Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Dispute charges for carpet and painting | Case#**-*120
LONE TREE, CO - 80124 8407 Karin M. Lindback 2100 Franklin Street #8 Denver, CO 80205 305-522-1814 Disputing charges for: painting, new pad and carpet and installation Unit #89-206 at: The Crest at Lone Tree/Greystar 10047 Park Meadows Drive Lone Tree, CO 80124 Phone: 720-874-0900 Fax: 720-874-0909 Lease from 4-29-2009 to 4-28-2010 Move in Date: 4-29-2009 Move out Date: 4-28-2010 Re: Disputing charges for: painting, new pad and carpet and installation in above unit In September 2010, I unexpectedly received notification from a collection agency that I owed The Crest money. I called The Crest, disputed the charges, and requested information. They sent some preliminary information, but I am still awaiting more details, explanation, pictures, etc. According to them, they tried to fax the information to my place of employment, but The Crest fax machine was not working properly so I did not receive all of it. I have since requested they e-mail and mail the information; however, I have had no communication from them at all. They do not return my phone calls. I wrote to the collection agency (National Credit Systems, Inc.) disputing the charges. However, they now tell me that they ??will not accept any paperwork from me?. I currently have debt collectors calling my supervisor at my place of employment, requesting the funds. The management company that was at The Crest when I moved in was replaced and the new management company is the one charging me. Prior to choosing to live at The Crest, I researched apartments online, and I found mostly positive comments about The Crest. Now, there are many negative comments about the new management company. The comments involve disputes about charges, false reporting to credit agencies, poor management of the physical aspects of the property, billing disparities, and statements not received or not timely received. In regards to the billing, there were times when statements did not come out in time for the due date, and I had to guess how much to pay to cover the costs that varied on a monthly basis. If I underestimated, I had to go in and pay the extra in cash; if I overestimated, they would refund the extra in cash. Prior to moving into the apartment, I viewed the apartment with a representative of The Crest. This is what we found: The Carpet - I noted to the representative that the carpet (off white with various color specks) was old and was crunchy when we walked on it. The representative said that th
Uninhabitable Dwelling. | Case#**-*777
HOMEWOOD, AL - 35209 1235 Since move-in date (11:11-16) there have been ongoing issues with water leaking, inability to use shower properly, use bathroom sink at all, use kitchen sink. Water heater was pouring water continuously for 2 weeks while landlord decided whether or not he was going to replace it, therefore we were unable to take a hot or even warm bath or shower without heating water on the stove and taking it to the bathroom. When using the bathtub upstairs, water flows rapidly down into the kitchen. Landlord has authorized \\\"bandaids\\\" for this, but water still leaked somewhat into kitchen. Water poured for 2 + weeks following the bathtub incident because of a leak from the commode next door, which to this date, have still not been repaired properly. Cabinets and wall has been removed from an area in the kitchen, which showed damage to wood, and severe manifestation of black mold. Maintenance man claims to have sprayed it with \\\"Mold and Mildew\\\" killer 2 weeks ago (12/04/16), and makes excuses daily as to why this cannot be closed. New onset of mold in pantry area, which the landlord approved replacement of drywall 2 weeks ago, yet nothing has been done. Black mold and mildew surround the back door flooring and woodwork, causing the linoleum to lift in several areas. Front door has large gaps allowing air to flow freely through the dwelling, resulting in the lower level not reaching 62 degrees recently, heating and air unit will run continuously due to this.
