Close


Virginia tenants have rights, solving security deposit problems is your right...

Every day, tenants like you, turn to the RPA to quickly get deposits refunded & unfair charges dropped. Filing a Complaint with the RPA is the fastest and most effective way to get your deposit refunded and unfair deductions dropped. - even attorneys rely on the RPA to help solve dispute problems for their clients. As a tenant you have rights to fight for your every penny of your deposit. Yes, the RPA fight to get your deposit back.

What Virginia Security Deposit Problems Can the RPA solve?

Did you know... the RPA accepts all deposit complaints, but these are the most common complaints resolved by our organization:
  • Security Deposit Refunds

    Getting your security deposit back promptly.
  • Charges to Security Deposit

    Unfair, False, Unreasonable, or other types of deductions
TIP: On the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for the $35 complaint filing fee. (that's the only required fee to file a complaint)

Already Filed a Complaint?:

Check real-time status of your complaint now:

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

Mutual Negotiation of Lease Termination | Case#**-*976
CINCINNATI, OH - 45212 3562 My complaints are: 1. I was told that before my rent started (July 1, 2012) that the apartment would be cleaned, the mold in the bathroom taken care of, walls painted, carpets cleaned, and the addition of a garbage disposal, new toilet, ceiling fan, possibly a dishwasher, and an energy efficient air conditioner could be done within the next few weeks. To date, only the carpets have been cleaned, and the toilet , garbage disposal, and ceiling fan placed. Walls aren't repaired or painted, bathroom still has mold in wall gaps, on the tub, on the caulk, and along walls. Near garbage disposal, GFI plate installed has open cracked plaster around it, and could be a hazard because it is near water. 2. In May 2012, I noticed small bugs crawling on my wall. I alerted management and even brought a bug on scotch tape to them. Management told me they were water bugs and they would spray for them the next day. Whether this was done or not, I don't know, but I am sure it was not professionally done by an exterminator. The bugs turned out to be bed bugs as I moved out at the end of May and saw them, their fecal material, and eggs near the electrical outlet. I spoke to a licensed exterminator and he said that students moving in and out could definitely have brought bed bugs in. I have been living in another unit the previous year and had never had bed bugs, nor have we ever had them in my home. Because of the failure to have the apartment ready for my move in and the bed bug problem, I called Flyco Management and politely asked to have my lease terminated. The landlord became angry and at one point, stated I was threatening him, which I responded that I was calling to amicably discuss a mutual agreement and our options. Each proposal I suggested, he angrily said "No" to. Since this call I have tried 5 times to contact management and left messages. No one has returned these calls. Because of these complaints, I contacted the Rental Protection Agency for assistance because I did not know what else I could do to solve this problem. Only 2 of the 6 units in the building were sprayed professionally and the bugs could be in another unit, in the walls, or come back. I have had material loses from this bed bug issue amount to over $1190.00 to date.
charging tenant for bed bug removal | Case#**-*520
woodland hills, California - 91303 starting August 2009 ,upon move in, i noticed bug bites every night on my body. I tried foggers and bug sprays and the problem persisted. i finally researched online and thought the only other thing it could be is beg bugs, so i told my apartment manager i was suspicious of bed bugs and they had a person come search my apartment and found a bed bug. they told me they searched other connecting apartments and didnt find any bed bugs so it was my responsibility to pay for the removal heat process. Even though i NEVER agreed or signed anything to pay for or even do the process, they insisted to do the heat removal process. now, 6MONTHS later they send me a bill on my door for $2350 due in 3 days for the beg bug treatment. once again, i NEVER agreed to payment or signed anything. I confronted the apartment manager about the payment due and told her it should not be my responsibility to pay for ANY of the process but there was no resolution. They told me if i cannot pay the full amount in 3 days i will be EVICTED .They insisted that the apartment never had a complaint about bed bugs before ,therefore I must have brought them in. But how would they know they weren't there since they DO NOT check for beg bugs when a tenant moves out! I had the problem the day i moved in! I have NEVER had this problem before and this apartment management is not running their business with their customers coming first. I truly believe I am in no right responsible to pay for this treatment of bed bugs
Bed Bug Infestation in Apartment | Case#**-*794
HAWTHORNE, CA - 90250 8077 Moved in on May 4, 20011 started having bites a month(June) after moving in. Scares at first as days went by the bites became larger and more frequent. Did research online found it was bed bug bites. We (Ronald and Olivia) Never had them before. Just moved in on May 2001 once I searched for them and found them I reported them to onsite manager Beatriz Ferreira (July 25, 2011) over the phone where she did mention the apartment building did have a bed bug outbreak years ago and that they were difficult to exterminate Went on to say she would contact property management company for approval to get exterminator to treat apartment for bed bugs. Property Management supervisor visited our apartment unannounced on 8/2/2011 was rudely asking questions on whether we have had this problem before which we informed him we did not we was reaching and consistently placing blame on us saying we brought them here. He left and said he would be in tough. I immediately find my rental agreement in search of the Property Management company's Contact Information to try and file a complaint with the RPA but find that their is no information only their name Unified Property Management I emailed the onsite manager and she refused to give me any information she said she would try and give it tome once she found it. She emailed me back only after I said it was urgent. She only gave me a phone number but no address.Today 8/5/2011 we get a phone call form Beatriz our on site manager stating that the property management company is holding us responsible for the bed bugs and would not pay for extermination. I called Beatriz back and informed her that legally the property management's information should have been provided to us on our rental agreement and that she needed to provide me with and address, phone number and person to contact at that moment. She only gave me a PO Box address and the name Brett Gerlock and his phone number. She said she didn't know if she could give me the information because she didn't want to get in trouble with her supervisor Brett Gerlock.
