Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

This Landlord Has Taken My Deposit To Hold Apartment, I Never Signed Anythi | Case#**-*257
I was interested in this condo an spoke to the Landlord Dale to put down a deposit to hold the condo. I then gave the deposit of $500 dollars only to investigate the property an find out that it was an unsafe environment for a single young lady. Within one week I called Dale back to get a refund which he's now refusing to give back which I think should be illegal.
Repair issue | Case#**-*177
Lynnwood, Washington - 98037 I lived in apt C 101, until it got flooded... They help us move but had broken a lot of stuff. We appreciate the help, but the staff was complaining we have too much stuff. It wasnt our fault that we have to move. We moved our stuf with just 4 boxes that they gave us. there was no truck or any vehicle to move our stuff. some got wet in the rain.We did not get a credit for that at least one month parking rent free for all the hassles.that happened during the holiday season. Then we have move to apt H203, electric plug ins were mostly not working, it was always having short circuit. We complaint about that nothing happens.now the laundry dryer and vent which is taking so long to be fix. It has been 2 1/2 weeks now. They gave me a key to another apt to dry my clothes. But going out of my apt and doing this is a hassle. I always call for update and nothing has been happening.we pay our rent and our parking n utilities on time. We just wanted to have a good service in return.. I just dont know what else i can do so we dont have to think of moving somewhere just because of their poor service...
Continued Iintrusion On Repair Issues. No Notice Coming Onto The Property | Case#**-*262
Landlord William Weber lives in the apartment below. Repeatedly over 6 years of living here many repair issues have been needed resulting in additional repairs due to lack of proper work. Landlord has been intrusive and harassing to the family. Except for annual municipal inspections, the landlord has demanded an electrical and property inspection and has threatened eviction. The landlord does not give 24 hours when he comes upstairs and bangs on the door. I believe he is deliberately retaliating because of other issues regarding a fence and lighting he has had with neighbors. He also discusses our personal issues to the neighbors.
3-day Uncoditional Quit Notice During Rent Period | Case#**-*498
Long Beach, California - 90815 The reason we are worried about our deposit is because he has conducted business in a very unprofessional and shady way. One roommate moved out over three months ago and has not received his deposit back. Another moved out about a month ago and is unable to contact Ken to receive or even talk about the deposit. He is ignoring my calls at the moment. We will find another place to live in the time given but we believe he is looking to trick us by making us jump through hoops so that he can keep our deposit. The notice to vacate is due to the following breach of the terms of your lease or rental agreement: -exceeds amount allowed in rental agreement -assignments and subletting -pet policy -Maintenance and repair -household furniture on back lawn -piles of cans, bottles, and misc. trash -failure to water lawns and flower beds -updated rental insurance. All are false and if needed we can provide reasons and pictures of the house situation. Please keep in mind this is when the lease is already expired. There was a lease when we first moved in back in august of 2008. It Expired in 2009 and he has been making verbal agreements and deals letting us stay in the house. There have been different roomates throughout that he has approved to move in. He has met the the new roomates in each case and is aware of their presence at corresponding times. We were told in december/january that we would have a new lease but it did not come. Now he is making us vacate.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*517
Bel Air, Maryland - 21014 I initially contacted the landlord back in July regarding bed bug activity in my apartment. They called an exterminator and he proceeded to do the initial treatment which required extensive cleaning and vacuuming. The initial treatment consisted of three different segments. (July 31st, Aug. 14th, and Aug 30th) After that treatment, I have noticed that the activity had a noticeable decrease. After the final segment on the first treatment the exterminator suggested that if we have seen an increase in activity to contact the landlord who would in turn contact him to follow up with more treatments. A couple of weeks later I contacted the landlord about an increase in bed bug activity. They sent the exterminator back to my residence for a couple more treatments. (Sept. 13th and Sept. 27th.) Again, I've seen a noticeable reduction in activity after that treatment. Until a couple of days ago, I actually thought the issue was fully eradicated. I proceeded to do extensive investigating and found eggs and a large amount of bugs in my infant's crib. I've tried numerous times in the past to speak to the manager directly and she is never available for some reason. I've drafted a statement regarding all of the bed bug issues I have been having today and submitted it to the office. Another exterminator is supposed to come on Thursday Nov. 15th to provide the same treatment they have been providing which is obviously not doing the job. This is a vey frustrating matter for my family and I. My goal is to terminate this lease or the landlord find an alternative method to successfully eradicate this issue.
