Close


File Complaint against Landlord, Apartment, or Property Manager

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


View Sample Complaint Watch Video

Rent Problems Are Frustrating; but you're not alone:
Thousands of tenants rely on RPA to solve problems

I never moved into my apartment. Can't get my deposit. | Case#**-*633
Temple, Texas - 76504 I've tried numerous times to get my deposit back from the above landlord and they say they've mailed it. I know they have 30 days to return and I haven't received anything. Everytime I go to the corporate office they keep giving me the run around.
Loud Neighbor with barking dog that won't stop barking. Barks until 12 mid | Case#**-*931
SALT LAKE CTY, UT - 84121 5004 The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. New Paragraph: The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. New Paragraph: The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The landlord has been contacted multiple times about the problem with the dog. But, the landlord continues to allow it to bark. The for
Lack of proof for items deducted from deposit refund | Case#**-*334
The Woodlands, Texas - 77381 Ms. Donovan has charged us $163.37 for supposed damage in the laundry area. There was not any damage in the laundry room upon move out and we asked for photos of the damage as verification and they were not provided. We believe the damage was incurred after move out due to drastically low temperatures in the area and the landlord not protecting her piping as needed. Ms. Donovan has also charged us $60 for a "deep cleaning" of the house and another $40 for cleaning the stove top. We requested receipts and they were not provided. We believe Ms. Donovan is inappropriately charging us for normal wear and tear and not abnormal damage for the aforementioned items. Since she cannot provide receipts we question the validity of these charges.
Landlords unwillingness to take adequate measures to eliminate bedbugs | Case#**-*087
CAROL STREAM, IL - 60188 2673 I had lived in the property for approximately six and half years (61/2), and was always a model tenant. September 21,2011 I made a formal complaint to management of bedbugs in my unit. An exterminator hired by Renaissance at Carol Stream (the landlord) confirmed my fears that there were bedbugs in my unit and treated my unit for the infestation. On October 5, 2011 the exterminator re-inspected my unit and determined that the bug infestation was not coming from my unit. I was assured by management that a dog would be coming on October 19, 2011 to determine the site of infestation. However the exterminator never brought the dog, he just continued to spray the unit. Management advised me the exterminator would fog my unit on Novemver 2, 2011. The exterminator only sprayed on November 2,2011, and fogged on November 16,2011 Although I had followed all the terms of the lease and the advice of the exterminator I had been restricted to living out of plastic bags and restricted to living in my bedroom. After over a month of being prohibited from full use and enjoyment of my unit and the inadequate response by management forced me to move. Additionally I spent in excess of over $1,000 to remedy the issue, and I was still forced to throw away a majority of my personal belongings. Please note this was not the result I wanted or expected. I gave management a reasonable amount of time and opportunity to address the issue before I was forced to make the decision to move. November 7, 2011 management was given written notice that I would be vacating the property on November 30,2011 and terminating my lease. Finally, a simple internet search of the "Renaissance at Carol Stream," revealed that the management has had a well documented bedbug issue for sometime. This further demonstrates that the management knew of the issue, and has had more than a reasonable amount of time to properly address the problem.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*500
Princeton, Minnesota - 55372 I told my apt manager about the bed bugs she had 2 professionals come out. The first guy didnt find anything an the second guy confirmed the dead bedbug as a bedbug but he said he felt it was only the 1 a few days later i found 3 more in my bed and i told my manager an she said i was responsible for getting rid of them, she said she wasnt gana help me get rid of them i have a 3 yr old an 8 month old baby. An we keep getting bit up.. She refuses to help me an was really rude by saying iam the one who brought them in. I have been loving here for 3 yrs. Never once had a bedbug . i told them i saw one in their washer wich makes me believe someone else in the building may have them, but they also did nothing about it. Iam trying to not get them anywhere else in building but she said she did not care if other got it, i was only trying to help by keeping them away from others buildings if they dont have them. They refuse to check all units.
Bed Bugs Found In Carpet | Case#**-*062
Bed Bugs....found in carpet...the apartment complex is trying to make me pay for it.
Bed Bugs | Case#**-*148
