Close


Washington tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Washington Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Made to sign lease at higher rate | Case#**-*101
GAINESVILLE, FL - 32608 1440 I moved in to Gateway at Glades, Gainesville, Florida last year. i signed a year lease for $340 per month, this year I renewed my lease with Gateway at Glades, the management told me that $380 per month will be the new rate and it was the best they can do, The also indicated that the rates might go up and I should renew ASAP, I renewed the lease on 6th June. In next 2-3 weeks they came out with new rates which were $340 per month. I now have to pay $40 extra each month despite the fact that I renewed early Although I have signed a legal binding document and I am following it I feel cheated and am disappointed by this. This means that we are Idiots that we got a higher rate even though we signed earlier and are continuing residents. I am a student I do not have lots of money with me. I already have a huge student debt. I would highly appreciate if the rates can be re-negotiated as per current rates I have mailed the property manager multiple times and have not recieved any reply from her.
Bedbugs Infestation | Case#**-*969
CASPER, WY - 82601 2006 i paid 900$ for apartment .brought no furniture .i went and bought air mattress brand new .my first nihht there,hadnt had a chance to move my furnoture in.went to sleep awoke to itching .went in bathroom and seen huge bites on my body.went back checked room and bedbugs were crawlimg on walls .i left immediately and slept in my car..place is infested and was before i got there.i believe the john phipps knew it was because before i rented he had problems getting me a walk through..
repair issues, health hazards | Case#**-*604
Denver, Colorado - 80205 There was a pipe the bust in the basement area. Flooding the living room area. The basement area was never taken care of even after I notified the landlord. It's spells like sewer and I'd hazardous to live in.
Not complying with the lease on repairing water damage ect. | Case#**-*906
Phoenix, Arizona - 85035 We've lived here for approxametlly 4 years and we've ask numerous times for some one to even take a look at the apartment yet got the run around by the Landlord was well aware of the damages and other fixing that needed to be done and when we brought it to her attention They d get upset or loud.
Landlord demanding unwarranted funds and other offensives | Case#**-*568
Ocean Park, Washington - 98640 Failed to comply with the landlord duties of Washington law RCW 59.18.060. A metal electrical box hanging from cables on the north side of the house was to be mounted but never was. It would beat against the house in the wind, causing damage, threatened safety, and was an increasing hazard for accidents. During the first winter occupying the house, the back door split open and did not close. The door, a few days later, was nailed and screwed together as a temporary fix but left large holes/cracks between it and the frame. It was to be later repaired but was not, thus would allow much heat out and let cold in. In November of 2010, the living room heater became faulty, it would turn on for no more than a few minutes at a time, you would have to wait 45 minutes to an hour before turning it back on to try to get a few more minutes out of it. This problem was never fixed. Within the first few months of living at this residence, the "New" dishwasher's motor burnt out and took months to repair. There was defective light fixtures in the only bathroom. The decorative glass pieces would repeatedly fall and break the bulbs. This issue was also never fixed. Along with the violations, they also miss use the Washington smoking law RCW 70.160.075 in their lease. Trying to enforce it to residential areas. He's also with holding security deposit and demanding more money for unnecessary renovations he elected to do. This is still an ongoing dispute.
BREACH OF IMPLIED WARRENTY OF HABITABILITY | Case#**-*696
Laconia, New Hampshire - 03246 There have been bed bugs in the apartment since I arrived on the date 08/18/2011. The landlord, Dwight, has attempted to solve the problem by spraying the apartment three different times on his own. The matress and box spring have been covered by certified bug cover with no results. I have been bit almost every night by the bed bugs since i have moved in. I have scars on my legs and arms from scratching because it is incredibly itchy. On 12/02/2011 I was sitting in the living room and a bed bug crawled around my arm. I killed it and put it in a container for evidence. The same day I took a half an hour nap and was bit over a dozen times on my neck, right wrist, and left shoulder. My left shoulder currently hurts very bad. It did not hurt before.
