Washington tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Washington Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*101
Chicago, Illinois - 60639 The exterminators have been by twice to treat my apartment but the bed bugs keep returning. The manager blames me for infestation but one of my neighbors also had bed bugs. I talked to another exterminator and they said that the treatment that was used wasn't strong enough to keep the bed bugs away. My main concern are my sister who is handicapped and my niece who is mentally challenged because the bed bugs tend to come out more in their room and they have shown multiple bites.
Repair Issues | Case#**-*661
Arlington, Texas - 76002 As of 2/10/15 the tenant portal has been disabled for my account. Not only can I not pay my rent online I also cannot submit service requests. My wife called 5-6 weeks ago to tell them about the microwave and they called back and said they would be here the following Monday. Of course nobody showed. About 6 months ago I reported 2 water leaks, one in garage ceiling and one in hall ceiling under the dishwasher. They sent a maintenance guy over and he opted to change the disposal, but did not remove the plug from the dishwasher inlet thus flooding the downstairs yet again. Problem still not solved. Evidently for the other a roofer showed up and fixed the problem above garage ceiling but no one was sent to repair the black hole in the ceiling. Around five months ago I requested that the outside hose bibs be replaced as they were leaking. They were replaced but now when you turn the one in the rear of the house on it leaks inside the wall and in the matter of 15 minutes has soaked 100-150 sf carpet and pad. I have made a few attempts to get these items resolved but the answering service is either not answering me (screening) or their phone system is faulty, I'm leaning towards the first. I have tried several times to get the tenant portal opened for my use both by phone and by email with no resolution. Now I have refused to pay the rent because the services I am in part paying for are not being completed.
Ridiculous Contracted parking Enforcement | Case#**-*142
LINCOLN, Nebraska - 68521 On 4/27/2011 my sister who lives out of town drove from Colorado Springs to Lincoln Nebraska with her boyfriend and 5 year old son. They arrived at my residence at approximately 2:30 - 3:00 am. Upon arriving she parked in front of my building in a regular parking spot. I helped her carry her sleeping child in the home and returned to the vehicle to retrieve her luggage. I carried the items in the house. I spent less than 10 minutes getting her son into a bed and got her luggage into the room she was going to be staying in until Saturday. I then asked her to give me her keys and told her about the parking policy as I had been towed earlier in the year when I purchased a new vehicle and the apartment manager would not provide an additional pass. I put my shoes on because it is a significant walk across the property to get from the visitor parking to my door. I went out to move her vehicle and saw the tow truck pulling away with her car. She was parked the 15-20 minutes at the most!!! The car would have been still warm from the drive!! I then called the tow truck company (Always Towing) and the dispatcher was unwilling to help at all. I then contacted emergency maintenance to see if they could help. They called the tow company and offered no help at all.I then left a message for the apartment manager about the situation. She agreed to call the tow company and work something out. She called me back an hour later and told me that the tow company agreed to discount $25 off the tow job. I told her that this was not sufficient since we spent most of our money getting my sister down here. I then asked for an area manager to call me. Later Casey called me and tried to explain that this was their policy. Even hotels with No Parking signs prevelant in front of the building allow their customers to carry their personal items to their room.
Repair Issue | Case#**-*417
Brooklyn, New York - 11221 We moved into our apartment on September 15th 2015 and have since paid $5,300 (which includes 1.5 months of rent and security deposit). Our rent is $2,200 and does not include anything but water. Since we have moved in, there have been so many issues with the apartment that have not been fixed. These issues include but are not limited to a nonworking oven (no igniter), a leaking central air pipe (efficiency issue), wrong high wattage lightning that causes dimming and flickering (we were told that we had to replace these bulbs ourselves even though they were the ones there when we moved in) and a water leak in our utility room (causing damage to items stored there). We believe our rent of $2,200 should be for 100% of our apartment. Right now, we barely have 60% of our apartment, so we believe we should only pay for 60% of our rent next month ($1,320). I want at least a $500 reduction to our rent for at least next month.
Deposit And Lease Termination Problems | Case#**-*553
I moved out of Lakeside apartments at the end of February 2014 after I received a sign document from one of their leasing agents that stated that it was ok for me to leave the apartment. At the end of May 2014, A debt collection company started to harass me with many phone calls, never left any voicemails. At the end of June, I decided to pick up the phone to see what that number wanted. That's when the debt collection company informed me that the Lakeside filled a case against to collect a debt. I didnt owe Lakeside any money, and I asked them why was I being billed for? they told me it was because I broke the lease. I told them that I was going to provide any info over the phone till they send me a letter in the mail with all the info regarding the debt. The info that they sent in the mail did not have the name of the manager who filled the case against me and the document was not signed. I sent a letter a month ago to BH Management which is the company for Lakeside apartments about this matter, they have never replied to me. I have done everything right, I checked with Lakeside before I moved out and they provided me with a go ahead sign document. Please I plead with you to help me get this issue resolved. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at 704-301-9665. Thank you.