SHERIDAN, WY - 82801 3272 Complained about finding bed bugs on June 2, 2012. Was told I would have to pay for it. They called my back on June 4 and said the exterminator was coming on June 15. I asked if they were going to charge me and she said she was unsure that she was going to discuss it with the apartment owners. I told her I did not have money to pay for this. I am on unemployement, am a full time student with a child and on goverment assistance there is not enough money to pay my regular monthly bills let alone anything extra.
IGNORED MOLD AND MOISTURE ISSUES IN RENTAL | Case#**-*251
PORTLAND, Oregon - 97206 HOUSE WAS DEMOLISHED
Retaliation for request of repairs, new unit, and accepting 6 day late rent | Case#**-*371
Raleigh, North Carolina - 27613 This complex has large roaches in this unit I have requested an exterminator every week..to this day the roaches are still present...because of the roach problem and me being persistent I was invited to leave, and when it came time for renewal the proposed increase was from 735.00 to 860.00. I called corporate because i had contacted management 6 mos ahead on several occasions and was told the increase would be 2 or 3% further interviewing of tenants who had my size unit with same updates showed their increase was no more than 4% if any. Corporate agreed my now os 761.00. There is mold also...not a native, i was told it was because of the location for the roaches and the mold was from the position of the ac unit outside, I requested to a new unit and was told I would have to pay 160.00 more for the exact same unit. The apartment has re-appearing water spots in the ceiling as well so I requested that the mold and water spots be investigated...as well as no one to enter my unit with out me being there...When I returned from work my trash can and cookware had paint spots on them...apparently maintenance had come in and painted over everything. When I asked what happened I was told it was a simple fix so they went ahead and took care of it. I then set up surveillance in the unit...I set up installments of security systems at my job and my neighbor suggested that I do so. I have been here 2.5 years never late on rent....I was 6 days late I gave my check to the apartment manager with my apologies...she Shelley York accepted. When I returned home it was given back and had a letter threatening evicition if I do not give certified funds. I have never been late in years of living there...I feel that my check should have never been accepted in person. This check is from the same account that it has come from for over 2 years!!! I requested that the apartment patio be power washed and painted, mold, water spots and roaches to be taken care of and to this day no avail. Now my credit is being threatened because I have rights. This manager has no practical judgement skills and needs a course in working with diversity. Clearly this is retaliation for calling corporate and threatening thebetter business bureau.
Repair Issues And Breach Of Agreement | Case#**-*466
Chelsea 88 Apartments/management/corporate office refused to fix/resolve any issues related to my apartment dwelling such as pest control for bees constantly on my deck and inside the apartment. I been having this issue since I moved in two years ago plus other tenants moved because of the problem.i spoke with Michael the Assistant Manager first on the issues and he was no longer there a week later per Denise the Property Manager, and I would need to see her. I asked management to re-sprayed due to sumner and the infested of bees outside/inside my apartment was getting worst. Iniatially I was told that the issues would be fixed but over two weeks past and nothing done except their pest control company said that there was no need to spray and only removed the bees nests. A few days later, I find new fresh bees nest in my storage closet on my deck, again they insisted that no need to spray. A few days later, maintenance comes by my apartment with a can of bug spray to spray the bees outside/inside my apartment. I refused to allow due to odor and this was not how they treated a year ago with this issue. I calked corporate office and spoke with Betty in Relationship Management to try to resolve issues between tenant and property manager. She advised me that they would spray with pest control and fix other issues. A week past and I called, Monday, 15th of July 2014, Denise the property manager to let her know that I would still pay rent but nothing has been done with the issues and she put me through to maintenance. I spoke with maintenance and they said that pest control would be out on Thursday, 18th of July 2014 and nobody showed up except a notice of filing for eviction left on my door. Monday, 21st of July 2014, another notice of eviction taped on my door from management with date to turn in keys by July 22, 2014. Issues - 1. Pest control, bees 2. Water leaking from bathroom toilet 3. Counters in kitchen not corked properly (maintenance did come out on July 14th to fix) 4. Ceiling in living/dining areas are (two places) coming undone and splitting from wall to wall. 5. Outside deck ceiling was falling down (maintenance came out around July 14th to pin back up, doesn't look good)

