Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Wall Pipe Bust And Trees | Case#**-*878
i have asked this man to fix the pipes he steady ignores my request now today the pipe burst and the water is leaking all thru the house I have to little girls who can not walk around there own house cause the water smells and keeps coming out and there's nothing I can do.
Made to sign lease at higher rate | Case#**-*101
GAINESVILLE, FL - 32608 1440 I moved in to Gateway at Glades, Gainesville, Florida last year. i signed a year lease for $340 per month, this year I renewed my lease with Gateway at Glades, the management told me that $380 per month will be the new rate and it was the best they can do, The also indicated that the rates might go up and I should renew ASAP, I renewed the lease on 6th June. In next 2-3 weeks they came out with new rates which were $340 per month. I now have to pay $40 extra each month despite the fact that I renewed early Although I have signed a legal binding document and I am following it I feel cheated and am disappointed by this. This means that we are Idiots that we got a higher rate even though we signed earlier and are continuing residents. I am a student I do not have lots of money with me. I already have a huge student debt. I would highly appreciate if the rates can be re-negotiated as per current rates I have mailed the property manager multiple times and have not recieved any reply from her.
Discrimination, Hassament | Case#**-*373
I shouldn't be told adult information regarding my moms apartment. I have been going through so much in my life and Having people getting on my case about adult matters has made me stress out. I am being Homeschooled so having them knock on my door everyday to leave letters about construction has interrupted my schoolwork. I am afraid to go outside in fear of the manager getting on my case about minor things. I came home crying and screaming because of the hurtful, rude things they have said I have also Cut myself because of the evil words that they say. I am only 14 and I don't feel like they should have any right to talk to me if I don't want them to Just because my mom rents this apartment.
REPAIR ISSUES / BREECH OF AGREEMENT | Case#**-*466
VIRGINIA BEACH, Virginia - 23453 18AUG18 – Landlord was late showing up with the keys -Property was poorly cleaned. Not professionally cleaned. -Smoke alarm certification was never provided -Backyard work was not complete. Work was to be completed prior to move-in. -Painting touch up done 24 hrs before, dripping everywhere -Carpets weren’t cleaned till morning of move-in. Carpets still wet when movers arrived. -Shutters weren’t put on. Promised to be complete prior to move-in. -Alarm unit not mounted to wall, wires everywhere. Promised this would be fixed, still hasn’t to date. -Did not disclose we were near a military air installation (§ 55-248.12:1) -A copy of the credit report the landlord pulled on me was requested and never provided 19AUG18 – Items left behind by maintenance / gardener that was supposed to be gone prior to move-in -Ladder; painting pole, painting trays -Shutters were supposed to be put on by Rodney. He didn’t show. 21AUG18 – Rodney to stop by for shutters, weather did not permit. -Follow up on if new trash can was ordered. It wasn’t. 22AUG18 – Rodney to stop by for shutters. -Follow up on if new trash can was ordered. It wasn’t. 29AUG18 – Confirmed new trash can was ordered. 5SEP18 – New trash can received. 11-17SEP18 – Hurricane -AC stopped working during storm. Property became humid and moist. -Evidence of issues with AC unit -High electric bill -High water bill -Property remained 75-80 degrees’ w/ AC always running -AC unit trips breaker. Auto setting doesn’t work. 18SEP18 – I notified the landlord that the AC unit stopped working and there was a ton of moisture built up in the property. 21SEP18 – Took the landlord 4 days to acknowledge AC unit issues from 18SEP18. 24SEP18 – No hot water. Notified landlord at 1300. Received a response 1530. -32 hours before fixed -Handyman wasn’t available, scheduled 1830-1900 and didn’t come by till 2000 -Unit not fixed till following day 30SEP18 – Fridge stopped working (2wks to fix) -Screen door fell off -AC stopped working, reset it twice. Completely stopped working this time. House got to 80 degrees. -Food spoiled and fridge shelves rusting September inspection rescheduled till October 1OCT18 – Landlord notified me that DOM and HRSD will make adjustments to my next bill once unit and washer is fixed. -Maintenance man for AC unit was late. AC didn’t get fixed till 2200. -He was supposed to check fridge and outlet to see what isn’t working, he did not. THE LIST CONTINUES TILL PRESENT DAY. (§55-248.13)
