Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Loud Music | Case#**-*528
Westmont, Illinois - 60559 I can't give you the landlords name or number for owns those 6 apartments because the apartment #3 is next to my wall and it is a seperate front and back door for those 6 apartments than our 6 apartments and a seperate landlord. I've tryed to call the police like, the lady said at the association where all the aprtments are owed at, but it doesn't work because he just turns it back up again during the day he blasts the music, everyday and every night he also blasts the music, day and night he talks he loud and I can't sleep, I have work and and college to attend to. And I'm always tired. The apartment address is 6719 Cedar Lane Apt. #3 Westmont, IL 60559. Maybe if you called the association, you could get the landlords name out of the lady. That phone number is (888) 835-9532. Thank You, Steven R. Mangano
Repair Issue - BLACK MOLD - Has cause severe health issues for tenant. | Case#**-*777
Saint Louis, Missouri - 63118 I have been renting this 1st floor apartment for 4 years and have informed the landlord of the water leak from the above apartment since I first noticed it about 3 years ago. Jeff has been in to the apartment to see the mold that has grown inside and outside of the wall. The problem has gotten so bad in the last year that I have started loosing my hair have a horrible rash all over my cheeks. The hair specialist I spoke with said that the mold is probably the cause. I had no idea it had gotten so bad and the effects could be so harsh. Last year I was in a car wreck that totaled my new car I had for four days. Since that time I had been 2 months behind on my rent (for nov/dec 2012) I was paying my rent with a $50 late fee included every month and in May I paid $1000.00 to the property manager. In June I owed another $500 in back rent plus my current $450 for which I had made arrangements with Craig to pay another $500 I owed plus the current $450. Craig would not take my money, he informed me, because he had filed for an eviction. I have the money to pay what I owe and had made arrangements to do so but Craig decided to file for an eviction anyway. The letter I received in the mail on June 18th 2013 stated that I owed $1500. I owe $1500 for my $500 back rent, and $900 for June and July. The extra attorney fee is added onto this and I refuse to pay that extra fee. I wanted to pay what I owe but now I feel as though I should counter sue for the mold issue I had been ignoring because Jeff (the property owner) was my friend. Unfortunately this problem has cause real health problems for me and I make most of my living as a performer singing with the Ralph Butler Band and all over the country. Living in this toxic environment has been horrible and since we have not been able to come to terms with this problem I have no choice but to file this complaint.
Living Room AC Not Cooling | Case#**-*701
Webster, New York - 14580 Former employee of complex..requested a new AC unit on multiple occasions and got denied every time. Ac unit should not thermo temp above 50 degrees Fahrenheit and has done so multiple times. Landlord suggested AC be ran 24/7 when a newborn child us in the apartment which will ultimately make child sick over time.
Bug Infestion | Case#**-*304
I, Vanessa Astudillo, as well as Mathew Sanders, Natalie Alexander-Gibbs, & Aaron Alexander-Gibbs have experienced numerous problems with insects ever since we moved into Sawmill Ravine Townhouses as of February 10th, 2014. When we first moved in, we had stink bugs in the living room and the kitchen, which we made the rental office aware of immediately after moving in. We had an exterminator sent twice due to the stink bug issue. Now after the stink bugs were finally gotten rid of, we now have spiders and earwigs throughout the entire apartment. I, Vanessa Astudillo, contacted Sawmill Ravine on Wednesday, June 18th, 2014 in regards to the earwigs and spiders, and not only did I not get a call back from anyone in the office, I wasn't even notified as to when the exterminator was going to come. The exterminator came on Tuesday, June 24th, 2014. He sprayed only two little areas in my room, didn't spray the bathroom, and I don't know what he did or didn't do in the other bedroom or the downstairs, but it's clear that he didn't do anything because the very next day, I found 3 earwigs (which I took photos of) in the kitchen and just last night, my roommate Natalie found an earwig in the bathroom. I have also been told by my roommate Aaron that the downstairs is littered with earwigs and spiders even after the exterminator having come for the 3rd time. We believe and agree that this is ridiculous. We would like to either receive another apartment unit whether in this complex or one of the many that Ardent Communities owns in Columbus or would like our lease to be terminated effective July 1st, 2014. Minus being late with rent a couple of times, we have always made our rental payments and have been good tenants overall.
