Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Unprofessional Behavior And Rental Practices | Case#**-*196
GARY, IN - 46408 1555 Slumlord who tried coming onto me by hugging me inappropriately and asking if I have a boyfriend. Asked me what I\\\'m \\\"willing to do\\\" when I asked him if he needs any vacant apartments cleaned for some extra cash. Made verbal agreements, he did not come through with just to get my security deposit and rent. Tole me I could have a kitten for my daughter, he would paint the apartment, and provide outside and inside lights which have not been done.
infestation of roaches and mice upon move-in, gas unable to be turned on. | Case#**-*632
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania - 19144 Communications Made About Roach Issue: 1) verbal agreement that the roach infestation was already fixed and they would continue to keep an eye on it: with Najeeb Sheik of Spire Property Services: April 15th, May 20th, May 31st. 2) emailed agreement saying â??exterminationâ? (and other things) would be taken care of: with Spire Property Services: May 24th 3) I emailed Spire complaining about seeing roaches in my unit: June 9th. This email was returned June 10th, saying to contact the landlord as they donâ??t have anything to do with this. He said my tone was valid but directed incorrectly. 4) Phone discussion with Joseph Bernstein: June 10th. 10:25am. I was told that he had no jurisdiction about whether or not I could move out and be reimbursed. I was told he contacted the landlord and they would exterminate my unit, my response was they needed to exterminate all 24 units plus the basement. He said to text the landlord or send certified mail to illicit a response. 5) Phone discussion with Arnold, Landlord of Laurenâ??s Court: June 10th, 10:34am. He said he would send someone over, I responded similarly to how I did with Joseph. I said I have not been cooking (because my gas was turned off upon move-in, which is also illegal), and my food is in plastic airtight bins. I said it would be cheaper to just pay me back for all costs, and if I needed to I would pay a pro-rated cost for the time I occupied the unit. I said that this was supposed to be remedied a while ago and that it is not something I was to deal with, as at that exact moment I was actually killing a roach in my bathroom. He said to talk to Spire, and I responded I already did, they told me to call him. He said he needed to â??discussâ? this with them, and that I should call him back later. I thanked him for his time and told him I would get a claim against him if needed, but I hope things remained easy for us both. He seemed apathetic. 6) I called Spire Property Services, June 13th. 4:38pm. Spoke with Joseph Bernstein, he said theyâ??re sending an exterminator 10am June 14th, less than 24 hours notice. He said he might give me Arnoldâ??s other email address, and that he was unaware of the other building violations. Spire is unable to address my wanting to move out, and will only exterminate A3, not the building. He says he will relay my issues to Arnold. ALSO: Gas was turned off when I moved in, never was able to get it on. Spire told me it was my issue that the pr
Bad Maintenance And No Response From Management Team | Case#**-*643
On August 8th, 2014 (around 2:00 am), the water started leaking on the ceiling of my kitchen. I called maintenance emergency to inspect and fix the leak. There was a maintenance guy coming at around 3:00 am to fix it. He temporarily closed the valve on the restroom of apartment 912 and removed the water on the floor of my kitchen. However, at 9:00 am on the same day, I saw the large bubble of water on the ceiling of my kitchen. I reported to staff office for repairing kitchen ceiling. After I came back from work at 7:00 pm, I saw that the sheetrock of my kitchen was removed and the maintenance left the sheetrock bag in my kitchen. They also used my trash can to contain dirty water from the ceiling. All my appliance got the powder material of sheetrock. Should they leave the big mess for me to clean up? I went to the office to contact office staff to request the ceiling repair and they only gave me the promise that they will fix it. I requested several time by in person, online maintenance request, email (Johnny Trilica is the person I usually contact). I have tried to reach Jennifer Haney, property manager of Holly Hall apartment. However, she never responses or contacts me. Currently, my kitchen has really bad smell and the mold is growing on the ceiling. Due to health issue, I had to move all my furniture out of apartment with me and I have stayed in my friend's house. I would like to contact you to discuss about my lease. I cannot stay in my apartment until my lease expires on 11/07/2014 with this bad condition.
Electric Outtage In Kitchen/dining Room, Leaking Sink | Case#**-*258
We have requested since December 30, 2013 that the electric be fixed in the kitchen where the refrigerator plugs into the wall, so that we dont have to run an electrical cord across the kitchen. The landlord has never sent an electrician to look at it, despite being asked about it several times. It took 2 months (March 2014 thru May 2014) for the roof to be fixed after complaints that the ceiling in the master bathroom is falling and of mold growing in the master closet. We have waited for a month for the sink to be fixed in the kitchen (first notice was on May 17, 2014). The landlord came to fix it once, then a week later started leaking again and we fixed it. It started leaking again 2 weeks later and we re requested it to be fixed again, and the landlord left a note on our car that he would be by that day to fix it (June 6, 2014). It never got fixed. We noticed a new sink part on the ground next to the front door the next day. We left it there for a week, before the landlord sent a text message saying that he was going to fix it but no one was home, and stated that he has bronchitis and did not want to infect the house by coming in and fixing the sink (June 12, 2014). We fixed the sink ourselves with the part he bought. 2 days later the sink leaked again. We took a picture of the water pouring out from underneath the sink, and text the picture to the landlord the next day (June 18, 2014). To date (June 20, 2014) have have not heard back from them. The dishwasher has never worked, and we never complained about the dishwasher not working because the lease said the house is to be rented "as is" and we figure that a dishwasher is not a necessity, but a functioning sink is.
