Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Bedbugs not notified of, brown carpet cannot tell until move-in | Case#**-*120
Austin, Texas - 78752 All I want is someone to come rid my apartment of bedbugs and advise me of how to go about keeping them from spreading to another apartment complex. I asked for pest control to come check out my apartment for bugs within the first two weeks of me moving in and I never received notice. I noticed the bugs in the carpet with flat backs, but I thought I was maybe freaking out for no reason. I didn't notice bites on my body, so I thought I may be overreacting, but last night I got out of my bed and saw quite a few bugs. I've been vacuuming thoroughly, as I thought the windowpanes may be cracked and bugs were getting in, but after much research I realized all the symptoms and signs that I was going through were definitely related from bedbugs. I lived in another apartment in Austin (with my sister) with no bedbugs at all for five months, so it can't be my furniture that is the problem because my sister's place is just fine. I need to get out of my lease, have the bedbugs taken care of and would like my security deposit back for all my trouble having to bleach and wash all my sheets and clothes and having to throw out my bed and couch to avoid transferring these critters to a new living space. Help please!
Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*379
I did not want to move. But, felt that in order to keep from going completely crazy, I had to move. The Ambrose Apt. Is at Fault , because they did not try to work with me about getting me into a quieter unit.
Consistent entry of rental property, by manager, without warning or approval. | Case#**-*422
Idaho Falls, Idaho - 83401 Between July 28, 2011 and this date (August 27, 2011) management has entered on to property without first providing notice or receiving permission from me. He then tapes "maintenance reminders that state to mow, trim and weed yard. The first time occurred just a few days after the yard had been mowed and trimmed, with all gardens having been weeded the week before. He again entered property and taped another "maintenace reminder" on August 5, 2011; which was the day before the young man who does my lawn was scheduled to arrive. The managers third violation occurred on August 19, 2011, and while the young man who does my yard work was cutting the grass. The young man had just finished the front yard, left my lawn mower in the drive way next to the first bag of grass, and had come in for a glass of water. Following the first violation, I called the manager, telling him that the yard work had already been done and, unlike the statement on his taped notices, I would not allow them to enter my property and do my yard work at my cost of $25.00/hr. He stated that I had 3 days to comply or they would evict me. Following the third violation by the manager, I left them a letter, telling them that their actions are harassement and against the law. Further, I requested the names of all the owners of the trailer park and their addresses. I called them twice to see if they had received the letter and if they yet had the information I'd requested, leaving messages as only a message machine responded. On my third call to them, a woman answered, claiming to be the secretary. She said they wouldn't be back until Tuesday but that the letter had been received. The next day, the owner of the property called from Sandy, Utah, leaving a message on my phone, saying who he was and giving his number. When I called back I got their answering machine and left a message saying to get me the information I'd requested on the letter left for their managers (who are the owners kids). The next day I called their Sandy Utah number again, speaking to a secretary, and asked if they'd received my message left the previous early evening. She said she'd check and see, and I again asked that they please send me the information I'd requested. Two days ago I received a letter from the owner, stating that their lease said they could enter on to the property anytime they want (no, that's not what the lease says or what Idaho State law says). Instead of giving me the names of the o
Wont release security and key deposit. | Case#**-*735
Twin Falls, Idaho - 83303 My father passed away earlier this year and was renting a little house in Twin Falls, ID since 2004. He went from a year lease to a month to month. He died on the 2nd of the month and had been sick prior to passing. I paid the rent for that month plus it was emptied and cleaned. The landlord looked at the rental and signed an acknowledgment of accepting the condition of the property and receiving the keys. There is a $400 security deposit owed to my father plus a $5.00 key deposit. I have the copy of the rental agreement. I later received a bill from him for $923.53 minus $400 damage deposit. My father smoked and the landlord knew that. He billed me for having to repaint everything, fixing a leaking toilet and repairing a fan. He billed me for 30 hrs of work at $15 an hour = $450. Carpet cleaning at $110.00 and $46.00 for window blinds. It was my father's air conditioner in the window but he didn't tell us that until about 30 seconds after he signed accepting the property. He thought that was real funny because there was nothing we could do. Well, I didn't and am not going to pay him for obvious reasons plus he'd all ready signed a paper saying he accepted the property after it had been cleaned and received the keys. I would like to go after the $405 sec and key deposit if you think it's feasible.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*351
El Paso, Texas - 79935 I Placed a deposit on 10-3-12 to move in to Pinon Trails Apartments on 11-6-12. I changed my mind about moving in, so I went back on 10-8-12. I let them know that I was not moving in, but they said I could not get my deposit back. I Never moved in, but now they won’t return my deposit, even though I changed my mind in less than a week.
