Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Breach Of Security Deposit Terms | Case#**-*751
Mesa, Arizona - 85208 When the landlord fired / removed the Rental Agency (company) we initially signed up with, midway through our contract, our files-photos of our move-in rental check list was not given to Terry, or if it was, he completely ignored them. Upon move-out we left the property along with bushes / tree in better condition than when we moved in. We have before & after photos as proof. We were told if we moved out 3 days early prior to August 1st, we would receive a refund of $42.32 per day. We moved out on August 28. We cleaned and removed all remaining trash and had it removed curbside by the trash company the regular pickup day. We expected our full deposit returned to us because we complied with the agreement. We were not suppose to be charged a fee for carpet cleaning because it was not stated so in our agreement. But we were suppose to provide a receipt for any type of carpet cleaning of our choosing. We chose a reputable company with a 1st time coupon special to utilize and forwarded this information to Pat / Terry Trendler. When we contacted Pat, Terry had said we were being charged for bush, tree removal of all bushes on the property which falls under carpet cleaning services! So we were charged that cost and it was withheld from our security deposit! NO WHERE does it state in our contract that we would be charged for bush/tree removal and NO WHERE does it state we would be charged a $200 fee for carpet cleaning!! But we were NOT given back our full deposit and we were charged a $200.00 carpet cleaning fee!! This is wrong and they will not return our phone calls and are ignoring all communication. They never used the carpet cleaners also, as they were contacted by us to inquire. We are furious that Terry Trendler is a dishonest landlord and a cheat! He being a CEO of a company, should handle this situation much better and address our concerns as to our deposit refund. We paid on time throughout our lease and never missed a payment. Per our contract, we were required to do so. Per our security deposit agreement, we expect the same treatment from Terry Trendler!!
3rd Refund Deposit Request For One Bdrm Apt On 12/2014. Never Moved In | Case#**-*234
PENSACOLA, FL - 32507 3205 I initially applied for the next available one bedroom unit December 2015. When a unit became available for move in I was out of state on a work assignment; therefore, I was unable to move in. I was told that I would be placed back on the waiting list again. After 30 days past I called to request my deposit back. I was told I couldn\\\'t get a refund on to make arrangements for the next move in. This has been an ongoing battle for months now.... I have documents to back me up for legal action and plan to pursue.
Water Bust - No Resolution | Case#**-*658
Raleigh, North Carolina - 27613 On December 09, 2012 Building 5 on the property was without water from 4:30pm until. The maintenance personnel told tenants that the water would not be turned on until December 10, 2012. This is on a Monday, so residents have to go to work. Residents have children that need the water to shower and prepare food. Residents need the water to care for themselves with bathing and using to make food. Management has not siad anything to residents about the situation and were told only after calling maintenance phone number. Give the impression that management cares nothing for the residents. Just pay your rent.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*416
Baton Rouge, Louisiana - 70806 My apartment is over run by bed bugs, I tried to take care of it my self to no avail. It\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s hard to pay my rent because of the money I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m spending on bug control. I believe a one time chemical treatment and heat treatment at a 150 degrees for about an hour and a half, I would do it myself but I don\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t have access to something like that, plus I can\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t afford it and pay rent, unless the land lord lets me slide on one month rent so I can afford bug treatment. He was told about the problem 9 months back and he sent one of his workers over to spay but wasn\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t good enough. He sprayed the carpet really fast.
Electric Outtage In Kitchen/dining Room, Leaking Sink | Case#**-*258
We have requested since December 30, 2013 that the electric be fixed in the kitchen where the refrigerator plugs into the wall, so that we dont have to run an electrical cord across the kitchen. The landlord has never sent an electrician to look at it, despite being asked about it several times. It took 2 months (March 2014 thru May 2014) for the roof to be fixed after complaints that the ceiling in the master bathroom is falling and of mold growing in the master closet. We have waited for a month for the sink to be fixed in the kitchen (first notice was on May 17, 2014). The landlord came to fix it once, then a week later started leaking again and we fixed it. It started leaking again 2 weeks later and we re requested it to be fixed again, and the landlord left a note on our car that he would be by that day to fix it (June 6, 2014). It never got fixed. We noticed a new sink part on the ground next to the front door the next day. We left it there for a week, before the landlord sent a text message saying that he was going to fix it but no one was home, and stated that he has bronchitis and did not want to infect the house by coming in and fixing the sink (June 12, 2014). We fixed the sink ourselves with the part he bought. 2 days later the sink leaked again. We took a picture of the water pouring out from underneath the sink, and text the picture to the landlord the next day (June 18, 2014). To date (June 20, 2014) have have not heard back from them. The dishwasher has never worked, and we never complained about the dishwasher not working because the lease said the house is to be rented "as is" and we figure that a dishwasher is not a necessity, but a functioning sink is.