Numerous Needed Repairs/Breach Of Agreement/Refund Due | Case#**-*149
GLENDALE, CA - 91203 2941 I met the Apartment Manager On September 26, 2012, gave him 1000,00 deposit to hold and gegin repairs at 235 North Columbus Avenue, Glendale, Ca, 91203. He promised to make the needed repairs for a move in on October 12, 2012, but two days later changed his mind about the repairs. He told me if there were needed repairs I would have to make them. The entire bathroom was nonfunctional. He then tried to increase the negoiated rental amount and tried to charge me for water as well. Because of all of the problems we had to come up with a second lease,repairs were never made and we could not move in, we were homeless waiting for the new move in date of 11/01/1012. We have a main sewer line under the building that has broken and it was one of the needed repairs. It has been six months and we do not have a working toilet and the pipes under the apartment building broke. Due to that the feces from the whole building is floating around in my apartment and is floating under the building. The crawl space is filled with feces and toilet paper and my daughter and I are sick from the raw sewerage everywhere. We have no way to go to the bathroom. The heater is broken and we are so cold. I have asked, begged and cried to the manger and owner to fix these things and he told me to just get out. He also over charged me to move in and owes me $400.00 and will not give it to me, There is an underground gas leak and my daughter and I were evacuated by the Gas Company and he will fix that either. We are dying in here, can anyone help?
A/C Repair Issues | Case#**-*709
I have lived in this community for about 3 years. The first week I moved in we started with A/C problems, the unit not cooling, freezing, very dirty. I have put in numerous complaints, at least once a month. At first they said it was because I lived on the top floor and the heat outside was to intense to be able to cool of the inside of the apartment. Then they claim the A/C unit was put in they didn't use the proper draining system, and the list goes on. I was told they would service the A/C unit once a month to prevent this from ever happening again. I have to continue to put in request for this to happen on a frequent basis. Among other complaints from this property and their lack of respect for the tenants. I have a elderly mother who is 76 years old,who suffers from numerous health issues, diabetic, heart problems, high blood pressure and other health problems. When the A/C breaks down and its 7 pm at night you can call and leave a complaint but they will not fix it till the next morning. Try being inside and apartment in Florida weather with 85-90 degrees inside and outside. it's like an oven and we are roasting inside.
Breach of agreement | Case#**-*073
Denver, Colorado - 80222 Much of the clean up is from mouse pee and excrement left all over the house. There was a mouse problem at the property for many months prior to lease being up. Our entire family, including our 18 month old daughter, were all very sick. We went to the doctor and they put us all on antibiotics, we believe this was a result of the mice. Landlord had exterminator come in after a couple months but that did not solve the problem. We do not believe that clean-up of mouse pee and excrement is our responsibility. We gave landlord $200 out of our deposit, plus $250 for the 6 days that we left the property early so he could hire someone to come in and clean the property. We received a quote from a cleaning business of $80-$150 for a 4 bedroom (empty) home. Landlord wrote a check to us for $900 and we gave him the keys back, landlord called today stating he was quoted $380 and had canceled the check. Landlord also states we are responsible for carpet shampooing. Carpet was not overly dirty, nor were there any stains, "normal wear and tear" only. Per lease agreement, landlord is responsible for carpet shampooing. Our involvement was concluded on 03/26/2011 as the landlord and myself did the walk through on the house. I handed him the keys and he wrote me a $900.00 check for the remainder of the deposit. We shook hands and he said "I am sad to see you guys go." and we went on our way. That to me is a done deal. A verbal contract.