REPAIRS ISSUE | Case#**-*107
BATON ROUGE, Louisiana - 70807 KENDTRELL ALEX IS A VERY POOR LANDLORD HE DOES NO REPAIRS DENYS FIXING THINGS IN BOTH APARTMENT COMPLEXES LEAVES OUT OF TOWN ON THE FIRST AND DOESNT ANSWER THE PHONE UNTIL THE 5TH OR THE THIRD WEEK THEN HE CHARGES LATE FEES YOU CALL HIM HE NEVER ANSWERS YOU ASK FOR RECIEPTS HE SAYS HE WILL BRING IT NEVER DOES LEAVES OUT OF TOWN HE CHARGES 50 EVERY WEEK YOU LATE I THINK KENDTRELL ALEX KNOWS WE WITHHELD RENT BECAUSE HE REFUSES TO REPAIR ANYTHING THE UNIT HAS FLOODED IN THE ATTIC HE NEEDS TO BE STOPPED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE
Live-in landlord harassing, threatening, not honoring verbal agreements | Case#**-*937
LAFAYETTE, CO - 80026 2120 Landlord has failed to provide the written lease which was requested and promised on the day of April 1, 2013. Landlord has also promised and failed to deliver a key for the front door, which was supposed to be given on move-in day. Landlord has refused to give receipts for my cash payments of rent on April 1st, 2013, and May 1st, 2013. Landlord has also failed to make the necessary repairs to my private toilet that will not flush properly, and windows in my room that are missing screens and blinds. The landlord has also been requested several times to clean the common area, as I have tripped several times over items in the middle of the floor that block the only entrance way to my room; this area has still not been cleaned. Landlord is making threats to have me and my things thrown out immediately, because "She is the landlord, and it is her house and her rules." Landlord has also threatened the life of my 12-year old indoor cat, and has threatened to throw him outside in the snow --- knowing he has no claws to protect himself; All of these threats are happening despite her allowing the cat to have "full run of the house" via our verbal lease. Landlord is disabled woman, and has literally not left the house since the day I moved in (April 1st, 2013). She sits on her couch (which is about 10 feet outside my room door), and yells profanities through my door that are directed toward me. She has made untrue comments to several different people that I am a liar, a thief, a druggie, a mentally insane person, and she lying and telling people that she doesn't feel safe around me and saying that I have threatened her, which I have not. What she is saying is not just untrue, but it is demeaning to my reputation as a person and as a tenant. Landlord is continuing to demand payment for the month of May, 2013 in the amount of $300.00. This amount was already paid to her in cash, and she insists that I never gave it to her. I requested a receipt and she said "I'll make you one later," and refused to give the money back. She denies this conversation ever happened, and denies that I paid the rent. I have a suspicion that she was heavily influenced by prescription medications (which is generally most of the time) and marijuana, and may not recall the events. She also has a brain injury, and it is possible she genuinely may not recall the conversation or me giving her the money. , I will proceed with legal action in civil court if my requests are not met.
Noise Complaint/let Us Out Of Lease And Kept Our Money | Case#**-*148
it started with our downstairs neighbors calling the manager on us for doing laundry past 9:30-10pm the washer and dryer were in unit. and quiet. it was nowhere in our lease where we could not do laundry at a certain time. they called the police on us and the first night i did not come to the door because i was not dressed. then 2 days later the neighbors called the manager on us again and she called the police and i was given a ticket for noises prohibited for 124.00. then they mailed us a 5 day . after that i contacted the management/leasing office and they agree to let me out of the lease and charge me a daily rate for the days i was there AND SAID THEY WOULD REFUND THE REST . i moved in on april 15 and was out by april 30 . and paid 1 1/2 months in advance with a 300.00 deposit. when we were out i called about getting the money back and they gave me the 300.00 deposit back and said they were keeping may\\\'s rent of 1237.00 and that was not the agreement.
Need New Stove & Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*094
Fresno, California - 93704 There are 2 separate complaints. First, my gas stove has been determined unsafe by the fire department on Sunday, August 12, 2012. The firefighters said that stove should NOT be plugged back in. My manager, Cindy, has told me 2 different things. She was real nasty to me on the phone & very angry with me, but I did not break that stove. This is not the first time I had to request service for the same stove. 1st, she said she would order me a new stove which will not arrive until Tuesday, August 14, 2012. We need to cook. I have a young child. 2nd, she told me she would give me her OLD STOVE SO THAT SHE COULD KEEP THE NEW ONE FOR HERSELF. She is the manager & a tenant. I called the corporate office in Oregon twice today. First I spoke to a male, whose name I do not know. He told me they should not be replacing the stove, just trying to fix it - in spite of the fact that I told him the fire dept has determined it unsafe to plug that stove back in. I called the corporate office again & spoke to Vicky this time. She told me that a new stove was ordered, but will not arrive until tomorrow. I told her what the manager, Cindy, told me about keeping the new stove for herself & giving me her old one. Vicky just told me to call the manager back to determine what was going to happen. They order the stoves from Sears & there is a Sears here in town, just minutes away from the apartment complex. They could have EASILY purchased a stove today & had it delivered today, but simply chose not to do that. My 2nd complaint is unrelated to the first. Our apartment pool has been closed for over a month because of a broken light that the apartment complex has refused to fix. We got a real nasty letter informing us about this light. They said it happened after hours. It could have been anyone, but it is 100+ degrees here in Fresno, CA & we pay rent to have a pool & the money from our rent is supposed to go to repairs, if necessary. The gate is not locked. Any random homeless person could have broken in & broken that light, but the manager is punishing the entire apartment complex. She is not reducing our rent, just taking back one of the most important summer amenities.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of DEC 8,2016 | 02:58 EST
Renters 110,840,070
Landlords 22,770,208
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security