Trespassing Into Apartment Without Written Notice | Case#**-*822
SAN FRANCISCO, CA - 94102 5256 On 8/23/17 an Argenta worker opened the door to my apartment and walked into the apartment while Briana Macdonald (my fiance) was home sick in bed. He continued to walk into the apartment and go into the bedroom where Briana laid with headphones in her ear in private. Although there was fire alarm testing being done (hence the headphones) Briana nor myself were unaware of Argenta workers having to enter the apartments at any given notice. According to California Civil Code 1954 landlord are required to give WRITTEN notice to the residents that they must enter the apartments and also give notification upon entering&exiting -- neither was done by Argenta/Monogram Apartments. While the company did send an email notifying that workers may enter the apartments, Briana nor I check emails frequently and were unaware (besides the fact that multiple emails are spammed per day from Argenta/Monograms), email, notifications are not an acceptable form of notification as stated in California tenant/landlord civil code. Argenta\'s trespassing and failure to notify us is absolutely unacceptable and makes us feel that we do not live in our home and someone may walk into our space at anytime with the excuse to fix or check something. Written notices must be given to tenants at least 24 hours prior. Furthermore, according to California civil code 1954 Briana and I are entitled to damages for the violation of not providing us written notification of entering the our apartment. I have tried to reach a solution with Argenta/Monogram Apartments amicably but, they have failed to give me compensation for their trespassing. Briana and I no longer feel safe and private in our space where we pay a premium to live in. We demand appropriate damages be paid to us or credited towards our monthly bill by Argenta. N.B, we have evidence in email and recorded voice interaction with the apartment building that they take full responsibility for not notifying us before entering our apartment and invading Briana\'s privacy.
Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*317
The staff at Carolina Crossing has broken two South Carolina state laws: S.C. Code Ann. § 27-40-530, S.C. Code Ann. § 27-40-730 (c). Contractors entered our unit twice for non-emergency, non-regularly scheduled periodic services, without giving 24 hours notice. We were unaware until the morning of that this would be occurring, which left us with approximately 1 hour notice. This did not allow us to secure our personal belongings or confidential information. We were advised in writing that we could not make an appointment to have the work done when we were home. Additionally, another law was broken when Carolina Crossing management refused to make reasonable efforts to re-rent it the unit when we requested this. Furthermore, the outdoor living space is a public health concern, as there was human vomit left for weeks, as well as pet waste left for months, which continues to be a growing problem. Management is making no effort to maintain a healthy environment or enforce pet policies. We were also told via email, prior to applying, that there would be a fitness center and dog park; neither of these amenities have been available. The fitness center is listed in the lease as being included. We chose this apartment complex in part due to the promise of these amenities, and paid more to live here than other complexes that do not offer them. We often check the fitness center location and have never seen any workers progressing towards its completion. We are aware that other residents are not complying with the terms of the lease, implying that the rules are selectively enforced. There are dog breed and weight restrictions that are being violated; in fact, an aggressive dog has even bit me. Carolina Crossing expects us to abide by a contract when they and other tenants are not complying with the lease or the law, which leads us to believe we are being discriminated against.
REPAIR ISSUE | Case#**-*053
LOS ANGELES, CA - 90031 1307 We have contacted the landlord about the kitchen sink for longer than a year. The wood underneath the sink on the outside of the house is weak and broken. The sink has a bad leak. Water leaks lead to mold. And the landlord has not done anything about this issue. We even called the housing department and they came and inspected and still nothing has been done. Also they don\\\\\\\'t care about the safety of my family and I. The people next door has moved out but are still occupying the unit. And she has a bunch of drug addicts and drug dealers staying in the unit. We have complained numerous times and the landlord has not even bothered to contact us in reply. We\\\\\\\'ve called the police and they don\\\\\\\'t even come. My family and I do not feel safe with these people squatting. There is constant traffic of TWEAKERS coming onto the property to pick up drugs. There is a van parked outside these TWEAKERS would flash their flashlights at. We have videos of them doing drugs on the porch in front of our door. Still the landlord has not done anything to help in any of these issues. We pay rent on time every single month for the 20+ years we\\\\\\\'ve been living here. This is by far the worst situation we have had to deal with and the owners haven\\\\\\\'t done anything to help. These people are doing drugs next door and hot boxing. The smell seeps through the cracks into our home and my 2 year old niece is being exposed to these fumes. And again, nothing is being done about this. BECAUSE THEY DON\\\\\\\'T CARE.