Domestic Violence Victim | Case#**-*590
Atlanta, Georgia - 30324 I Jennelle Brooke Vestal am a tenant at 2997 Shady Valley Dr NE, Atlanta, GA 30324. I am a victim of domestic violence. Pursuant to Georgia law, this letter serves as my 14-day notice that I will end my rental agreement March 6, 2019. I will completely vacate the premises on April 1. GA statute 44-7-23 allows me to break lease without penalty and only give 30 days notice. DD Lee said I must give 60 days notice pay two months penalty ($5400). I begged and pleaded with her as I could not afford the place on my own but I could not afford to move out either. She just said sorry, not sorry. come to find out she broke the law and it is her responsibility to know the law. I also let her and her entire office know that I had the protection order and a police report. I even sent her the police reFor documentation of the abuse, I have enclosed: • A copy of a temporary restraining order/emergency protective order/protective order, issued within the last 180 days, on behalf of myself or a family member who lives in my home; OR • A copy of a police report, issued within the last 180 days, showing that I, or a family member living in my home, was the victim of an act of domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, human trafficking, elder abuse or dependent adult abuse Additionally I have attached all emails where I told you of the incident on February 5th. I sent you the police report on February 11th (also enclosed). I told you I could not afford the penalty and you stated there was nothing you could do. This is not following the law and it is your responsibility to know the law. I also was only required to give you 30 days’ notice, not the 60 days you falsified to me. I expect us to come up with some sort of monetary agreement as $2,600 is a lot of money and I arranged to stay longer because of a false statement from you all. In your email to me you specifically said “Brooke, before you pass your judgment on us please first understand that it is our job to follow the lease and the law.” You did not follow the law at all. I expect to have no further issues with you. port.
Security Deposit, Repair Issues, Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*623
Rented home in 2010 to June 2013 from listed owner, the home became tax lien property and bank forclosure in 2011, Mrs Edward continued to collect rent, knowing the home was no longer hers. She refused to issue any rent receipts after collecting the rent, never made any of the promised repairs to the home (major plumbing and electrical issues, cabinets, major ceilings repairs due to water damage, and garage doors,
Repair need to be done, no hot water since 01/18/2013. | Case#**-*071
philadelphia , Pennsylvania - 19149 The week of january 1st i wrote a letter to state that the front door which had one small screw in each bar on the door fell on me so he wrote me on the third to ask what has happen in which i replied. Never heard back from him he tried to reach me a couple of time but i was having phone problem in which i told him. the two weeks pass 01/18/2013 then i ended with a problem with the kitchen the water won't go down, he finally decided to sent someone the first person that came destroy the whole problem then he end up with worst problem. He tear the kitchen up removing all that was attach,then proceed downstairs in the laundry room broke the pipe under the sink and turn off all my way of hot water and went to the bathroom and also make a whole on the pipe. Real estates called someone else to do the job in which he was mad he states he should of call him first.So he tried to just fix the clog only because he refuse to pay him for the rest. Spent the whole night with no hot water and came 01/19/13 my water was cut off so i had to stay in the house with no water for a whole week 01/25/13 i paid my water bill i called him to just tell him i have no hot water when the person finally showed up all the way on saturday afternoon i spoke and told him no hot water, can't use the sink he came and did nothing everyday he come and do little here and left as if i don't have five kids in this house. It was hard enough to stay without water now we are still staying without hot water because he refuse to pay someone that at least knows what they are doing. Hot water boiler is no good until today i am having the run around and my kids are still suffering for something that is fixable. He does not know how to talk to people i also have the text he sent me i am looking for my kids after i pay the water he states since on the 18th i should boil my own water. have pictures of all this mess.
Snow Removal | Case#**-*609
Nashua, New Hampshire - 03060 I have complained several times to Sandra hayes the property manager. I feel she is very disrespectful. The walk ways are not salted. the snow removal is not removed in a time efficient manner. this morning I left my apt I could barely open the front door it was snowed in..I hurt my back pushing the door open..this is a safety issue..i want to go to see my dr but it cost 30.00 a visit..time and time I called her to tell her about these problems..she just snickers at me in person..thank god I am moving out at the end of the month...she is the worst people skills person I ever met...
Rent Issue | Case#**-*070
I paid my rent on 2nd of October. I handed over my money order to the lady working in the front desk. But few days that is on 6th of October, I received a call from the apartment saying that they haven't received my rent. I went to the office and talked to the manager, I even gave the phone number of Ace Cash where I had made my money order. I also told them to check cameras but they say they don't have camera in their office. Later, the manager told me to wait for a week so that they will decide. Now, they are sending me a bill including late fee $150. Actually, they told me to wait until they decide, now they are saying it's end of the month and you haven't paid rent so we are charging late fee $150. I am mentally tortured. My financial condition is not good that I cannot pay my month twice. Please do concern my complaint.

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of MAY 25,2019 | 04:14 EST
Renters 113,262,112
Landlords 23,260,748
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security