lot because of health and safety issues. The wiring is faulty, 2 fires so far. Windows fall out, shower leakes and has black mold, carpets had to be torn out- never were clean when I moved in 3 years ago. Spiders are everywhere, I was bitten by a black widow and almost died 6 months ago, nothing was done. I have verbally, and in writing asked for help, they raised my rent. I filled out their forms, and no help. Once they hired a guy to come and spray outside and in, it made things worse. He did not treat underneath the house or the attic. Last month I paid half of the rent, none this month. It is being witheld until this matter is solved, and I am properly treated. Lastly, I have been assaulted by the property managers daughter, then had my brand new $400 tires slashed the next night. Management said they were not responsible. I am disabled, on a fixed income, and am in fear for my safety as well as my health. I am asking for help!
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*829
We have had bed bugs for months. When I originally told my landlord back in June when we first found them he said "How did you get that?". He said he would look into it, then I heard nothing for weeks. I had to walk into his store and tell him with embarrassment in front of his employees that I am desparate and I cant sleep. He gave me two cans of spray. Now in September and I still have these things attacking me at night and he is calling to see in what method I am going to pay the rent. That is not fair.
Wronfully Being Evicted From My Home | Case#**-*029
Lancaster, Pennsylvania - 17602 I mailed out a money order of 500.00 over two weeks ago at which my landlord claims he never received. I had informed him of my situation with my pregnancy and how medical bills and such had taken precedence over some things in my home, that I was to send out a money order at which in time I would continue to pay the rest of the rent for April and that he would have the month of mays rent within the first week or two. On the day of March 5 I received an eviction notice telling me I never paid any rent and that I had ten days to move out. This accusation is not only a lie but puts my family in a damper. We had a verbal agreement and the eviction was not it. I would like this situation handle in the manner that it was originally disclosed.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of APR 1,2020 | 02:02 EST
Renters 114,105,616
Landlords 23,431,585
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security