no written "Early Lease Termination" | Case#**-*779
Matawan, New Jersey - 07747 We moved into our apartment 1/15/11 and have been deprived of our right of peace and quite enjoyment since then. We notified the office a couple times and no attemt to resolve this issue has been made. We were told to call the cops which we did 3 times. The neighbor is spiteful and continued to play the loud music, tries to intimitate us and tells us to move. We have 2 small children and are worried about our wellbeing and safety. We wrote a letter of complaint to Michael Goldberg at the main office on 7/18/11 and received a call back 7/20/11 from Jean Albowicz (property manager) who told my wife that they decided to allow us to break our lease and will not hold us responsible for any additional rent payments. We asked to get this in writing which they refuse to do. We gave them our notice (move out date 7/31/11) and added the above stated agreement to be signed by the landlord. I called Jean 7/27 and asked her to sign the agreement and she told me it is not necessary for her to sign it. I told her I need it in writing since we were promised things in the past which ended up not true. She started yelling at me and hung up the phone. (At move-in we were promised 1st month free as a move-in special. We received court letters because we didn't pay for that month. We ended up paying for it before the court date and had to go to court anyway and it was dismissed then. We wrote a letter of complaint to Michael Goldberg and received credit back for that month). We would like them to sign the agreement so that we can take their word for it. We are concerned that they will try to get payments and sent us to court again even though they told us we didn't have to pay any more rent. Our experience with them and the neighbors has been nothing but a nightmare. The staff is very unprofessional and a few times i was yelled at by them .This has been very stressful for all of us and is affecting our family life. We are moving out 7/31/11 but do not want to make any more payments - as promised.
Bed Bug Issues In Complex & Horrible Response Time For Maintence Issues | Case#**-*055
I recently had been waking up with bites/rashes on my skin. I had been seeing a little brown bug in my unit every blue moon. I thought they were baby stink bugs because we had a huge problem with those last fall. I woke up one night and pulled back my sheets and didn’t see anything. I moved my mattress and found maybe about 5-6 little bugs crawling on my box spring. I googled it and it matched bed bugs. On the metal frame there was one part that had about 10 eggs/shells from the bugs. I have never had this issue before. The neighbor behind me told me she had the problem last summer and had to have past control treat her unit every so often. I googled my apartment complex and found that 7 months prior to me moving in the unit next to me was infested and the complex was sued. I was not notified of this prior to signing the lease. This violates the implied habitability warranty that the landlord/management shall provide a safe and livable unit. Therefore, I am not responsible for the parasites that are making my unit unlivable! The landlord/management has a responsibility to inform tenants/potential tenants of the units being potentially harmful to mine and my child’s health. This is an extreme health concern! Another complaint, I called maintenance on 4/9/14 at 7:08am for a maintenance order on my kitchen sink. They never called me back or came to fix it! I called again on 5/1/14 at 12:59 pm and asked for at the very least a return phone call on the sink matter. Didn't get a return phone call, but upon arrival to my unit that afternoon, the kitchen sink/faucet had been replaced with a note "Sorry it took so long to get this taken care of". I talked to the maintenance guy on 5/12/14 and he told me the office said they "lost" my work order. I have researched bed bugs and know that they can be hard to get rid of (in many cases you can never get rid of them), or trying to sufficiently contain them can be trying on one's health both physically and mentally. I do not wish to go through any of this, especially as a single mom with a 6 yr. old living with me. It is my wish that my lease with the landlord/management be dissolved, and I be released from further contractual obligation. I am also requesting reimbursement for contaminated property that I had to replace. I’m also requesting reimbursement for full deposit and moving costs!
