Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Discrimination, Breech Of Agreement | Case#**-*076
SANTA BARBARA, CA - 93105 3023 Landlord Claudia Lapin has discriminated against my husband who recently had a stroke and is currently disabled. We noticed her upon our move in that my husband was recovering from a stroke. She has repeatedly violated tenant rights by knocking on our door and ringing our doorbell until we answer without notice/permission, entering our backyard without notice/permission, entering our garage without permission/notice, shutting the garage door on our car, etc. We have repeatedly asked her in writing to cease this behavior to no avail. She has now retaliated against us when we asked her to not bother us unnecessarily by notifying us in writing that the premises aren\'t suitable for extension of our lease because the exterior is being painted, however she has reposted the rental on Craigslist showing it\'s available for the day we move out which is when the said the premises was unsuitable (see attached). This leads us to believe that she is stating the premises are only unsuitable for us since my husband is disabled.
Repair Issues | Case#**-*942
HUMBLE, Texas - 77396 I have made maintenance requests that either needed to be replaced or fixed that hasn\'t been resolved. October 11,2017 one of the blinds fell off including the latch to turn the blinds open/close hasn\'t been replaced. January 11,2018 the chip off microwave broke off to open it warm my food that leasing office cancelled my request online 1/25/2018 saying they can\'t replace the microwave to had remove it out the wall 2/2/2018 being stuck without microwave February 6,2018 I kept asking the leasing office about having matching appliances when my list of issues first month moved into apt 1318 back Sept 2017 dishwasher is white and doesn\'t work the leasing office cancelled again my request for new dishwasher 3/16/2018 telling me they\'re supposed to receive new dishwashers to contact me back which never did August 11,2018 my balcony has rail with the nails unattached to the wall that I almost fell over. It\'s still broken of the leasing office lied said was complete 8/27/2018 July 15,1019 my clothes started hanging down because rod is broken. The maintenance lied to leasing office saying was complete July 18,2019 when rod still broken keep my clothes stay on
Failure To Comply | Case#**-*229
Charlotte , North Carolina - 28262 In my building there was a Leak from the 3rd floor the night of Saturday July 2, 2016. The water leak came through to my apartment and made damages to where I had to unhook the stove. I called maintenance and he advised me that he has fixed it to stop leaking and the water leak was coming down from the 3rd floor washing machine. in the Morning July 3rd, 2016, I woke up to big bang on my door from the Fire department and Police. They advise me that everything would need to be turn off including the water and electric and had to leave. The next night, July 4, 2016. I came back, i seen the stove was put back into place but my water for Laundry and my kitchen sink did not have water. On July 5, 2016. I went up to the front office to see what was being done. No one seemed to know, so i advised her what needed to be fixed. When I did she tells me the wet spots on the wall would need to dry so they can paint over it. This is not okay, i have asthma and I will not be able to stay there with those conditions. She tells me that it is normal but from me knowing myself, I know that it will cause mold and cause more problems and it need to be fixed correctly. She then tell me she will send someone out to look at everything and fix it. I called later that day and spoke to maintenance and out of his OWN MOUTH he tells me everything has been fixed. I walk into my apartment and IT HAS NOT Been fixed. Everything is the same. I call to the apt office, she advised me of checking on it and will call me back. Today is July 7, 2016. i have yet been able to wash my cloths, wash my dishes, clean my house ect. because they feel my issue is minor. I will not live somewhere that can be subject to mold with me having asthma. No one seems to even care that my living situation has been altered due to something that is not my fault at all and my rent is paid.