Breach And Violation Of Agreement And Florida Statue Chapter 83 | Case#**-*956
I wish to terminate my lease early due to the ongoing dissatisfaction with the quality of life provided to my daughter and I, by Island Pointe apartments. The environment in our apartment is habitually substandard and inhabitable. There is a bed bug infestation coming from the walls, sewage leaks from above and foundation issues. According to Section 83.51 the landlord has an obligation to fix request in seven days. A broken door, hanging off my daughter's room was fixed two weeks late. Upon move in I was not able to live in the apartment for a week due to a roach infestation. I have now been unable to live in my apartment for two weeks due to bed bug infestation. According to the pest control provided by Island Point Apartments the bed bugs did not manifest from my personal items but in fact are coming from the walls of the apartment. This is at no fault of my own. When pest control met with Ms. Sandy this morning of 04/15/2014 after getting a lengthy message from me, the pest control then called me trying to retract his statement. I have saved a record of these calls. Additionally I put in a request for maintenance to fix the leak coming from the upstairs bathroom. Soapy bathtub water was flooding into my bathroom. Maintenance said there was not a problem and failed to fix the leak for three weeks. Dirty bathwater from upstairs then flooded down in my bathroom on my two year old daughter. She then got a bacterial infection in her ear. Records of this have been kept as well. It took maintenance a month to fix the ice maker; in which is my primary source of nutrition because due to drinking protein shakes. I have taken pictures of the bed bites on both my daughter and I. I have taken pictures of the bed bugs. Upon move in I have a written and signed agreement that maintenance would fix the broken door, stove, holes in the wall, roaches, outlets etc within seven days as stated by the Florida Statue. The Landlord failed to abide by these terms and I did not have a stove for three weeks, was not able to reside in the premises due to roaches. And the holes in the wall and floor board where not fixed for over two weeks. Additionally the upstairs unit continues to drop cigarettes on my patio porch. I have pictures of these as well. With a two year old daughter playing on the porch I'm sure you can see how this may present to be a problem. Additionally when maintenance has came in the apartment they left bags full of ceiling particles and cans full of chemicals that my two year old daughter can get a hold of. On a day not specified by the apartment complex to enter my apartment; dip was found on my floor and my curtains where closed. Not feeling safe in your dwelling unit is grounds for termination of a lease. I have kept pictures of this as well. Florida Statue also states that the locks are to be change after every departure of a tenant. The apartment complex failed to due this as evidenced by the faulty lock on my door that is bent inward from previous break-ins. The landlord has failed to fixed maintenance request such as plumbing and pest control and danger hazards such as the door within 7 days as stated in the Florida Statue. Health hazards have also been violated. These are grounds for termination of a lease without penalty. An excuse was given by the landlord that "This is an old apartment and I have problems in my apartment as well." However, that is not a suitable excuse for my daughter's health and my health. I have spent a vast amount funds in order to compensate for these issues. It has caused my daughter and I continued distress due to the living conditions. I have been living from bags of clothes due the fear of bed bugs getting on my clothes and that are all over the floor in the apartment. When coming into my apartment yesterday a week after treatment I had four bed bugs on me and two biting my daughter. The foundations of the floors violate safety hazards; as evidences by the kitchen floors coming up when vacuuming. I have had to buy new rugs, towels and bathroom utilities, various pesticides. The continuous and habitual problems are affecting my work, sleep, finances, mental health, relationships, health and appearance. It is my desire to be released from my lease without fault; on a mutually agreed upon date in the near future not exceeding 60 days convenient for both the landlord and the tenant. You can expect my full cooperation in showing the apartment during our remaining occupation to facilitate its immediate rental and to prevent Island Point apartments from any financial losses. I hope that my immediate rental payment history and good-standing account sufficiently indicates my continued accountability and sincerity as I have paid three months rent before due and have never been late for a payment. I have followed all provisions stated in 83.52 Tenant's obligation to maintain dwelling unit. I have decided that it is in both parties' best interests for us to vacate the unit. Please let me know the feasibility of my request and if I can do anything to make the process proceed smoothly and to your satisfaction or refer to 83.595 Choice of remedies upon breach or early termination by tenant. According to the Florida Bard the tenant may terminate the rental agreement if the landlord has failed to live up to one of his or her major obligations, provided the tenant has sent written notice to the landlord, seven days before the rent is due. It is my hope that we can resolve this issue professionally so that I do not have to contact the Better Business Burrow, write reviews on every site, contact my lawyer or take the apartment to small claims court for the damages to my property and expenses accrued at the apartment's fault. 