Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

I didn't get the deposit back from the landlord. | Case#**-*673
Paradise, California - 95969 I gave 30 days notice to Mr. Kennedy that I am going to move out by end of May. I left several messages at his office and with his manager to check the office, but he didn't call me back. It is more than one month, and he didn't sent me the deposit back. The office is clean and in the same condition when I rented it. I used the office rare because I run a health retreat. The carpet is clean, except some spots on the carpet from the person who repaired the air condition. He wasn't a good landlord. I had to wait weeks until he responded. He doesn't like to take care of his property. I am hoping that through your agency I will get my money back. Thanks, Divna Unipan
Getting Bed Bug Bites For Two Years After Ineffective Pest Control | Case#**-*902
WALTHAM, MA - 02452 5633 My roommates has been starting to get beg bug bites since Oct 2016, before that we have never heard of bed bug begs, so at first we thought that’s some kind of allergy and my roommates have been took pill for allergy relief for several months. On Jan 2017 we found an alive bed bug on my roommate’s mattress and that’s the first time we knew this creature. We reported to the leasing office and prepare for the treatment very seriously, got rid of the mattress and a lot of furniture that might cause the issue. Dry all our clothes on high heat. After 8 months, we found the bed bug again in different room and different mattress, again we prepare for the treatment, get rid of the infected furniture. Now it’s the third time. We decide to move out the apartment although we really like the community. Our lease will end in Aug 22, but we really feel unsafe to live here anymore and we think it’s not responsible to sublease the apartment to anybody. I don’t want anybody to be a victim of bed bugs anymore. It really cost a lot every time prepare for the treatment so we really hope we can cancel our lease without penalty.
Bed Bug Infestation & Repair Issues | Case#**-*517
My apartment has been inhabitable since I first reported the bed bug infestation on June 15, 2014. Also, The damages to the apartment due to a leaking roof have not been fixed. These damages were reported to the landlord back in February 2014 and have not been repaired. I now believe there is mold growing in the ceiling and walls. I have contacted the landlord multiple times in regards to these issues. By phone, in person and by certified mail. I feel I am getting the run around and would like the extermination and repairs to be corrected by the landlord/owner ASAP. I also want to be reimbursed for all fees and out of pocket expenses I have had to pay to get this resolved. I also do not feel I should have to pay any rent for the time I have had to stay else where due to the apartment being inhabitable, starting from June 15, 2014 until the extermination and repairs are finished. I have held my July rent payment in a bank and plan to continue holding rent payments until this is resolved. I have pictures and other evidence to add to my case.Thank you for any and all help you provide me. Sincerely, Bonnie L Riley
Maintenance Issues | Case#**-*571
My experience with the Samia Companies has been less than wonderful over the past year and a half. We consistently have problems with heat and hot water - which are never properly addressed by the maintenence staff. Last night; however, I came home to find a cockroach on my kitchen countertop. I called the maintenance line who of course told me it was not an emergency and they would not send anyone until the morning. Understandable, I informed the individual on the line of the urgency of my request, left my phone number and instructed that the maintenance staff call me as soon as they receive the request in the morning. Less than an hour later, my roommate came home to a brown liquid leaking through her bedroom ceiling and all down a wall over her bed. As her room shares a common wall with the bathroom, of course we were very concerned. We called maintenance (again) to put in a request. This time someone came to our apartment. He walked in - looked at the wall and informed us he would need to come back tomorrow. My roommate called in the morning to follow up with the company and was told we would be contacted by the exterminator and that someone would be in our apartment to fix the leaking ceiling. Sadly, no one ever contacted us. I had to take time out of my already busy day to call the maintenance number to follow up on our requests. The person answering the phone was unable to tell me the status of my requests but gave me the extension to the exterminator and our property maintenance supervisor. I called both numbers but there was no response (granted it was after 4:30). However, with the exception of the emergency maintenance line there is never anyone in the office when I call. I called the office to talk to a property manager about the urgency of my request and was met with an extremely rude attitude by the woman who answered the phone. She told me that my request could not be important because I waited until the end of the day to call. This is extremely poor customer service and I would like Samia to know this. I would give you the woman's name; however, when I asked her for it she simply hung up the phone on me. I was, and still am, completely outraged that this is how you would train your employees to treat a customer. I hope that this complaint goes to someone who will consider the company's reputation enough to act on it. You have two very unsatisfied tenants in my roommate and I. Thank you for your time. Erika Glidden
Unfair Treatment After Early Lease Move Out | Case#**-*036
Stuart S Draft, Virginia - 24477 I had to move out early from my apartment which was leased in January for a 12 month lease. After moving out and giving them 30 days notice before I planned on leaving I was assured that they would take adequate efforts to find somebody to take over my apartment however they did tell me that the apartment would not be listed online. After a few hard months of trying to find a new tenant I found somebody on Craigslist which I was then told that Craigslist ads were against their policy and that I needed to take them down. After finding a sufficient tenant to file an application I was told that another person had filed an application and that they could only process one application at a time. The tenant I was speaking with was turned away and was not allowed to go forward nor did they keep her information on file. The tenant that did put down a hold fee and application signed the lease on October 2nd. I was notified on October 2nd that I was released from paying October rent. On October 4th I received a call from the rental office saying that the lease was invalid and that I still needed to pay rent for October. Refusing to give me details I agree to pay rent. Because for two days I was unaware of that I would have to pay October, a money transfer is needed to be made over a weekend which took additional days. They proceeded to charge me a late fee because rent was not paid on the 5th. I am also being charged water in the apartment that I\\\'m no longer living in. They say this is attributed to a part in their lease however the verbage is very general and not specific to my situation. The water has accumulated to about $50 in charges for the past couple months, a period of time that I am not actually living in the apartment. They did agree to take the late fee off but they say that the water charges are still valid. I believe that this company is very shady and does not have policies that are fair or moral for the consumer. I\\\'d appreciate if the rental company would let me forfeit my deposit. They say that it\\\'s not in their policy but I believe that the situation that I am in has been very stressful and confusing. I was not given any information about the water charges or any of their extra policies when I moved out. I believe that they did this for a reason because they don\\\'t want people to know their policies so that they can charge them fees.