Complaint Process in 3 Simple Steps:

  • File Apartment Complaint: Fill out complaint form with your proposed resolution. Instantly recieve your case number.
  • Check Status: See the current status, respond, upload files or images, accept fair solution or purpose alternative solutions.
  • Landlord Public Record: Positive or Negative record is attached to landlord based upon their responses. Your (tenant) information is not made public.

Complaints Tips:

Uploading pictures / files is helpful
Try to request fair solutions
Focus on major issue, not on many
Check your status every 3 days
Avoid accusations or hostile tones
Be willing to accept alternate solution

How Does the RPA Help Resolve Rental Problems?

Once you file a complaint, the RPA will contact your landlord or property manager to mediate a prompt resolution. The RPA online mediation system provides an effective complaint resolution process that helps solve problems quickly. Complaints filed through the RPA are documented and help protect tenants' rights by providing a program that protects against landlord retaliation and unfair practices. Agreements reached through the RPA Apartment Complaint Center are legally binding and enforceable. When required the complaint can be used as evidence in court.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


Why Does the RPA Now Charge a Processing Fee?

The RPA requires a $35 one-time processing fee to cover the cost associated with contacting the landlord, online mediation, paperwork, and public record filing. Prior to 2006 the RPA complaint program had no fee. However, due to abuse by tenants that were filing bogus complaints; the RPA found it necessary to charge of fee to eliminate fake complaints and to cover costs associated with complaint handling. If you are looking to report the problem only and not seeking a resolution, you can use our free Report Landlord option. (The report landlord option will only document the problem and will not provide any assistance in resolving disputes.)

Tip: On your complaint form you can request that management reimburse you for RPA filing fees.

How long does the process take?

The RPA is able to resolve complaints fairly quickly, unlike court or other legal options. Cases are normally assigned in the order received; however, you can upgrade your case to be rushed if you need your case escalated. (option available immediately after filing)For fastest processing try to submit your complaint before the next processing deadline. (Count down shown next to "File Complaint" button.) Once the mediation process begins, your landlord will have 3 business days to respond to the mailed notice. If a landlord email address is provided the RPA will send out both a written notice and email notice which can provide an immediate resolution. Many times cases are resolved immediately after receiving the RPA® notice, however depending on the complaint, it can take longer if both parties are unable to reach an agreement quickly.

Tip: To speed up the process... On the complaint form request reasonable and fair solutions.

Does the RPA Guarantee to Resolve Every Complaint?

Each complaint is guaranteed to be worked by the RPA complaint system. The RPA mediation system will work to resolve every complaint regardless of how big or small the complaint. However, the RPA can't guarantee the end results of any complaint. While we work to solve each complaint, the guarantee is limited to our processing of your complaint. All fees associated with the complaint are non-refundable dispute the outcome of the complaint. Each complaint is Guaranteed to be worked by our complaint system and will be documented against the landlord should they fail to cooperate.

Tip: To get positive resolutions to your complaint; try providing resolutions that are fair.

What Happens After I file a Complaint?

Upon filing your landlord / property manager complaint you will instantly receive a case number. Your complaint case number can be used to immediately access your complaint status page. The RPA will process your complaint and contact your landlord for an immediate resolution. On your status page you can view case status, upload files or images, respond to the complaint, update/ change resolutions, accept or close complaint. The RPA complaint center updates your case status in real time and provides you with tracking to see exactly what is happening with your complaint. Once the case is closed, the complaint will be attached to your landlords public record which is quickly indexed by all major search engines. (Your information is never made public)

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Protection Against Landlord Retaliation

Its unlawful for your landlord to retaliate against you because you filed a complaint. Your landlord cannot evict, harass, limit access, raise rent, or treat you unfairly because you filed a complaint. As a tenant, you must still pay rent and comply with rent terms stated within your contract. Filing a complaint does not eliminate your responsibilities.

Tip: Check your case status at least every 3 days. (Respond / update your case as required)

Who Can File a Complaint with the RPA?

Any renter located in the United States of America has the right to file a complaint with the RPA. The RPA does not accept complaints outside of the USA. In general, the RPA will accept every complaint regardless of how big or small the problem may be.

Tip: When possible, try resolving your problem with your landlord before filing a complaint.

Complaint Filing Deadline:

  

File Official Complaint

File Complaint $35 Processing Fee Required

Check Case Status

Check Case Status




Forgot Pin Number? ×


The RPA accepts all rental complaints.

Common Complaints

  • Unlawful Entry/Eviction
  • Management Problems
  • Neighbor Problems
  • Billing/Fees
  • Application Denial
  • Landlord Harassment
  • Collection Disputes
  • Lock Out
  • Short Sale/Foreclosure
  • Discrimination

Rental Statistics /Clock

As of SEP 22,2021 | 07:47 EST
Renters 115,560,212
Landlords 23,726,186
Landlord Complaint
File Complaint
Customize Your Menu!

Credit Reporting by

News / Media Coverage

Radio / Other Media

RPA® Site Security