Harassment | Case#**-*914
Dallas, Texas - 75215 MY MANAGER MISS CHASITY KNOWING AND INTENTIONALLY KNOCKED ON MY MY DOOR WHEN SHE KNEW ME AND MY KIDS WAS AT WORK AND SCHOOL. MY GIRLFRIEND TOLD ME WHEN I ARRIVED HM. MY MANAGER TOLD HER TO TELL ME TO REMOVED THE FURNITURE OUT IN FRONT OF MY APT AN OFF THE PATIO.IT\\\'S NOT PATIO FURNITURE.OK, ILL DO IT TOMORROW WHEN I GET OFF WORK.THINKING IT WAS NO BIG DEAL.THEN AT 6:20 PM.I RECEIVED A PHONE CALL FROM CHASITY SAYING SHE NEED TO TALK TO ME ABOUT SOME PERSONAL BUSINESS. I CALLED BACK ,SHE DIDN\\\'T ANSWER SO I STOPPED BY AFTER I GOT MY KIDS FOOD.CHASITY UNLOCKED OFFICE DOOR AND I IMMEDIATELY SAID SORRY ILL REMOVE THE FURNITURE TOMORROW WHEN I GET OFF WORK.SHE SAID, I CALLED YOU ABOUT ANOTHER REASON MR.WASHINGTON.I SAID WHY? SHE SAID A GUEST STAY WITH YOU WHOM NOT ON YOUR LEASE I SAID NO,JUST ME AND MY 3 KIDS STAY THERE.SHE SAID I KNOW YOUR FRIEND GIRL STAY WITH YOU I SAID NO,SHE HAS HER OWN PLACE MAM.SHE SAID MR WASHINGTON I SEEN HER AND HER FRIEND GIRL ON YOUR PATIO TODAY.SHE HAD ON A GOWN,HAIR WAS HALF WAY BRAIDED AS IF SHE WAS TAKING IT DOWN,OR GETTING IT BRAIDED ONE! I SAID WHAT OTHER GIRL.SHE SAID A GIRL WITH A HAIR FRO. I SAID THAT IS MY COUSIN GIRL FRIEND,SHE OVER THERE WITH MY COUSIN TO FIX MY GIRL FRIEND CAR,BECAUSE IT BROKE DOWN ON HER THE NIGHT BEFORE.SO I PULLED HER CAR TO MY APT INSTEAD HER APT DO TO ME HAVING TO BE AT WORK THE NEXT MORNING.SHE DON\\\'T KNOW THAT GIRL.SHE SPENT THE NIGHT TO BE THERE WHEN MY COUSIN STOP BYE TO LOOK AT HERE CAR THEN PULL IT AROUND MY COUSIN HOUSE TO FIX IT.THEN CHASITY SAID,MR WASHINGTON,I KNOW SHE STAY THERE. I SEE HER MORE THEN I SEE YOU. I SEE EVERYTHING WHILE YOU AT WORK..I SAID YOU SURE SHE STAY THERE OR YOU ASSUME SHE DO? SHE HAS HER OWN PLACE .I AM TELLING YOU SHE DON\\\'T , YOU SAYING SHE DO.THEN I SAID I CAN HAVE VISITORS DAILY IF I WANT TO RIGHT,ITS CONVENIENCE FOR HER TO COME SEE ME RATHER THEN ME GOING TO HER HS DAILY.I HAVE TO COME HM COOK FOR MY KIDS.SHE COME IN THE MORNING BEFORE MY KIDS GO TO SCHOOL AND STAY TILL I GET OFF. SHE HAS NO KEY TO LOCK THE DOOR.I ASKED CHASITY, WHY YOU DIDN\\\'T CALL ME LIKE YOU DID 2 DIFFRENT TIMES ABOUT MY CAR.WHEN I CAME BACK AND ASK MY GIRLFRIEND WERE SHE WAS AT WHEN CHASITY CAME.SHE SAID IN YOUR APT.THE MANAGER BEAT AN RUNG THE DOOR BELL SO MANY TIMES.I THOUGHT IT WAS YOUR COUSIN COMING TO LOOK AT MY CAR.CHASITY, NEVER TOLD ME SHE KNOCKED ON MY DOOR.CHASITY SAID I REALLY REALLY LIKE YOU,AND TELL YOUR GIRLFRIEND TO MOVE THE STUFF OFF YOUR PATIO,SHE BE THERE! IAM DONE TALKING!

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of FEB 16,2019 | 04:50 EST
Renters 112,997,579
Landlords 23,207,172
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security