Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Eviction-Rent money dispute | Case#**-*499
MILWAUKEE, WI - 53211 3018 Someone who was not welcome and was not invited came over and kicked the doors in. I happened to be home at the time while my room mate was in Arizona with her dad(who is also the property manager). The doors and locks were replaced and in the same day I was sent an eviction notice that was typed by Bob and not court ordered. I moved my things out in 3 days. Later, I was sent a letter that Bob had also typed with the details and cost of the doors. I was not sent a work order or invoice to ensure he wasn't lying about the cost. In a phone call he also refused to send me any such proof. Also, in the same letter he stated he was keeping my half of the security deposit, which when moving in I was told was $375 but in the letter was $250. He also wrote that because I failed to notify them of me moving out he was keeping my rent that I had paid early to pay for the rest of the doors. The bank owns the building and there was no lease signed. I have tried to talk to him twice on the phone both times resulted in him losing his temper, name calling, then hanging up. I also tried to get in contact with his boss. It took me three calls in ten minutes for the secretary to finally transfer me and when she did she transferred me to Bob who refused to let me talk to his boss.
Bridal Shop Below Me Is Complaining That They Can Hear Me Talking In My Apt | Case#**-*624
the bridal shop below me is complaining on me making too much noise, i live alone an rarely have any one at the apt. so i dont know what the noise is that they r complaining about landlord just said they call him. he showed up at my door 1.29.14 and asked me to leave in 2 weeks or he will do it legally i have not done anything to be accused of this nor do i make any noise that would b loud enough for this to be right i feel that i am being evicted without cause
Deposit problems, breach of contract. | Case#**-*516
SALEM, OR - 97301 2609 I was told that I not only would not get the $,1,000.00 security deposit refunded, but that I also, with my other roommate.... Still owed another $275.00 on our bill for other charges. We were not given any form of photos, receipts or any other form of landlord accountability statements that prove we owe him or that prove he has a right to withhold our due deposit for a complete refund. I will be attaching several documents of proof on my end to show Oregon law and how this landlord is in breach of contract as well as withholding monies due back to myself and the other former tenant who helped me pay half of the deposit.
Bed Bug Infestation, Mold, Broken Windows, Defective Wiring, Lead Paint | Case#**-*131
PIXLEY, CA - 93256 9768 my landlord purpusly is neglegant and all my belingings are ruined from bed bugs. My electric bills are over 300 due to bad wiring are health is i danger from lead paint and sewer backup gases i dont have enough money to move because of all this excess expensis from his negligance. i have 4 small kids under age 5 i cant be on the streets or even get up and leave he has really put hardship on my family and me and i dont know what to do!!
Repair Issue | Case#**-*430
W HOLLYWOOD, CA - 90069 2957 We have been trying to get this corrected for 5 months, he has had a company come out to spray twice the first time he was required to but the second time we had to ask for it and they have shown up again. It need to be heat treated and now they are showing up in other apartments in the building.
Refusing To Reconnect My Gas Service That A Vehicle Hit 9/5/2014 | Case#**-*820
I haven't has gas service since 9/5/2014 due to a vehicle accident and my mother met with the gas company on the 12th and told Mr. Ringer what he needs to do to temporary hook me back up until I move out the end of the month. Mr. Ringer told my mother in front of the gas company that he will get to it when he has the time. Meanwhile I don't have heat, hot water or gas to cook and I don't have anywhere else to live until the end of the month. Mr. Ringer told the other tennants that since I was moving out he wasn't going to hook me back up. There is an 80 year old woman living in the park that is in the same situation that I am. He is collecting the money and not providing the service
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*701
LOUISVILLE, KY - 40215 1498 I rented a home from this property management company. The home was located at 3619 Nichols Meadow Circle. I moved out of the premise on 06/29/2017. This company has violated KRS 383.50 the landlord has failed to supply any comprehensive listing of damage to the unit and therefore was required to return the deposit in the amount of 850.00 within 30 days. We have now exceeded the 30 day time frame and to date no follow up was made on the landlord part. The walk through was completed as of 06/29/2017 at which time the keys were returned at the property managements request and I am due a refund in the amount of $29.16 for 06/30/2017. Regarding the information stated by the individual completing the walk through was related to the bushes outside. The bushes outside the property had been there when I moved in so I hold no responsibility toward the removal of said items. In addition it was noted that there remained prior damage to a ceiling that had been neglected by the landlord for repairs. I have direct evidence two separate recorded voicemail messages specifically stating that the ceiling would be repaired and the landlord never fulfilled his legal obligation to do so. I contacted the company on 07/28/2017 at which time they advised they would follow back up with me, no follow up was made so an email was sent to Carla Johnson on 07/31/2017 which she has ignored. This company is in direct violation of the law and is now refusing to respond to my demands for my money. The deposit was paid direct to Vista Ky by check at the commencement of the rental agreement.
A/C | Case#**-*669
Arlington, Texas - 76018 In addition, the unit on the property is not big enough for the property itself. The relay switch is burnt out creating a potential fire hazard. This in turn causes the unit to run continuously creating a high electric bill. I believe the landlord should be responsible for a portion of the utility bill as well.
Not Doing There Job Right | Case#**-*978
Waco, Texas - 76708 My lease says o have a written request to have stuff fixed at my house and i did and my landlord had me to name off all 11 things that needs fixed and she written them down well she said she will have someone come out to fix the stuff and she only had 4 out of the 11 fixed and i have been saying something to her every month well my Breaker box out side has still not and she just says for me to go out and flip it every time it flips off and i can only have one thing on and it flips off and my Electrical outlets inside my house half of them don\'t even work and i think that they can make us have a fire one day and the hot water heater is not giving out hot water to clean stuff with and well when i gave her the list of stuff that needs fixed it was 11/1/2015 and i got the house on 10/1/2015 and here it is 4/16/2016 and only 4 things was fixed out of 11 things and i know i was needing to cut my yard i am not up site about that but the landlord was fusing about a screen being off of the window on the side of the house and it is off because i am Hypoglycemic and that means that my sugar blood can drop and if it gets to low it can kill me and have to have AC in my house and there is no AC in the house so i had put two window AC units in the house one in front of the house in my mother room and one on the side of the house because if i am to hot i can die and the landlord did not say nothing about the screen in the front of the house in my mother bed room but she is fusing about the one on the side of the house and i know that she cannot be fusing about that when the house don\'t have no AC in it and something has to be done about she doing this because she is not doing her job
Roaches and Unfair Withholding of Security Deposit | Case#**-*820
W HOLLYWOOD, CA - 90046 6420 Only attempts to resolve roach problem came in beginning (even this was delayed). One time was a "professional" but didn't look like a professional. Second time was the landlord himself who sprayed here and there. All other complaints for over half the year were unresolved. Roaches never went away. Now we are being charged for "damages" when nothing is damaged (he even tried charging for a dirty oven that we never used even once because it's very old and has no temperatures labeled). On last day, went over apartment together, never said he would charge for anything but recently says he will just send a check with deductions already taken out. We have requested an itemized list since.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of JAN 22,2018 | 07:34 EST
Renters 111,944,887
Landlords 22,993,969
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security