Refusal to take care of drug usage from other tenants and maintanance | Case#**-*794
Port Lavaca, Texas - 77979 There is mold growing in the apartment, Not having air condition for a month caused the electric bill to go up $200, I fractured my foot in two places on the narrow stairs that was promised to be fixed and never was, Apartment below us is doing drugs and the apartment next to us is selling drugs. Numerous times they have been out on the steps doing drugs and very rude to me and my family (2 children) trying to pass them.
Bedbugs | Case#**-*394
LOUISVILLE, KY - 40241 1892 About 2 weeks ago, my neighbors apartment was bombed for bedbugs. That same week I was taking my girlfriend to the E.R. from a severe allergic reaction to a bedbug bite she had sustained form sleeping in our bed. I have been a resident for three years and have never had problem with bedbugs. I've only had three neighbors since I have lived here and the only time I've had a pest problem is when I get new neighbors. Now I understand that I signed a Bedbugs Addendum when I renewed my lease but clearly this is pest problem that spread from one unit to the next and part 4 of the addendum clearly states that the complex is exempt of charges only "as a result of the negligence of the Resident(s) or any guest occupying or using the premises". It does not state as a result of the negligence of the neighbors. I have never had a problem with bedbugs in my three years living here until my neighbors unit was bombed for bedbugs. That is not a coincidence. I personally would like to know why I was not notified of this pest problem being harbored next door to me and offered an inspection and free extermination. I would like this problem dealt with promptly with no cost being billed to me for pest control. I feel let down by property management for allowing this problem to spread without warning to other tenants.
Repair Issue | Case#**-*698
I have made several online requests through the online portal to have someone come and fix our air conditioning. The air never got cold and the house would take countless hours (6-7+) to drop 1-2 degrees. A maintenance worker came and replaced the thermostat, claiming that this would fix the problem. For a month, we lived with this issue being told that there was nothing wrong and that everything was fixed. Finally, we put in another request, and they came back only to replace the air filter in the vent, which was disgustingly black and was told that they do not normally replace the filter unless requested by tenants which I felt was totally wrong to hear. After the air filter was replaced, I did feel the air was a little bit better, however not as cold as it should be. Finally after a month of not being able to handle the 86 degree heat, I finally emailed someone directly at 27 Seventy Five, and wad told that a work order would be placed. I explained that I have placed SEVERAL work orders and each time nothing is done to permanently fix the issue. I was told they would speak to management and get back to me that same day, never heard back. I called again the next day and was told that she was going to send a maintenance to come over to replace the thermostat once again but back to the digital and that she would speak with management about replacing the ac unit in whole. After not hearing from them once again for the 2nd day in a row, I asked that my boyfriend who is also on the lease to go down to the office and that maybe if he asked them in person something would finally be done, to our surprise they sent out 3rd party electrical technician, who immediately knew once walking in and looking at the unit that it needed to be replaced. He spent two hours replacing the coils, cleaning out the pipes, and running the air to see if anything had improved. He was able to determine that the compressor is extremely weak and was not pumping out cold air and working twice as hard to produce air that was not even 2 degrees colder than the temperature in the house. I feel that is it not fair to me the tenant, that this was not fully checked and working properly before we moved in, especially in summer time where the temperature is sky rocket. My electric bills each month since I have lived there was ranged anywhere between $285-$190 which i have now realized is because the unit was working twice as hard. Please resolve this matter ASAP.
Refusal To Return Security Deposit | Case#**-*414
SAN DIEGO, CA - 92110 2149 I vacated the premises at 2146 Mergho Impasse, San Diego, CA 92110 on August 30, 2015. Pursuant to Cal. Civ. Code ยง1950.5, Ms. Chacon was required, by September 20, 2015, to refund my security deposit and/or provide an itemized statement listing any amounts withheld. As of today, October 13, 2015, I have not received my security deposit or an itemized statement of allowed deductions. Additionally, Ms. Chacon has refused all remedies and compromises offered.
Bug Infestation | Case#**-*584
W LAFAYETTE, IN - 47906 3188 The building in which I reside is only two years old and there have been multiple bug infestations for the semester I have been living here. The first, was an ant problem that took over a month to resolve after I made multiple maintenance requests which all ended in spraying and making the problem worse when instead there was a hole in the wall that needed repairing. Currently, there are bugs entering through the water line into the dishwasher and sink which I have requested for over two months now that they repair the issue. After requesting multiple times, I finally got a response from the owner a few days ago acknowledging it had been two months since the first request and said that they will send someone out, which has still not occurred. However, I have been patiently waiting for two months and refuse to pay the upper end price on campus for an apartment infested with bugs.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:


File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status

Forgot Pin Number? ×

Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:


File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status

Forgot Pin Number? ×

Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of OCT 23,2016 | 01:00 EST
Renters 110,715,648
Landlords 22,745,009
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security