deposit problems, breach of lease agreement | Case#**-*280
West Allis, Wisconsin - 53227 On June 1st, 2012, I gave my landlord proper 60 day written notice which included my new address, (with my rent for the month) that I intend to vacate (move out) of my apartment at the end of my lease which would expire on July 31st, 2012. Through out the last month (July 2012) of living in my apartment, "2109 South 102nd Street (105)", I began to move all my belongings out. Once the apartment was completely empty, (July 17th), I began to CLEAN the apartment to the best that I could so that it would be "as close to, or if not as clean as it was" on the day I moved in back in August 2003. Just before the end of the month, a friend of mine and I went back to the NOW empty apartment and helped me clean even more, he took pictures of entire apartment with his cell phone camera to verify the condition of the apartment for proof just in case. The next week, I then called the landlord and made an appointment to meet with him for a final walk-through on Tuesday, July 31st, 2012 @ 4pm. On Tuesday, July 31st, when I met with the landlord, (Eduardo L. Bustos) at the apartment to do a final walk-through and turn in my keys, Mr. Bustos FAILED to fill out the walk-through form with me as he inspected the apartment. He stated his Maintenance man would have to inspect the apartment to make a list of all/any damages that needed attention. Mr. Bustos then stated that his Maintenance man was busy and that he, (Mr. Bustos) would get back to me ASAP with a list of deductions for repairs and dollar amount to refurbish the apartment to be rented out again. ** NOTE: According to the lease, which we both signed, and WI state law, ATCP 134.06 (2) Security deposits, it states that the landlord has 21 days to refund my security deposit or mail me the list of deductions. Which Mr. Bustos FAILED to comply with. On August 28th, 2012 I called Mr. Bustos and inquired where my security deposit was? Mr. Bustos claimed the apartment was NOT cleaned to his satisfaction. He also stated that he would mail out the list of deductions next week. I received this letter on September 4, 2012, stating that I owe him $215.00 dollars. After doing some research, I found out that according to WI state law, ATCP 134.06(3)(c) that Mr. Bustos is WRONGFULLY charging me for damages to the apartment. PLEASE NOTE: I kept all my records, including the lease, photos, and any other documents which I can send (fax/e-mail) as proof if needed.
Threats of Eviction/Unfair Treatment/Unreasonable Demands/Harrassment | Case#**-*658
Austin, Texas - 78733 Upon viewing the house i rented from my landlord, i explained that my sister and her medium sized dog would be staying with me for a few months. Ann said no problem, and just keep me posted on when she leaves, etc. I put my sister on the lease as "other occupants" as well as the dog. When i received the copy of lease from Ann 3 months after i signed, my sister and the dog were erased. On 3/1/13 - Ann accused me of housing a "dangerous dog" - and through much fighting and me having to hire an attorney and pay attorney fees, Ann decided to evict my sister and her dog. I have had continuous issues and harassment from Ann since this day. She has called me, yelling, hanging up on me, repeatedly threatening me of eviction if i don't comply with every demand she places. I paid March rent with a personal check, as i always have, and Ann decided to go to my personal bank to cash it, and with their policy, any check over $500 they have to call the member to verify, which they did. I approved the check, then received a call from Ann, YELLING at me that my check bounced, which was not the case. The bank tellers were even shocked by her demeanor and lack of respect. She ultimately cashed the check. Then emails me that cash or money orders are only accepted from now on. There are many more details to this which I will add later. April 1st comes, I go to my bank to get a money order, which they provide me. I put it in Ann's mailbox as instructed, and she emails me 6+ hours later with a horrible email, bashing my character and harassing me, telling me the money order i provided is NOT a money order. I emailed her back stating i was leaving work to go pick up my money order, to replace it with cash. I showed up to her house "while video taping everything from my phone" and asked for my check back, she refused to give it to me, and slammed the door in my face. she was holding my money ransom, and stated that she "wanted rent" but would NOT accept the money order she had. So, I called Travis County Sheriffs Department to come assist. They could not make her give me back my money, ultimately having to file a police report which i have on file. I had a friend of mine meet her in exchange for the money for the money order. She signed a receipt from my friend, but i refuse to see her in person without a witness. i want her to leave me alone, or let me out of my lease with no penalty and my deposits returned. she should not be able to rent homes to anyone!
