Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Unfair Lease Terms, Application Denial, Quiet Enjoyment While Renting | Case#**-*471
I want to report my landlord. We have had noise complain from our down stairs neighbor because of my one year old but our neighbor said that the noise has improved. We have scheduled play time and also do not allow my son to walk only between 9am to 9pm. The tenant down stairs came to our apartment and harassed my family by making disrespectful comments and used profanity on my family. I addressed the issue with my landlord and he did nothing to resolve the issue. We were in the process on a new lease to add my kids and wife but he denied my lease/application because the kids make too much noise. However, he already agreed to allow them to stay and also had a new lease signed but suddenly he changed his mind and said there was no lease and gave us a check and returned the money back. The lease was signed on 2004 and states for my mom, sister and myself to live there but my sister has been married for years now, thus the reason I wanted to add my new family. I have been in the property with my mom for 15 years and have never had a complaint. I addressed some repairs that needed in my apartment and has not fixed them yet. Also, to make matters worse. I addressed a concern to my landlord about the lease that was signed recently, I wanted a copy and a cost of rent addition was going to happen but then my landlord got upset and wanted to fight me. I did not engage because I did not wanted problems so I called the cops. However, I don’t think its right for a landlord to intimidate his tenants with physical violence. He is not making it quite enjoyment while renting. Please help because I do not want my family evicted. I have been living in the property since I was young and would like my family to live there as well but my landlord seems to be discriminating towards my family because of my race and family status.
Repair Issues | Case#**-*227
Ashburn, Virginia - 20147 The reason for my complaint is that my window blinds were replaced without any prior notice. The service manager who came to replace the blinds a month back showed me and my husband a statement and he further summarized it for us saying that they have every right to get into the property without any notification. He was not a very gentle man. I wanted to speak to the property manager but since she was not available I asked the attendant for the call back. This was at 12:00 noon the same day. I did not receive any call back from her. I called back the very next day to talk to her but she was not available again. I left another message for the call back. and until today no one has approached me ever since. Today I get a statement for $40/- for the damage charge. I called the office to talk to her but she was as usual not available for me. My concern is that the manager being assign the designation has much more responsibilities and authorities, should be very proactive. Unfortunately the manager in these apartments is not capable to understand that. If she had to resolve the issue or was ever concern about my calls she would have definitely approached me. However, if I was send any prior notice for the damage repair I would have definitely taken care of it at my end and not waited for the apartments to repair it for me. . I hope my complaint will be looked into and necessary action will be taken to resolve my issue. Thanks Ashie Farrukh Cell# 571-236-2380
Repair Issues-Not Resolved | Case#**-*135
The evening of Sunday May 11, 2014 I noticed a leak from the ceiling the bathroom of my 1 bedroom 1 bath apartment at Ridge Pointe Apartments. Management was notified the following morning of Monday May 12, 2014 as the office was closed on Sunday May 11, 2013. A representative of Ridge Point stated we have put the repair order in and will get to it. When asked when this matter would be promptly resolved, he stated "we don't know there are repair orders that are ahead of you including air conditioning repairs." No management personnel came to personally investigate the issue the day of Monday May 12, 2014. Considering this leak is of unknown origin, it could be chemical solution, which is detrimental to health not mention the damage that could be done if the ceiling were to weaken and collapse. The leak also poses risk for slips and falls with it being in the main walkway of the bathroom of the hardwood floor. If an accident were to occur management would be fully responsible for damages occurred considering they were notified within a timely manner. As of Monday May 19, 2014 a week after being notified of the leak in the bathroom, management still has not responded to my request. A technician did come to investigate this matter on the day of Wednesday May 21, 2014 however the issue was not resolved because he says “the office does not supply me with the equipment I need to fix this.” On Wednesday May 21 2014 at 10:11 pm I received an email stating the request for my service issue has been completed. However as of May 23, 2014 the ceiling in the bathroom is still leaking. As stated in paragraph 26 of the lease, "management shall have the right to terminate the lease of any resident whose apartment is found to be infested with bed bugs, have a mold or water intrusion problem; be unfit for habitation, or constitute a hazard to health, safety or welfare of any person, the apartment, the community or management employees." The desired settlement of this request would be management termination of the lease. Here is the email from May 21, 2014 and documented pictures of the leak: Dear Latisha B Mack, The service request for service issue #19385-1, 'Ceiling tile water stain/leak' was completed on 5/21/2014 10:10:00 PM. The technician completed the following action(s): . Please contact your leasing office if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you, Ridge Pointe 720 Franklin Rd Marietta, GA 30067 (770) 426-1883
Health & Safety Issues | Case#**-*502
Puyallup, Washington - 98373 Since I've moved into the hamptons in October 2012 I have nothing but trouble with the people above me. Loud noises, screaming, throwing objects, cursing, and drug use. Toni the apt manager has been informed of several complaints the same issues and she has made no real temp to resolve the situation. It has no come to the tenants above threatening us and making remarks as we leave are home and tonight resulted to an unsafe situation as we were trying to leave our apartment. The daughter was swing her arms at us, and cursing at me and my children. I had to call the police. I feel unsafe in my own home at this point.