83.51 Landlord's obligation to maintain premises Where there are no applicable building, housing, or health codes, maintain the roofs, windows, doors, floors, steps, porches, exterior walls, foundations, and all other structural components in good repair and capable of resisting normal forces and loads and the plumbing in reasonable working condition. The landlord, at commencement of the tenancy, must ensure that screens are installed in a reasonable condition. Thereafter, the landlord must repair damage to screens once annually, when necessary, until termination of the rental agreement. à Issues with plumbing, foundation of roof not capable of resisting normal forces as evidence by leaks. Floor not withstanding normal forces. Doors not fixed within seven days, Foundation of holes under the bathroom sink, in walls and in the kitchen. Exposed outlets. The landlord of a dwelling unit other than a single-family home or duplex shall, at all times during the tenancy, make provisions for: The extermination of rats, mice, roaches, ants, wood-destroying organisms, and bedbugs. à Conditions have proved uninhabitable as I will not put my daughter at risk for transmittable diseases from Insects. I am unable to sleep due to the bits and the fear for my daughter. I have had to bye new clothes and shoes to cover up the bites in my professional work environment. Conditions have not improved after treatment. Functioning facilities for heat during winter, running water, and hot water à My heat is still not working properly after a maintenance request was put in during the winter months. I had to spend a substantial amount of money on fire wood. The landlord is required to rent a dwelling that is fit to be lived in. It must have working plumbing, hot water and heating, be structurally sound and have reasonable security, including working and locking doors and windows, and it must be free of pests. The landlord must also comply with local health, building, and safety codes Landlords are not permitted to enter without notifying the tenantà Dip was found on my floor and my curtains where closed on a date not specified for entrance. A tenant is entitled to the right of private, peaceful possession of the dwelling. Once rented, the dwelling is the tenant's to lawfully use. The landlord may only enter the dwelling in order to inspect the premises or to make necessary or agreed repairs, but then only if he or she first gives the tenant reasonable notice and comes at a convenient time. If an emergency exists, the requirement for notice may be shortened or waived.
Uninhabitable Apartment with Persistent Bed Bugs | Case#**-*471
MIDVALE, UT - 84047 7753 We moved into this apartment with a brand new bed, sheets, towels etc. as we were just married. We both came from previous places that have never had a history or problems with bed bugs. The only thing that was not brand new was a couch from my sister that had previously been in her house and never had any problems with bugs of any kind. We started getting bites right away once we moved in, progressively getting worse. At first we were unaware it was bed bugs but when the bites got worse we researched the problem. We also noticed cockroaches on occassion a few weeks after we moved in. After researching our bites and bloodstains on our sheets, we checked the bed and room and found bed bugs. We immediately notified management which sent in an exterminator a few days later. During these couple days we systematically remove all clothing, bedding and other various possessions to decontaminate. As we did not want these bugs to spread elsewhere or remain in the apartment. They sprayed the apartment, we moved back in after a couple weeks and we immediately started waking up with bites. We had not been getting any bites of any kind the weeks when we were staying elsewhere after they sprayed. The day we moved in we throuroughly checked our bed for any sign of bedbugs. We did not find any and thought it safe to stay there. Over the next couple night we got bites and rolled over while asleep squishing a few bugs. We then proceeded to check the bed and frames, again finding no signs of any bed bugs on it. This would indicate they are originating from somewhere in the apartment itself. We put the bugs we found into a ziplock bag for proof of evidence that they are still present after extermination. We feel that the apartment is uninhabitable. With speaking to the apartment manager they won't let us break our lease without paying a lease termination fee. They also stated we could pay rent until a new tenant rented the apartment after which we would not be responsible for paying rent. We would feel dishonest doing this because the extermination did not work previously so this would just inflict the same problem on a new unsuspecting tenant. We feel because they were unable to provide a habitable environment for us, we should not be forced to pay to leave our apartment as we can't live there. They did offer to just move us to a different apartment. But there is no way to prove the same problem does not exist in more of their apartments.
Stacking Fees | Case#**-*354
JACKSONVILLE, FL - 32256 3798 My rent and water sewer fees are always on time or paid early, however a prior payment of the public utilities of water returned a money order indicating the money order was outdated, the complex charged a returned check fee to my account. In addition the original money order was never returned to me and notice regarding this matter was never given for several months after the fact. I travel for my living and am away for extended periods of time ...no email no phone call etc until a notice was attached to my front door claiming I owed close to 300 hundred dollars by my son who is a tenant also. In addition water usage is based on square footage compared to actual usage. As noted I travel out about 75% of my time so 1 person is using my utilities Please also note the returned money order amt for the water bill was paid at the time of notification.
TEST TITLE COMPLAINT | Case#**-*159
CITY, Alabama - 12345
REPAIR/MAINTENANCE | Case#**-*803
Gwynn Oak, Maryland - 21207 APARTMENT\\\'S BATHROOM IS UNUSABLE. TUB LEAKS INTO A JOINING CLOSET. MOLE AND MILDEW IN BATHROOM. BATHROOM SINK RUSTED, FAUCET CONTINUALLY RUNS. APPLIANCES DO WORK PROPERLY.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of MAY 28,2020 | 03:59 EST
Renters 114,258,384
Landlords 23,462,525
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security