Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Breach Of Agreement / Deception And Lies | Case#**-*542
MIAMI, FL - 33137 2961 On March 30th 2016, Mrs Diana Garcia and I agreed to a leasing agreement that entitled me and my roommates to residency into one of the SPV units. This was after a visit to a model that SPV showcases above their leasing office. The next day, on a Saturday morning, right during the process when I was bringing all my household property to the unit, she sent me a text message stating that the units was not ready, and that the engineers were working on the apartment, but that I could partially move in and that they were going to give us discount. When I arrive to the apartment, the living room had no floors, the kitchen and the bathroom were filthy dirty, and the living room AC was not working. Furthermore, the smallest room right across the kitchen had no AC. Since I already had all my property in a truck outside, and since Mrs. Garcia told me that things were going to get fixed the next day, I decided to follow up with the move, and move my stuff in, into a room that was clean. I did not slept the first week in the apartment, waiting for the apartment to get fix and my roommates did not move either, because the apartment was not ready. They said they were going to give me us a large discount from the first month rent, due to these events. However, It took their company 10 days to finish the floors, clean and paint the kitchen, and slightly clean the restroom. In fact, I was me who had to clean and fix the restroom partially my self. We could not really take any showers in the apartment until the 10th. Furthermore, it took SPV 18 days, to place the AC in the living room, and 25 days to put the AC in the third room. Because of all these different issues, one of my roommates was not able to move in until the 18, and we were not able to cook or organized the kitchen until the 10. Furthermore, the level of deception that went into the signing of the deal was incredible. They did not allowed my roommates to sign the contract, placing me as the only person responsible for this apartment. That is not what we had agreed upon. Our agreement included them in the contract. 2 months after all this chaos, they both left. They did not liked the conditions of the unit and left. During that first month, my roommates and I paid a total of $1040 for the month\'s rent due to the inconvenience. They have been charging me the balance ever since of that month ever since. However, one of my roommates left without paying the rent for all the issues we went through.
Unlawful refusal to extend lease | Case#**-*149
Fishkill, New York - 12524 My wife and I had been living here in this apartment for 2 years without having any problems. We were never behind any payments. Recently in March 2011 the landlord sent us a letter stating that hey will not renew our lease and that we would have to vacate the apartment in May 2011. We have been looking for an apartment to no availability. So we notified the landlord and told them that we were unable to find an apartment and that we need at least another 6 months. They denied our request and told us that they will only grant us one month. The letter sent also stated that we are only granted one month and that we will have to pay an additional $100.00 on top of our rent, and additional $300 for security deposit for that month. Another words we have to pay an additional $400 on top of our rent in order for us to stay for one month. The letter also stated if we agreed to stay until June these were the conditions. The letter stated that if an extension agreement is not signed and received with the security increase by 3:00 P.M. Saturday April 30th, we will be expected to vacate the apartment as per current lease by 10:00 A.M. May 26th, 20011. So we decided to seek help, We didn't sign any papers.
Refusal To Return $500 Security Deposit, Violation FL Statue 83.49(3)(a) | Case#**-*940
On August 16, 2014, I vacated the premises after performing a final walk through with a member of the leasing staff and signing documentation that I returned all the keys and remote access. I also confirmed that my forwarding address was current. I left the premises thoroughly clean and without any damages, which the leasing agent performing the walk through agreed that the property was in “great condition”. The leasing agent verified that my account was in good standing, up to date and I did not have any outstanding charges. The leasing agent also communicated the time period I should expect having either a check for my $500 security deposit or a certified letter stating why if any portion of my security deposit was deducted mailed to my current address. In May 2014, per the leasing agreement, I submitted to the leasing office a written notice to vacate that also included my current address. As a courtesy to the property management, this written notice provided the property manager with more notice than the 60 day notice as required in the leasing agreement. On August 29th, I called the leasing office because I had not received any notification regarding my $500 deposit. The leasing agent again confirmed that my current address was on file. This was the third time I provided my current address to the leasing office. On September 9th 2014, I called the leasing office again and was directed to contact Jennifer in the business office, to verify the status of my security deposit. I left her a voicemail message and provided her my contact information. She did not attempt to contact to me. I called again on September 19, 2014, and still no one from the leasing office or business office have made any attempt to contact me. As of September 22, 2014, I have not received my security deposit or any documentation stating if my security deposit was not going to be refunded in full. In September I received a check for $87, with no documentation included. Since I paid my utilities for the entire month and I only stayed a partial month, there was no documentation regarding the purpose of the check, leaving me the assumption the amount was the credit left on my account for paying for an entire month and only staying for partial. On September 22nd I sent them a certified letter explaining they were in violation of Florida Statue 83.49 (3)(a) and I was forced to file a compliant if I did not receive my deposit..
