Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Failure To Control Noise Of Upstairs Tenets | Case#**-*952
Glendale, Arizona - 85306 The people upstairs are up all night 5pm to 4-5 am making such loud noise I am awoken from sleep all night. I have complained spoke to the people upstairs all she can say is she can\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t control her children. Who let\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s 3 small kids running up and down the halls jumping off of furniture all night I have yet to have a good night sleep since I moved in. I have epilepsy and lack of sleep causes me seizures. I work from 4 am to at least 2-3 pm 6 days a week. The previous tenets also vacated this apartment because of them. It is affecting my physical and mental health.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*878
Kansas City , Missouri - 64134 My apt has been uninhabitable for two months. I could not stay in there without getting hundreds of bites a night. It is the landlords responsibility to keep the apt I am renting habitable. We have been living in this apt for 2 1/2 years. We found bugs in June of 2011 in our apt, and immediately told the office/management. They had an exterminator stop by our apt while he was in the complex that same day, he positively identified them as bed bugs. I asked some questions about what they would be doing and if I needed to have my pet out of the place for what they would be doing. The office rep that was with the exterminator said something about the heat treatment being expensive and not being sure what the manager would decide to do about it. My roommate and I called or drove over and went in the office in person every day. I was told I would have to wait, then after waiting for 45 minutes one time, they told me I should just leave, and they would give the manager a message. I have not had one phone call returned in over 8weeks. July 18th 2011, I called and was told on the 20th they would be in with an exterminator. My roommate and I were not able to get work off to be there. We heard nothing back from the management even after this second walk through. When we went to pay rent for Aug. 2011 and turn in our 30day notice to vacate as stipulated by our lease, the manager handed us an invoice from an extermination company that said $1100 for our space and said that we had to pay for this. This was a shock since they had never, in 6 weeks, said anything about extermination being our responsibility. I called and left messages every day asking what was going on and what I needed to do, and nothing, until I turn in my intent to move? Later Annie gave us a copy of our lease and highlighted a part in it claiming that we had caused property damage by having an infestation and that meant we had to pay for it. The lease says absolutely nothing about extermination, or bed bugs. I know for a fact that other tenants have infestation problems of other kinds and the office pays for that extermination. I need this to be taken care of, my lease is up Aug. 31st 2011. I am worried about moving my things without having a heat treatment done first. I feel that they have acted extremely unprofessional throughout this entire process.
Mice Infectation In HUD Building At 13-15 Harmon St., White Plains, NY | Case#**-*062
White Plains, New York - 10606 This building is a HUD which means the government pays part of the rent. The residents are mostly Senior Citizens, Disabled residents (including myself) who are forced to live in such deplorable conditions. I\\\'m unable to sit in my own living room because the mice run rampant in my living room causing me to be very fearful. It was complained to the office, downstairs and all they did was send an exterminated to my apartment to just put mouse traps down which did absolutely nothing to eliminate the mice infestation. Last night (5/17/2016) I was in my living room for 1/2 before the mice (3 at a time) come from under the radiator, running all the my living and actually climbing up my recliner onto the arm of the recliner. I had to run in my bedroom, closing the door and called my sister just to calm me down. Deplorable conditions existing in a HUD building. Something must be done.
Deposit Not Refunded | Case#**-*044
TAMPA, FL - 33625 5730 Landlord assessed a 100 late fee for January 2017 when I was not late with the rent. Also landlord took out money from my security deposit for utilities that I paid separately by check. Assistant manager at apartment complex, Kristen, has already advised me that I should not have been assessed late fee since I did in fact pay my rent on time and agreed that the utility bill for December was paid twice. She advised she had reached out to corporate office twice and requested refund but that corporate has not responded to her as of yet. I went back to Century Falls for an update and was told that Kristen was no longer there. I have called First Communities multiple times and left messages for Shannon Potter but have not had the courtesy of a return call. I moved out of Century Falls in January. I received a closing statement showing the 100 late fee and December utilities being withheld from my security deposit. FYI. The reason I was charged late fee is because the apartment manager, Chris Tanner, forgot that I was moving out on January 10, 2017 and when I paid the prorated rent ( I got the amount from Chris Tanner in writing) instead of full month\\\'s rent, he put a notice on my door advising that if I did not pay the rent in three days that I would be evicted. When I called him and emailed him, he told me to disregard, he forgot that I was moving out and expected a full month\\\'s rent. After I moved out, I requested a closing statement numerous times but did not receive. So I went in and paid the utility bill I received in the mail so it would not be late. I have a receipt from Kristen showing that I paid the prorated rent on time. I have email from Chris Tanner advising the amount due for January. I have another email from Chris Tanner admitting his mistake and confirming that I had never been late with my rent ever. I also have the eviction letter that was put on my door by mistake and the closing statement that I received in February showing that I was assessed a 100 late fee and that they withheld utilities for December from my security deposit.I also have copy of cancelled check for the utility bill that was previously withheld. Century Falls owes me 160.92.