Refusal Of Written Repair Notice - Windows | Case#**-*504
Landlord Gerald accepted a written Repair Notice and other seperately bound documents not related to the repair at 4:10pm. on 7/25. He then returned the Notice and other documents for Matt to give to Landlord Lynda when she awoke from a nap. His reason was that he didn't want to misplace it on her desk. I accepted them back to hold in trust for them in good faith. I agreed to give them to Lynda after a meeting she had after 5:30pm the same day. At 7:10pm, Matt attempted to return the Notice and documents to Jerry at his front door. He opened the door and verbally refused them both. Tomorrow the Repair Notice and other documents will be returned to the Owner as registered mail.
Moving Out Due To Rodent/fly Infestation Being Charged For Not Giving 30day | Case#**-*394
SAN FRANCISCO, CA - 94132 2150 We have submitted 13+ maintenance requests since 2/23/15 for rodent issues. The maintenance team has tried to resolve the issues several times but have ultimately not been successful. We have had live rats inside the apartment, dead rats under the oven, weeks of being bitten by mites that our doctor has told us are most likely from the dead rodents in the home. The oven had to be removed at the beginning of august because there were dead rats in the back, now we have been living with dozens and dozens of flies for 4 weeks. They have sent pest control over several times but they have failed to solve the problem. Parkmerced has also sent us notification that the building is being torn down and replaced and we will be forced to move in the coming months. We believe that since the building is being torn down that could be why they are not willing to find a permanent solution to fix the rodent issues. Per CA civil codes we are well within our rights to vacate the property due and not give 30 days notice because this apartment is untenantable. CA Civil Code 1941.1 which states: (a) A dwelling shall be deemed untenantable for purposes of Section 1941 if it substantially lacks any of the following affirmative standard characteristics or is a residential unit described in Section 17920.3 or 17920.10 of the Health and Safety Code: (6) Building, grounds, and appurtenances at the time of the commencement of the lease or rental agreement, and all areas under control of the landlord, kept in every part clean, sanitary, and free from all accumulations of debris, filth, rubbish, garbage, rodents, and vermin. We feel that we have given Parkmerced ample time and opportunity to resolve the problem and we cannot continue to live with rodents and flies, and we should not be held responsible for giving 30 days notice because we cannot stay in that much filth for 30 days, it\\\'s a health hazard.
txtGeneralDescription | Case#**-*900
txtRCity, Alabama - txtRZip txtAdditionalDetails
Breach Of Agreement/ No Repairs/Mold/Disrespectful | Case#**-*308
OAK PARK, MI - 48237 2831 You evicted me under false pretenses. I provided money order stubs of my payments for every month asked. Provided a legal signed copy of the lease stating the $750 rate. There is a permanent mark on my record that I have to overcome whenever I need to move and provide rental history. If this issue is not rectified I will be filing a civil suit and providing pictures of the mold and other repairs that you refused to make. Not to mention the harassment, pain and suffering caused by The D Brand Group and Silverside Management. You hired Silverside to handle business and they did not. Per your own staff, they (Silverside or Debbie) stole monies. I would like to resolve this issue outside of court but will most definitely file a civil suit if necessary. Thanks!
Refuse To Stop Playing Music... No Cooperation And No Respect | Case#**-*726
New Castle, Pennsylvania - 16107 The music is still playing on and on since October, non-stop. Since last week, I came back and live here. Everything was quiet and very peaceful but till I did my laundry on the 2nd floor. My landlord starts to threat and plays music that I cannot help it because my clothes need to be washed and cleaned that I was doing my laundry for 2 days in a row that I was catching all up to finish. She refuses to cooperate with me and have no respect for me because of my panic attack and anxiety. Very stressful!! I want my landlord and I to respect and cooperate. She asked for peace and quiet but why is she doing it anyway. Not making any sense!

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of OCT 21,2021 | 12:00 EST
Renters 115,638,986
Landlords 23,742,141
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security