Breach of Agreement and Repair Issue | Case#**-*160
Kansas City, Missouri - 64110 The landlord is trying to bully us in to allowing him to breach the contract in order to charge us an additional 50 dollars a month. He has been verbally abusive towards me as a young female renter in his attempt at bullying for more money. His claim is that one additional person as a roommate added $50 a month or greater to the cost of heating water and the electricity for running the washer and dryer. I had asked for permission to add a roommate, and a potential raise in the cost of rent was not discussed when permission was given. We are not the only ones using the utilities that he is paying for, and he has no way of knowing if we have caused an increase or if it was another tenant, but we are the only ones being charged. I have been a responsible, considerate renter for the past six months. There is also a problem with the electricity requiring that we (the tenants) mess with the electricity and change fuses on a regular basis due to a problem that he has not yet fixed. The tenant below is in control of the temperature, and he has not spoken to her about raising the heat above 50 degrees as promised.
Continued Iintrusion On Repair Issues. No Notice Coming Onto The Property | Case#**-*261
Landlord William Weber lives in the apartment below. Repeatedly over 6 years of living here many repair issues have been needed resulting in additional repairs due to lack of proper work. Landlord has been intrusive and harassing to the family. Except for annual municipal inspections, the landlord has demanded an electrical and property inspection and has threatened eviction. The landlord does not give 24 hours when he comes upstairs and bangs on the door. I believe he is deliberately retaliating because of other issues regarding a fence and lighting he has had with neighbors. He also discusses our personal issues to the neighbors.
Stolen Deposit, Unlawful Lease, Illegal Construction, Illegal evictions, Unauthorized Camera instal | Case#**-*760
Ithaca, New York - 14850 The house was shared with rooms rented to individuals who had mutual use of the rest of the house and property. The property manager is the son of the property owner. He and his girlfriend and her 3 dogs had been living the garage until renovation of the basement was completed. The renovation completion date was estimated as September 2010 (1 month after I signed the lease.) The renovation is still incomplete as of 4/2/2012. In October when it became too cold to live in the garage, the property manager, his girlfriend and her dogs moved into the living room (other tenants were not consulted.) They lived on the couches until the following summer. Other tenants had highly limited use of the living room during this time. The couches had to be burned due to their odor and deteriorated condition as a result of their misuse. The couches were not replaced. For about 1 month there was no furniture at all in the living room, for part of this time the living room was under renovation and not useable. After complaints, the property manager refunded one tenant an amount equal to $100 per month of lost use of common space in the form of reduced rent. After which he raised the rent by $50 and promised a revised lease which was never delivered. Construction on the basement resumed in the summer, and additions were added above ground. These were left incomplete for months. Noisy construction occurred well into the night and unsightly and dangerous construction materials lay scattered in the yard from approximately June 2011 until present. The water went out on multiple occasions because of the construction. Tenants were not notified in advance or compensated in any way for the outages. The construction worker and his helpers were given full access to the house, despite tenant request otherwise. The worker was a convicted felon. There is more but I am out of time. Brief list: 1)Promised a year lease and continually said he would deliver, but went 4 months without doing so, forcing tenant to be month to month although this was not the agreement. 2) Terminated month to month lease suddenly claiming the house was too crowded, though the space had increased with the semi-completion of the basement, and the number of tenants remained the same. 3) Attempted to enforce an illegal clause in the lease that does not allow a significant other to stay in the house. 4) Installed web cameras in the house while tenants were away for the holidays. Did not inform tenants or requ
BEDBUGS | Case#**-*114
CALICUM, New York - 13616
Heat Issues Un Fit Living Conduntions | Case#**-*400
We have lived at this location for for 7 month first week heat went out and has had issues ever since we have spent over 8,000 in repairs for this heater. last sunday nov 27 the boiler when on fire and we have now had the fire department come because we have carbon bunox issue not . Please help us direct us to how can help I dont want the next tenant to go thru this

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of MAY 26,2017 | 06:08 EST
Renters 111,295,376
Landlords 22,862,422
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security