Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Security Deposit | Case#**-*845
SPRING HILL, FL - 34608 1404 On May 1, 2010 we signed a lease with Mr. Carbone to rent his house for one year. At the time of signing the lease we gave Mr. Carbone two cashierâ??s checks for $750 each, one check was for our first monthâ??s rent, and the second was for the security deposit. As we neared the end of the lease Mr. Carbone contacted us about staying in the house and signing another lease, we declined his offer and moved out on May 1, 2011. After about a month passed and we still have not heard anything from Mr. Carbone in regards to our security deposit we tried to contact him. We called several times and left messages, we've stopped by his house and left a note on the door asking him to please contact us, but we've heard nothing back from him. He finally answered the other day but was being irrational saying we were not entitled to our deposit but didn't give me any specific reason why not?
Will Not Allow Me To Just Fix The Problem | Case#**-*275
COLTON, CA - 92324 8149 We would just like the opportunity to fix the problem and show that the issues that they have with us will not be happening again. We are being evicted without given the chance to fix the issue. We only ask for that opportunity before being evicted. We were not issued any warning about this matter and were unaware that there were any complaints on us until the time of the notice. We have a disabled child and I do not believe that we are a threat to anyone nor believe there was damage to the property. She seems all to happy with being able to evict us.
Deposit problems, excessive and unreasonable charges | Case#**-*551
RANDALLSTOWN, Maryland - 21133 My complaint is about the following charges: Carpet charges of $510 Outstanding rent charges of $127 Charges for blinds $30 Total of $667 Explanation: There was no damage on the carpet caused by me as claimed. When I moved into the apartment on 08/26/11, the property manager clearly and sincerely admitted to me that the carpet was an old carpet and it was not changed. At that time, the carpet already showed signs of deterioration and had multiple stains on it. After receiving the move out summary, I met the property manager in her office on the 19th of March 2013 at approximately 2:40pm to find out the reason for a $510 charge on the carpet, she again admitted that the carpet was old when I moved in on 08/26/11, but the carpet has to be replaced according to report from the maintenance personnel. Ethically speaking, the carpet already had signs of normal wears and stains before I even entered into the apartment and up to this moment still shows the same wears and stains. I am not responsible for any additional normal wears on the carpet. There was no exaggerated damage or tear on the carpet caused by me as indicated on the pictures taken by the property manager. Therefore it is unacceptable to turn around and charge me more than half a thousand dollars for an old carpet. My question is that: why was the carpet not changed before I moved in the apartment that I am being charged for now? In addition, the slight normal wears on the blinds cannot be regarded as destruction of property; tenants are not expected to pay for normal wears. There was no exaggerated destruction of blinds as shown from the pictures taken by the property manager. I vacated the apartment on the 1st of March 2013 after issuing a 30 days’ notice to vacate. I am being charged $127 for four days of outstanding rent which is very wrong. I called the property manager on the phone on the 1st of March 2013 at approximately 3:15pm and pleaded that I might not be able to make it before she leaves to personally turn in the keys, with her consent, she said it was fine if I dropped the keys in the mail box located on the property in front of the office. I later honestly dropped the keys in the box including date and forwarding address on that day. She did not advise me otherwise, She said it was “perfectly fine;” The date of dropping the keys and contact information was included as we agreed which was 03/01/13 but she later on charged me $127 for four days rent.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*564
COLORADO SPGS, CO - 80903 2843 I was shown a cottage for rent by the property owner on August 23rd 2016. At this time I filled out an application and put down a deposit of $720.00. I was not to move into the cottage until October 1st, 2016. I contacted Mr. Stritzel on September 19th, 2016 to inform him that I was no longer in need of the rental property, as my circumstances had changed. This was due to the fact that I now needed an additional room for my son who was moving in with me. After waiting a full 30 days to have my deposit returned as I did not move into the property, sign a lease, and informed the owner over a week prior to the move-in date, I contacted the owner, Mr. Stritzel, to inform him that I had not received my fully refundable deposit. After being prompted, Mr. Stritzel then replied via a letter stating that I was now responsible for his inability to rent the property and chose to charge me $35.00 an hour for the amount of time he spent renting his own property. Mr. Stritzel states that it took him 29 hours to rent the property and that this amounted to $1015.00 in charges. This sum minus the amount I gave in deposit left me with a \\\"balance owed\\\" of $295.00. Mr. Stritzel then goes on to explain that out of a \\\"gesture of goodwill\\\" that he will refund me $50.00 in the form of a hand written check. I have not cashed this check. I feel that due to me not signing a lease, never moving into the residence, and giving ample notice to the property owner, that I am due my full deposit returned. I would appreciate your assistance looking into this matter, to determine what my next course of action should be. Thank you for your time.