Misrepresentation And Illegal Lease. Illegal Evictio- | Case#**-*748
EASTPOINTE, MI - 48021 1342 On 4/28/16 I signed a lease to move into a rental home with my infant niece and sister. We turned in keys to former home and moved on 5/5 to discover that the home did not have water. Castle Property Mgt sent us to hotel for 4 days until water could be restored. 5/9 Move in checklist extensive, including a gap on the front door (3/4\\\", I have pics)to outside. June paid rent. July 13 we had a storm. I was taking my 15month niece to grab the mail and was unaware that in the step down vestibule it had rained indoors and there was an inch puddle. We fell, I sprained my ankle, hurt neck/back, hit head BUT spared the baby. We were taken to ER. Tried for 11 days to contact Castle Prop Mgt about incident, no reply. 12 days Felix Wong replies when I question if they are going to assist me with $1693 bill from ER. He says hold August rent while he contacts overseas homeowner. Mid August still no resolution financially AND door is same, no repair. Sept rent held. September 12 summoned to court for eviction. Castle lawyer brings settlement for reducing rent, and I pay back rent in 10 days if repair is made. October 1, no repairs made. October 1 Castle (Felix Wong) calls and requests that I call and make appointment with Building Inspector or Eastpointe for inspection. Confused, I ask what it is in regards to and am told \\\"standard walk thru, no worries\\\" 10/3 1pm, I open my front door to a shocked inspector that asks if I am a new employee to Castle. I state \\\"no, I hace lived here since May. At this time, she informs me that the home failed Certification for Rental 4 days prior to me signing a lease and that Castle was notified in writing that the home could not be occupied. She fails the inspection again and suggests that I obtain legal assistance as she can evict me in 30 days if repairs are not complete. 10/11 front door fixed. No other repairs from move in check in or inspection repaired. I called legal aide and was told to notify Castle that rent would be in escrow until repairs were made, but that I needed to find an attorney to determibe if lease was ever binding as Castle did not disclose failure and was renting the home illegally. December 3,5:04pm officer comes to door and notifies me that 4pm 12/4 he will be back to physically evict me from the home. Eviction letter has no $$ amount due. I call Felix and am told that based on 9/12 Settlement, I didn\\\'t pay (because work not done), so Castle attorney filed writ for evict, no notification to me or option to speak to court about building inspection of ongoing maintenance disasters. Feliz refuses to take payment or ANYTHING to discuss staying in the home. 12/4 evicted. 12/7 I have been advised to go to Building Dept., file police reports for illegal evict (they would not allow me at Eastpointe PD, as officer taking report was the same officer that evicted us, he laughed), and maintain costs of temp housing, pucs of damage during evict to property, and costs associated. 12/7 1. Building Departament provides me with documents sent to Castle 4 days prior to lease, stating that home is NOT to be occupied, and from 10/3 that inspection failed again amd that the home was illegally occupied. 2. That ironically Castle is due in court on 12/9 to answer for why the home is occupied. 12/9 I go to court to see what happens and get notified that Castle was able to pay a fine and move on as the home was now empty. HELP US PLEASE !!! WE are without a home in December, have spent thousands on movers, trucks, hotel, damage to property, loss of food. Am I crazy or was the lease NEVER LEGAL from day 1 (home was totally misrepresented). Castle wants to collect back rent and penalize security deposit, and charge for the rent for the remaibder of the lease terms. Please advise
Repair, Unhealthy Living Conditions | Case#**-*424
SHERWOOD, AR - 72120 1705 Landlord has been promising to finish this house completely for 3 years now.. Your house is in the state of unhealthy in which mold is growing on the ceilings.. Walls still need be painted ... Floors are falling through but yet and yet again you continue to leave wife and kids as the stay at home mom and kids while you continue to not hold up your part of the deal so this house needs to be condemned real talk
He Have Not Fixed Anything. I Have Mold I Have No Wayer | Case#**-*128
Atlanta, Georgia - 30318 Well i have been here an he want fix nothing roof licking no water mold and he said to get these thing fix he going to go up on the rent
Unreasonable charge from deposit | Case#**-*472
Belgrade, Montana - 59714 On Aug 22, 2011, the landlord Diana Krutz called me and wanted to show my apartment to people. Since I was in the middle of moving I did not let her do that, instead I told her I would move out on Aug 28, 2011. Then she would still have enough time to show the apartment. As a result, I move out on Aug 28,2011 and cleaned the apartment thoroughly. I called the landlord to inspect it before I left, but she did not answer the phone. So I left an voicemail and told her to inspect the apartment. Four of my co-workers who helped me move the furniture on that day can prove the clean condition of the apartment when I move out on Aug 28,2011. On Sep 7,2011, I called to check with the landlord why I had not received deposit back from her. She was really rude to me and lied she did not have chance to get in the apartment until Sep 1, 2011. But she changed her words after I pointed out I saw the oven was on on Aug 28,2011 so I knew she went in. On Sep 12, 2011, I received the check from her and she deducted $288 from my deposit check for so-called cleaning, which she did not do at all, because someone moved in immediately after I move out.