Bed Bugs / Bug Bugs Migration To My Apartment From Ajoining Apartment | Case#**-*197
Tucson, Arizona - 85710 The tenant next to me had a serious out brake of bed bugs. . After she left. They treated the apartment know I think they are in my apartment they say. all they did is drive them into mine. I am being bitten to death by bed bugs. Today the new tenants tried to move in next door and found it still infested with bed bugs and they rented to her anyways.. It was confirmed by my exterminator and the apartments exterminator on Nov. 16th. And I have been waiting to here from my apartment manager on this matter. My exterminator believes the whole building needs to be tented. The apartment exterminator told me I had to prepare to have my apartment sprayed by boxing and moving all my items to my very small kitchen and bathroom. And that i have to laundry all my clothing, around 30 loads. And for my couch they will treat it. Like really everyone I talked to said you need to replace it. Also that all my belongings will still contain bed bugs. That spraying alone will not do the job. that in a few weeks the bed bugs will back. November 21 2017 I did not here from my apartment manager, so I called. They said the Exterminator said he did not find any live activity in my apartment. And no treatment was scheduled. But the exterminator was shown recent bits, a 2 bed bugs, one was alive the night before, I also found 2 live ones this weekend. That there is live activity. And that they would not be able to do anything until November 28. 11 days from the discovered out brake and that I need to prepare my apartment. That I need to dispose of all papers, magazines, and cardboard, take all things off the selves, etc. Why do I need to do this, the apartment is at fault, they did not properly deal with the bed bug out brake. Not using the correct procedures for such a massive bed bug infestation that recommends using spraying,and heat. and doing the whole building. As tenting it. That any less will do little, as they will return, in a few weeks. That spraying my apartment will not completely remove the chance of of the returning in a few weeks, that some items may still be infested, that the bed bugs hiding in walls, other apartments, and other infested locations will continue to be. I feel that I should not have to suffer, financial, medically, or mentally do to the apartment owner/managers laxed procedures in handling this matter. And that is they handled this the right way the bed bug infestation could of been contained with in the apartment where the out brake originated.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*836
Plainsboro, New Jersey - 08536 My apartment has been infested with bed bugs since I moved in on 6/19/10 however I was unaware what the problem was until about mid August when I visited a doctor for what I thought was a terrible rash I had been having for a few weeks. I was told it was bed bug bites I went home searched the apartment and found the bugs. I immediately contacted the maintenance office. It took almost 2 weeks before an exterminator came. The exterminator has been here twice and the problem is still on going I have noticed bugs still present immediately after the exterminator left. I have tried contacting the property manager Jennifer Camp several times leaving messages with no response. I no longer want to reside in that apartment. I gave them two chances to fix the problem it was not resolved even for a few days. The bugs have started biting my 5yr old daughter severely a few days ago she was bit on the face which cuased her eye to swell almost all the way closed. She currently has many bites on her stomach which are severly swollen. I also continue to be bit. I will no longer allow my daughter or myself to live like this. It is just not fair and nobody from the management office will even answe the phone. I have taken many pictures of the bites we have received.
