Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Repairs/breach Of Agreement/defacing Private Property | Case#**-*785
Davenport , Iowa - 52807 Building maintenance had tagged a parking violation sticker on vehicle that was not illegally parked there reasoning was it was crooked and a tire was on the line. These stickers are extremely hard to remove and cannot be removed by simple hands. No matter how you remove the sticker it will be light or deep scratches in the window and this is a new vehicle. My other vehicle was parked in two spots because the plowing job was not done well and a mound of snow was taking up half a spot I tried to get as far over as possible to the mound but my truck was not tagged even though I was in two spots technically but my other vehicle was that in its own spot. Our AC unit drain had clogged early in residency and water had ran down the wall maintenance came 2 days later replaced AC unit but did not repair the wall I do not want to be held accountable for this as I am buying out of my lease to leave this complex. Also boiler heater has not shut off apartment gets uncomfortable hot forcing us to leave windows open in the middle of winter maintenance has been notified along with front office and it has been a month since report and they still have not fixed the issue. I have photographic evidence of the parking of my truck taking up two spots throwing off the lot showing the mound of snow taking half a spot. I have contacted corporate HR and Communications and they are ignoring my actions. The complex has illegally defaced my private property and could cause possible damage to property upon removal. Corporate communications said they take parking very seriously yet the complex allows employee or resident park a boat in a spot that has been there for years. My lease does not say you can do this so this is a violation of lease terms. I also have photographic evidence of the boat. Also since I bought out of my lease I am concerned upon leaving complex will make unfair judgment to try to charge me damage that was not done on apartment unit. They have ignored all my actions and I will be forced to take legal action if this issue can not be resolved for both parties. If this sticker is to cause my fiancé to get into an accident due to obstructing view I will be filing a lawsuit and taking my appropriate legal actions
Managers Are Liars And Bullies | Case#**-*534
WEST COVINA, CA - 91791 1107 Mgr Charlotte told mgmt company that I had 3 people living with me. This is not true. Charlotte is lying, only my grandson is here.
Unlawful Entry, Harassment And Intimidation | Case#**-*930
LOS ANGELES, CA - 90034 1147 On 6/01/2018, we received a notice that anytime between the dates 6/4 and 6/18, the Owner\\\'s agents will enter the premises to inspect, test, and repair. No contact information other than the name \\\"Joe Goldstein\\\" was provided. This request to enter does not fall under an emergency nor did we request repairs, so we see this as a violation of our rights as tenants. Furthermore, a reasonable time frame was not provided, leaving us in uncertainty when strangers will be (illegally) entering our apartment. On 6/8, an unidentified man asked to be let in to do repairs which we did not request, and when questioned, he did not know the repairs he was here for. Ultimately we let him in to do inspections, and soon after he left. On 6/11, three men who did not identify themselves followed my girlfriend Jordyn to the door of our apartment, asking to be let in for inspections. After being told \\\"No, we had inspections last week, call [their boss] Joe\\\", they returned five minutes later knocking on the door. They said \\\"We called three times, he didn\\\'t answer, can we just do the inspections anyway?\\\" and reached for the doorknob. After being told no again, they left and came back 10 minutes later again insisting to be let in \\\"to ensure that the original inspection was done correctly\\\". This scared and intimidated Jordyn - three unidentified men insisting to enter despite our non-consent, returning frequently and refusing to listen. Not knowing what to do, she let them in knowing they wouldn\\\'t leave. While they were inside the apartment, they moved room to room. For each room, the two men would block the doorway while the third man \\\"inspected\\\" the room, effectively blocking her from seeing what they were doing inside our apartment. This situation made us very uncomfortable for obvious reasons. No notification for a \\\"re-inspection\\\" was provided at any point. Joe Goldstein did not answer his phone when called by us, and has yet to return a call. We believe that sending three men unannounced to \\\"reinspect\\\" last week\\\'s inspection while only a young female is home, intimidating her to let them in, and then examining the entire apartment is in violation of our rights as tenants. The next step for us is a police report if matters are left unresolved. If this situation occurs in the future, the first line of action will be to call the police. Entering the premises without our consent for non-emergencies is illegal, and should be treated as such.
Unprofessionalism And Horrible Living Conditions | Case#**-*816
This apartment complex has continuously requested the same renters insurance policy documents over and over. I have multiple concerns, the renter insurance policy has been requested multiple times and I have had a leak in the roof over my shower since October 2013. I have reported this multiple times to the front office and nothing has been resolved, also the bathroom sink pipes were duck taped and painted over to camouflage it. On 3/6/14 I returned home after being away to three notices stating no renters insurance, the other was a three day notice to move me out of the apartment if the information was not updated. This was previously given to the office about a month ago, when I inquired on why do I continuously receive these notices and that it's embarrassing like I have not paid my rent. The office rep. Melanie was rude and unhelpful, she stated that I could comply with the rules or move out! This of course did not help the situation and all I needed was to be heard. I asked for my gate key "I need my damn gate key" and she jumped up stated that I will need to speak to the office manger since I cursed. Heather looked through the glass and sent the maintenance guy out to pose as another supervisor (Undra) just to ask me to leave the office. I asked him again for my gate key and he refused and stated I would need to com back tomorrow to receive it, when I asked for corporate number he again refused. Then went to ask Heather something and came back stating if I did not leave the office then security would escort me out. They treated me like a second class citizen, who deliberately causes trouble. I was disgusted as a nearly two year lease holder whom has never been late on paying rent. I left the office as I knew nothing would be resolved, I then called the corporate office to leave a message for Joanne the regional manger but the call has not been returned although I was told 24 hours. I spoke with Karen the office coordinator whom also wasn't helpful because I have called multiple times and again no resolution. When I returned the next day 3/7/14 Heather finally comes out the office and stated she will not be excepting my rent for this month and would not explain why. At this point I started to move my possessions out of the apartment and need resolution. As of 3/15/14 they have yet to contact me regarding the development of the issue.