Bed Bug Complaint | Case#**-*101
On Sept 23, 2014 I reported signs of bedbugs in my apt to the office manager, Ed Covington. He immediately came over and confirmed the sighting, instructed me to purchase a mattress cover and spray, wash all my bedding and clothing ... so that my unit could be treated the next day. I purchased a bedbug certified encasement for my mattress and box springs, bedbug spray, and washed over 20 loads of laundry and bagged them in air tight bags. After being up all night, I contacted the office and let him know that I was prepped for treatment but he informed me the products had been ordered and should arrive that night or next day. I convinced him to buy something local so that we could get started but that still took 2 more days to happen. My rent check bounced due to the purchases I had to make for preparation of treatment and they charged me a $50 fee for that and also refused to reimburse me for any expenses. They finally treated with an over the counter powder, 1 week after I notified them of problem but it did not work. On Oct 6th I had to call Terminex Pest Control to evaluate the situation and the estimate was $500. The owner refused to use a professional company but ordered a product for $198 that required the technician using it to be certified but did not disclose that to me until I told him I had done my homework on chemicals and that it was not safe to use by your everyday maintenance man.... WEEKS later....I am still sleeping on my couch or a hotel, living out of bags, and unable to work because my office is at home and I can't bring clients into this environment. I am a Medicare Insurance Agent and we are in Annual Enrollment Period right now! Here's the worst part! Ed has, tried to talk to the owner and help me the best he could but now the owner says that Ed should have charged me all along for all services rendered and that he is not to treat my unit anymore without assessing a fee! They said it's my fault, my problem, and my responsibility. I am mentally exhausted and financially in trouble. I was unable to pay October's rent so now I am facing eviction
Repairs/ Slum Lord | Case#**-*761
Upper Marlboro, Maryland - 20772 Hello I have been living at this property since July 2016 and the county inspector came out a few days before moving my stuff in and gave the landlord a list of things to complete, the deck is weak for standing and walking, no scene in sliding doors leading to patio, lower the base boards to prevent fire spreading, no closet doors. Once the inspector came I thought everything was going to be ok. But the inspector never came back to check if things got better. and when I followed up with county she had been given her permanent landlord license. I have been calling the landlord sent April of 2017 that water is coming out of my walls. So I have been seeing what I think is now black mold. If some one can come visit our home to make sure the kids and I are safe. Im paying $2000 in rent and none of the repairs are being repaired.
Repairs And Refusal To Pay For The Repairs And Hospital Bills | Case#**-*823
We live in a trailer that leaks from every roof kitchen floor is soft and one toilet dont work and nither are bolted down front doors got a big hole through the bottom of it front porch is falling in every rooms walls are falling apart roof in back bedroom isfalling apart half the electrical dont work and so much more. They say they will fix This. Whe ~soother
Repair Issues, The Run Around | Case#**-*920
I have been without water going on almost 4 days now and all I'm hearing is that maintenance is coming and they have not came and besides that they we're suppose to come do the tile in the kitchen but that it's done yet either. It's making me feel very uncomfortable with my decision on moving here. I paid my rent for the month but I haven't stayed because there is no water I'm beginning to get frustrated. I wanna move already because I feel like they could care less if me and my 3 year old have water on in the house.
Return Of Security Deposit Violation 38-12-103 | Case#**-*095
GRAND JCT, CO - 81501 4223 Landlord was contacted several times before his 60 day time expired to hold onto our security deposit. Letters went back and forth, and everytime Lawrence had changed the amount of overall damages/repairs etc. We have no real answer to what our deposit was used for, how much things cost, and why it took so many chances for him to respond well over this 60 day time frame. He made an offer to agree on returning $400.00 to me, and at the point I sent out a 7-day demand letter certified for my full deposit, he refused to sign the letter twice, and has seen not been responding to anything. Before we file in small claims with violation 38-12-103 we wanted to report him and his son for what they have done to us as tenants.
Bed Bugs, Pool Is Never Working Or Open, Gates Don\\\'t Work | Case#**-*037
Fort Worth, Texas - 76108 On 7-6-2015, I found 6-8 bed bugs in my apartment and killed them. I informed my landlord and she advised me not to remove any furniture or bedding, so that the exterminators could confirm and treat them. I did dispose of the bedding since it was stained with blood traces and did not want to encourage the bugs to multiply. I kept the mattress and bedframe. Since then, I have not seen any more bedbugs. The landlord told me I was the one responsible for the cost of the treatment. I do not feel as though I should be the one responsible. I feel confident that there have been other tenants that have had bed bugs and feel that they have traveled from another unit. I was also told that the exterminators would not be able to treat for them if they did not see any bugs or signs of an infestation. I have been a resident at Alemeda Villa Apts since 2007 and the pool has always had problems with passing inspection and never seems to be open. The rent continues to increase over the years, which I understand needs to remain competitive with other properties, but the pool is always closed and the gates are never working. If they want to increase the rent then they need to offer working amenities or offer a discount or refund.
Unlawful payments/Retaliation | Case#**-*537
Raleigh, North Carolina - 27616 I have contacted the office twice about this matter with no response. It has been almost two weeks including the weekend. My Lease is due March 19, 2010, and i was sent a letter stating that they weren't going to renew it due to " household cleanilness" after i had the treatment for bed bugs.

