Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Security Deposit | Case#**-*914
I have tried to contact landlord numerous times to return my security deposit with no response. I opted out on moving in because the unit was in bad condition. The walls and sockets had roach feces on them, the refrigerator was rusted, all the cabinets had different knobs, the doors were in horrible condition, the sink had a big hole in it, the bathtub had mold all around it, and the floors were filthy. I explained this to the landlord and I received a call from the owner who stated they had another unit. When I called the landlord and left a message to review the other unit the owner called me back and got real nasty with me about leaving a message, which I thought was very strange. I was just trying to view the other unit. The other unit was as bad a this one. I decided I did not want to rent from this complex due to the discrepancies with the owner and landlord and wanted my deposit back. I did leave several messages with the landlord and no one is returning my calls.
Won\'t Make Rapairs | Case#**-*938
FLAT ROCK, IN - 47234 9785 I asked for landlord to make repaires. She refuaes due to money issues. I with held rent, and now she is kicking me out.
Breach of contract/ broken kitchen sink/ almost 48 hours | Case#**-*273
Roanoke, Texas - 76262 At aprox. 3: 30 on February 7, 2010 my spouse Emerson called our rental company and let them kniw the sink was backed up and we were unable to unclog it (this has happened before when we moved in, they found cememnt in the sink, unclogged it, but never looked into the issue as the plumbed suggested) We were asked when we would be available, we responded at 3 the next afternoon. As of today, the issue is still not fixed and as of last response the guy that is contracted with the company will not be out until this evening. We were told the same thing yesterday and there is still no resolution. When I brought this to the attention of the landlord, he states that we are not being accomadating to the contractor and therefore we would have to wait until he could get out. He also stated that I should grow up and was verbaly abusive to me over the phone when I let him know that this was going to be reported. This is not the first time we have had an issue with this landlord. Please help us get our sink unclogged!!
Repair Issues/ NO A/C For 2days | Case#**-*298
Baton Rouge, Louisiana - 70805 On 7/26/16 my A/c unit went out in my apartment. Early that morning I inform the apartment operator of the issue. 8 a.m. I contacted the apartment complex manager and notify them that my air conditioning unit was out and that it was 83 degrees in my apartment. Later that afternoon they came to fix my AC unit but could complete the job due to the rain. At 3 o\\\'clock the rain stop and the apartment complex does not close until 5. I called and informed the apartment operator that my unit was still not working and then it is still hot in the apartment and it is 85 degrees it could she get somebody to come out to complete the job. no one ever showed up 8 a.m. I inform the apartment manager of the situation she sent the maintenance guy ( the same maintenance I had already informed them of not being comfortable with him in my apartment after the last issue). Now he have smoke my entire apartment out and is unbearable to breathe and they refuse to give me somewhere to stay until they have complete this tasks. And it smells really bad burn smell I notified them of the situation and they told me it may take all day. and that I need to be out of the apartment to complete this task. But refuse to accommodate me of the situation I can\\\'t pay rent and for a hotel. It has been 2 days without sleep I had to call in because I didn\\\'t get any sleep due to the heat. And now I have to suffer because of the heat,smell, and the loud maintenance work being done all day .
BREACH OF IMPLIED WARRENTY OF HABITABILITY | Case#**-*695
Laconia, New Hampshire - 03246 There have been bed bugs in the apartment since I arrived on the date 08/18/2011. The landlord, Dwight, has attempted to solve the problem by spraying the apartment three different times on his own. The matress and box spring have been covered by certified bug cover with no results. I have been bit almost every night by the bed bugs since i have moved in. I have scars on my legs and arms from scratching because it is incredibly itchy. On 12/02/2011 I was sitting in the living room and a bed bug crawled around my arm. I killed it and put it in a container for evidence. The same day I took a half an hour nap and was bit over a dozen times on my neck, right wrist, and left shoulder. My left shoulder currently hurts very bad. It did not hurt before.
Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*491
First off my carpet was dirty upon moving into the unit. Iinform the manager about biting issues that started within the first week or two after moving in. They failed to resolve the bed bug issue and I have to replace just about everything in my unit including clothing and bedding. My skin is now spotted all over from bites and it's not a pretty site. The bedbugs have had a huge impact on me and my children's lives in the short stay in the unit. I also had to take my children back to Louisiana to the hospital for the skin irritation and repeated biting.
bed bugs, fleas | Case#**-*502
mesquite, Texas - 75150 i have been a resident since january 2012, in febuary 2013 i got a horrbile flea/bed bug problem. extermination does nothing as the adjoining apts are not being treated. management seems unconcerned about treating the adjoining apts and the outside. i would like to move and be rid of this problem, it is no way to live.
Ant Infestation, Rent Issues, Leasing Terms Issues. | Case#**-*922
Upon my girlfriend and I moving in this whole experience at the apartment was a disaster. The day I was moving in (Dec, 3 2013) I had a steal table that was large and could not fit upstairs or in elevator. I left this table in the hallway to finish moving. Manager called me and told me I had to move this table immediately so they told me it would be "taken care of" ourside in an area. When I came to my table the next day it was gone, trash people had taken it out. I told manger about this and they said that they would not reimburse me and they had no idea I wanted to keep my table that I had moved. Upon moving in there dirt and things in the showers. I informed the manger and they sent up maintenance to clean for about 15 minutes. The shower was still not clean, however just wanted privacy and peace for my girlfriend and myself, so we paid for cleaners to come. Ants have been infesting our apartment since we moved in. I have seen ant in my food, crawling on me in me sleep and all over every room of my apartment. Manger told me that my only option was for her to call someone to spray toxic chemicals in my apartment. other than that there was nothing she could do. did not even recommend to me that I could switch apartments or units. I did not want toxic chemicals in my apartment so I purchased ant traps which barely minimized the ant issue that I have no just learned to accept. Last straw was when I went down to the leasing office to pay my rent(same way I have been paying for 10 months) and Manager stated that if I paid my rent by check this way she would have to charge me a $270 fee. She then gave me a code with no password and told me to login to pay rent. The website she gave me had no user platform to pay my rent on and now it is late. I know she will charge me a late fee because she has never been willing to go above to help me. I have yet to see the terms of my lease. Everytime I ask for them the issue is brushed aside. they stated we signed 12 month and 20 day lease. i was not aware these terms existed. we moved in on the 3rd of December 2013, and planned to moved out Dec 3, 2014. They told us we needed to moved out Dec 23, 2014 2 days before xmas. Where did they come up with this date?
Breach Of Contract - Uninhabitable Living Conditions Due To Bed Bugs | Case#**-*297
From 6/3/2014 until present, my apartment has been and continues to be uninhabitable due to both inappropriate treatment of bed bugs and delayed treatment of a reported bed bug infestation. The property owner has breached my lease by failing to provide a habitable environment, unfit for residency, over an excessive period of time. On 6/3/2014, I reported a bed bug infestation along with a live bed bug, to the property manager of Turnberry Square Apartments, Jeanette Calvert. On 6/3/2014, Jeanette Calvert contacted the owner of the property, whose name and contact information remains undisclosed. Additionally, a sever bed bug infestation was identified in the apartment below my unit over a week later. Jeanette Calvert communicated to me that her and Mike Faust, from maintenance, reacted to the situation per the instructions of the property owner. I was unable to sleep in my apartment and received many itchy bites if I did. I work a high stress job where patient's lives are at risk if I make a mistake. I have been staying at hotels because I had no other habitable place to sleep.
My apartment is falling apartment | Case#**-*464
TAMPA, FL - 33612 5267 On sunday I came home and my hold bath was full of water coming from the celling and I could not stop thewater coming from the top on the celling. Now for the 3rd day thewater is coming down and nothing been done to fits this situation at this moment. Also in the top they have dog jumping up and down all the time.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JAN 19,2017 | 01:41 EST
Renters 110,951,976
Landlords 22,792,873
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security