Multiple Repair Issues | Case#**-*012
BOXBOROUGH, MA - 01719 1525 This landlord makes no attempt to fix any of his tenants apartments, multiple calls to his phone, voice mails, and letters sent via USPS go unanswered for months. I have an infant baby son in the house and it is becoming to warm during the day for him as well as his mother and I. I need my a/c replaced immediately and the other defective fixtures FIXED!
Management And Issuance Of Warnings That Are Not Warrented. | Case#**-*468
Statements made by Assistant Property Manager, Jaime Flores and another representative are false accusations. I can provide further details.
Failure to mitigate damages, breach of agreement | Case#**-*952
WILOUGHBY HLS, OH - 44094 I had a lease with Pine Ridge Apartments from January 2010 through January 2011. I ended up moving out of the apartment in October 2010, prior to the expiration of lease. Upon submitting my 30 day notice, I was contacted by the leasing office and signed paperwork indicating that, per company policy, Goldberg will not treat my moving out as a broken lease as long as I continue to make payments on the apartment until a new tenant moves in. I signed the paperwork and made November 2010 payment. I was never contacted by Goldberg again and upon making a phone call to the Pine Ridge leasing office in December 2010, I was told that a new tenant had moved in and that I do not owe any remaining money to the company. In January 2012, I received a collection letter claiming that I owed Goldberg Companies $860.81, the remaining balance on my lease from December 2010 through January 2011. I further learned, however, that Goldberg had a tenant in my apartment on December 31, 2010, but that the company was seeking to collect the entire amount of my remaining lease from me as well. To avoid further collection activity, I made the payment. I am now seeking to recover the amount from December 31, 2010 through the end of my lease that Goldberg collected from me. it was Goldberg's duty to mitigate damages. Upon having a new tenant in my apartment on December 31, 2010, they should not have collected any more money from me. I should only be liable for rent amount from December 1, 2010 through December 30, 2010. i am seeking to recover this difference.
Repair Issues, Falsification Of Rental Records, Landlord Tenat Harassment | Case#**-*360
Falsified rental records & consistent landlord-tenant harassment post and prior to legal exercise of tenant rights.
FDCPA Violation | Case#**-*863
Lansing, Illinois - 60438 I am an employee of MCOA. February of 2012 I rented a two bedroom apartment above my employer (which my employer owned). During the time I lived there I was harassed on several different occasions. The Lansing Police was called on my by a co-worker who did not like me. She called them and reported smelling cannabis coming from my apartment. I was told by Jolene Woods (owner) that she heard foot steps in my apartment and she knew my kids were at school. She stated she was going to use her key to go into my place to see who was in there. She stated she decided to call me on my work phone to let me know first. October of 2012 Jolene Woods came to my desk at work and confronted me in front of my peers. She was upset that I was two weeks late on her rent money. I could not take it any more and talked to her husband Roger Woods about leaving the apartment due to the harassment and the fact that some of the employees were messing with my car.
Bedbugs And Repairs. | Case#**-*321
Lancaster, Pennsylvania - 17603 Well for about a months and a half i have spoken to the landlord about bedbugs and he said he would take care of it and a week went by and nothing this time i got smart and text him and even sent him pics of my stomach and back where i had been bitten multiple times and he acknowledge me by saying im sorry ill get someone out there. ( its been about 1 month) and yet nothing ive had to throw stuff out wash multiple times bag my stuff and my girls. ( shame shes a school teacher and i get up 1hr early so i can check her, so she doesnt take any to her toddlers at school. He shuffles people from one house to next so they dont leave and all he\\\'s doing is spreading them around hes had issues before hes been taken to court and if you file like me he\\\'ll try to evict you. Ive been paying all this time but as of aug 5 2016 i am withholding rent because just last week aug 3 or 4 2016 i sent him pics of my girlfriend leg or thigh are and she was a bitten up and he said he was waiting on the exterminator to call him back hes been saying this for almost 2 months now. And when you see him in person he says if you dont like it move out or find another place ( heartless) my neighbor touna has same issue so does the guy hes evicting for reporting him and he breaks the law by moving people in and out and not telling them about the problem. I have evidence pics videos and text messages. Not only my room but other rooms where we are actually lifting mattreses up and killing them with our own product we have bought at our expense. Ive sealed the floor my self because he said it was ready when it wasnt ive paid out of pocket for ceiling hole about 2 x 2 i have pics also. Ive tried to work with him but he lies. Im tired dont have money to move out. Ive spent hundreds of dollars and still pay my rent. no more ,the law says im dealing with whats called no fair dealing and an inhabitable place in which he is responsible for. I wish to no longer live here and law states hes responsible for my relocating. If he wants i can provide numbers and names of atleast 7 to 8 tenants in which have left or been evicted for this bedbug reason and some tenants in which still live there. 49. 50 and 51 w. Strawberry st Lancaster PA 17603

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of FEB 24,2020 | 11:51 EST
Renters 114,005,469
Landlords 23,411,302
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security