Bug Problem | Case#**-*246
We complained about having roaches in our apartment. In our kitchen, around our food, inside our cabinets. There in our bedrooms crawling on our beds, on our dinning room table, in our bathrooms, everywhere. They say they exterminated but we are seeing no results. We also complained about bed bugs. Every night I wake up with several bite marks on my body. I went to the doctor for treatment. We bought bed coverings, we sprayed our apartment and we washed all of our clothes and sheets with hot water several times. I have not heard of them doing anything to fix this problem. I have not received a letter or a call inquiring about it futhur. We are always having to call and see the leasing manager. They are not making an effort to contact us about what they plan on doing or what they have done. The only time we hear from the leasing department is when we call or go up the the leasing office. I'm disgusted by the apartment and tired of the constant bite marks. The bites itch so bad at times that I found myself waking up several times through out the night to apply medication to the bites. I habe pictures of the bite marks and pictures of the bugs we found.
Air conditioner is not cooling front bedroom and bathroom. room always hot. | Case#**-*725
Tyler, Texas - 75703 The apartment has a central ac unit but it is only cooling on side of the apartment correctly. the front room and bathroom is not cooling and is constantly hot. i did complain in June and was assure by the manager that the problem will be fixed. management send their maintenance technician out to repair and fix the problem unfortunately the problem wasn't fix. the same technician has visited the apartment on three occasions and one the first visit he diagnose the problem to be low freon, he added freon and still not working. second visit he suggested we closed some of the vents which i taught were an inconvenience to us and unfair, but i follow his suggestions just to prove that the problem was major and still his suggestions didn't work. Third visit, he repeated the same steps perform on the last two visits, and still it didn't solve the problem. lately, last month there was another technician from a reputable company that came to fix the problem, but couldn't get the problem fix because according to the Hvac technician the problem was costly and has to be repair from the ceiling and that he will notify the management office, which he did. I spoke management regarding issue with hopes that the problem in resolved in a timely manner but to no advail. i have made several phone calls to the office, walk to the office in person, wrote a letter, but still not getting the problem resolved. About a week ago, management said that there's nothing wrong with the apartment, and the problem is normal and not sure if i can be compensated or if they will cover the cost to relocate to another unit. we are very unhappy and we are also up to date with our rent and had never been late.
Discrimination And Slander Against Deaf Tenant | Case#**-*031
In an attempt to resolve a noise issue, my client, who is 100% deaf in both ears, has done everything in her capacity to mitigate any noise emanating from her apartment. The Meadows Apartments has served Ms. Madrid with a notice to vacate by May 26, 2014 for having not resolved this issue. My client feels that she has been severely misrepresented, as well as discriminated against while making an attempt to rectify the situation (by adding sound-proofing floor mats to her apartment area). Other claims, like her having illegal occupants living in her apartment, as well as those occupants partaking in illegal drug related activity, have also been wrongfully made. These assumptions are not based on any hard evidence. The property manager claims that because Ms. Madrid has late night guests, and that according to the property manager late night guests often partake in illicit activities, that any occupants in Ms. Madrid's apartment are partaking in these said activities.
Bed Bug Infestation | Case#**-*857
Carson City, Nevada - 89701 Since I started renting this apartment, my friends and my lover have gotten bites here and there. I didn't know what to make of it at first. In the most recent months, the amount of bites I've gotten has been escalating. Lindy told me that it had to be me that brought them in, but upon further investigation, the woman I got the furniture from has had no sign of infestation. That leaves only the previous people, who abandoned the apartment in terrible condition, at fault. The land lord should be responsible for the solution to this problem. She had the maintenance man come up and hand me a bottle of spray for me to line the apartment with myself when I first told her, as a courtesy.
Breach Of Agreement/Unsafe Environment | Case#**-*476
Marietta, Georgia - 30067 I moved into Ivy Ridge in 2013, almost 2.5 years ago. Upon my moving in, there were roaches in the apartment and refrigerator, to the point that I had to purchase a new refrigerator. There was a constant infestation of insects in the townhouse. A month later, there was a sink hole in the building behind me. See: Widening sinkhole poses threat to Cobb apartment residents at http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/widening-sinkhole-threatens-swallow-apartments/nYzSw/. A month later, a tenant moved from their residence in Ivy Ridge to the townhouse beside me (apparently the family was loud previously and it couldn\'t be tolerated). There was constant fighting and beating of one of the male children by his stepfather, and it had gotten out of hand when the child asked my son to come and get him so he won\'t get a beating. A couple of weeks later, I called Cobb County Police because the child was getting a beating. Due to the unsafe environments for me and my son, I told Ivy Ridge\'s staff in court that I was moving. Although it was agreed that I was moving, Ivy Ridge placed a collection amount on my credit report. The entry should be removed because it was erroneously placed on my report, and is stopping me from getting an apartment. If the entry is not removed in seven days, a complaint will be filed with the Fair Credit Reporting Agency and a lawsuit will be filed in Cobb County, GA Magistrate Court for contacting my job and placing the false entry on my credit report. A letter removing this entry can be emailed to glove1547302@gmail.com and mailed to P O Box 674504, Marietta, GA 30006.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JUN 17,2019 | 04:33 EST
Renters 113,325,597
Landlords 23,273,606
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security