Repair Issues | Case#**-*209
Horn Lake , Mississippi - 38637 I\\\'ve moved in over a week ago. I was told that everything was fixed before I got there. There has been no air in my apartment since the very first day I moved in. I have sickle cell and medically I can get sick from not having any type of air. I have purchased a fan because I can not stand to be hot but the fan isn\\\'t working anymore because it\\\'s only blowing out heat. I need my air fixed or I will not pay next month rent and asking if I move because of mechanically issues I will need half of my deposit back for this month and if not I will take this issue to court!
Discrimination,retaliation,harrasment | Case#**-*550
Las Vegas, Nevada - 89101 I rented my apartment on 10/15/2015 from property manager Norma Ines Baruch Baruch. She is person who showed,rented, and collected from all tenants who I met including myself and husband.She was also the person who he himself allowed to handle evictions,maintenance, and all moneys for him.she however,then rented to my sister who caught her embezzling her and we got together 11 tenants of Silvio who had been victims or knew of it, in which we formed a petition to Silvio ramin who promised to remove her. that being said we the people who signed this said petition were all slowly targeted and removed by him slowly but she remains his agent and I am the last on this petition who is left but now he is doing whatever he can to incriminate me and is conspiring against me with manager and a new tenant in exchange of free rent to her. I have full proof.
Landload asking me to pay the amount to treat the the bed bugs ($970) | Case#**-*869
charlotte, North Carolina - 28217 When i first moved to the apartment 2.5 years back, after a month or so,i complianed about the bed bugs and landlord treated apartment for which i payed around $250( but the letter ig ot today says just $75).Yester day i moved to another apartment(8/21/2011) with the same land lord and the Landlord is sayign, they found the bed bugs after i moved out and i should pay for that bed bugs treatment .As i moved to another building with the same Landlord, they say that they are going to inspect the new apartment and charge me for that aparment's bug treatment as well if they found any bugs in that.
Return Of Security Deposit | Case#**-*140
GLENDALE, CA - 91205 3586 Upon moving out i had a security deposit of $2300. I paid the months rent (2000) but moved out at the start of the month 8/18. The landlord noticed damages and his office staff (emma) phoned me to say they would take out $600 for damages. However since they rented the property out early they would refund me $500. After doing the math with Emma it was agreed I would receive a check for 2200. In the mail I received a check for 1550, and when i called to complain i was advised there was more damage than initially thought. There was no phone call or email advising me that this was happening.
Security Deposit Not Returned; Never Received Keys; Lease Canceled | Case#**-*700
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania - 19401 I informed the Landlord of my future settlement date upon applying and was never given any indication that security deposit may not be returned in case I did not move in. In fact, everything the landlord provided to me in writing left me under the impression that the security deposit was only for damages to the apartment and unpaid costs upon moving out. As soon as I was notified that my settlement was pushed back, I notified the landlord that I could not pay August rent plus my mortgage so, I had to cancel until further notice. This was more than a week prior to my prospective move-in date. They are refusing to return my security deposit and presented me with a copy of some verbiage from on-line that they adhere to in case of cancellation but failed to provide me with anything other than documents stating the reasons (mentioned above) for not returning my security deposit. If they told me they would hold the deposit until I get a new move-in date, that would be fine but they told me they would keep it towards the rent for August.
Breach of Agreement | Case#**-*474
Pomona, California - 91766 Discussed with Landlord when he was demo'ing on 12/8 and received no response. Discussed again on 1/5 and landlord became beligerant and hostile advised that he would in fact be demo'ing. Advised that if he wanted to pay for the gas for me to drive to work (140mi R/T) then I would be more than happy to vacate, and he advised that he was refusing to pay for gas and that he would still be working on the house and that it was not his problem that I worked from home (even though this was the agreement when I moved in).

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of DEC 18,2018 | 12:45 EST
Renters 112,837,821
Landlords 23,174,816
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security