SECURITY ASSAULT | Case#**-*569
PHOENIX, Arizona - 85023 I WAS ENTERING COMPLEX AFTER ANOTHER RESIDENT OPENED GATE. I HAD A 9TH MTH PREGNANT RESIDENT WHOM I WAS BRINGING TO HER APARTMENT TO GET SUM THINGS FOR HER HOSPITAL STAY AND SHE DID NOT HAVE HER GATE KEY NOR KNEW THE CODE. AS WE WERE ENTERING THE UNKNOWN MAN SMACKED MY DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD SO HARD IT STARTLED BOTH US US AND SINCE MY ARM WAS HANGING OUT MY DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW HE THEN GRABBED MY ARM AND PULLED IT BACK SO HARD I FELT LIKE HE WAS TRYING TO BREAK IT. HE SAID NOTHING AND WAS NOT IDENTIFIABLE AS SECURITY SO I IMMEDIATELY PULLED INTO A SPOT UPON PASSING THE GATE AND CALLED 911 TO REPORT ASSAULT.
Over Charged Complaint | Case#**-*335
JACKSONVILLE, FL - 32256 8066 Remove 300 dollars in unjust late fees Reimburse 140 in bank overdraft fees I\'ve occurred do to Auburn Glen double charging me in February 2017 (2X Feb rent total amount) 400.00 - Late fees 140.00 - Bank overdraft fees 35.00 - Rental Protection Agency fee 575.00 = Total fees I\'m seeking to be reimbursed These are actual fees I have already had to pay or fees being assessed unjust by Auburn Glen from their own mishaps.. This does not even include compensation for aggravation and inconveniences of my own time in dealing with the property Manager, Mr. Velazquez on this matter or the MANY harassing and embarrassing eviction notices that have been left on my door.
Noise Complaint | Case#**-*692
I live in a townhome on the 2nd floor and the neighbors below constantly complain about noises being made during the hours of 11pm to 2am, or 7am in the morning. They say that they hear loud banging and stomping. This is not true at all, because I'm the only one up during these hours, and I do not stomp or bang. Too make matters worst I received a letter of notice to cease (basically it's saying to stop making noise, or you'll be evicted) This is crazy. I do believe that these apartments are made cheap and that you can hear everything, but this is unacceptable. I literally have my child and I tiptoeing around to be sure not to make noise.
Dishonest Management Company | Case#**-*935
Las Vegas, Nevada - 89128 Management Company lied to me about repairs that were to be made by my move-in date. Burners on stove were missing at move-in; after almost a month and a half of trying to get management company to get replacements I finally gave an ultimatum of find replacements, replace stove or I will. shortly after I received a phone call saying to purchase replacement burners and grates and take price out of next rent. next rent rolled around and I sent the remainder along with receipt of purchase. A week later I received a "5 day pay or vacate" notice, called management company and the person whom initially gave me permission to purchase items said she made no such authorizations and I was responsible for the replacement even though they were missing before I moved in. Water leak under kitchen sink caused mold; maintenance person was instructed to fix leak and replace rotten/molded wood. 2 weeks later I noticed the wood was sunken in the back, after removing my items I witnessed that the original wood was still in there, a cheap piece of wood was laid on top of it and the leak in the faucet was never fixed. Carpets were to be cleaned, twice, due to house smelling like wet dog After moving in I purchased my own carpet cleaner and cleaned carpets better. received notice from HOA on an infraction of adhesive on front door, shortly after I received a call from management company telling me I was responsible. I informed them that the infraction was prior to my move-in and they and/or property owner was responsible. Owner called some time after that wanting to "compromise", I was unable to return call due to work. recently a man came and scraped the adhesive off and, quite haphazardly, spray-painted the front door. there are too numerous items to list here but these are the most prominent.
Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*104
Davenport, Florida - 33897 Monthly rent of $1350.00 per month is to include utilities but landlord has been charging utilities to us every month. After being in the rental unit for approx. one month the water was shut off due to account delinquency on part of landlord. Water has been shut off 3 separate times and electricity has also been shut off.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of OCT 19,2018 | 11:16 EST
Renters 112,675,654
Landlords 23,141,972
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security