Deposit Dispute Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Me Get My Deposit Back?

As a tenant you have the right to get every penny of your deposit back. When you file a complaint through the Rental Protection Agency this starts a formal dispute resolution process in which the RPA will do everything in our power to see that your landlord promptly resolves your complaint. Landlords know that if they fail to cooperate with the RPA it can result in a negative public record that can make it hard for them to fill vacancies in the future.

Why is there a Filing Fee of $35

The $35 filing fee is the only required fee to process a complaint. The fee is required to help offset the cost of representing your complaint. The RPA complaint center is designed as a low cost legal solution for tenants and in most cases is more affordable than other legal options. Many tenants will compare the cost of filing a complaint to the cost of not filing a complaint. If you file a complaint and the problem is resolved will the solution be worth the cost of filing the complaint?

TIP: Don't forget, on the complaint form you can request that your landlord reimburse you for filing fee.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why do other Tenants File Deposit Complaints?

Most tenants file a complaint with the RPA to solve the problem such as getting a deposit refunded, or to get an unfair charge or deduction removed. However, some tenants file a complaint to report the landlord publicly as a warning to other tenants. When a complaint is filed against a landlord it will show up on their public record which is indexed by all major search engines. Filing a complaint is one way for tenants to stand up against bad landlords to warn future tenants about deposit problems they've had.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Solve My Deposit Refund Complaint?

We do guarantee to do everything in our power to solve each complaint that is filed. However, there are some situations where bad landlords fail to cooperate. The RPA can't force a landlord to comply if they refuse; but we can impact their public record which can make it difficult for them to find new tenants. We guarantee to represent the complaint and to create a public record against landlords that fail to resolve complaints.

Will My Name Show up Publicly?

No. After the complaint is closed and made public; your information (tenant name) is removed. During the complaint process your complaint can only be accessed through your case number and pin number. Both the landlord and tenant are assigned a pin number that is unique. The RPA protects tenant's privacy by blocking your name from the public record database. However, the record does show the landlord name.

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Common Questions About Security Deposit Refunds

All 50 States have regulations that protect security deposits. In most cases the landlord is required to provide a refund within 30 days and must provide proof cost associated with charges or deductions against your deposit. Many states require the landlord to furnish copies of receipts for work completed. If you have a deposit refund dispute or feel your landlord is being unfair with your security deposit; you have rights. Filing a complaint is one of those rights.

The RPA Accepts All Rental Complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of AUG 25,2019 | 09:45 EST
Renters 113,512,483
Landlords 23,311,456
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security