Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Harassment | Case#**-*111
Spring Lake, North Carolina - 28390 falsely accusing and making it hard for me to live and having three kids that i\'m trying to keep a roof over. constantly harassing me and lying saying any papers that they needed from me that they never received. trying to talk to the district manager but she hangs up the phone and wont answer.
BED BUGS through out the building | Case#**-*588
Irvington, New Jersey - 07111 My apartment os infested with bed bugs and my apartment is not the only one there are other tennants with the same problem and i am in fear that even after the exterminator comes the problem will return if the building isnt treated
Failure to refund security deposit | Case#**-*793
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - 19103 I rented an apartment from Weston Properties (steve Vieth) from 05/30/201-07/15/2012. $200 security deposit was paid. Weston Properties and Steve Vieth failed to reimburse the deposit in spite of numerous phone calls, E-Mails, Faxes and a registered mail.
Management Company Lost Rent Check Then Tried To Evict Me. | Case#**-*844
ZION, IL - 60099 2805 This complaint is in reference to Riverside Management losing my rent payment for October 1, 2016. I mailed in my rent payment certified mailed on 9/23/2016 and Agent Maricela Martinez signed for my rent check on 9/26/2016. That check was to go for my October 1, 2016 but instead the check was lost. Agent Maricela Martinez is the leasing manager for my building at 2812 Elisha. Being the manager she did not inform me of the incident and late fees were added to my account which she failed to inform me of as well. Due to this mistake on December 23, 2016 Agent Martinez put an invalid 5-day notice of termination of tenancy in the crack of my door. I had to call into work and lose a day’s pay to go to the Riverside Management office to correct this issue before Christmas. If I hadn’t everything would have been closed by the time my five days were up and I wouldn’t have been able to correct the issue since agent Martinez dated the notice 12/22/2016 and put it in the door 12/23/2016. Agent Martinez acknowledged she signed for my rent check and told me she would suspend the 5-day notice while I get a re-issued check, but she refused to give me documentation of the suspension. Agent Martinez didn’t apologize for her indiscretion nor would she give me in writing that the 5-notice and late charges were canceled. I need a written letter from Riverside Management indicating that the error was made on their part, the 5-day notice is canceled and that all the late fees are removed from my name/account. It is my right to have the corrections in writing for legal purposes. I hope that the management team at Riverside Management can cooperate and comply with my request to avoid this turning into a legal matter.
Home Was Not Ready By Move In Date, Problems Not Fixed That Were Addressed | Case#**-*264
I was scheduled to move into the mobile home, but there were a lot of issues needed to be fixed first. First of all every time i went to see the place the doors were always left wide open. I caught a cat in the house that had sprayed an urined in the home. I then addressed this issue an was told it would never happen again. I returned onour move in date to find that the doors wers still wide open trash was all in the front yard, the cat was still in there, nothing inside the property was finished.that was suppose to be. The maintance man was a drunk, i called bob hurt (landlord)on friday then was informed it would be ready by next week. I went there on sunday to find the doors open an no one there. Then when i was leaving the maintance man stopped me by his shop to tell me he killed the cat. Which I was not ok with killing animals, he made us very uncomfortable since all this happened we decided not to move in an bob hurt would not refund our security deposit.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*727
On December 4, 2013, I had put in a written 30-day notice to move out of my apartment to transfer to a larger apartment in the same complex. I paid a $300 transfer fee and signed a new lease that canceled my previous lease. I had originally lived in the previous apartment from September 21, 2013 thru January 4, 2014. After moving to my new apartment, I received an itemized statement 21 days after my previous vacancy that stated I owed $513.90 for a carpet replacement. The total amount stated that I owed $268.69 which was poorly accounted for that included checks and charges that were not even related to myself (checks belonged to another tenant and charges were already paid for via money order.) After receiving this statement, I took it directly to one of the on-site managers and we both agreed that I would not be charged for the carpet replacement because it was an older style carpet and for the few months I lived in the apartment, I was not reasonably charged for the carpet wear and tear. On January 31, 2014 I went back to the office to discuss how much I would get in return and the manager said that I would get $245.21. To this day (February 25, 2014), I have not received payment thereof and also delivered a demand letter on February 20, 2104 that I must get my payment before February 28, 2014 or I would take the matters to Small Claims Court. This letter was delivered and initialed by the on-site manager. On February 25, 2014 I received a "Final Notice" stating that I owed $9.06 for a balance due on my account. I do not know where this number came from as I paid my Utility bill and rent on time since the start of my new lease. I am starting to get very frustrated because their accounting is very inaccurate and completely wrong. I am ready to find a new apartment because of the stress and issues I am currently having with this corporation.
Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*082
New York, New York - 10025 I moved into my current apartment in September, 2011. I had my first bed bug after 1 week, and my last one last week, May 2012. My apartment went through the chemical treatment 5 times. I found the previous tenant who moved out in July 2011. She informed me that she had the bed bugs as well and her apartment got treated before she moved out. My neighbor, who has been residing in the same building for several years told me that other tenants of my apartment had bed bugs, too. Yesterday, I saw that another neighbor from the same floor moving out and she told they have to leave the place for 15 days. They have been having bed bugs for the last 3 months, no solution yet so far. I am allergic to bug bites, any kind and show extreme reaction to the bed bugs. My hands and body have scars left from the most severe bed bug attack I received in October. I am a full time employee and CPA candidate. I failed several of my exams because of the living conditions. I threw away furniture and most of my clothes since they were beyond repair after the "preparation of the apartment" process. My preparation costs and CPA exam costs exceeds the deposit I paid for this apartment yet I am not claiming anything. I am at the threat of losing my job since I couldn't pass my exams yet. These bugs and this apartment is costing me not only my mental and physical health, but also my life. My apartment management (BLDG) is not responding to me request of terminating the lease. I sent them emails with photo attachments of bed bugs I caught in my apartment and also called them. No response. I kindly seek for help and terminate my 1 year contract before it expires. I cannot live in this apartment any longer.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*767
complained of bed bugs mid February a exterminator was sent to the property to inspect upon completion of the inspection is was determine there was a infestion of bed bugs was given a list to prepare once the preparation was complete was advise on 03/04/2013 that the owner has to decide whether or not they will exterminate the premise, when i spoke with meyers realthy mid February i was to call once the has was ready for exterminaton and the appt would be schdule.
Bed Bug Madness | Case#**-*575
I moved in 1/7/2014, only a week ago and I have bed bugs and the Complex Manager Jen said the exterminator said I brought them with me. I disagree I had never been bitten until now and when moving I was the first person on the moving route. I tried getting a hold of the moving company Cactus Moving (877) 532-3757 x 8123 to voice my concerns with Ashley Smith but no response yet on this matter, but she was able to respond to me via email about a reimbursement of a broken dresser . While breaking down the bed frame I didn't notice bed bugs but after I moved in they made my one piece of luggage and headboard there new home and hosted on me as a meal. Jen said they inspect all units prior to move in but I've been informed by neighbors of a flea infestation in the past in that unit. I advised the complex to service all units in the building to get rid of the problem still no sign yet of this being resolved. Unfortunately older complexes of 30 years need more maintenance that is why I am breaking my lease and getting out asap. Therefore, I should be reimbursed for deposit to replace damaged property and the extermination because the complex should of taken care of it along with the building 1 tenants apartments too. This problem is serious and if I had not voiced concerned right away there would have not been a sense of urgency to fix the problem.
Bed Bug | Case#**-*674
A couple month ago I was being bitten and I though it was allergies symptoms or something then discovered the bed bugs called and informed my landlord, they sent over someone, he inspected the apartment, after a week they treat the apartment( natural treatment) because I told them that I have 6 month baby, I washed and dried all my laundry and then they told me that they will be back on two weeks. if I was still getting bitten to then call back. after two weeks they came back and give it to me bed bug fact sheet and then my landlord told me that I am the responsible for the bed bug treatment they charge me 300 dollars because I signed saying that the landlord is not responsible for pest control. After a few weeks my daughter room having a lots of bed bugs I was so shocked and stressful when I saw a bunch of bed bugs. I informed my landlord that I saw a lot of bed bugs on my daughter room and I need these issues to be handled then they said they going to call to pest control company and they told me that they going to come to my apt and apply some chemical treatment and then I took my kids to my sister house for two days. when I came back I found a lots of bed bug on the carpet and wall , I don't think the landlord are taking the issue seriously

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of FEB 20,2017 | 01:50 EST
Renters 111,039,743
Landlords 22,810,648
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security