Security Deposit And Annual Interest Payment | Case#**-*286
Millville, New Jersey - 08332 For years we have been trying to gain access to the information legally required by the above stated law, eg. name, address and phone number of the bank or institution our security is deposited in as well as the the interest rates actual accrual and annual interest rates. Together with a neighbor who is also dealing with the same exact problems we were led along with nothing but our landlords word as to there actually being an account and the interest that he deemed to be unworthy of sending. We then proceeded to explain that it was not his decision to make and that it was not only the interest but the other aspects of the law as well we were and continue to be concerned with. Finally on 4/8/15 a highly suspicious letter was delivered to us with false mathematically inaccurate information, and explained to us as being a legitimate document. There being no letterhead, date,address, phone number, type of account, and worst of all the wrong amount. We initially paid $1,155 and the paper we received says $1,125. In addition to that our landlord gave the exact same copy of the letter to our neighbor and expressed to her as well that it was factually correct. This cannot be since she paid a different amount for security and having lived at the residence one year longer than us, there is no way she too would have accrued the same amount of interest. After pointing out that the letter provided to us did not meet the requirements set forth by NJ state law our landlord once again began to blow us off and would repeatedly say that the same things as before, the letter is correct and that he had no further obligation and that he was not going to pay interest because the amount accrued, according to him, was no more than a dollar or two. Finally we came a decision to invoke our right to convert our security deposit plus seven percent per year into payable rent. As the law states that we are to notify him that we wish to do so in writing, we did so on 8/22/15 two to three days after I expressed our desire to do so over the phone. We have been denied but have been given no reason other than \\\"we can\\\'t\\\". We have now been given a second paper that is now being touted as the interest rate we are getting on our account, still not is required by law, this one has a rate of .08% while the initial had a rate of .02%. We believe that he with the assistance of his banker, is attempting to defraud us. All claims can be backed with physical evidence upon request.
Repair Issue | Case#**-*353
Houston, Texas - 77099 I've asked many times the leasing office that ever since the renovation the material they have used is cheaper and unsafe even the walls are so thin and somehow every time my neighbour is cooking somethign i can smell their food next door like there is an air passage in the middle they forgot to cover or what not they have come out once and said that they forgot to add insolation or what not. i'm not familiar with how these things work and not sure what the problem is but they have turned a deaf ear and do not care or do anything about the problem. Residence are given favours in parking alotment. My wife has to carry our 11 months old daughter to the farthest point of the parking lot from the building that is already too far. There have been numerouse times when i had get a hotel room after the renovation because they moved us to the apartment where AC didn't work or blew hot air keeping the temp at home over 90. I think if this place is inspected by city it may not pass the minimum safety guidelines.
Illegal late fees, Breach of Agreement, Deposit Problems, Discrimination | Case#**-*806
Ithaca, New York - 14850 Landlord refuses to refund services paid for, but not provided. Tenant signed a lease to begin renting a unit January 1, 2013. Due to cosmetic changes to floors, tenants were unable to occupy apartment until third week in January, 2013. Landlord's lease willfully mislead consumer (tenant) into believing the unit would either be available for occupation, or tenant would be compensated. In spite of stipulation in lease that payment for period of non-possession, landlord refused to refund any tenants for the period in which they were unable to occupy apartment. For a period of this time, there was no working toilets and floors were unable to be walked upon. Three of the four tenants were offered $50 to move their possessions off the floor, but no refund on rent. Fourth tenant, the only female, was neither offered $50 for the trouble of not being able to use any of the rooms, nor a reduction in rent. When tenant asked, the landlord outright refused to followthrough with lease stipulations. In violation of guidelines set forth by the New York State Attorney General's office and New York State Law, Hollalary Properties LLC, charges disproportionate late fees which are against public policy, and fines tenants larger fees than allowed under New York State Law. Hollalary Properties' penalties for late payment are unquestionably punitive. However, the financial and business practices of Hollalary Properties may better be described as predatory. In an apartment that costs $450/mo rent, I was charged $100 in late fees after only a fourteen day delay of payment. My delay was a result of the fact that I was out of state visiting family, and forgot to bring personal checks with me when I left. $100 is nearly 25% of my monthly rent. As the the penalty for late payment is uncapped at a rate of $5/day, my late fees would have amounted to nearly $200 by the end of the month. Regardless of stipulations in the lease, penalties far smaller than this have been consistently overturned in court as unconscionable lease clauses.According to New York State General Obligations Law § 5-501(1); New York Banking Law § 14-a(1), the rate of interest upon the loan or forbearance of any money, goods or things in action may not exceed 16% a year, or the equivalent rate for longer or shorter period. A rate of 16% constitutes civil usury, while 25% is criminal usury. After only fourteen days, my late fees for the month of April far exceeded 16%, and were just shy of 25%.
Deposit Not Returned Within 30 Days | Case#**-*487
This property manager is the worst, they don't know what they are doing. The garage door was broken for 3 months and still is, they schedule appointments and don't show up, they make changes to the lease without getting us to sign it and now they have not returned our deposit within the 30 days after I moved out. The answer they give to everything is they are waiting on the owner. I paid $2000 deposit plus a $500 pet deposit and would like my money back now.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of MAR 2,2024 | 08:28 EST
Renters 117,970,039
Landlords 24,214,253
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security