Security Deposit Withheld | Case#**-*027
DENVER, CO - 80204 3936 Landlord, Hina Chowdhry, has withheld my security deposit of $925.00 for 190 past my move out date and now refuses to answer or return any texts (primary way of communication during renting period) or calls.
Breach of Agreement, harassment, discrimination | Case#**-*854
CHAMPAIGN, IL - 61822 1534 My son Justin Washington is a student at Parkland College in Champaign Ill. He rents the above apartment at University Village in Champaign Il. He originally rented the apt with two other tenants whose leases were for the same duration. The monthly rent was $465.00 with electric, cable, and internet included. The first month the rent was more than the $465.00 and we were told it was for electricity overages of which we never saw a bill and was not told this when the lease was signed. Both tenants were allowed to terminate their leases without the complex informing my son or providing him with the option of moving into another unit. He did not find out the other two tenants were moving until he came home from work one day and their belongings were gone. The first month after the other two tenants moved out the rent was over $700.00. We were told it was for the overage on electricity. I called their parent company, The Preiss Company and spoke with Steve who referred me to the property manager. Steve did say they would rectify the situation. My son and I spoke to the Property Manager, DonnaTripin on several occasions after the other two tenants were allowed to break their lease. I was told by Ms. Tripin that she would review the previous balances left by the other two tenants and provide my son with profiles of prospective roommates. She set up several appointments with my son, none of which she ever kept. I did not pay the rent for March as I was waiting for a breakdown of the charges. I called Ms. Tripin many times and she never returned any of my calls. The rent in April was more than $700 again because they are charging my son for the entire apartment. He was never given the choice of moving into another unit with roommates so that the cost of the rent and utilities could be split 2-3 ways. Both my son and I told Ms. Tripin he would be willing to go into a 2 bedroom unit and again she was to provide profiles of prospective roommates which she has yet to do. Her along with the business manager Andrew have been texting, calling, and leaving notes on my son's door daily. They have also texted my phone but refuse to speak to me when I call. I am a co-signer on my son's lease and do not believe they have treated my son fairly. I would like to terminate the lease immediately. Had they not allowed the other two roommates to break their leases without informing my son, this could have been prevented. I have tried to resolve this matter.
Breach Of Agreement, Plans On Keeping My Deposit And Never Did Repairs | Case#**-*302
KISSIMMEE, FL - 34758 3237 Since the day I moved in there has been several problems that the landlord has refused to get fixed. I have section 8 and the landlord has failed inspection twice and still has no intention on getting the problem fixed. I have given notice that I will be moving out by January 31, 2018, however she still says she is not going to give me back my deposit because I am leaving early, between the roaches in cabinets and refrigerator and a foul smell coming from the ac ducts, section 8 and myself have given her since August to get this fixed, we are now in December and nothing has been fixed and now my children and I are suffering with sinus infections all the time and asthma difficulties. According to several people I have spoke to and having a friend of mine who is a property manager say that it smells like mold. All I want is to make sure I receive all of my deposit back and the reimbursement for this fee.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of DEC 11,2019 | 11:41 EST
Renters 113,804,301
Landlords 23,370,559
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security