Apartment Is Infested With Bed Bugs. | Case#**-*742
As you know, Apartment #8 is infested with bed bugs. The treatment that was done did not work. All of the guys have bites on them that need medication. It takes a specialist to solve a bed bug infestation. A special treatment must be used and may take multiple treatments. A little information about bed bugs might be helpful for you to know how serious this really is: From Wikipedia: For public health reasons, individuals are encouraged to call a professional pest control service to eradicate bed bugs in a home, rather than attempting to do it themselves, particularly if they live in a multi-family building.[21 ]A bed bug can individually and collectively cause a number of health effects including skin rashes, psychological effects and allergic symptoms.[1] Bed bug bites or cimicosis may lead to a range of skin manifestations from no visible effects to prominent blisters.[2]:446 Diagnosis involves both finding bed bugs and the occurrence of compatible symptoms.[1 Serious infestations and chronic attacks can cause anxiety, stress, and insomnia.[1] Development of refractory delusional parasitosis is possible, as a person develops an overwhelming obsession with bed bugs.[6]Systemic poisoning may occur if the bites are numerous. These are serious concerns. Please take care of this issue immediately. Thank you! Ladonna Hains (Spokesperson for Cory McCallister) ladonnagoutreaux@gmail.com
Breach of Warranty of Habitability | Case#**-*327
WESTMINSTER, CO - 80031 3805 The landlord sent a text message to my cell phone that he was going in the unit to do a repair 2 hours before entered the unit and removed the front door from the unit and the complex. He did nothing to temporarily secure the entrance to the unit. He sent another text message to my phone that he had the right to make a repair and would bring the door back the next day no sooner. It was raining and windy and unsafe for my daughter and myself, so I had to have a door installed. I used the rent money for the door install and am now being evicted. I am summond to appear in Adams County Court, Friday, March 4, 2011 8:30 A.M. case # 2411C43990. I have tried to talk to the landlord but he is very intimidating and I am afraid of him. I dont feel safe in my home
breach agreement | Case#**-*354
jonesboro, Georgia - 30236 we go to court aug 1st. was a owner financed property but then house went into foreclouser and they backed out of deal and now what us out. We paid almost $30k in 2 yrs to help them get out of debt but they never paid a dime to the banks and now the house is going up for auction on Aug 2nd and we go to eviction court aug 1st
Bedbug Infestation | Case#**-*412
My family and I have bite marks which I first contributed to mosquito bites, however upon further inspection I notice that these bites were from bedbugs and how disgusted I became. I informed my landlord of this issue and he started that he did not cover this. He only paid for such things as termites. I believed that I was taking precautionary measures by investing in bed bug covers that would prevent this from happening but to no avail somehow these bugs have adapted to this type of measure. I am crying literally for help.
Repair Issue | Case#**-*420
Boca Raton, Florida - 33428 There is a leak into my apartment every time it\\\\\\\'s rain, it has been 2months already, I have water come up from the ceiling and everything getting wet. I have reported it several times and I always being patient but they don\\\\\\\'t really bother to find a solution for us. I never get a following call and they even ignore my call when I am calling to get an update about my case. This is unacceptable they don\\\\\\\'t make me a favor to live there,I always pay my rent on time and I never give any trouble. I feel neglect even though they are using their equipment to dry the water my electricity bill getting higher they never do anything about it despite I mention it to them.
Deposit /Rent Payment Problems | Case#**-*601
Dahlonega , Georgia - 30533 I have paid my landlord 875.00 this month plus the late fee of 45 dollars. He stated he never received it then in an email stated he did receive it but I still owe him money in the amount of 992.00 plus I accrue 10 dollars everyday that it is late. He verbally said that I didn't owe anything, then he states this and threatened to file dispossessory which he has. I requested an itemized bill on how I owed him this much money and he never sent me anything nor explained to me how I owed him the money. He also threatened me stating he will be here with the sheriff's department to remove me and my family from the premises. Prior to receiving the dispossesory notice and being able to file an answer. He stated he wanted us out.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of OCT 21,2017 | 02:18 EST
Renters 111,695,895
Landlords 22,943,540
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security