Water Leak Causing Moss Buildup, Causing Tenants To Slip And Fall | Case#**-*073
Austin, Texas - 78732 There has been a water leak ongoing for several months in front of building # 22 and 23, creating slippery surface in parking area causing tenants to slip and fall, several people have been hurt and reports have been made to office but nothing is being done. Maintenance not responding to service calls for days sometimes weeks. property management not responding to requests. Poor management of property. Trash in several areas behind apartments. I have complained to the office several times
Repeated Loud Noise Disturbance For Apt Below #612, | Case#**-*762
Concord, New Hampshire - 03301 i moved into unit #712 in Nov4th 2016 i complained about loud banging noises coming from apartment next to me #710,i spoke with heather sargent the admin. director and she claimed nobody lives in back of you bedroom and it\'s the elevator shaft next to me.the loud banging noises happend again early in the am around 5:00am,i had then called the management office and spoke with heathre sargent again and she said the woman in 710 next to me said that i\'m making the banging noises and 2 other tenants hear it from my apt.i then told heather that\'s not true i just barley moved here i don\'t think i would be doing that.heather then said well move then! i thought that was very rude and i then ended the conversation with her.the third time i called management with a complaint of loud banging thumping up on my apt. floor i had then told heather it was coming from the apt under me #612 heather then said over the phone i don\'t beleive you! those people have been there for a long time why would they do that? i had then told heather \"maybe it\'s someone in the building complex that knows me and don\'t like me, and there spreading rumors about me to my neighbors.she then said that\'s crazy, i then said no it is not this is a public housing building and a lot of people know other people in other apartments here,i also explained i worked with or have known a few people that live here that i might of had problems with in the past, and heather said maybe so but i think your over reacting, i had then said then why are these 2 neighbors that i don\'t know nor do they know me be constantly harring me. i told her i get wokeing up eveyrday day by loud banging in the early morning around 4:00am somtimes 6:30am i also explaind i moved my airbed into my living room to try to resolve the problem and the noise still continues, i even where ear plugs.i then demand to speak to her boss john hoyt,she then said you would have to meet in person to talk then i agreed.i then met john hoyt at the management office and told him everything from the loud banging noises from apt. below, the yelling name calling directed towards me,he then agreed to look into the problem.i called him a week later and told him the problem with tenant below me is continuing and i dont do nothing wrong i\'m quiet and watch tv till around 11:pm and go to bed,and during the afternoon i go to my scheduled appointments and then go to the library.when i spoke with john again he said he was at the jfk apt building on the 6th fl
Breach Of Agreement/ Undesireable Living Conditions | Case#**-*511
I have been renting this property since approximately August 2014. The apartment is located in the basement of a house. The house is also used as a rental space and is currently being rented by another tenant. In the seven months that I have occupied this apartment, the water has been turned of at least three times. When I contacted Mrs. McGrath about this issue, I was told that the other tenant that was responsible for paying the water bill. I was told that I needed to speak to the other tenant in order for my water issues to be resolved. Also, the thermostat controlling the heating and air conditioning of my apartment is located behind a locked door that is only accessible by the other renter. I am not able to adjust the temperature of my apartment when needed. In addition, I have been affected when the other tenant is not home and he has lowered the temperature in order to save money on his utility bills. I was unaware of these issues when entering my lease, and I have attempted to find a resolution when contacting my landlord. My concerns have not been acknowledged or addressed.
Bed Bugs Started Last Week. Another Neighbor Infested. Can I Cancel Lease? | Case#**-*865
DENVER, CO - 80227 3449 Offered to get exterminator. Other neighbor 6x already and still infested. I want to cancel lease. Possible?
Bed bug infestation | Case#**-*878
SAN FRANCISCO, CA - 94110 1200 My current apartment, unit 8, is infested with Bed Bugs. The infestation covers my bed and couch. I see them crawling on the floor and sometimes the wall. I never before encountered this before, I first thought they were ticks from some neighbors' dog, and didn't think much of them. It was not until i throughly searched my furniture and did a search on the bugs I found before I found out what they were.
Harassement - Complaint of noise (walking and running) | Case#**-*247
Woodbridge, Virginia - 22191 On 01/27/2011, I called and spoke with Tammie, the leasing agent and asked if I could have until Monday, January 31, 2011 to pay my rent. She said it would be in my best interest if I move because of the constant complaints about the noise coming from the apartment. I asked her what noise. First she said she did not know what kind of noise, then it was noise like before, then it was loud banging noise, then it was sexual graphic noise. I asked what time of day were the noise and she said morning and afternoon. When I explained that we left home at 6:45am and returned after 7:30pm, she said the noises were late at night. She has never called me to report any noises other than the first time on 12/5/2010, when my grandson and his friend had a verbal altercation. I can produce my phone bill to show that I never received any calls from her or the leasing office other than the first time. She said that it would be in my best interest to leave and I have 5 days to leave. I asked for her supervisor, and she said that her name is Kim and she is on maturity leave, so basically ??I??m it?. On 01/29/2010, I went to apt. #413, the apt directly across from my apt, and the renter of that apartment wrote a statement saying that this is a quite floor and she has never heard any loud noises. I went to apt. 417 the apartment next to my apartment and the renter stated that he has not heard any loud noises and he said his bedroom is next to my bedroom and he never heard any loud noises. I went to the third floor and spoke with the tenant in apt. 316 and she reports that she is the person that complained. She complained of walking and running noises. I apologized and explained that I wasn??t aware that my sound level was a problem and told her that we would be careful to take our shoes off and when my grand-niece comes to my house on Saturday I would make sure she did not run through the apartment. I asked her to call me directly if there are any future noise issues. On 02/01/2011 I went to the leasing office and explained this to Tammy Hernandez and she said everything remained the same, I would have to move. There were two complaints of noise. I told her that the judge would decide when I moved. I am current with my rent. I feel that I am being harassed by Ms. Hernandez, leasing agent. I am 59 years old, do not have parties or a lot of company. I work 10-11 hours per day.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of SEP 29,2020 | 07:34 EST
Renters 114,593,587
Landlords 23,530,414
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security