BREACH OF LEASE | Case#**-*043
WEST COLUMBIA, South Carolina - 29169 8'' HOLE IN KITCHEN CEILING, MAY HAVE MOLD IN IT, LEAKING ROOF, LEAK UNDER BATHROOM SINK WHICH RUNS OUT INTO THE HALLWAY, LEAK UNDER FRONT BEDROOM WINDOW, THAT GOES OUT TO HALLWAY, INTERNAL STUDS NEXT TO WINDOWS ARE ROTTED, QUARTER-HALF INCH GAP IN FLOOR, CAN SEE SUNLIGHT THROUGH, BATHROOM TUP MAY GO THROUGH FLOOR ANY DAY, TOILET IN FRONT ROOM MAY GO THROUGH FLOOR ANY DAY, TOILETS CONSTANTLY FLOWING, REFRIGERATOR DOESN'T PROPERLY WORK, I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE FOOD EVERY OTHER DAY, I OR ONCE A WEEK. IT WILL OVER FREEZE THE FREEZER, AND THE BOTTOM PART WILL NOT KEEP COOL, EXTERIOR DOORS DO NOT SECURE PROPERLY.
Unsafe Home Condemn | Case#**-*346
unsafe home conditions leaking roof electric outlets in need of repair c/o leaks from water heater furnace never clean windows falling out house is starting to buckle house is held up with jacks
TEST TITLE COMPLAINT786 | Case#**-*865
CITY786, Wyoming - 12345
Unsafe living conditions, landlord unresponsive, deposit not returned | Case#**-*230
KENTWOOD, MI - 49548 4326 At this property the stairs to the basement are dangerous, narrow and too steep, the landlord acknowledged this saying his father-in-law built them, but he would not repair them, the decks on the front and back of the property were in serious disrepair, loose boards and railings. the landlord minimal repairs consisted of, as an example, nailing a screw into the kitchen screen to hold it in place since he had measured the replacement screen inaccurately. There was NO effort made to repair or replace the other major issues. After I moved out he returned a portion of my deposit stating I had damaged the fence in the back yard, this was not the case, the fence is/was severely weatherd and rusted and had fallen down. He also charged an exorbitant amount to remove a few empty cardboard boxes$75.00 to be exact.
Deposit Problem | Case#**-*101
Waco, Texas - 76705 Manager will not return my deposit for an an apartment I didn\\\'t move into or sign a lease for. She returned my $150 pet deposit but kept my $250 deposit for the apartment. She told me to pay $250 to hold it but if I decided not to move in she would return it.
Deposit Problems | Case#**-*070
POMONA, CA - 91767 1838 After living in this apartment for 9 years and cleaning it, we were refused our deposit. Mrs. Weber refused my wife\'s request for a walk-through, and instead told me to leave my new mailing address with the apartment keys on the apartment counter for her to mail us the deposit check. I left new address, as well as my business card with current phone and email address, and moved out May 28, 2015. I took pictures of the apartment, showing how well I cleaned it. Under California law, 21 calendar days or less after you move, your landlord must either: 1. Send you a full refund of your security deposit, or 2. Mail or personally deliver to you an itemized statement that lists the amounts of any deductions from your security deposit and the reasons for the deductions, together with a refund of any amounts not deducted [Civil Code Section 1950.5(g)(1)]. The landlord must send the itemized statement, copies of invoices or receipts, and any good faith estimate to you at the address that you provide. If you do not provide an address, the landlord must send these documents to the address of the rental unit that you moved from [iCode Section 1950.5(g)(6)]. Despite leaving address, and changing forwarding address for USPS (for which I have a PDF), and my wife called multiple times with voice mails containing our phone numbers, Mrs. Weber did not send anything until we sent a registered letter specifying these laws. Her response letter threatened to take us to small claims court for $230 in addition to the $400 deposit ($480 for \"cleaning\" and $150 for the carpet). I have photos demonstrating that the apartment was clean--certainly not nearly $500 worth of The landlord also must send you copies of receipts for the charges that the landlord incurred to repair or clean the rental unit and that the landlord deducted from your security deposit. The landlord must include the receipts with the itemized statement [Civil Code Section 1950.5(g)(2)]. The landlord must follow these rules: If the landlord or the landlord\'s employees did the work - The itemized statement must describe the work performed, including the time spent and the hourly rate charged. The hourly rate must be reasonable. However, no receipts were included with this threat.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of NOV 20,2017 | 03:15 EST
Renters 111,774,302
Landlords 22,959,420
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security